Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trivial things that annoy you Part 27

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I don't get how at Christmas people can eat so much more. Like, if you had breakfast, how can you eat before dinner, and if you have dinner surely it's a regular sized dinner - how can someone physically eat a dinner you could climb, then be hungry enough to eat sandwiches a few hours later.

I get people gain weight because they eat worse foods/drink a lot more but it's always annoyed me wondering how they can eat so much more.

I'm spending Christmas day with many bottles of wine and a selection box on my own. And I can't wait.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Vel wrote: »
    You know things must be really bad when you hanker for the weather talk that has been replaced by Christmas talk. SHUT THE **** UP. Someone in work has just given me the full run down on what they will be eating on Christmas Day. 'No wonder you are so fat' I say to myself. 'That sounds delicious' I say to her. For anyone who cares, she'll be tucking into her homemade pigs in blankets in the period between breakfast and lunch, along with a 'cheeky cocktail'. I can also provide said pigs in blanket recipe and in case you care, her favourite 'cheeky cocktail' is a cosmo because she likes Sex in the City. KILL ME NOW

Ugh. I got that this morning from someone. Usual tool who only asks me how my weekend was so he can tell me how his was. So naturally he asked if I was all set for Christmas just so he could give me a running f.ucking commentary on his. He has "the cheaper" stuff to get today. He "already has the expensive stuff - you know, laptops, ipads etc" - I'm looking at him thinking, I actually don't give a f.uck if you want to spend all your money on your kids and boast about it to someone else. If they drank from your gene pool I guess no amount of expensive presents will make them feel good about how they look, you toothless, red-faced f.ucker. Oh and you know who doesn't parp on about money and "expensive stuff" all the time? That's right - someone who is used to it!

I don't get how at Christmas people can eat so much more. Like, if you had breakfast, how can you eat before dinner, and if you have dinner surely it's a regular sized dinner - how can someone physically eat a dinner you could climb, then be hungry enough to eat sandwiches a few hours later.

I get people gain weight because they eat worse foods/drink a lot more but it's always annoyed me wondering how they can eat so much more.

I'm spending Christmas day with many bottles of wine and a selection box on my own. And I can't wait.

That sounds perfect.

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    That sounds perfect.

It will be. I've told my brother I'm going to my OHs parents. I've told the oh me and my brother are going to my cousins. Win win. Me and my two main men (my dogs) will pan out in front of the fire. I might cook a chicken for them on Xmas eve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

You know things must be really bad when you hanker for the weather talk that has been replaced by Christmas talk. SHUT THE **** UP. Someone in work has just given me the full run down on what they will be eating on Christmas Day. 'No wonder you are so fat' I say to myself. 'That sounds delicious' I say to her. For anyone who cares, she'll be tucking into her homemade pigs in blankets in the period between breakfast and lunch, along with a 'cheeky cocktail'. I can also provide said pigs in blanket recipe and in case you care, her favourite 'cheeky cocktail' is a cosmo because she likes Sex in the City. KILL ME NOW

Her arse will look like two pigs fighting UNDER a blanket.......:D

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    Her arse will look like two pigs fighting UNDER a blanket.......:D

She's a real woman you know :rolleyes:

Ugh. I got that this morning from someone. Usual tool who only asks me how my weekend was so he can tell me how his was. So naturally he asked if I was all set for Christmas just so he could give me a running f.ucking commentary on his. He has "the cheaper" stuff to get today. He "already has the expensive stuff - you know, laptops, ipads etc" - I'm looking at him thinking, I actually don't give a f.uck if you want to spend all your money on your kids and boast about it to someone else. If they drank from your gene pool I guess no amount of expensive presents will make them feel good about how they look, you toothless, red-faced f.ucker. Oh and you know who doesn't parp on about money and "expensive stuff" all the time? That's right - someone who is used to it!

I'll be so fookin delighted when Christmas is over so I dont have to listen to these Gee Bags and their shopping/eating habits.

People who tell you how much your gift cost. That couple that are going riding in my favourite hotel room got me a present so obviously I've to get one back, and I'm like oh I'll drop it over Xmas Eve and he's like hope you didn't spend a lot because yours only cost xxx

What the hell?! Who does that!

Jake1 wrote: »
    I'll be so fookin delighted when Christmas is over so I dont have to listen to these Gee Bags and their shopping/eating habits.

We'll have to endure those ten or so days of "did you do anything nice for the Christmas?" / "oh better hit the gym" / "did you enjoy the break?" / "did Santy come?" (to which I already have an answer that will shut their pie holes - he did by the time I was finished with him! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,787 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

People who tell you how much your gift cost. That couple that are going riding in my favourite hotel room got me a present so obviously I've to get one back, and I'm like oh I'll drop it over Xmas Eve and he's like hope you didn't spend a lot because yours only cost xxx

What the hell?! Who does that!

