Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Springer papers.

• 21-12-2014 8:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭

002.JPGSome good dog on here what do ye think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭hathcock

snipe49 wrote: »

papers are all fine and dandy,but iv'e seen dogs with similar papers that weren't worth a hat of skins,the proof of the dog is when they do the business,hope he turns out to be a super dog,but don't rely on pedigree alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭snipe49

hathcock wrote: »
    papers are all fine and dandy,but iv'e seen dogs with similar papers that weren't worth a hat of skins,the proof of the dog is when they do the business,hope he turns out to be a super dog,but don't rely on pedigree alone.
    He is a good soft plenty of drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭useurowname

Fairly good bloodlines but you're going back three generations to get a champion so as regards breeding it doesn't make my eyes pop. Best if you know either of the parents and can see them work and like the look and style of them.

I have this dog he's 2 years old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭rebok classic

that pedigree be handy if ya get caught short out hunting someday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭270WIN

what u on about?? i see no dog nor never saw him working...how can we decide if he's any good or not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭Kells1

Very nice looking breeding there lad. Laced with real hard going dogs on all the lines monalue, sprucehill,bridevalley,bramble taff . Any pictures of him. How is he working?

why is half of it covered

really the only thing you can take from a pedigree is if there are ftch or ftw above a name you know there was a good chance of no hard mouth the dog had drive could find game and was trainable other than that you need to see parents hunting\working though rhere are hard going lines many soft\bad dogs were also bred from these lines hence the only real generation of importance is the 1st 1 if you know for sure these are what you want it makes looking at the other gens worth while many the ball of sh1te came with a great pedigree show us your dog not its pedigree

270WIN wrote: »
    what u on about?? i see no dog nor never saw him working...how can we decide if he's any good or not
    What with some lads on here spoiling for a row. I said there were some good dogs on the papers yes or now. could u not say have u any pictures or video of him before u go off on one !

promise ill go easy on ya

really the only thing you can take from a pedigree is if there are ftch or ftw above a name you know there was a good chance of no hard mouth the dog had drive could find game and was trainable other than that you need to see parents hunting\working though rhere are hard going lines many soft\bad dogs were also bred from these lines hence the only real generation of importance is the 1st 1 if you know for sure these are what you want it makes looking at the other gens worth while many the ball of sh1te came with a great pedigree show us your dog not its pedigree
    U show me your's and i'll show u mine ;)

i wouldn't embarrass myself by showing those yolks I have to the public
    no thanks but im not the 1 mouthing about them so show us
    walk the walk

i wouldn't embarrass myself by showing those yolks I have to the public
    no thanks but im not the 1 mouthing about them so show us
    walk the walk
    Read what i said. That there were some good dogs on the papers. Go on show us your's some people love pink poodles. :p

oh god i was right the first time so hang on to those pares in case you need bum fodder while your out shooting some day ,, why is half covered up

oh god i was right the first time so hang on to those papers in case you need bum fodder while your out shooting some day ,, why is half covered up

We have toilet roll here pal not a old news papers.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭fiestaman

Paper never refused ink!

We have toilet roll here pal not a old news papers.:)
    oh lord walk the walk it seems you might need to use it to wipe your chin instead

What could u mean pal:rolleyes:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,743 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Cut out the crap.

Be civil, and stop the bitching.

First and ONLY warning lads.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭highduck

A few full stops would be a help...............

The guy just asked what people thought of the pedigree.

I can see by this statement why you are highly unlikely to get a job managing the breeding programme in Coolmore stud.If they just worked on the 1st generation.........???????

It seems to me that on boards its the people that (seem to know the least about dog pedigrees) are the most to criticize them. They seem to be the self proclaimed gurus of gundog success(online!!!!!!!!!!).

I know 80% of the dogs in this pedigree(going back 20yrs) and without ever seeing any dog that you've owned-I'd be confident that these dogs on their worst day they would blow a hole any of them. You told the OP to show us the dog.He didn't ask you to judge his dog,he asked what people thought of the pedigree!!Show us your dog!!!!!You're well able to knock another mans pedigree.Hes only blocked out the breeders details off the top of the photo(out of courtesy)

Breeding is a lottery but basing it on 2 dogs alone is not the best practice. If guys wanted to do anything for the breed(and the men that shoot over them) it might pay them to research their matings a bit better than just looking at the dog and bitch.

There is plenty of sh1te out there(and probably more) from your suggested breeding strategy.

