Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

'Upset' Stansted Security Staff reaction to Muslim quip. Careful what you say there.

timetogo wrote: »
    Police should have had a bit of cop on too.

I'd imagine 2 police officers would have to go over and respond. When asked what the pensioner did and the reply was "said he wasn't a muslim" they should have had a chat with the security guard and told him to cop the fuk on and stop wasting police time.
    True that. Along with people coming back from Switzerland alone I really can't understand why police can't make the kind of "errors" they often do in proper cases.

Also this is where stupid, ill-thought-out "hate speech" laws end up. The Brits are also going ahead with adding internet filters for "extremist" content. And who gets to decide which is extremism, which is opposition, which is disrespectful? Sad path to be going down.

• Registered Users Posts: 329 ✭✭BlatentCheek

True that. Along with people coming back from Switzerland alone I really can't understand why police can't make the kind of "errors" they often do in proper cases.

Nowadays, particularly in the UK, there's an entire system of "equality/justice/watchdog" groups which sometimes interpret their remit to extend to vilifying any organisation that they see as not measuring up to what they consider acceptable behaviour.

Organisations afraid of such treatment tend to jettison their staff involved in any scandal at the first wave of allegations regardless of the substantive issues so front line workers (police, health staff, teachers, social workers) have to be extremely sensitive to not draw the wrath of such groups if they want to feel secure in their careers.

Nowadays, particularly in the UK, there's an entire system of "equality/justice/watchdog" groups which sometimes interpret their remit to extend to vilifying any organisation that they see as not measuring up to what they consider acceptable behaviour.

Organisations afraid of such treatment tend to jettison their staff involved in any scandal at the first wave of allegations regardless of the substantive issues so front line workers (police, health staff, teachers, social workers) have to be extremely sensitive to not draw the wrath of such groups if they want to feel secure in their careers.

While there is a branch dedicated to that, I feel it's a very small (but easy for publicity) part of the overall problem and direction.
    While there are cases of ridiculous "PC"-ness, the main point is censorship and control. Laws like these are all ultimately going towards stifling dissent of any kind. The Brits spent huge amounts of time and money in the 60s onwards infiltrating and undermining subversives such as socialists and communists and well as the right-wing groups. The same is now happening on the internet. While it's starting as targeting "extremism", that word will soon morph to mean many types of opposition and dissent.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭sjb25

I agree security and the police went a bit OTT on him but why didn't a 75year old man have sence to shut his mouth take his shoes off walk trough the machine and go on his way witout trying to be a smart ass iv had to take my shoes of at airports loads of times it's a pain in the ass but not a big deal just do it and get on you're way..... Still police should have just told em to cop on to himself and head on

• Registered Users Posts: 28,986 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

security trumped PC

it didn't. as pc doesn't exist. its made up to keep the bigots in check, and the gullible fall for it and rant about how they can't say this and that when in actual fact they have nothing worth saying.
    security trumped hurted feelings.

security will never be more important then hurt feelings

ticking a box on a form does not make you of a religion.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭RobYourBuilder

Are you taking the p*ss?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Mardy Bum

it didn't. as pc doesn't exist. its made up to keep the bigots in check, and the gullible fall for it and rant about how they can't say this and that when in actual fact they have nothing worth saying.

9/10 I would agree with you eotr. However, PC does exist in airport security. It is literally part of the job to check a specific number of people from every demographic daily. Is this really how resources should be spent? Are 80 year old women in danger of blowing up a plane?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Bollox.

Utter bollox.

And well you know it.

• Registered Users Posts: 387 ✭✭DaveDaRave

Islam is not a race. Sounds like easy defense

Mardy Bum wrote: »
    Despite this being not very PC

pc doesn't exist so has nothing to do with this, the word "pc" in this regard should be banned from boards actually
    It is a total waste of resources checking a 75 year old man

its not. security measures are for everyone and rightly so
    it is patently obvious he will not be blowing up the plane.

actually its not.
    Resources should be used much more intelligently rather than this meet your daily target in every demographic approach.

this "meet your daily target in every demographic approach" doesn't exist. resources are used intelligently when information comes to light.

