Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you feel inferior?

• 29-12-2014 1:48am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭

When you see a much nicer car than yours? Especially when you think your car is quite nice?

A brand new 911 Carrera 4S pulled up beside me the other day. It was very striking. I couldn't help wondering how happy the bloke driving it must be. I also felt pathetic as I laboured home in my 8 year old Golf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,268 ✭✭✭visual

You own your 8 year old car the new car is very likely financed with big repayments and devaluing by the day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users Posts: 22,259 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Not in the slightest bit. It's just a car. On the other hand, my guitars are more than likely better than the Carrera driver's guitars.

Depends what you're into, I suppose. My car is a comfy seat and a stereo that gets me from A to B. With a nice big boot for guitars.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,820 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

I always feel superior when next to a 2008 plus cheap tax financed to the hilt car.

Only times now I feel inferior are those with 250 plus bhp petrols of any age, those are the men who are men, regardless of current value of car but as Robbie Williams says no regrets, they don't work...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭pablo128

I have a 9 year old Avensis t4 spec. Yes, there are nicer cars that pull up beside me at the lights. But I own my car, I know it's in good condition, quality tyres, etc. And it will probably be going along just fine in another 10 years, unlike half the german sh1te out there.

There's also my 35 yr old Fiat to keep things interesting.;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,668 ✭✭✭kay 9

Agree with the above. I don't care what anyone else has as it's useless to me. I like to have my own gear whether it's a jeep or a screwdriver it's mine. After all why make yourself feel inferior to a machine?? I doubt feel inferior to any man, woman, beast or machine. Enjoy your golf...I bet you have more respect for it than most driving Ferraris etc ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

I also felt pathetic as I laboured home in my 8 year old Golf.

No offence Roger but the only thing pathetic is your feelings of inferiority because another bloke drives a nicer car than you :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

Jesus. wrote: »
    No offence Roger but the only thing pathetic is your feelings of inferiority because another bloke drives a nicer car than you :)

No need for this, it is a motoring forum after all. Nothing wrong with appreciating a nice car.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,340 ✭✭✭bladespin

Tbh, I'd feel very paranoid driving around in a Porsche and be much more comfortable in a golf (with porsche performance ;))

• Registered Users Posts: 7,289 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Im normally too deafened to have a clue what's going on around me :p

• Registered Users Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭Grolschevik

endacl wrote: »
    Not in the slightest bit. It's just a car. On the other hand, my guitars are more than likely better than the Carrera driver's guitars.

Depends what you're into, I suppose. My car is a comfy seat and a stereo that gets me from A to B. With a nice big boot for guitars.

Exactly this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

When you see a much nicer car than yours? Especially when you think your car is quite nice?

A brand new 911 Carrera 4S pulled up beside me the other day. It was very striking. I couldn't help wondering how happy the bloke driving it must be. I also felt pathetic as I laboured home in my 8 year old Golf.

This might make you feel better:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭ian87

I've had my bmw's, audi's etc that I've had to borrow from the credit union to buy. Got rid of them, paid off the debt and now have a deposit for house saved/recovered. I currently drive a diesel focus which I bought as a trade sale in a garage last May just before selling my 5 series. I taxed it, serviced it and put four new bridgestones on it and it is still costing me less than its market value. It's worth less than my shirt but I own it outright. And to be honest it has more character and sentimental value than my old gadget laden leather clad badge mobiles. Fair enough its a step down but it does the same job and as I do 20k miles a year minimum it serves me well without the worry of excruciating depreciation. Do I cringe driving it? Nope! Because at the end of the day who else cares?

• Registered Users Posts: 18,944 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

If you believe in stereo types he's much more jealous of you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

I bought my car for 800 euro, It was an absolute heap when i bought it some would say it still is, but with the amount of work I've put into it I utterly love the thing, all its quirks, and strange things it has, unlike the guy in his new 142 I'm not having to mortgage my house to afford it a car is what you make it in my opinion really

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Dia1988

I would hate to bring everyone down, but I think it's not just the actual car be it a Porsche or Ferrari that might make one feel inferior, but the lifestyle that goes with it.

Indeed, the car may be on a lease plan or on hefty loan repayments, but when ever I see a flash car such as the above,I think to myself, How has he got it so right? Bet he has a nice house/mansion, nice clothes, goes on regular holidays and can afford to send his children to the best school!

Of course, the above is a very materialistic view point and the old adage of "money can't buy you happiness" but I disagree.
    Like it or not,money can make life in certain terms happier, albeit an empty happiness! There's nothing stopping you from being sad and poor either.

Well, I hope I cheered everyone up!

Happy 2015! :-P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Quotation-Rayan-Black-money-happiness-Meetville-Quotes-127542.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

I feel inferior when someone in the same car as me pulls up one side of me, but in a higher spec.

Basically this boils down to me not getting a titanium or titanium x spec. Have and always will regret it :(

Never again, top spec or nothing!!

Don't give a hoot about anyone else in their 151 corolla with hub caps, or the likes...