Rant over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭allan450

I stayed away from this tread as it was derailed from the start.[as per most of the hunting treads the last while]but you my friend have summed it up in a nut shell.if breeding was so easy sure why not put the two best dogs together and we all have the best dogs going.it doesnt work like that.A lot of lads on here seem to get jealous when dogs are mentioned/pedigree or birds shot in a weekend ect ect. Their are some nice dogs on your pedigree mate.hope he is running well for you.best of luck Allan

Their is my springers lines hey he must be ****e and only able to to run for 2 hours and then rested for 3 days before you can bring him out again.ha ha

allan450 wrote: »
    Their is my springers lines hey he must be ****e and only able to to run for 2 hours and then rested for 3 days before you can bring him out again.ha ha

Oh no!!! He has some FTCH,Int FTCH and FTWs. He cant be any good because I recognise dogs going back more than one generation!!!!!

I'll PM you with the details of FTCH annonomous. We meet twice a week.Its hard but, worth it. You'll learn that papers are not everything, that there is rough-shooting dogs out there(with no papers) that could be FTCHs if their owners FELT! like competing. We will eventually get you back to the OLD TYPE TRADITIONAL DOG(with no trial breeding in it,Go all day, SMASH down houses.......yeah really houses!!!!!! you'd better believe it.....I read it on a post HERE so it MUST BE TRUE!!!!!!).

Did you know that there has never been a BIG trial dog.Yeah they put in the Chiwawaw!!!!(spelling???) so that the judges couldnt see how bad the trial dogs were in cover....and to make their noses smaller so they could'nt find a pan of rashers in a phone box...Yeah!!!

Badgercourt Druid,Laganmill Maestro+Malvern,Bramble Taff,Warlord,Monalue Hacker,Hollydrive Theo+ Kurt,Broc,Bramble Taff,Gylpin,Romulus+Remus were ALL TINY, no bigger than 6inches tall(the trial boys wont admit it but they were all half yorkshire terriers.Yeah really!!!!!)

And as for Kenine Robb of Rytex..........well he was actually bred by..........THE DEVIL......to ruin hunting dogs!!!!!!!!!

Yeah your near the edge but you have to HIT ROCK BOTTOM to really want to be healed.

I'll PM you the number......

So you would breed from a pedigree even if the 1st 2 dogs were not up to scratch? I'm all for pedigrees but it's the 1st gen that makes the rest important you jumped to some very silly conclusions I'm all for pedigrees I've no need to defend my dogs on here this is not school so don't criticise my punctuation pedigree means f all unless the dog or bitch it belongs to are good so show us your dog not it's pedigree . This dog will prob be for sale soon. Alan if your referring to the Springer in your YouTube vids I'd quite down if I were you he has a nice ped but looks very average all my dogs bar 1 are trial bred so I never. Once knocked trial dig highduck your right that was a rant

So you would breed from a pedigree even if the 1st 2 dogs were not up to scratch? I'm all for pedigrees but it's the 1st gen that makes the rest important(Should be a Full Stop here!) you jumped to some very silly conclusions(Should be a Full Stop here!) I'm all for pedigrees(Should be a Full Stop here!) I've no need to defend my dogs on here(Should be a Full Stop here!) this is not school so don't criticise my punctuation(Should be a Full Stop here!) pedigree means f all unless the dog or bitch it belongs to are good so show us your dog not it's pedigree . This dog will prob be for sale soon. Alan if your referring to the Springer in your YouTube vids I'd quite down if I were you he has a nice ped but looks very average(Should be a Full Stop here!) all my dogs bar 1 are trial bred so I never.(Should not be a Full Stop here!) Once knocked trial dig(dogs?) highduck your right that was a rant

Thanks for your rant/reply.

I'm not really precious about capitals at the start of a sentence or spelling for that matter but the full stops really would make it easier to read.............

This is not a Rant,just a request(or maybe a little wind up)...........if we are both going to keep ranting.

Jaysus lads,

Can we stay on topic and leave the grammar lessons, snarky remarks, and bitching at the door.

By can we, i mean lets.

Thanks.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

;)Sorry Teacher.

He started first:rolleyes:......Yeah but,No but,Yeah but No:eek:.......I was talking to my mammy and she said I was right.:o

Just kidding.:D

No offense meant. Just stirring it a bit:rolleyes:.........because I cant sleep.

I'll take my slap and go to bed.:o

:pac:Highduck

What slap?

I just cannot be arsed listening to back and forth that serves no purpose other than to provoke a row. It's also aimed at EVERYONE, and not one person only.

And i prefer Sir to teacher, just FYI. :D

Cass wrote: »
    What slap?

I just cannot be arsed listening to back and forth that serves no purpose other than to provoke a row. It's also aimed at EVERYONE, and not one person only.

And i prefer Sir to teacher, just FYI. :D

Nice punctuation "Sir"

OK I'm gone.............:DBye.......

Some very good dogs on there pal.

