Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - Read Mod Warning in OP 7/1/15

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

Something that's so obvious from all the pictures of the game ect in the build up all the media were saying lvg had fallen out with players and de gea and that they were all afraid of him blah blah blah. Any of the pictures and the match itself today all I see was lvg been warm and congratulating players and even with di Maria he had his arm around him coming off. Its so obvious the players have alot of respect for him compaired moyes last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭ericzeking

Imagine if someone posted this time last year that we'd sign di maria and Ashley young would be more influential for us!

Also, bit disappointed to hear crowd calling "off, off" for 2 great servants in wes brown and john o shea #notcool

Overall reasonable performance. ..a bit bitty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭mcratsix

I was really encouraged by today. I know it's only Sunderland at home, but still. Falcao's touch to win the penalty was absolutely poetically beautiful. I'd have loved him to bang in the goal, just for his confidence.
    Rooney was so much more effective in the advanced position, very good penalty too. Herrera played well, some very nice turns to find a bit of space in midfield.

Di Maria was poor. The effort was there, but it just didn't come off today. It's taken a long time but LVG seems to be picking teams that make sense. Although RVP being injured may have forced his hand.

After today, I'd love to see us play a five in midfield, with januzaij and di Maria/young on the wings, Herrera and blind in the middle, then Mata playing off Rooney. Probably wishful thinking. Stick on Fellaini for mata if it's not happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,547 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

Just scanning through the threads and seems like quite a few are disappointed.

I personally thought it was a solid 90 minute performance, where we had good tempo for 90 minutes. We worked as a unite, we pressed high, our aggression was good and this led to Sunderland making mistakes in their own half. It something we need to work on more, but feel it could be huge for us if we do it right.

Young had a very good game. Worked hard, looked for the ball, beat his man and deserved more from 2 excellent crosses.

Di Maria had a woeful day, but his replacement Januzaj had a very solid game. I honestly think we have a gem in this kid and the flak he has got from some quarters this season is questionable.

Herrera was good. Lovely close control, although I felt he was hampered by Blind who I felt could have done better at times.

Overall I am happy enough after last week. The only downside is we still need to be creating 4 or 5 more good chances today, but this was a much better performance then some are giving it.

It was solid in terms of us pressuring a team we really should be, when you consider Sunderlands quality.

Where it was very poor was chance creation and defending when they broke at us. Only for Falcaos great ball control to win that penalty we were about to play the long ball game to Fellaini.

With the quailty of player in our squad we should be creating much more clear cut chances but in attack it was shocking, misplaced passes, ADM's croosing was terrible. Zero service to Falcao, he kept having to drop deep for the ball and struggled.

Dour and boring overall, lots of possesion but very harsh on the eyes. No real up and at them attacking.

Only for that penalty we were heading for a nervy finish. Long balls to Fellaini against a team that were parking the bus but doing it well. It could have easily been a draw bar for the penalty and red.

Thats not good enough in my book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,308 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Dour and boring overall, lots of possesion but very harsh on the eyes. No real up and at them attacking.

Would disagree.

If anything it was more frustrating rather then boring.

We had plenty of ball, but bad decision making like Di Maria brain fart at end of 1st half were the difference between us being in front at the break and not.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭mcratsix

It was solid in terms of us pressuring a team we really should be, when you consider Sunderlands quality.

Where it was very poor was chance creation and defending when they broke at us. Only for Falcaos great ball control to win that penalty we were about to play the long ball game to Fellaini.

With the quailty of player in our squad we should be creating much more clear cut chances but in attack it was shocking, misplaced passes, ADM's croosing was terrible. Zero service to Falcao, he kept having to drop deep for the ball and struggled.

Only for that penalty we were heading for a nervy finish. Long balls to Fellaini against a team that were parking the bus but doing it well. It could have easily been a draw bar for the penalty and red.

Thats not good enough in my book.

I didn't think it was good enough either, but I definitely saw an improvement in our passing and tempo. Possession in better areas, not just passing round the back. Still need to be creating many many more chances, I agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

I think peoples views are tainted by a bad first half but this is part of a bigger issue, the squad's confidence has been quite fragile since the Sir Alex era ended and repairing it is not an easy feat.