My mum does something similar. She always gets a bottle of wine from a neighbour she doesn't like, so always feels she has to go out of her way to get a present for the neighbour that has to cost more than the wine that she got.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,787 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

We'll have to endure those ten or so days of "did you do anything nice for the Christmas?" / "oh better hit the gym" / "did you enjoy the break?" / "did Santy come?" (to which I already have an answer that will shut their pie holes - he did by the time I was finished with him! :pac:

ha ha! "Made any new year resolutions?"

"Yes, to stop all this small talk crap once and for all." (takes out gun*)

*wishful thinking

Someone asked my oh that once when we were in college.

"He did, all over the living room the ðirty bastard".

I can never keep a straight face since if someone mentions santa coming

And you know how us red blooded males love a "curvy" woman.....that's a crock o'**** and all.

Now, where is me 30" waist jeans.......:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭Vel

Well she's going to be 'bold' and 'break the diet for the Chirstmas period'.

'It won't only be the diet you'll be breaking if you eat that much food on Christmas Day love. Your husband will need to get to work reinforcing the bed, sofa and any chairs you might sit on before Christmas' I say to myself.

'Sure you might as well treat yourself seeing as you've been so good all year' I say to her, while clocking that she looks bigger than ever before despite constantly talking about low fat spreads, syns, rice cakes and her nightly habit of hefting herself round the block for a walk to burn some calories

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

When you start to fancy someone you've never met simply by the way they put words on the internet. :mad::eek::pac::o:cool:

Schwiiing wrote: »
    When you start to fancy someone you've never met simply by the way they put words on the internet. :mad::eek::pac::o:cool:

who is it, who is it??? who ye fancy??
    spill dem beans !!!

DIE ALL OF YOU!! Another total gonk in work has just asked me if I have bought new sets of pyjamas for myself and the kids to wear on Christmas Eve. I know this is a 'thing' for some people but why on earth would a grown man be even interested in knowing the answer to this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,655 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Do those girls in the videos know they is a guy hiding behind the curtain just behind them?

Careful! Sometimes people have a way with words to make up for shortcomings in other areas! :P

Give us a clue, male or female?:D

I'm now off to battle my way around the Jervis Centre to try to buy a shirt and trousers for my son to wear to the wedding of my brother in law who is getting married for the THIRD time this weekend. There are so many TAs in that sentence I could cry

DIE ALL OF YOU!! Another total gonk in work has just asked me if I have bought new sets of pyjamas for myself and the kids to wear on Christmas Eve. I know this is a 'thing' for some people but why on earth would a grown man be even interested in knowing the answer to this

I was keeping quiet about this but why on earth is everyone going on about "new jammies" - do they only get "new jammies" at Christmas?

Yeah want to be careful of those short comings, could have your eye out.

'Sure you might as well treat yourself seeing as you've been so good all year' I say to her, while clocking that she looks bigger than ever before despite constantly talking about low fat spreads, syns, rice cakes and her nightly habit of hefting herself round the block for a walk to burn some calories

You lie, like a rug, Vel :)

well done

I'm now off to battle my way around the Jervis Centre to try to buy a shirt and trousers for my son to wear to the wedding of my brother in law who is getting married for the THIRD time this weekend. There are so many TAs in that sentence I could cry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

That Knorr stock ad. The one where he's asks the market stall guy if the produce is local and the guy says 'yeah, only 70 miles away' 70 miles is local:confused: It's a whole other county.

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    Give us a clue, male or female?:D
    lol, we're all hoping it's us :P

...right? :o

That Knorr stock ad. The one where he's asks the market stall guy if the produce is local and the guy says 'yeah, only 70 miles away' 70 miles is local:confused: It's a whole other county.

The he buys a lump of beef that would cost 45 quid, to make bolognese.....:confused:

I was keepign quiet about this but why on earth is everyone going on about "new jammies" - do they only get "new jammies" at Christmas?

When I lived in the Portlaoise shore party house, I was the only girl living with 5 lads. They would all comment on the impressive collection of pjs I have, and how I never wore the same pair twice.

But - since I was little, brand new sheets for bed, bath, new Jammies, santa on rte news, and bed. Over the years it's changed to brand new sheets, bath, Jammies, wine, bed.

Tl;Dr no matter how impressive a collection of Jammies, Xmas eve ones are special.

Please, who, in their right mind would get married three times (so far), I suppose practice makes perfect and all that....