So you would breed from a pedigree even if the 1st 2 dogs were not up to scratch? I'm all for pedigrees but it's the 1st gen that makes the rest important you jumped to some very silly conclusions I'm all for pedigrees I've no need to defend my dogs on here this is not school so don't criticise my punctuation pedigree means f all unless the dog or bitch it belongs to are good so show us your dog not it's pedigree . This dog will prob be for sale soon. Alan if your referring to the Springer in your YouTube vids I'd quite down if I were you he has a nice ped but looks very average all my dogs bar 1 are trial bred so I never. Once knocked trial dig highduck your right that was a rant
    videos/pics never do a dog justice everyone knows that.i know that myself by looking back at the videos.you think you have a great video when you look back its only average.im sure the other lads with the go pro's are the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 ghostmountain

videos/pics never do a dog justice everyone knows that.i know that myself by looking back at the videos.you think you have a great video when you look back its only average.im sure the other lads with the go pro's are the same

If you think they don't do a dog justice, why bother posting them? Bunch of asses walking around with cameras stuck to them. Average dog = average video.

Don't hold back there pal !:eek:

Get a grip of yourself.Easy to comment when you have nothing show.nice to see when your old and gray and not able to walk around the fields anymore and remember the dogs you had.i like watching the other lads videos and they prob like watching mine so i dont really care if you dont.just coming on to troll

Don't hold back there pal !:eek:

Just fed up of the bull being posted on here by the self proclaimed 'dog men'.
    Your dogs look average, that's just my opinion. But you think otherwise.
    What's you background with dogs? Have you 30+ years experience? From your posts, I sincerely doubt it.
    And if you want some videos to look back on, fair enough. But that doesn't mean you have to post them online for all of the anti blood sport protestors to veiw and use against U.S. and our sport.

iv never came on here blowing about my dogs.Yes some of them might be average and im certainly no dog man.But they serve me well and keep putting up the birds so im happy.i shoot because its a pass time if you take it to seriously the fun will go out of it regards having the best dogs and the best guns ect ect you have to stop somewhere.30 years experience with dogs fair play.Not been smart but you could be 30 years doing anything and still be **** at it.point taking regards the videos and the antis

But that doesn't mean you have to post them online for all of the anti blood sport protestors to veiw and use against U.S. and our sport.
    I'm assuming you mean "us" as i cannot see the link to the U.S. (United States).

The video thread was created for those that want to post their videos, and will remain so as long as this forum is in existence. Same with the pictur thread. The fact you claim these videos will be used by anti blood sports people makes no sense. They only have to go onto Youtube and they can find as many as they like, and far, far worse than is on here.

Also the idea of hiding away a section of hunting because others might not like it is naive, short sighted and bowing to the pressure of others. By hiding or attempting to hide what we do we make it seem like there is a reason to hide it. It's why this forum never was, and never will be private. If you truly believe that then i suggest you sell your guns, dogs, and take up golf until such a time as the hemp warriors find a reason to call for it to be banned, like cruelty to the grass (and i'm not being facetious)

The tree hugger brigade have been found to doctor pictures, footage, etc. from wherever it was originally placed. It's the reason we ask our members to post pictures with guns, and other items in such a position so as to make doctoring the picture hard/impossible. We will never bow to them, their lies, their tactics, and as they number in their tens i'm not quite as intimidated as some by them.

I don't have dogs, and never had dogs (not the working kind). My only interest here is the forum, video/picture thread and our members right to post what they want without being bombarded with baseless, and scaremongering, comments about feeding the antis. So please enough of telling people not to post pictures/videos. If you want to argue a point about dogs do so. As long as it's civil and about the topic.

iv never came on here blowing about my dogs.Yes some of them might be average and im certainly no dog man.But they serve me well and keep putting up the birds so im happy.i shoot because its a pass time if you take it to seriously the fun will go out of it regards having the best dogs and the best guns ect ect you have to stop somewhere.30 years experience with dogs fair play.Not been smart but you could be 30 years doing anything and still be **** at it.point taking regards the videos and the antis

I agree, but if you're 30 years doing something, and still **** at it, time to give it up. I'd still rather deal with experience than little or no experience.

whats the experience you have then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

CASS couldn't of put it better.

What is it with all the sniping on here lately.

Alan lad your dogs are what they are to you. You shoot plenty of game for the pot and enjoy yourself doing it.

Cass wrote: »
    I'm assuming you mean "us" as i cannot see the link to the U.S. (United States).

The video thread was created for those that want to post their videos, and will remain so as long as this forum is in existence. Same with the pictur thread. The fact you claim these videos will be used by anti blood sports people makes no sense. They only have to go onto Youtube and they can find as many as they like, and far, far worse than is on here.

Also the idea of hiding away a section of hunting because others might not like it is naive, short sighted and bowing to the pressure of others. By hiding or attempting to hide what we do we make it seem like there is a reason to hide it. It's why this forum never was, and never will be private. If you truly believe that then i suggest you sell your guns, dogs, and take up golf until such a time as the hemp warriors find a reason to call for it to be banned, like cruelty to the grass (and i'm not being facetious)

The tree hugger brigade have been found to doctor pictures, footage, etc. from wherever it was originally placed. It's the reason we ask our members to post pictures with guns, and other items in such a position so as to make doctoring the picture hard/impossible. We will never bow to them, their lies, their tactics, and as they number in their tens i'm not quite as intimidated as some by them.