• Registered Users Posts: 10,208 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

On the flip side, I drive a modern c class "amg sport" ... Merc equiv of bmw mtec.

Nothing too special but certainly looks nice. Even in mid twenties, I sometimes get the "well someone has a rich daddy" ... I don't even bother stooping to their level with a response anymore

• Registered Users Posts: 980 ✭✭✭barney 20v

My daily car is a €500 1998 corolla - the most boring but reliable car on the roadA/B driving
    I've a 295 BHP Impreza for the weekend/ summer and I bought my Gf our ST mondeo- rare enough and comfy.
    Safe and economical

I only envy people who have good condition Mk 2 Ford escorts - !

• Registered Users Posts: 81,820 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

I think in general Ireland is no country for good cars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Funnily enough it's never something I thought about. I drive a nearly 8 year old golf. Sure loads of way more expensive newer faster cars have pulled up beside me. But it never made me feel somehow lesser or made me like my car less. Sure my car isn't anything special but I still enjoy it.

Dia1988 wrote: »
    I would hate to bring everyone down, but I think it's not just the actual car be it a Porsche or Ferrari that might make one feel inferior, but the lifestyle that goes with it.

Indeed, the car may be on a lease plan or on hefty loan repayments, but when ever I see a flash car such as the above,I think to myself, How has he got it so right? Bet he has a nice house/mansion, nice clothes, goes on regular holidays and can afford to send his children to the best school!

Of course, the above is a very materialistic view point and the old adage of "money can't buy you happiness" but I disagree.
    Like it or not,money can make life in certain terms happier, albeit an empty happiness! There's nothing stopping you from being sad and poor either.

Well, I hope I cheered everyone up!

Happy 2015! :-P

I agree.
    Many posts in here are along the lines of the chap is indebted to the hilt and we're all better off owning what we have. The usual sh1te about 2008 on cars on low tax also come along, only morons would buy one of them.

Each to their own etc.... I am fairly sure the chap in the Porsche is by in large happy out with his lot.... So too the OP in his Golf. Of course both aspire to greener fields & better things.

I remember doing a bit of Security work in the past. It was a horse racing event and Volkswagen dealer had taken up space to put 3-4 cars on display (to promote themselves).

When the lads were working on the site, wiring up TVs, speakers, bringing kegs, sorting out catering, etc. VW started arriving in their cars. One of them was an orange Amarok. It came in the gate and I think literally everyone stopped what they were doing and stared the wheels off it. It was amazing.

It was lifted, and the back was lifted higher than the front (so it was 'looking down'). It had a big A-bar on the back, with spotlights on the roof, side bars, etc. it was just absolutely amazing looking. Colour really set it off, too.

I think it was pretty much the same as this:

http://www.ausmotive.com/pics/2012/VW-Amarok-Canyon-Concept-01.jpg

Checked the window when I was having a look at it. €67,500 I believe it was. Can't imagine anyone without at least half a million in their ass pocked would even consider it. If I won the lotto tomorrow I'd track it down.

Other than that I'd rather just have a car that I personally like. If that Amarok pulled up beside me in traffic, I'd think "jammy bastard", but there are few other cars I pass any remarks to. Porsches and Ferraris, etc. have drove past me before and I don't really pass any remarks. I'm happy enough in my 407.

You're very anonymous on the roads, anyway. No one knows who you are. Once you take 10 steps away from your million Euro sports car, no one knows who owns it. When you're in it, people aren't looking at you, they're looking at the car itself.

I certainly wouldn't go out of my way to buy a nice car to impress other people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

I drive a taxi spec 95 Merc non turbo diesel. What do you think...?

I couldn't give one metric f*ck what anyone thinks, I love driving my roaring bear of a car :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

i never feel inferior. My car is 10 years old but is better than most cars I see. I rarely see a car that is more desirable to me than my own, mostly blandmobiles. (My car also pretty quick and I have a huge penis

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,156 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Maybe it's a girl thing, but I can't see what anyone sees in Porsche cars. I would see a driver of one as someone with more money than sense.

• Registered Users Posts: 656 ✭✭✭christy02

I like when someone pulls up at lights beside me a 142 paddy spec golf (or similar). Leaving dunkettle roundabout heading for Middleton there is 2 lanes leaving roundabout which then merge into one on exit ramp.

For some reason it is always the golf drivers that skip past traffic in outside and then sit beside me at the lights. They then try and get ahead on to off ramp so they can cut in ahead of you.

Often wonder as I leave them for dead if they are thinking they could have bought something so much better for less cash a few years older.

And not be financed to the hilt!

Always did and always will own my cars outright. If that means I pay a bit extra road tax then so be it.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,023 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Rarely feel inferior in my 14 year old Golf GTi. Bought it for the princely sum of €2800 in 2010. Car owes me nothing. I added up my repair bills in the last four years: €250. If anything I feel smug.

Herself has a 04 BMW X3 3.0i. I sometimes feel like a bit of a goon in that, most money we ever spent on a car at 5 grand. The tax is nasty too. But the noise and acceleration make up for it.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

No one will agree, but deep down, almost every man will quietly understand.