Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - Read Mod Warning in OP 7/1/15

I'm fully expecting us to go back to 5 at the back against West Ham. Especially now that Youngs back.

I can't believe people still think Young is what's needed. For all the ball he's got down the left he still creates very little and more often than not his delivery is poor. People wonder how United can have all these crosses and not score but for some reason let the players doing the crossing away with a lot of deserved criticism.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Young was playing great before he got injured, I for one am glad he's back. Stick him on the right instead of Valencia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

irishfeen wrote: »
    BTW why the fúck do all the TV channels/papers constantly do this "United starting team worth £230m.."... they never do it with City, Chelsea, Arsenal, Pool etc. ... its like everyone is allowed to spend money no problem except us. Wish they would just fúck right off..

They do it will all the big spenders. City and Chelsea constantly have the same treatment when they play a minnow, and how many times have we heard Rodgers comments about "spending 100 million meaning have to title challenge" being brought up in light of his 150 million spend?

No need for the victim card. The media does it to all the teams who spend big.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭irishfeen

Kirby wrote: »
    They do it will all the big spenders. City and Chelsea constantly have the same treatment when they play a minnow, and how many times have we heard Rodgers comments about "spending 100 million meaning have to title challenge" being brought up in light of his 150 million spend?

No need for the victim card. The media does it to all the teams who spend big.
    The brother is a Chelsea fan so games do be on very regularly in this house and I cannot remember the last time team value was thrown around so much on commentary before and during the game. Differing rules for United I suppose.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,227 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

Liam O wrote: »
    I can't believe people still think Young is what's needed. For all the ball he's got down the left he still creates very little and more often than not his delivery is poor. People wonder how United can have all these crosses and not score but for some reason let the players doing the crossing away with a lot of deserved criticism.

Relax a little. I didn't say I wanted that formation and I definitely didn't say that Young should be in the team. My point was knowing LVG it wouldn't surprise me one bit if it's used on Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭Deiseboy01

bangkok wrote: »
    should be yes

Personally I'd go with

Stretch Arm Strong
    Desert Orchid Andre the Giant Darth Vader Bruce Lee
    Papa Smurf Roy Keane Ghengis Khan
    Merlin
    The Flash Buzz Killington

• Closed Accounts Posts: 612 ✭✭✭smurfs5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,741 ✭✭✭Hococop

Any word from LVG?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

Hococop wrote: »
    Any word from LVG?

Leverage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

McNair had A sensational game! Some boy at RB!

Hococop wrote: »
    Any word from LVG?

Philosophy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,815 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

That ^ reminds me of Strachan:

Reporter: "Gordon, can we have a quick word please?"
    Strachan: "Velocity" (walks off).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

One player injured now, one!

Amazing.

Edit, forgot about RvP... he looked a bit injured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

1669718_687617788026685_3678599063347340552_o.jpg

Still more medals and Stevie-Me...

Few quotes from a bbc interview with Jorges Mendes regarding DeGea and the usual line on Falcao...

He has one year left on his contract and I think that he will stay in Manchester...The player will decide, but he's happy there, at the moment.

If he will not stay in Manchester, he will play for sure in one of the biggest teams in Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,300 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Amazed that Anderson managed to get a 4 year contract! Fair play to him.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Tyson Fury wrote: »
    Amazed that Anderson managed to get a 4 year contract! Fair play to him.

The importance of being liked by your manager.

LVG not much into such sentiment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

At this point I can only assume Herreras ommision is due to the investigation into match fixing which he is named in.

That can only be the reason he is not playing. Rooney was pretty meh again last night, some loose passes, dispossed a few times.

Gratned there was an evident strategy with Fellaini up front with Van Persie, and it worked, that is the sort of gametime Herrera should be getting if he is not playing in the league.

One of the hottest prospects in La Liga, largely tipped to form the new Spanish midfield alongside Koke, makes a big money move that should bump his career, and he spends week in week out on the bench.
    If I was him I'd be fuming and I wouldn't be suprised if he's looking for an out already.

Assuming there hasn't been a word with him and the club and an agreement in place. Could well be to wait until the investigation concludes before he gets serious gametime ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,206 ✭✭✭Lucas Hood

Why are people assuming Herrera omission is down to the match fixing? I'm not going through every player involved but Gabi off Atleti is involved and he is playing every week.

Lucas Hood wrote: »
    Why are people assuming Herrera omission is down to the match fixing? I'm not going through every player involved but Gabi off Atleti is involved and he is playing every week.

Are other people saying it? Might take comfort in not being alone. Nothing else makes sense to me what so ever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,206 ✭✭✭Lucas Hood

TheDoc wrote: »
    Are other people saying it? Might take comfort in not being alone. Nothing else makes sense to me what so ever

Keano2097 said last night is was "100% match fixing related".

Lvg froze Riqumele out at Barca because he wasn't signed by him. Could be something like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

i think herrera is just being left out cause LVG doesnt rate him as highly as the others and by the looks of it he wants to try fit in all of rvp,rooney, falcao and mata into the team. With fellani playing well when hes came in and of course he adds the physical nature the team is lacking.

i think rooney is going to be in the midfield for the rest of the season which is annoying because LVG said at start of the season that striker was his best postion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭Trond

Keano2097 said last night is was "100% match fixing related".

Lvg froze Riqumele out at Barca because he wasn't signed by him. Could be something like that.

Not really. He just didn't like his style. He also played him on the wing. I think he thought he wasn't a team player so didn't fit the philosophy . There were quotes from him about it at the time.

He then went to Villarreal and basically ran amuck when he was given free reign his preferred position in the middle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Herrera didn't do a lot with his 20 minutes last night though.
    He was too quick to just lay the pass back to where it came from.

Maybe I'm wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

Lads a fella that's in a United facebook group that I'm in said this morning that de Gea said when he first arrived that he'd like to return to Spain to play one day.

Now I have no memory of this, and I can't find anything from him, but I didn't want to say that this fella on FB was wrong as he seems so adamant.

Anyone got anything on it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭Trond

Al Capwned wrote: »
    Lads a fella that's in a United facebook group that I'm in said this morning that de Gea said when he first arrived that he'd like to return to Spain to play one day.

Now I have no memory of this, and I can't find anything from him, but I didn't want to say that this fella on FB was wrong as he seems so adamant.

Never seen anything definitive.

Mostly what I've read is that he's very happy here. As are his parents who he's very close to. They actually prefer life in England to Spain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

As far as I'm aware he said he wanted to go back and play for Atleti at some stage of his career.

Definitly remember reading him saying he'd love to go back to Athletico later in his career. I remember as part of the same piece he said he doesn't for see himself every playing for Real Madrid, as it would be too difficult.

But sure when has what players said actually meant anything ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,199 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

TheDoc wrote: »
    At this point I can only assume Herreras ommision is due to the investigation into match fixing which he is named in.
    Why are people assuming Herrera omission is down to the match fixing?
    It doesn't really make any sense that he would be dropped because of the match fixing, that saga will drag on for months, are we really going to leave a €36m signing on the bench for months on end because of an ongoing court case? Lots of footballers have things going on in their personal lives, it rarely means that their football careers simply get put on hold.

Herrera isn't playing because LVG doesn't rate him. He thinks Rooney should be playing in midfield instead. :rolleyes: