Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trivial things that annoy you Part 27

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭MsBubbles

No lexie. I have 3 /4 bags standing up in trolley, frozen/chilled goods 1 bag. Veg 2nd cleaning stuff 3rd liquids

Jim it's a black IBM server.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    What.
    MsBubbles wrote: »
    Morning TTayers ! Stupid neighbours woke me again at stupid o' clock. I'm blue in the face complaining :(

Boom_Bap ew ! green/black poop T M Bleedin I

It can stay Green for the first few weeks as well I think, you kind of get excited when you see the first brown mess, then even more excited when you see the first solid one.

It's not so cool when the nappy explodes and goes up the back and down the legs. That's where you need a good scissors to cut your child out of their clothes and decent water pressure for the hose down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,140 ✭✭✭✭bnt

People writing "ye" or "yer" instead of "you" or "your" when addressing others directly (second person singular). I know people have accents when they speak, but this is writing, not speaking. It only makes sense if you are quoting someone in the third person, using their "voice" to make a point.

edit: in case the "grammatical person" isn't familiar: I am the first person, ye you are the second person, and yer your man is the third person. :P

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

gross Boom_Bap :( I'm turning green myself feeling icky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    It can stay Green for the first few weeks as well I think, you kind of get excited when you see the first brown mess, then even more excited when you see the first solid one.

It's not so cool when the nappy explodes and goes up the back and down the legs. That's where you need a good scissors to cut your child out of their clothes and decent water pressure for the hose down.

Jesus Christ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,201 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Jesus Christ

Lexie having an "Ellen Ripley" moment! :pac:

...Jim it's a black IBM server.

That it be, lass.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

A lady in work has just put on some perfume, whatever way the airconditioning is blowing, most of the perfume as ended up hitting my throat and gone up my nose.
    F*ck this sh*t. If people come to my desk now it looks like I'm crying. They should use this as a tear gas replacement.

Jim how many pedabytes would that yoke process ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Jesus Christ

That reminds me, I must take my pill today.... :(

Pill?? There'll be no more horizontal shufflin for me until green **** is a distant memory

Jim how many pedabytes would that yoke process ?

It can run 256 processors at 4GHz, 16TB of core memory, and 26 internal hard-disks. In short, lots! :pac:

jimgoose :D

jimgoose wrote: »
    It can run 256 processors at 4GHz, 16TB of core memory, and 26 internal hard-disks. In short, lots! :pac:

yeah but, can you kick it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,316 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

I think you might stub your toe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

My eldest just appeared downstairs wearing a onesie. Where did I go wrong ?

I love my onesie. It's got a hood with a ears and a bear face :D it's super cozy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

BB, when do you think would be a good time to tell Lexie about when babies get a cold and the snot comes out of their eyes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,527 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

73Cat wrote: »
    My eldest just appeared downstairs wearing a onesie. Where did I go wrong ?

Reading your earlier posts Cat, you're doing an incredible job, but yeah, I do wonder alright where things went wrong when a child's idea of rebellion isn't coming downstairs with green hair and a load of tattoos, but wearing a feckin' onesie? :D

I was expecting my child to rebel at some stage, but it doesn't look likely! If anything I'm the one has to tell him to chill the fcuk out when he's making his lunch for school the night before, has his uniform neatly hung up in his wardrobe, etc. I feel somewhat relieved when he goes into full on diva mode and behaves like a normal ten year old! :pac:

BB, when do you think would be a good time to tell Lexie about when babies get a cold and the snot comes out of their eyes?

Or about when they approach you with something in thier hands and ask you to take a look and smell it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Ugh, you're all turning me off having kids. They sound disgusting!

fussyonion wrote: »
    Ugh, you're all turning me off having kids. They sound disgusting!
    They are.

