Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Amsterdam

• 19-12-2014 1:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,622 ✭✭✭

Folks, what's the story with smoking in Amsterdam these days? I hear tourists are no longer allowed to buy weed, but is that a rule they actually follow?

Also, has anyone ever gone to a live sex show? Any fun?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,278 ✭✭✭x43r0

I was there in August and smoked away grand so don't worry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

At a live sex show starring Batman und (sic) his sexy girlfriend Sammy Jo.

Batman stood on a revolving platform while Sammy Jo inched along on her knees, eh, blowing his trumpet. Inadvertently hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

That rule collapsed when the tried to bring it to Amsterdam. You may need id, depending on how young you look.

Five grams max, and it is poor form to buy one pre rolled joint and sit in with it. Get a coffee/tea/biscuit.

Birneybau wrote: »
    At a live sex show starring Batman und (sic) his sexy girlfriend Sammy Jo.

Batman stood on a revolving platform while Sammy Jo inched along on her knees, eh, blowing his trumpet. Inadvertently hilarious.

Und is German, and is en in Dutch.

The sex shows are depressing. Go to La Vie behind Warmoesstraat, amazing lap dance bar. Don't haggle, a dance is a tenner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

blue note wrote: »
    Folks, what's the story with smoking in Amsterdam these days? I hear tourists are no longer allowed to buy weed, but is that a rule they actually follow?

You can smoke away over there.
    They forgot what side their bread was buttered on for a while, but soon wised up.

Und is German, and is en in Dutch.

You see the (sic)? I knew it was wrong but that's what was said.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sic

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 819 ✭✭✭Beaner1

Go to a different city in Holland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭dont bother

Go to Barcelona.
    They have coffeeshops, and it's not as expensive, or cold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

go to Paris, cultural and you'll raise your iq:rolleyes:

mikom wrote: »
    You can smoke away over there.
    They forgot what side their bread was buttered on for a while, but soon wised up.

Given how ****e Dutch butter is, it would be hard to care...

The ruling would have gone through but for Amsterdam, and even here the coffeeshops are getting squeezed out slowly. They have this Project 1012, which aims to get rid of "trash tourism" by closing down windows, coffeeshops, phone shops and head shops. They want it replaced by small private art galleries and bistros, you know, so that can't possibly compete with Paris, Berlin, Prague etc. it's quite sad.

go to Paris, cultural and you'll raise your iq:rolleyes:

Urggh, Paris.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,622 ✭✭✭blue note

That rule collapsed when the tried to bring it to Amsterdam. You may need id, depending on how young you look.

Five grams max, and it is poor form to buy one pre rolled joint and sit in with it. Get a coffee/tea/biscuit.

Sadly, I don't think I'll need ID :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭syngindub

can have your bulldogs & grasshoppers.

Personal favourite shop/bar is defo "420 Cafe (de Kuil)"
    Absolutely love that place, cant wait to get back

You see the (sic)? I knew it was wrong but that's what was said.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sic

I know what sic means, thought perhaps you misheard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

mikom wrote: »
    Urggh, Paris.
    Chien merde capitale du monde.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 819 ✭✭✭Beaner1

Given how ****e Dutch butter is, it would be hard to care...

The ruling would have gone through but for Amsterdam, and even here the coffeeshops are getting squeezed out slowly. They have this Project 1012, which aims to get rid of "trash tourism" by closing down windows, coffeeshops, phone shops and head shops. They want it replaced by small private art galleries and bistros, you know, so that can't possibly compete with Paris, Berlin, Prague etc. it's quite sad.

Scummy tourists are the worst thing about Amsterdam.

syngindub wrote: »

Had some great times in Hill Street Blues :D

Mesrine65 wrote: »
    Chien merde capitale du monde.

High class dog shit though......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Get onto larry Murphy..Id say he would know a few good spots

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭syngindub

why can't we just legalize for christ sake. lifes to short !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,622 ✭✭✭blue note

The sex shows are depressing. Go to La Vie behind Warmoesstraat, amazing lap dance bar. Don't haggle, a dance is a tenner.

Maybe. Would it be weird going to a lap dance bar with a girl? And who would haggle for a tenner!?

I went to a lap dance club in Dublin and it was crap, I suppose they might be different over there. But I wonder what a sex show would actually be like, I'd probably pop my head in!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

Yep, loved Hill Street blues my self! :)
    Also liked the grasshopper

Beaner1 wrote: »
    Scummy tourists are the worst thing about Amsterdam.

Could well be. But IMHO vastly preferable to another European wasteland of twee bistros, filled with just another kind of tourist scum.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

The best things about Amsterdam are all outside of the red light district.

Live sex shows... Yeah coz that's where we like to go with friends. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

My top tip for Amsterdam,

Buy yourself a bike bell, ring it in highly populated areas. Think Moses and the parting of the red sea. It is practical and good criac.

I know what sic means, thought perhaps you misheard.

Then why would I have put the (sic) there? :confused:

Maybe. Would it be weird going to a lap dance bar with a girl? And who would haggle for a tenner!?

I went to a lap dance club in Dublin and it was crap, I suppose they might be different over there. But I wonder what a sex show would actually be like, I'd probably pop my head in!

I am a girl, had a great time. The staff certainly don't think it is weird, but she will get dirty, insecure looks from punters from the Indian subcontinent.

