Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Amsterdam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

What's wrong with haggling?

Over a tenner? You clearly haven't had one of these lap dances...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,433 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

I am a girl, had a great time. The staff certainly don't think it is weird, but she will get dirty, insecure looks from punters from the Indian subcontinent.

And it was Irish guys I saw haggling. Jesus wept. It's a great spot, but buying a drink is compulsory.

That's mortifying, why go to a lap dancing place if you are on a budget? Jaysus, would they try and haggle over the price of a drink? Some might actually...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Over a tenner? You clearly haven't had one of these lap dances...

I'd haggle over tuppence :p

I've been to Amsterdam many many times but never had a lap dance or did any of the sex tourist thing.

The Art, Culture and People kept me distracted, oh and the weed :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

What's wrong with haggling?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,278 ✭✭✭x43r0

blue note wrote: »
    But I wonder what a sex show would actually be like, I'd probably pop my head in!

That costs extra and some of the girls won't go for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,890 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Oh, there's no drinking up time either. Once it gets to closing time, that's it. Neck the rest of your drink and get out.

x43r0 wrote: »
    That costs extra and some of the girls won't go for it

Well actually, yes.

I paid 20 because it was quite something. Yer one took the money, folded it lengthways, laid my head back over the bar, and took the money off of my face with her pussy.

I'd haggle over tuppence :p

I've been to Amsterdam many many times but never had a lap dance or did any of the sex tourist thing.

The Art, Culture and People kept me distracted, oh and the weed :p

Any time I was in a club in Ireland, it was €50.
    I tapped your one they were haggling with on the shoulder mid haggle, and asked her if she wanted to dance for me instead of these losers. I got that one free, plus the sound of withering testicles was great. The lads were being ***** the whole time they were there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 277 ✭✭BBJBIG

I wonder what a sex show would actually be like, I'd probably pop my head !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,979 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Maybe. Would it be weird going to a lap dance bar with a girl? And who would haggle for a tenner!?

Lap dance bars are full of girls from experience. Usually hen parties or birthday groups. Sex shows have lots of women in the audience too. Sex shows are boring though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭Stone Deaf 4evr

Well actually, yes.

I paid 20 because it was quite something. Yer one took the money, folded it lengthways, laid my head back over the bar, and took the money off of my face with her pussy.

haha, I've been to that club, one of the lads in my group of friends now bears the nickname "the king" as the girls referred to him as "the lap dance king" after dropping about €200 in there over the course of the stag weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,792 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

syngindub wrote: »
    can have your bulldogs & grasshoppers.

Personal favourite shop/bar is defo "420 Cafe (de Kuil)"
    Absolutely love that place, cant wait to get back

The Grasshopper is an overcrowded kip. Rude staff too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Hoop66

Avoid the Bulldog, Grasshopper and places like that. Generally full of psychotic english thugs.

Best weed (imo) - The Greenhouse Effect, Warmoestraat - excellent selection and budtenders who really know their stuff, plus they're not shaking the buds before giving them to you like so many are.

Best Atmosphere - The Greenhouse, on the canal in the RLD - really nice, chilled place with good tunes and many, many pretty ladies[/Rainier Wolfcastle voice].

My favourite thing to do is to walk round the canal loops, going either inwards or outwards at the junctions as the fancy takes me. There some lovely little neighbourhood bars to be found.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭byrneg28

Maybe. Would it be weird going to a lap dance bar with a girl? And who would haggle for a tenner!?

I went to a lap dance club in Dublin and it was crap, I suppose they might be different over there. But I wonder what a sex show would actually be like, I'd probably pop my head in!

My buddy and I were over there, I was a bit scared/shy to go in to a sex show.

I openly said this and he replied ..'man it's like proper theater, it's a show like a play, it's not just some fella lamping a bird on the wooden floor..'

byrneg28 wrote: »
    My buddy and I were over there, I was a bit scared/shy to go in to a sex show.

I openly said this and he replied ..'man it's like proper theater, it's a show like a play, it's not just some fella lamping a bird on the wooden floor..'

Clearly i have been going to the wrong types of plays......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Folks, what's the story with smoking in Amsterdam these days? I hear tourists are no longer allowed to buy weed, but is that a rule they actually follow?

Also, has anyone ever gone to a live sex show? Any fun?

I was there in early Nov and everything was buisness as usual. The sex shows are a laugh,more funny than titillating. One I visit every time I'm over is the bannanen bar,u pay ur money,35-50 quid depending on ur haggling skills and you get an hour inside,all drinks included.7or8 double JD and cokes is well worth 35euro and u also get to soak up the sleaze :)
    All the places are couple friendly so you wouldn't stand out if you went in with your better half

I was there in early Nov and everything was buisness as usual. The sex shows are a laugh,more funny than titillating. One I visit every time I'm over is the bannanen bar,u pay ur money,35-50 quid depending on ur haggling skills and you get an hour inside,all drinks included.7or8 double JD and cokes is well worth 35euro and u also get to soak up the sleaze :)

Its actually probably the cheapest booze you'll get there. On my stag we actually drank all the JD they had in stock.

when offered a glass at entry - dont go for the pint glass - shots are where its at. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭Subacio

I was walking through the red light district with Mrs S one night and was asked the following question by a guy in a tuxedo called Ricardo. "Good evening Sir and Madam. Would you like to watch some quality sleaze and filth in a nice environment?" When it's sold to you like that it's very hard to say no.

Check out ignatzmice.com for some helpful hints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

I went to one of the sex shows with my ex and there were multiple acts which basically involved some reasonably attractive woman in her 30s getting drilled on a rotating circular bed. It was the least erotic thing I've ever seen and I may as well have been watching synchronised swimming or something.

Also periodically the bouncers would swoop down and threaten some eejits up the front who kept taking photos of the whole thing.

Oh, and not to imply you are into this kind of thing, but three tourists have died and scores hospitalised after they were sold white heroin as cocaine recently. Keep the **** away from street dealers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,737 ✭✭✭blue note

Oh, and not to imply you are into this kind of thing, but three tourists have died and scores hospitalised after they were sold white heroin as cocaine recently. Keep the **** away from street dealers.

Cheers, if I go it will be for weed, probably a show and a couple of the galleries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,659 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Just so you know the local lingo when it comes to beer

Bier = around half a pint of beer
    Grote bier = 500ml of beer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,659 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Warning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

Warning

Is that Leidseplein?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,980 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Some of those dealers try to sell you hash on the street. why would I ever buy hash on a street in amsterdam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

Grayson wrote: »
    Some of those dealers try to sell you hash on the street. why would I ever buy hash on a street in amsterdam.

The vast majority of what they sell is not drugs at all, they're just there to scam the tourists for the most part.

2ndcoming wrote: »
    The vast majority of what they sell is not drugs at all, they're just there to scam the tourists for the most part.

Which is why everyone is stumped as to why this is happening.

You could do what I do in Amsterdam sit in a small room posting on boards.ie...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Is that Leidseplein?

Looks to be around the Grand Centraal/Dam Square area, not far from the Leidseplein.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,980 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I had a friend who bought a ten spot in temple bar years ago. When he unwrapped it it was a piece of briquette.

it's not just amsterdam :)