Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anti anti water charges protest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,277 ✭✭✭DamagedTrax

You can protest what you like, but don't expect people to understand your protest if you ally yourself with any tom dick and harry.

Can you tell me what the protest on Wednesday is actually for, counting of course all the people that are turning up ?

i havent allied myself with anybody. there are no teams.

im marching for myself because i strongly believe irish water has nothing to do with conservation or infrastructure repair. i believe it is a money spinner for FG and their buddies. designed to fail the people, while bolstering the 'ruling class'.

i have no issue with a water charge, a fact ive spoken openly about in the other 2 threads. but not if IW is a part of it.

thats why im protesting. is that ok with you, am i deemed an acceptable protestor? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,299 ✭✭✭Hoop66

Fucking splitters

• Registered Users Posts: 774 ✭✭✭daveyeh

ROCKMAN wrote: »
    According to the other thread there be at least 288 people expected on the streets tomorrow ,Do ye think your protest can match this figure?

Considering that a least half of them will be too spaced out from their morning Zimmos, and the other half are squabbling commies who won't be able to agree on a marching route, probably, yes.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,222 ✭✭✭keithclancy

i havent allied myself with anybody. there are no teams.

im marching for myself because i strongly believe irish water has nothing to do with conservation or infrastructure repair. i believe it is a money spinner for FG and their buddies. designed to fail the people, while bolstering the 'ruling class'.

i have no issue with a water charge, a fact ive spoken openly about in the other 2 threads. but not if IW is a part of it.

thats why im protesting. is that ok with you, am i deemed an acceptable protestor? :rolleyes:

The point is the message is not clear, its just a bunch of pi$$ed off people that have different points of view.

That is a mob, not a protest.

The point is the message is not clear, its just a bunch of pi$$ed off people that have different points of view.

That is a mob, not a protest.

whatever you want to call it is fine, it doesnt change it. sure enda himself implied that we're all dangerous fringe elements... we laughed at him too ;)

Fringe elements .. you guys do like your buzz words.

Along with the new favorite "Quango" .. lol

Fringe elements .. you guys do like your buzz words.

Along with the new favorite "Quango" .. lol

enda's words, not ours.

dont you remember?

enda's words, not ours.

dont you remember?

That was Leo Varadkar along with Alan Kelly who agreed with him no ?

no, that was 'the sinister fringe'.

Ah you mean:
    Then when ministers were subject to raucous protests in which eggs and water bombs were thrown and cars were rocked and blocked, it turned out that the big marches were exactly the right kind of protest and these smaller less polite protests were the wrong kind - the result of infiltration by sinister fringe elements and anarchists, communists and republicans.

To make it easy to understand, he meant skangers.

Ah you mean:

To make it easy to understand, he meant skangers.

im not even gonna waste more time with you.

So you are saying they were not skangers ?

Would it be better if he called them skangers ?

• Registered Users Posts: 774 ✭✭✭daveyeh

• Registered Users Posts: 20,175 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

hmmm wrote: »
    No filtration without taxation.
    Hell no we won't pay (for your water).

I'll have my banners ready.

How about "flirtation"? Can I still say Ms. Burton is a surprisingly rideable old stick for an ageing zombie??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭renegademaster

daveyeh wrote: »
    I'm starting up an anti anti water charges protest march for tomorrow.

Meet at the Central Bank tomorrow, we'll show those smelly anti water oiks what's what.

THERE'S NO WAY. YOU WON'T PAY.

Who's with me?

if i had a euro for everytime i've heard this over the last 6 or 7 years i'd be living next door to denis o brien in malta!! :pac:

Hup ourra dat. While you're there make sure you protest the outrageous price of drink here by drinking gallons a' the fcukan thing over there.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,069 ✭✭✭✭fryup

what do you reckon will the "rent a riot mob" be out in force tomorrow ??

SF and their boot boys

fryup wrote: »
    what do you reckon will the "rent a riot mob" be out in force tomorrow ??

SF and their boot boys

Wait a minute - I thought right-wing assholes like me were the boot-boys?? I'm confused!

• Registered Users Posts: 18,069 ✭✭✭✭fryup

every extremists have their boot boys

fryup wrote: »
    every extremists have their boot boys

Hell yeah. I recommend the Spada Wave, decent quality thing at a good price. It won't keep your foot together if you come off cranked-over at 100mph, but it is what it is.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 233 ✭✭Kalman

hmmm wrote: »
    No filtration without taxation.
    Hell no we won't pay (for your water).

I'll have my banners ready.
    You don't have to have water!
    However,try doing without your tap-water for a week, nay, for a day! No shower/baths , no coffee/tea, no water for your washing machine and worst of all, no toilets, no nothing without water.

Huh, I would willingly pay for mine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Kalman wrote: »
    You don't have to have water!
    However,try doing without your tap-water for a week, nay, for a day! No shower/baths , no coffee/tea, no water for your washing machine and worst of all, no toilets, no nothing without water.

Huh, I would willingly pay for mine.

I think you missed the point that those were anti anti water charge protest banners. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 949 ✭✭✭Nodster

Is this deffo going ahead? I might pop around for a gawk, tell us will yez all be hiding in a phonebox?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 832 ✭✭✭HamsterFace

Probably isn't planned.
    I saw some socialist/lay litigant/eirigi /Feckin everything protest outside leinster house one day, only about 60 showed up to their own annoyance so they weren't really able to make an impact.
    So they all went up and sat on the quays at OConnell bridge for a few hours and blocked traffic for the evening.
    They were delighted to disrupt people somehow.

Expect similar tomorrow but don't expect any real organisation.

Just wanted to quote myself , seems I was exactly right unfortunately

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭seanbmc

Is it over yet? Don't fancy getting stuck in the middle of it.