HELL yeah. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭Vel

At home with the two year old and she has been incessantly moaning about wanting lunch since 10am. I eventually caved in at 11am and gave her a toasted cheese sandwich and of course, I just couldn't resist myself, so I'm now chowing down on one, with crisps on the side. You know its going to be a bad food day when you're having lunch in the morning

Vel wrote: »
    ...You know its going to be a bad food day when you're having lunch in the morning

Think of it as a Farmer's Dinner gone slightly awry. I had a plate of bacon-and-cabbage at 12:30pm yesterday that'd capsize a bull elephant! :pac:

****ing stupid bitches at work. I work with 6 girls. There's one, she's a smart cow, clients love her but she doesn't really get on with a couple of us, for no reason. She undermines me constantly, is always a couple mins late in am/after lunch. I know she doesn't like me, and I know she has a problem with me being her manager but that doesn't bother me.
    What does bother me is her constant snide remarks, me being OCD because I clean every morning (I never ask them to do it), when I get asos delivered to work shell comment that "real life will knock that out of you", basically, she has something smart to say about everything. But today, ugh.

I have a presentation to make today, nothing big, just talking to transition years about what it's like to work in the beauty industry, so obviously didn't come to work looking like a bag of ****e. I know how critical teenage girls can be about other people's apperance. I have my hair down, my makeup done, and I'm not in my uniform. I know I am not the best looking girl in the world, I don't claim to be either, I'm average and I'm happy with that. I have serious love for makeup and I love experimenting with makeup. I don't wear it as a mask, I wear it because I enjoy applying it.

Anyway, in work, one of the other girls told me I was really pretty. Before I had a chance to reply, this wan comments about how plastering yourself in makeup isn't beautiful, and something along the lines of beautiful people don't need to hide their looks behind a face full of "slap". What the actual ****? Apart from looking like I need a blood transfusion, I think I look okay without makeup. I'm not an insecure girl, but jesus. Harsh much?

I just walked out, I'm so angry, I was either going to cry or lose my **** with her. I know I need to say something to her but now it'll look like I'm only saying it because she said I was ugly.

****ing stupid bitches at work....

Discipline the little wagon. Seriously, you're her manager. Act like it. There is no way in hell I'd put up with that sort of bullshít, and talking to people like that is forbidden in any civilised work environment. Explain further to her that failing to improve matters could result in her being dismissed. In other words, give her a shot of Real Life to knock the smart-alec crap out of her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭mushu

Speaking of disgusting children, my two year old's new favourite thing to do is pick is nose and then ramble over to me and either wipe it on my clothes or say 'here mammy' and hand it to me when I'm not paying attention.
    That and stick his hands down to grab himself when I'm cleaning a dirty nappy and then freak out cause he has s.hit on his hands.

The best method of contraceptive would be to mind my two for 24 hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,223 ✭✭✭Michael D Not Higgins

****ing stupid bitches at work. I work with 6 girls. There's one, she's a smart cow, clients love her but she doesn't really get on with a couple of us, for no reason. She undermines me constantly, is always a couple mins late in am/after lunch. I know she doesn't like me, and I know she has a problem with me being her manager but that doesn't bother me.
    What does bother me is her constant snide remarks, me being OCD because I clean every morning (I never ask them to do it), when I get asos delivered to work shell comment that "real life will knock that out of you", basically, she has something smart to say about everything. But today, ugh.

I have a presentation to make today, nothing big, just talking to transition years about what it's like to work in the beauty industry, so obviously didn't come to work looking like a bag of ****e. I know how critical teenage girls can be about other people's apperance. I have my hair down, my makeup done, and I'm not in my uniform. I know I am not the best looking girl in the world, I don't claim to be either, I'm average and I'm happy with that. I have serious love for makeup and I love experimenting with makeup. I don't wear it as a mask, I wear it because I enjoy applying it.

Anyway, in work, one of the other girls told me I was really pretty. Before I had a chance to reply, this wan comments about how plastering yourself in makeup isn't beautiful, and something along the lines of beautiful people don't need to hide their looks behind a face full of "slap". What the actual ****? Apart from looking like I need a blood transfusion, I think I look okay without makeup. I'm not an insecure girl, but jesus. Harsh much?

I just walked out, I'm so angry, I was either going to cry or lose my **** with her. I know I need to say something to her but now it'll look like I'm only saying it because she said I was ugly.

And you're her manager? She needs to be knocked down a peg and a serious talking to about professional and appropriate language at work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭mushu

Lexie definitely discipline that b.itch. If she had said it to one of your employees you would have to do it. The fact that she spoke to her manager in that why is not only rude and offensive, it is disrespectful. I'd be giving her at least a verbal warning.