That said, we do seem to be getting closer. In hindsight last week wasn't a bad performance but we were unlucky (only fair, we robbed points off two thirds of the league this season) while in the second half our play was a lot more fluid and we were finally starting to capitalize on good passing play by creating chances. Rooney getting games up front would at least indicate that LVG has got the midfield performing to enough of a standard that he doesn't have to play him there for cover and it really shows. Herrera should start every game from here on in. Di Maria was very poor again but Januzaj having a great game definitely ameliorated that and Young was also in top form. Blind was excellent again and moved the ball forward very well. Getting the impression that we're just around the corner from some really good stuff, and just in time too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

Tough game on Wednesday, away to Newcastle.

Is it on anywhere?

Edit, BT Sports 1... that'll do.

Would disagree.

If anything it was more frustrating rather then boring.

We had plenty of ball, but bad decision making like Di Maria brain fart at end of 1st half were the difference between us being in front at the break and not.
    mcratsix wrote: »
    I didn't think it was good enough either, but I definitely saw an improvement in our passing and tempo. Possession in better areas, not just passing round the back. Still need to be creating many many more chances, I agree.

I agree it was better in terms of possesion and where we had it plus the tempo but this was down to Sunderland getting 10 men behing the ball rather than us being better, they had little attacking intent so we could play ball in their half as much as we wanted, they seemed happy to allow this and play the counter attacking game.

Still given all this territorial advantage we struggled to break them down and only for Falcaos great control we were heading for a tense finish and maybe a draw and dropped points at home to Sunderland.

Every game is huge now and if we play this badly in attack at home now to poor opposition what are our chances in upcoming away games to the likes of Liverpool and Chelsea. I'm looking ahead based on today and other matches and it doesn't look good.

The only hope I have is that we won't be the team dominating possesion in those away games and there will be more room for our attackers on the break but then our lack of pace worries me there. A lot of luck needed to get top four I feel.

Also it was nice to see a back four today but it won't last long. Back five for tough way games will be the order of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭how.gareth

Feck it lads let's enjoy the good and forget the bad for now, di maria needs a game or two break while Jan can enjoy some game time, rooney up top with Falcao starting and hope it clicks for him, he is surely in the last chance saloon now

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,758 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

The Berba control from Falcao was beautiful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭MythicalMadMan

LOL at the ref statement saw Oshea foul but played advantage and then wes brown fouled.
    As a side point surely if that even happened Falcao got no advantage and the play is pulled back for the first foul. Thatd make sense to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭MythicalMadMan

Saw DeGea made a really nice throw with a lovely bit of spin to setup a counter attack which resulted in a chance for Januzai.

Its always a part of the game I love I dont know why probably from growing up with Schemichel as uniteds goalie. I wonder if they had the stats now how many key passes schemichel would have had in his career

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,975 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

Was worried before Saints game that we would struggle to break them down but great to see Rooney upfront again.Di Maria totally off form,needs a break for at least two games,thought Valencia and Rojo looked good today,as did Herrera,nice to see Adnan playing with a bit of last years confidence.
    The midweek game is v important now...Newcastle will be right up for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,182 ✭✭✭KH25

Nice to get the win. The standard of refereeing had become a joke though. Don't know what he was playing at giving Brown the red.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,747 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

One thing that annoys me: albiet I was working so couldn't actually follow any of the match but listened to the "livewire" on TodayFm after all the matches but it genuinely sickened me to hear United fans ringing in saying Di Maria isn't an United player and slagging him. I would say a player who was so central to Real winning the Champions League and was one of Argentina's top performers at the World Cup, and indeed on the Fifpro XI, would be a "United player", and perhaps the blame lies firmly on Van Gaal's door. Liverpool get slagged for their "Football Club" stance but United deserve as much for their "not United Way" mindset. And not getting personel or anything but any grown man who follows a club they have no historic or geographic link to as "we". Come on like!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,995 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

(Van Gaal) made it clear he wants this to be his last club job and intends to stay beyond his current three year, £10million-a-season agreement.
    (...)
    Despite watching humble Burnley outperform Van Gaal’s big-money stars in periods of the game, the club’s Florida-based owners are understood not to have dwelt on United’s patchy recent form.

