Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Celebrity Encounters

• Registered Users Posts: 281 ✭✭cowlove

I grew up in London so I have seen my fair share of celebs about the place.

I used to do ballet with Fifi Trixabell (Bob Geldoff and Paula Yates daughter). My mum used to chat to Paula Yates while we did ballet.

I did my work experience in the National Theatre and met Dame Judy Dench in the lift.

My ultimate celebrity encounter has to be when I went to drama club on Saturdays one of the women running it was married to Trev from Trev and Simon (swing your pants). When we did our final play Trev came to see it :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭FullblownRose

I saw Christina Aguilera in Bunratty Folk Park! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Highflyer13

Aylar Lie, The bird out of all the Basshunter music videos and former porn star brushed her head my leg and then grabbed it for balance before. Shes a fine bit of schtuff :cool:. Also Anthony Rapp from Dazed and Confused, The X files and Road trip was a sound guy and asked me lots about Ireland. Tbh I never heard of him before until someone butted in for a picture.

And as I mentioned in the other thread a few scoops with John Delaney:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Shrap

I served Flea some vegetarian lunch in a restaurant about 22 years ago. My hands were shaking and I was completely tongue-tied! He was even tinier than I thought he would be, but he was still scary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I did coke with Charlie Haughey a bunch of times.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

Vanessa from the Saturday's at my friends baby's christening, she was lovely.

• Registered Users Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Victor McDade

Standing at a urinal minding my own business in the Citywest a few years ago during the world grand Prix darts when Eric Bristow arrives in and occupies the one right beside me. Big man...

• Registered Users Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Vince Cable the MP, think he was Secretary for something or other in the UK for a while. He managed to get himself stuck in those fasttrack passport gates in Charles de Gaulle airport. Had to go get security for him, never knew I had the French to say "a man is in the gate and it won't open", it was like that episode of The Simpsons.
    He embarrisngly thanked me and went on his way, little did he know we'd meet in the Lounge and on the plane. This time I was retelling the story to my work colleagues, all staunch Labour folk.

Poor fella.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

I saw John English in the London tube once.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

I was in a church not long after moving in to the area and pointed out a guy to my wife saying "look at that knob with the shades on, thinks he's ****ing Bono".

Turns out it was.

• Registered Users Posts: 657 ✭✭✭exiledelbows

Met both Daniel Radcliffe and Jack Whitehall in the same pub within a few weeks of each other. Both really nice, but their friends were dicks when my OH asked for a photo/autograph.

Bumped into Harry Enfield walking around a corner in Notting Hill. Met loads of rugby players over the years. Shook Bobby Charlton's hand at Wimbledon once.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭Beano

I was in a church not long after moving in to the area and pointed out a guy to my wife saying "look at that knob with the shades on, thinks he's ****ing Bono".

Turns out it was.

she was half right.

We were walking down Killiney Hill one afternoon, towards the coffee shop when the wife let out a little shriek.

"oh my God, Ryan, I love you" she screams and throws her arms around Mr Tubriddy.

I'm not sure who was more embarrassed, me or him.

Met Johnny Vegas in Dalkey once as well. The guy is just as radio rental irl as he is on tv.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,174 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Turns out it was.

Are you sure she wasn't talking about God?? :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

I've met:

Alan Rickman
    Joseph Gordon-Levitt
    Anne Hathaway
    Steven Tyler
    Neil Patrick Harris
    Gary Oldman

And also some minor celebs like Dianna Agron and Naya Riveria (Glee), Dean Cain, Sean Lennon, Miranda Cosgrove, etc.

A friend of mine is a close relative of Jon Stewart's, so I'm hoping that, at some point, I'll get to meet him too. But if not, that's alright - my friend is actually really funny himself!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

A few years ago a friend of mine was down in Galway for race week when he got talking to a girl in a nightclub. It turned out she was a member of the travelling community but my friend didn't really care because she was pretty hot and well up for some action. Anyway, they headed back to her place at a halting site a few miles out of town and as they started to get down to business and my friend was warming her up with some foreplay she goes "Whoa oh oh, I'm on fire."
    The traveller girl was actually Bruce Springsteen!

• Registered Users Posts: 683 ✭✭✭Head_Hunter

I shook Aaron Paul's hand after the filming of an episode of the final season of Breaking Bad, pretty sound guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭Littlekittylou

sabat wrote: »
    The traveller girl was actually Bruce Springsteen!

??? No I think you need to explain that.

• Registered Users Posts: 440 ✭✭creolebelle

I've met
    Obama
    The Clintons
    Denzel Washington
    Fran drescher
    Nsync
    Zach effron
    Robert deniro

• Registered Users Posts: 9,694 ✭✭✭hynesie08

I'm 90% sure sir ian mckellan told me to get the **** out of his way on the escalator to the tube in London. No one ever believes it though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Louis Walsh gave me what can only be traumatically described as a flirtatious eye while walking past me in town one Christmas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

anncoates wrote: »
    Louis Walsh gave me what can only be traumatically described as a flirtatious eye while walking past me in town one Christmas.

Ye sexy flirty thing ye.

• Registered Users Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Crumpets

I met the mammy from Crystal Swing. Beat that :pac:

Crumpets wrote: »
    I met the mammy from Crystal Swing. Beat that :

I would, to be fair.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭refusetolose

i met pete doherty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭Littlekittylou

I have never met a celebrity. I would be too shy to speak to them.

I saw Ralph Fiennes walking outside trinity once. He looked at me and smiled and I walked away. I was with a guy friend and he said we should get his autograph it just made me walk faster.

True story. Yeaaaaah....

I don't really hang out at the types of places that would be frequented by them.

If I ever see Kate Bush though I will worship her silently on my knees from afar. I'll sweep the floor before her a few yards off so as not to disturb her.

I love that goddess. If female to female conception was possible I would have her babies. But I would never tell her because obviously this is a weird love and it might upset her. That's how much I love her.

I love Kate Bush.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭kingtiger

Met Robert Plant yesterday in the Palace Bar in Dublin

got a pic with him

My year is made :)

• Registered Users Posts: 983 ✭✭✭The Royal Scam

Met Zac de la Rocha from RATM and took a selfie with him. Met Showaddywaddy when I was ten, under the moon of love.

i met pete doherty

Yeah but have you meet any celebrities?

i met pete doherty

My niece is good friends with Lila Grace Moss and my brother's family were basically vetted by her mother Kate to make sure their house is a safe place for Lila to come to for "play dates".

My brother will not allow the play dates to be reciprocal.