Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Weirdo warning signs

• 05-01-2015 12:15am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭

What little things do people look out for to know that someones going to turn out to be a weirdo?

For me its

1. Doesn't like tea/coffee
    2. Thinks most people are pricks

If someone displays either of those characteristics I'm instantly wary of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭cruais

General rocking back and forth, chanting in an unknown language. ..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭DoYouEvenLift

Is fat and/or smelly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

"I think eating food that casts a shadow is murder"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

But most people are pricks??

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

Unblinking eye-contact from the moment you're introduced.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

They cross the street when they see you coming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

Is fat and/or smelly.

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭RedemptionZ

If they use internet forums.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭DoYouEvenLift

They cross the street when they see you coming.

Or grip their handbag tighter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭GerB40

People who are constantly happy and full of energy. ****...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭AnimalChin

Has no use and never will for earphones/headphones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 387 ✭✭berger89

somefeen wrote: »
    What little things do people look out for to know that someones going to turn out to be a weirdo?

For me its

- when they look on the floor when you/they speak
    - yes, when they don't drink tea!
    - when they smile at you (and without blinking )every time they catch your line of sight
    - when they don't like cinema popcorn :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

Someone who believes in ghosts!:pac: ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

For me its

those awful academics who speak fluent Japanese/ancient Greek/hieroglyphics etc and studied quantum physics just for the craic, any man or woman who gets someone else to change the wheel on their car because they "never had to do it before and wouldn't know what to do". People who have written their own book just to say they did and have a blog where they put all that happens them and their family on a daily basis.

these type of people are hiding away from reality and are not to be trusted:pac:

AnimalChin wrote: »
    Whatever happened to Teddy anyway?

I also have a deep mistrust of people who don't know all the words to 'Hold On' by Wilson Philips

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Doesn't have a television.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

AnimalChin wrote: »

Especially Sennheiser

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Staring constantly at you, with dead eyes, in conversation.

I know this fella...infamous weirdo round my area.. and his eyeballs never move when you're talking to him or he's talking to you.
    It's chilling.
    He also has murdery looking teeth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

Soccer bores, i.e. people who assume that everyone in the entire world shares their obsession.

Applies to some other sports also but soccer bores are the worst.

fussyonion wrote: »

Gnashers that would strip meat of a chicken wing! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

Men that wear skinny jeans, have beards,wear dickie bows, cycle high nellies...

Into irony...hipster types

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

cruais wrote: »
    General rocking back and forth, chanting in an unknown language. ..

I rock back and forth....a lot :o

A girl asked me not too long ago if I was "totes emotes". I'm 28, I shouldn't be spoken to in such a manner. Btw she was 26. What's wrong with people these days??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭lecker Hendl

people who make lists about weirdos

I know this fella...infamous weirdo round my area.. and his eyeballs never move when you're talking to him or he's talking to you.
    It's chilling.

It sounds like he's on crack.. The teeth, the pool ball eyes, definitely on something anyway.

GerB40 wrote: »
    A girl asked me not too long ago if I was "totes emotes". I'm 28, I shouldn't be spoken to in such a manner. Btw she was 26. What's wrong with people these days??

That actually made me LOL! :P ;)
    So true though, all those feckin' yolo, lmfao, omg, loike. Get a dictionary, eejits. Oh wait, haven't some of those made it into the Oxford dictionary?!! :( Ugh….

I rock back and forth....a lot :o

Yeah but u don't chant so its cool brah

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭Iranoutofideas

Adults that still have their teddy bear from childhood.

Freaks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭Mr_Muffin

You can usually tell by the haircut.

It's chilling.
    I have a vision of that fella from Fr. Ted who wore the I shot JR tshirt

GerB40 wrote: »
    I know this pain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

People with limp handshakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭somefeen

But most people are pricks??

*goes through old posts to confirm*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,336 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Das Kitty wrote: »
    The opposite, not being able to hold even the slightest eye contact, is also a major warning sign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Wearing tweed hats, made from a patchwork of different tweeds. Will often sport an array of badges /pins in their jacket lapel. Will usually engage you in a conversation about religion or the morals of young ones. ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭zzfh

i dont like tea/coffee....and most people ARE pricks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

I think people who think its weird not to like or coffee are weirdos.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Weirdos are way more interesting than the normals.

Nothing to be afraid of...unless they like to cut people up.

Give me "a character" any day, over a 'Conor O' Something Irish' who works in an office, has a pretty enough wife (but you probably wouldn't...), a couple of kids and a reasonable car.

I think people who think its weird not to like or coffee are weirdos.
    I think people who think its weird for people to think its weird that people don't like coffee are weird.

I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Into The Blue

Still wearing his Christmas jumper

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

Das Kitty wrote: »

I've a friend like that, he stayed with me and the ex and I thought he was going to try it on with her, then after an afternoon of him staring at me I thought he was going to try it on with me :eek:
    He did very well with women though :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

He did very well with women though :confused:

Hypnotist?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

People who call the guards when your 12 yr old labrador wanders into their garden.
    Neighbours who stop talking to you because you're friendly with owner of said 12 yr old dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭ardle1

Anyone who confuses 'FaceBook' status with their 'actual life live as we speak what you had for breakfast status'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 Da Jimmy

It's in their eyes! You just know, can't explain it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭AngryHippie

The ould weirdos are great craic !

Its still a good idea to have a deadbolt fitted and know some basic ass-whoopin moves though, just in case you encounter one of the bad weirdos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

For me its

Number two is true. Knowing it means I am never disappointed with people.

For me, its people who tell ya their life story within minutes of meeting them. Those people tend to be c,unts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭sharkfox

I think it's scientifically proven that people with their locks shaved above their ears are weird... Especially if it goes along with a mullet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

Adults that still have their teddy bear from childhood.

Freaks.

I cuddle a teddy every night :o my husband agrees with you.

I've ticked at least 4 things on this thread :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

Ah a bit weird is a great thing. I find it a very attractive trait actually. It's when people go from weird to total headcases you need to worry.

Although if I met someone with no friends at all I would find that very odd.

And unless there are major financial restraints or they have to care for a parent or something, anyone over the age of 30 still living at home, especially if they've never lived anywhere else independently, is also a bit strange.