And they took on board Van Gaal’s assessment that the squad needs a major overhaul that may take up to two years to complete.

That would only give him another year after that to start re-establishing United as a trophy-winning force - and he wants longer at the helm.

http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/man-united-boss-louis-van-5250801?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,234 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

And not getting personel or anything but any grown man who follows a club they have no historic or geographic link to as "we". Come on like!

Ah would ya schhtop. there is nothing childish, or no harm in this whatsoever. The people who have irks about this need to take a look at themselves in fairness.

I have links you speak of, but it doesn't bother me in the slightest some of my mates that don't and use the word "we" in the context you speak.

United in United, a religion people follow, love and chose to be a part of :-p

That's an association right there. So build a bridge if you can't swallow that #comeOnLike

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

That used to bother me before but I just got over it.

I found words with no football meaning more annoying, turgid, and dross are the ones I hate the most.

Just say rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭irishfeen

United's next 7 fixtures to end of April.

2zjkrbs.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

irishfeen wrote: »

2zjkrbs.jpg

I'm kind of happy we are playing the top teams our bed performances have been against top half teams this year if we pull a few wins out of them and the odd draw we be grand. Even accepting a defeat to one of them wouldn't be crisis providing we win against Newcastle and villa and Everton.

Can't help but see Arsenal bouncing back from the Monaco defeat with a win today, Everton have been terrible away. Arsenal haven't beaten Everton in the league since March 2012, but Everton are having their worst season in years.

As for City and Liverpool, I'd love to see the Pool pick up no points here but think they might scrape a draw at home.

If it goes that way, Arsenal will go 3rd on 51 points, United 4th on 50, but then a 4 point gap to Southampton in 5th and Liverpool in 6th, both on 46 points but Southampton with the stronger goal difference.

That wouldn't make for a terrible weekend if it were to come to pass. Any points dropped by the Pool will see a bit of space between them and the Top 4. Ending up one point behind Arsenal considering their recent results compared to our own wouldn't be the worst position to be in now.

Yeah it was only Sunderland and the score should have been more than 2-0, but those 3 points yesterday were very important.

An aul' dirty international break coming up at the end of March, wonder will it be one of those "Thank jaysus for that, we need some time to regroup and players to come back from injury" or will it be a "Fúck it anyway, just when we had a bit of momentum built up with the wins against Spurs and Liverpool" :pac:

Trilla wrote: »
    Ah would ya schhtop. there is nothing childish, or no harm in this whatsoever. The people who have irks about this need to take a look at themselves in fairness.

I have links you speak of, but it doesn't bother me in the slightest some of my mates that don't and use the word "we" in the context you speak.

United in United, a religion people follow, love and chose to be a part of :-p

That's an association right there. So build a bridge if you can't swallow that #comeOnLike

I had started something that would've turned into a tl:dr and then deleted it, but you pretty much nailed it on the head there.

Along with the bricks, mortar, and grass, the fans are the one constant at the club. Players, managers and staff come and go, the fans are the lifeblood of a club and the average one will last through decades. They have every right to feel a 'We' mentality, especially if they've been putting significant time and resources towards the club for the best part of their lives.

Each to their own, but I see no problem with it and to those who do I'd say to them life's too short.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

G]

Win the next 2 and I think we will get top 4 for definite. We have had good results against our rivals as well so I'm confident we will perform against them again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,741 ✭✭✭Hococop

Not the start we were looking for in this game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

Can't believe Mangala cost more than 40 Million pounds, hopefully we never ever do business with Porto.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭beno619

Giggsy11 wrote: »
    Can't believe Mangala cost more than 40 Million pounds, hopefully we never ever do business with Porto.

The way people on here were complaining you'd swear we missed on Maldini.

Wouldn't write him of yet though as its his first season in the league. Di Maria certainly doesn't look like a £60M player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

beno619 wrote: »
    The way people on here were complaining you'd swear we missed on Maldini.

Wouldn't write him of yet though as its his first season in the league. Di Maria certainly doesn't look like a £60M player.

At the start of the season so many complained that we didn't address CB issue and said should have signed Lovern or Mangala. I remember Arsenal fan posted so much **** here saying how Lovern would have solved our defensive issues. Forgot his name.