Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So. What is everyone doing new years eve?

• 30-12-2014 1:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭TheOtherBloke

When ive asked my friends. All I get in response is.. I dont know but I am going to get very very very drunk. What are your plans? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

I dont know but I am going to get very very very drunk.

Absolutely pathetic and selfish desire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭Gandalph

Shift the Mrs at midnight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭TheOtherBloke

Cliche too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭pmasterson95

Watching the clock and the year coming to an end as another new year beckons bringing me closer to my own death and other mortality issues..........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 781 ✭✭✭CINCLANTFLT

Same thing as every year now... Takeaway and tv with the missus... Some champagne and a kiss at midnight!

Nothing, never really celebrate it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Probably eat too much. We'll have a few drinks at home, watch some tv and open a bottle of champagne at midnight. Ah, living the rock n roll lifestyle here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

Don't know. Don't want to go out really but also don't want to sit in. I'm torn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭Applause

Babysitting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

Clapping and cheering at a clock. Ugh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

New Years is without a doubt, the worst night to go out in town.

Give me 12 st Stephens day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭AdFundum

A Wes Anderson film marathon - a bit of booze - and take out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭NSAman

Probably the most depressing time of year. Never ever celebrate it! Will be in bed at 10 and wake at 6 for a walk.. thats it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

NSAman wrote: »
    Probably the most depressing time of year.

Yeah, that's why just about everybody in the entire world celebrates it to some degree. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭To Elland Back

Work until 5, few pints in the local, then home to a big fire. Thinking either a homemade pizza or some Indian nibbles. Plenty of wine with my good lady and whatever takes our fancy on TV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭PLL

My other half is a chef, so i'll be on my own (3yr old in bed).
    Ahh no i'm used to it now, i've accepted it'll be once in a blue moon we will do something together for NYE. When we do something some year we will go all out ;-)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,011 ✭✭✭Tugboats

A **** around 11 and sleep through it:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭Mr_Muffin

Gonna bang Mrs.Muffin and ejaculate just as 12 o clock hits. Then leave the country and never be seen again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

Same thing as every year now... Takeaway and tv with the missus... Some champagne and a kiss at midnight!

Could you not launch a major air strike from the battle fleet at midnight? Followed by a salvo of cruise missiles? Go on go on....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

Mr_Muffin wrote: »
    Gonna bang Mrs.Muffin and ejaculate just as 12 o clock hits. Then leave the country and never be seen again.

She'll be on AH with a thread how you disappeared and she felt ye really got on. Are you a model?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

No idea yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭TheOtherBloke

Once again AH has made my hour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

I will skin a goat with a stanley blade and wear his carcass upon my head as display of machismo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,417 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

Going for an Indian with some friends and then heading back to one of their houses for a few drinks to toast the new year :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

If you're considering drinking and driving this New Year's Eve, I only ask that you consider this: the guards will be extremely busy and over-stretched that tonight, and taxis charge double.

It would be more impressive if you could spurt out 10 spurts, or 9 thrusts and 1 spurt.

If you're considering drinking and driving this New Year's Eve, I only ask that you consider this: the guards will be extremely busy and over-stretched that tonight, and taxis charge double.

Taxis don't charge double.

Do they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,118 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

She'll be on AH with a thread how you disappeared and she felt ye really got on. Are you a model?
    This is Mrs Muffin:

http://cdn.sheknows.com/giftguide/products/little_miss_muffin_doll_coconut.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

PLL wrote: »
    My other half is a chef, so i'll be on my own (3yr old in bed).
    Ahh no i'm used to it now, i've accepted it'll be once in a blue moon we will do something together for NYE. When we do something some year we will go all out ;-)

Aw, that was me every year too. I used to record Big Ben/ London fireworks and Jools Holland and play it when he got in, pretending it was midnight :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Crumpets

Me, my close friends and a load of food and drink. Probably won't leave the house :)

Taxis don't charge double.

Do they?

No. They charge a "premium rate". A quick check on my route home that normally costs €18, at premium rate it costs €22.

Cienciano wrote: »
    No. They charge a "premium rate". A quick check on my route home that normally costs €18, at premium rate it costs €22.

So not exactly double. You sure that's not the usual night time rate and people are mixing it up?

Wouldn't think they could charge more simply because it's New Years, why don't they just do it every Friday and Saturday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

wohoo its nearly January

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭Reiketsu

Off to London for a few days from tomorrow morning. Heading out to Slimelight with a few friends and we are booked into The Savoy for a meal on New Years Day :).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

Ive got a lot of **** to catch up on, ive fallen behind in 2014. Think i'll concentrate on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

I'm already chomping at the bit for 2015. Cannot WAIT to get into it and become a superhero :D
    Life is gonna get such a kick in the face it won't know what hit it.

So not exactly double. You sure that's not the usual night time rate and people are mixing it up?

Wouldn't think they could charge more simply because it's New Years, why don't they just do it every Friday and Saturday?

You're right, there's an extra charge again. Taxi fare calculator doesn't do it. Not double but a few more quid on it.

Cienciano wrote: »
    You're right, there's an extra charge again. Taxi fare calculator doesn't do it. Not double but a few more quid on it.

So there is the night rate which would usually bump a 18 euro fare up to 22, but there is another rate on top of the usual night rate?

That's just acting the gowl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Staying in with immediate family. We might go to our next door neighbours together to ring in the new year. Gone are the days when I'd be out in town, paying ridiculous money to get into some cattle mart. Much rather stay at home and appreciate the time I have with my parents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

Never enjoy NYE nights out (or most nights out at all really these days) so staying in, probably watching the Hootenanny. I went to NYC a few years ago and the fireworks and party in Central Park were good fun but other than that it's always been a boring night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Takeout, and Jules Holland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    Takeout, and Jules Holland.

Ooohhh I'd make bits of a big dirty chinese now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭Steve_Carella

Nothing.

I know that's not much of a contribution but I'm trying to get my post count up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭Vinta81

Staying in for once! Chinese (if it's open) and Netflix :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,330 ✭✭✭deise08

Jools and a bottle of wine, with the cat beside me. Quite content with that :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭RoadhouseBlues

Few drinks at home with family and toast my birthday at midnight:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 449 ✭✭Tearin It Up

Was meant to go Nathan Carter in Killarney until my sister turned on me once again. Was meant to go with her.

Blamed me for a broken Christmas tree and as if I was a bold child took everything back of me and unfriended me on Facebook.

Then apparently, to get revenge on my sister's mood, she thought I took her bank card to clear out her bank account. It fell out of her purse in her handbag.

I refuse to go anywhere with someone like that. I'm too old for childish teenage tantrums.

We were on speaking terms and getting on great. Then she blamed me as if everything was my fault. We're both in our 30s.

There was two years solid in our 20s she blamed me where everything was my fault. She lost a book, it was my fault, the mail didn't come, it was my fault. Had a Xmas party once, where I was due out the door at 7, I came home at 6 and needed a shower, my sister wasn't going anywhere and she went into the bathroom to shower herself. How dare I look good. Things were so bad, I stopped talking to her, stopped giving her any excuse.

Here it is all starting up again. She must be jealous I have a bigger pair of tits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,313 ✭✭✭Ankhyu

Getting drunk in a barn with friends, food, music, a stove lighting, and Cards Against Humanity :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Last time I had a drunk on NYE I was underage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭thomasj

Whitney: so Brit what did you get up to last night?
    Britney: Well whit I toasted the new year
    Whitney : how did it go?
    Britney: I can't remember I got langered! Lol!