I don't have dogs, and never had dogs (not the working kind). My only interest here is the forum, video/picture thread and our members right to post what they want without being bombarded with baseless, and scaremongering, comments about feeding the antis. So please enough of telling people not to post pictures/videos. If you want to argue a point about dogs do so. As long as it's civil and about the topic.

Yes I did mean us, not United states. Autocorrect.

I disagree with your logic on the video thread, you're sayin that because there are other videos, much worse videos, on YouTube, that it's ok to keep adding to them. That doesn't make sense. Antis have their own agenda, and they will use any videos against the shooting man. But to use a recently video shot in ireland, against the Irish hunters, would make more sense than using a 2 year old video that was shot say in Poland or an old video from China.
    I'm not saying we have to hide away, but we don't have to publicise it either.

whats the experience you have then.

A lot more than you.

...... you're sayin that because there are other videos, much worse videos, on YouTube, that it's ok to keep adding to them.
    No i'm not. You're bastardising what i said.

What i'm saying is if we had no video thread or picture thread the so called "antis" would still find something. They don't need to look here as there only avenue for finding videos. Yes there are worse videos on Youtube than on here, and it's easy to find the Irish ones so China, Poland, etc has feck all to do with it.

These "people" have about 5 to 10 at their core. They can use social media much more expertly than us, but when it comes to revenue in the local community, revenue in taxes/sales/etc we far, FAR, out weigh them. We also have a 10,000 to 1 membership ratio which is evident in all the protests where we attended in our thousands, and they attended in their tens (barely).
    I'm not saying we have to hide away, but we don't have to publicise it either.
    Then you are saying we have to hide it away.

Can you not see the damage hiding away or "keeping the head down" creates. It is still viewed as hiding and that we are doing something illegal/wrong. We have been asked for years why the forum is not private, well why should it be? Everything we do it legal, and until such a time as that changes i'll not hide what i do. Whether that hiding comes in the form of not posting pictures/videos to being embarrassed by saying i'm a hunter.

This is not some soap box rant. I've never understood those that speak of their shooting/huntting as in the same way as a young lad would when talking to a shop owner while trying to buy a porn mag. It's not a dirty topic (hunting that is) so why people feel the need to capitulate on some points is beyond me. Do you think the sandal wearers wwould sit down and listen to reasoned debate. Do you think the hunt saboteurs would ease up on the damage they cause so as not to offend, so you think the so called eco terrorists would stop fire bombing places to be seen in a better light.

Well we cannot stoop to their level, nor should we, so we hold our head high, and continue on with our LEGAL sport in any fashion we choose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭ESB Spaniel

Alan fair play to you for having the courage to go out and put your videos up on boards. A lot of small minded jealous people seem to be sniping as EP just said. A man of 30+ years should be given advice not cutting a youngfellas dogs...

+1 to Cass

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭ESB Spaniel

A lot more than you.

Will you ever crawl back under what ever rock you climbed out of you baby... Haha a lot more then you????? Come on

its prob someone that knows me and is a little jealous or dislikes the amount of woodcock i shoot the usual **** on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

its prob someone that knows me and is a little jealous or dislikes the amount of woodcock i shoot the usual **** on here.

Allan, if you don't mind me critiquing something here, it's just an observation.

How are you expected to sell your Dogs skills and abilities to the masses in this modern Internet era where everybody with a keyboard and second rate internet connection is a know all?

My solution to this problem is Costumes, it makes a average looking Dog look outstanding, it makes your Dog look as if it's going fast, even when it's sitting down.

Look at these examples below...

imagejpg1_zps9707e840.jpg

imagejpg1_zps0031b8a4.jpg

I rest my case.

You can thank me later.

The Aussie wrote: »
    Allan, if you don't mind me critiquing something here, it's just an observation.

How are you expected to sell your Dogs skills and abilities to the masses in this modern Internet era where everybody with a keyboard and second rate internet connection is a know all?

My solution to this problem is Costumes, it makes a average looking Dog look outstanding, it makes your Dog look as if it's going fast, even when it's sitting down.

Look at these examples below...

imagejpg1_zps9707e840.jpg

imagejpg1_zps0031b8a4.jpg

I rest my case.

You can thank me later.
    :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭hathcock

I have hunting videos on this forum and on youtube,I'm proud to show them on any forum,the antis won't be happy with anything less than their vegetarian utopia, so my vids of anyone elses won't make any difference.Regarding dogs,I have considerable experience,30 years or more,I can see nothing wrong with Alans dogs,and if he is happy with them whats the problem.