Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Legal aid, Going to Lanzerote

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

Beano wrote: »
    charged being the operative word. One is not a criminal until one has been found guilty.

Yes it is. He is not however the defendant.

Please show where I have said he was a criminal. I have quoted what he was charged with. At least I took the time to read the article

@Collie D - Yes I do. What is your point?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

charged being the operative word. One is not a criminal until one has been found guilty.

Eh no, one is not a convict until they have been found guilty. They are a criminal when they commit a crime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭Beano

Eh no, one is not a convict until they have been found guilty. They are a criminal when they commit a crime.

he is not a criminal until he is found guilty. even if he is found guilty he will not necessarily be a convict. he is only a convict if he is given jail time.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,411 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

We don't know if he committed a crime so not a criminal.

bjork wrote: »
    Yes it is. He is not however the defendant.

Please show where I have said he was a criminal. I have quoted what he was charged with. At least I took the time to read the article

@Collie D - Yes I do. What is your point?

so you agree he is not a criminal then?

Please quote where I've said he is?

Mr Cahill, of Crumlin Park is charged with possession of cannabis at South Circular Road on November 28, 2013. He is also charged with being a passenger in a stolen vehicle at Ballymun Road on November 3, 2014.
    Please quote where I've said he is?

well if you dont think he is then what was the purpose of the first post i quoted?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

An appearance in court does not automatically mean a huge legal bill. Both his offences are relatively minor.

He qualifies for FLA. The judge himself said he couldn't revoke it so if he can go on a cheapo holiday it's not a consequence.

Whether he's a nice person or a criminal isn't the issue.

People just want to see sackcloth and ashes for anybody with any kind of state assistance, unless of course it's ones that benefit them such as mortgage interest relief, mostly free college and other no less tax-funded sweeteners.

well if you dont think he is then what was the purpose of the first post i quoted?

If you can't follow the conversation for yourself, I'll break it down for you.

A Poster was confused as to whether he was a defendant.
    I quoted the bit out of the independent outlining his charges.

Simple, stop arguing with me about something I didn't say or prove I said it.

If you can't follow the conversation for yourself, I'll break it down for you.

A Poster was confused as to whether he was a defendant.
    I quoted the bit out of the independent outlining his charges.

Simple, stop arguing with me about something I didn't say or prove I said it.

but why quote me if you agree with what i said?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

They should melt him down and build a homeless shelter out of him.

but why quote me if you agree with what i said?
    Because it was you who thought it was the defendant- You obviously didn't bother to read the article

is he a criminal? i thought he was the defendant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭Satriale

Sounds a bit like an urban myth. Like the one where you can crap in Guard's hat if you're pregnant. And a woman.
    feck, now i know why he got so cranky!

Because it was you who thought it was the defendant- You obviously didn't bother to read the article

you seem to be confused. He IS the defendant.

Ok I stand corrected on the use of the term defendant (I would have called him the accused but I see now both terms are interchangeable)

Now, Would you like to point out where I said he was a criminal?

Ok I stand corrected on the use of the term defendant (I would have called him the accused but I see now both terms are interchangeable)

Now, Would you like to point out where I said he was a criminal?

i never said you did.

• Registered Users Posts: 487 ✭✭Strong Life in Dublin

not true. They are proposing to make it illegal but so far they have not done so. http://www.bbc.com/news/world-europe-30242641

It is procuring it on the street that is illegal http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1993/en/act/pub/0020/sec0007.html#sec7

Yeah exactly that's why I said escorts are legal............:confused:

Actually paying sex have always been illegal! Escorts are legal because you are 'paying for their time'
    Yeah exactly that's why I said escorts are legal............:confused:

The part i was disagreeing with (and i thought this was clear from what i posted) was where you said paying for sex has always been illegal. Clearly it isnt.

• Registered Users Posts: 487 ✭✭Strong Life in Dublin

The part i was disagreeing with (and i thought this was clear from what i posted) was where you said paying for sex has always been illegal. Clearly it isnt.

Ehh paying for sex is illegal, escorts get around it by charging for her time and companionship only. Yes, escorts often have sex with their clients, but that is a matter of coincidence and choice between consenting adults... It is not the escort selling sex to the client!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Grand Moff Tarkin

Free legal aid is just a money train for the legal profession. The more often a scut is before a judge the better for the lawyers in the state.

Ehh paying for sex is illegal, escorts get around it by charging for her time and companionship only. Yes, escorts often have sex with their clients, but that is a matter of coincidence and choice between consenting adults... It is not the escort selling sex to the client!

did you read the link i posted? the one where the government were proposing to make paying for sex illegal? Now why do you think they would be doing that if it was already illegal?

and you dont pay for their time. you pay them to leave.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

and you dont pay for their time. you pay them to leave.

bit like the ex so ?

gctest50 wrote: »
    bit like the ex so ?

expensive. but worth it.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Free legal aid is just a money train for the legal profession. The more often a scut is before a judge the better for the lawyers in the state.

does anybody have the figures for what was paid out by the state for FLA over recent years?

• Registered Users Posts: 25,434 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

does anybody have the figures for what was paid out by the state for FLA over recent years?

http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/paying-the-price-for-justice-with-free-legal-aid-254724.html
    A NEW law is being drafted to control the €50m annual costs of providing legal aid to defendants in criminal trials.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Umaro

Aha. Cute hoors.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,002 ✭✭✭Wossack

Umaro wrote: »
    Aha. Cute hoors.

theyre the best ones

• Registered Users Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

thought it was higher to be honest! i wonder does it include non criminal cases also?

there is a separate civil legal aid fund.