And it was Irish guys I saw haggling. Jesus wept. It's a great spot, but buying a drink is compulsory.

Then why would I have put the (sic) there? :confused:

I thought because it was dropping in and out of English...

I am a girl, had a great time. The staff certainly don't think it is weird, but she will get dirty, insecure looks from punters from the Indian subcontinent.

And it was Irish guys I saw haggling. Jesus wept. It's a great spot, but buying a drink is compulsory.

What's wrong with haggling?

Over a tenner? You clearly haven't had one of these lap dances...

That's mortifying, why go to a lap dancing place if you are on a budget? Jaysus, would they try and haggle over the price of a drink? Some might actually...

Over a tenner? You clearly haven't had one of these lap dances...

I'd haggle over tuppence :p

I've been to Amsterdam many many times but never had a lap dance or did any of the sex tourist thing.

The Art, Culture and People kept me distracted, oh and the weed :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,278 ✭✭✭x43r0

But I wonder what a sex show would actually be like, I'd probably pop my head in!

That costs extra and some of the girls won't go for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Oh, there's no drinking up time either. Once it gets to closing time, that's it. Neck the rest of your drink and get out.

x43r0 wrote: »
    That costs extra and some of the girls won't go for it

Well actually, yes.

I paid 20 because it was quite something. Yer one took the money, folded it lengthways, laid my head back over the bar, and took the money off of my face with her pussy.

I'd haggle over tuppence :p

I've been to Amsterdam many many times but never had a lap dance or did any of the sex tourist thing.

The Art, Culture and People kept me distracted, oh and the weed :p

Any time I was in a club in Ireland, it was €50.
    I tapped your one they were haggling with on the shoulder mid haggle, and asked her if she wanted to dance for me instead of these losers. I got that one free, plus the sound of withering testicles was great. The lads were being ***** the whole time they were there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 277 ✭✭BBJBIG

I wonder what a sex show would actually be like, I'd probably pop my head !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Lap dance bars are full of girls from experience. Usually hen parties or birthday groups. Sex shows have lots of women in the audience too. Sex shows are boring though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭Stone Deaf 4evr

Well actually, yes.

I paid 20 because it was quite something. Yer one took the money, folded it lengthways, laid my head back over the bar, and took the money off of my face with her pussy.

haha, I've been to that club, one of the lads in my group of friends now bears the nickname "the king" as the girls referred to him as "the lap dance king" after dropping about €200 in there over the course of the stag weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

syngindub wrote: »

The Grasshopper is an overcrowded kip. Rude staff too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,569 ✭✭✭Hoop66

Avoid the Bulldog, Grasshopper and places like that. Generally full of psychotic english thugs.

Best weed (imo) - The Greenhouse Effect, Warmoestraat - excellent selection and budtenders who really know their stuff, plus they're not shaking the buds before giving them to you like so many are.

Best Atmosphere - The Greenhouse, on the canal in the RLD - really nice, chilled place with good tunes and many, many pretty ladies[/Rainier Wolfcastle voice].

My favourite thing to do is to walk round the canal loops, going either inwards or outwards at the junctions as the fancy takes me. There some lovely little neighbourhood bars to be found.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭byrneg28

My buddy and I were over there, I was a bit scared/shy to go in to a sex show.

I openly said this and he replied ..'man it's like proper theater, it's a show like a play, it's not just some fella lamping a bird on the wooden floor..'

byrneg28 wrote: »
    My buddy and I were over there, I was a bit scared/shy to go in to a sex show.

I openly said this and he replied ..'man it's like proper theater, it's a show like a play, it's not just some fella lamping a bird on the wooden floor..'

Clearly i have been going to the wrong types of plays......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

I was there in early Nov and everything was buisness as usual. The sex shows are a laugh,more funny than titillating. One I visit every time I'm over is the bannanen bar,u pay ur money,35-50 quid depending on ur haggling skills and you get an hour inside,all drinks included.7or8 double JD and cokes is well worth 35euro and u also get to soak up the sleaze :)
    All the places are couple friendly so you wouldn't stand out if you went in with your better half

I was there in early Nov and everything was buisness as usual. The sex shows are a laugh,more funny than titillating. One I visit every time I'm over is the bannanen bar,u pay ur money,35-50 quid depending on ur haggling skills and you get an hour inside,all drinks included.7or8 double JD and cokes is well worth 35euro and u also get to soak up the sleaze :)

Its actually probably the cheapest booze you'll get there. On my stag we actually drank all the JD they had in stock.

when offered a glass at entry - dont go for the pint glass - shots are where its at. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭Subacio

I was walking through the red light district with Mrs S one night and was asked the following question by a guy in a tuxedo called Ricardo. "Good evening Sir and Madam. Would you like to watch some quality sleaze and filth in a nice environment?" When it's sold to you like that it's very hard to say no.

Check out ignatzmice.com for some helpful hints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

I went to one of the sex shows with my ex and there were multiple acts which basically involved some reasonably attractive woman in her 30s getting drilled on a rotating circular bed. It was the least erotic thing I've ever seen and I may as well have been watching synchronised swimming or something.

Also periodically the bouncers would swoop down and threaten some eejits up the front who kept taking photos of the whole thing.

Oh, and not to imply you are into this kind of thing, but three tourists have died and scores hospitalised after they were sold white heroin as cocaine recently. Keep the **** away from street dealers.