Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Amsterdam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭byrneg28

Clearly i have been going to the wrong types of plays......

he was a little philosophical from the herbs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭CountingClocks

2ndcoming wrote: »
    Is that Leidseplein?

Yeah that's on Leidseplein. Saw signs over on Remdrandtplein too and up near the station.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 819 ✭✭✭Beaner1

Only buy your drugs from white Dutch.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 277 ✭✭BBJBIG

Grayson wrote: »
    I had a friend who bought a ten spot in temple bar years ago. When he unwrapped it it was a piece of briquette.

it's not just amsterdam :)

A Friend .... HuH .... :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,433 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Beaner1 wrote: »

Yeah, honest drug dealers those fellas :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

Beaner1 wrote: »

This unfortunately means you need to put in your order several weeks in advance, using the correct form. Once you have paid the invoice you will receive confirmation.

You should arrive to pick up point five minutes early. Your contact is the guy who looks like he thinks he is a business man from an 80s film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭fartman

Mad place i spent 2 grand in 2 days ...and i would do it all again!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

Grayson wrote: »
    I had a friend who bought a ten spot in temple bar years ago. When he unwrapped it it was a piece of briquette.

it's not just amsterdam :)

I was under the impression that having this happen to you is one of the criteria required before you can say you are from Dublin.

2ndcoming wrote: »
    Is that Leidseplein?

It sure is, that there café on the right hand corner does all you can eat ribs and chips for 9.99 :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Mmm...ribs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭coopdog85

It sure is, that there café on the right hand corner does all you can eat ribs and chips for 9.99 :D

I've been in it that place. It's right on the edge of dam square beside the bulldog. I found €50 on the street getting off the tram. Got a huge feed of ribs, a blowjob & still had change out of the 50.

What a city.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

Aglomerado wrote: »
    The Grasshopper is an overcrowded kip. Rude staff too.
    Mmm, wasn't when I was there. But it was in a February,
    The staff were lovely. Even when a black guy came over to me an ask me did I want to buy weed to bring home with me! I said Na you're alright, then the girl behind the bar(upstairs) looked worried, walked off.. It was then that I realised that that he wanted to sell me weight!!!
    Of course I said no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭StormWarrior

I went there twice for three nights each time. One night ate half a bar of hash chocolate, three boxes of magic mushrooms and two and a half tabs of acid and went to madame tussauds and the sex museum. Absolutely mental.

coopdog85 wrote: »
    I've been in it that place. It's right on the edge of dam square beside the bulldog. I found €50 on the street getting off the tram. Got a huge feed of ribs, a blowjob & still had change out of the 50.

What a city.

That must be a different place, the place above is right on leidseplein!

I did not get a blow job :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

That must be a different place, the place above is right on leidseplein!

I did not get a blow job :(
    If you did I would think different about you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭syngindub

Van Gogh Museum is worth a visit following nice coffee and spliff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,356 ✭✭✭buyer95

Great tune!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 772 ✭✭✭the dark phantom

I highly recommend Katsu coffieshop near Sarphatipark De Pijp, There is a small red light zone near by and the girls there are sound, Much quieter than Centrum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

See the canals, visit the old Artis Zoo, the Rijkmuseum is fantastic, see an orchestra performance at the Concertgebouw, the Felix Mertis is a very enlightening exerience. There is so much beauty and culture in the city.

Avoid the coffee shops where you're likely to bump into dirty, greasy, moronic stoners from Ireland and the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

blue note wrote: »
    Maybe. Would it be weird going to a lap dance bar with a girl? And who would haggle for a tenner!?

I went to a lap dance club in Dublin and it was crap, I suppose they might be different over there. But I wonder what a sex show would actually be like, I'd probably pop my head in!

I don't know much about that type of place, but I'm pretty sure you wouldn't be allowed to errr........pop your head (or anything else) in:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Artis Zoo is well worth a visit as is a stroll around Vondelpark etc. There are loads of tourist attractions. As Aongus said above, the cultural life of the place is heaving. There's also loads of sporting events on. Kickboxing is massive in the Netherlands and many of the best Thai boxers go there to compete; I went to one event and the headline was a fight between Thai and Moroccan champions flaking the ever-loving sh*t out of each other. It was great craic. The Red Light district is crap. If you're going for pints then either go to some Bruin Cafés in Centro (local Dutch pubs) which are cheap and have lovely wood panelling interior, or else bate on to the Rembrandtplein for late bars and good tunes. I'm heading over in a few weeks and I can't wait.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭UCDVet

Is it illegal to be 'high' off cannabis in Ireland? I know in some countries that have outlawed possession/consumption of a drug - they also make it illegal to be intoxicated from that drug.

Would people flying back from Amsterdam face legal consequences if they don't budget enough time to recover from the effects of the drugs they take? I know it can take up to two hours for someone to feel the affects of edible 'spacecakes' and that they can last for 3-4 hours after that point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Welcome to drug advisory forum.

Advise - don't do it m'kay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭diograis

Went to the zoo there a few weeks back and smoked and drank as we were walking around. The security guard saw us smoking and smiled and nodded, it was beautiful. But ya scummy tourists in Amsterdam, hate em :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭diograis

In the zoo they have a planetarium and a fecking aquarium, what more do you want really :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

diograis wrote: »
    Went to the zoo there a few weeks back and smoked and drank as we were walking around. The security guard saw us smoking and smiled and nodded, it was beautiful. But ya scummy tourists in Amsterdam, hate em :P

Smoking pot and drinking cheap cans in a family amenity with lots of young children around? Then people wonder why the Irish have a bad reputation on the continent. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

diograis wrote: »
    In the zoo they have a planetarium and a fecking aquarium, what more do you want really :D

Did ye go to the butterfly enclosure? Your man let me feed the seals when I was there and even let me into the enclosure to throw herrings at them, it was great craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

UCDVet wrote: »
    Is it illegal to be 'high' off cannabis in Ireland? I know in some countries that have outlawed possession/consumption of a drug - they also make it illegal to be intoxicated from that drug.

Would people flying back from Amsterdam face legal consequences if they don't budget enough time to recover from the effects of the drugs they take? I know it can take up to two hours for someone to feel the affects of edible 'spacecakes' and that they can last for 3-4 hours after that point.

:pac: No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,802 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Smoking pot and drinking cheap cans in a family amenity with lots of young children around? Then people wonder why the Irish have a bad reputation on the continent. :rolleyes:

I don't agree with the behaviour, but where do Irish have a bad reputation on the continent?

Also, having lived in The Netherlands, the Dutch would certainly think that they were English anyway so the Irish reputation would not really have suffered.

99% of the "continent" don't know that Irish and English are not the same anyway!

• Site Banned Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Egginacup

blue note wrote: »
    Maybe. Would it be weird going to a lap dance bar with a girl? And who would haggle for a tenner!?

I went to a lap dance club in Dublin and it was crap, I suppose they might be different over there. But I wonder what a sex show would actually be like, I'd probably pop my head in!

Take her to the Paradise Club. You'll both have to get your kit off.