While there are cases of ridiculous "PC"-ness

there are no cases of "PC-ness" . its just pure stupidity in cases like this
    the main point is censorship and control. Laws like these are all ultimately going towards stifling dissent of any kind. The Brits spent huge amounts of time and money in the 60s onwards infiltrating and undermining subversives such as socialists and communists and well as the right-wing groups. The same is now happening on the internet. While it's starting as targeting "extremism", that word will soon morph to mean many types of opposition and dissent.

i completely agree. and this dangerous nonsense must be stopped before we see people in britain ending up in jail for criticising the government or saying something the government doesn't like

• Registered Users Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭NSAman

this just proves that English airports are the most obnoxious places to travel through.

People who cannot speak English properly imposing stupid rules on travelers who are stressed already. Heathrow on particular I avoid like the plague. Jobsworths who just annoy the hell out of people wielding "powers" over the general populace. Manys the time I have wanted to say something but never bothered. Until one "border" official stopped me for having two bags (one was a purchase in duty free) saying "no entrance, one bag" the guy couldn't speak english. I took one bag I had opened it and places the other one inside. He then tried to claim I was breaking the "rules" ...

Nowadays I avoid England like the plague. Awful bloody place.

PC does exist in airport security. It is literally part of the job to check a specific number of people from every demographic daily.

thats not pc. thats just doing random checks.
    Is this really how resources should be spent?

it has to be.
    Are 80 year old women in danger of blowing up a plane?

anyone is capible of it to be honest.

NSAman wrote: »
    People who cannot speak English properly imposing stupid rules brought in by the government on travelers who are stressed already. Jobsworths who just annoy the hell out of people wielding "powers" given to them by the government over the general populace. Manys the time I have wanted to say something but never bothered. Until one "border" official who was employed on the cheep like everything in britain stopped me for having two bags (one was a purchase in duty free) saying "no entrance, one bag" the guy couldn't speak english as he probably wasn't trained at all. I took one bag I had opened it and places the other one inside. He then tried to claim I was breaking the "rules" ...

fixed that up a little for you

• Registered Users Posts: 904 ✭✭✭Drakares

The UK has gone full retard when it comes to Muslims and political correctness. Bringing the law into something like this is downright ridiculous. Yet there are Islamic protests in the UK with the likes of "British Police Burn in Hell" and no one takes notice.. Lets not offend them in any way but they can bash everyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Lapin wrote: »

Some people are too sensitive for their jobs. Thankfully sense prevailed here and this case was thrown out before it got to court.

Well in this case the cops and a few others were evidently acting the ****wit as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Nodin wrote: »
    Well in this case the cops and a few others were evidently acting the ****wit as well.
    Evidently.

@ End of the Road

Yet again you latch on to a thread, pass unfounded comments on other people's posts but fail to put forward any reasonable contribution of your own, let alone offer a source to qualifiy your remarks.

Some examples.

actually its not.

it has to be.
    fixed that up a little for you

Its obvious that you are out of your depth and clearly haven't a pigs notion of whats going on here.

A disposition that takes some achieving on After Hours.

But fear not. There are other places nearby that may serve your intellect better and lots of nice boys and girls to play with there.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

He didn't imply anything. What was inferred was up to the security guy. Who was, by the way, the one in the position of power here.

What's your opinion on the stories in this thread about how Irish people were treated in security in recent memory?

Regardless of anyones opinion on this case, you, me and everyone else on he knows what he meant. It was clearly "what are you checking me for, I'm not a musim" and not a public service announcement to helpfully inform people of his religion.

You can play the "but he made this statement" card all you like, but you know what he meant and why he said it. Would "I'm not black "be equally acceptable?

Or was he cut short from listing all the religions he isn't for no reason?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭voz es

I went to thorpe park in just outside London 3 or 4 years back. Security heard my accent and asked me to go through a random screening, the que comprised of 3 Irish lads, aprox 8 asians and the rest was made up of Black people.

I felt that was racial profileing there on full show and I let them know it. Nothing to do with the topic really but I felt the need to air it.

voz es wrote: »
    I felt that was racial profileing there on full show

to right it was. the poisonous bigoted racist evil of racial profileing is something that must be eradicated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Lapin wrote: »
    Afterall, the only reason we have to remove our shoes at airports is due of the actions of British terrorist, radical Sunni Islam Richard Reid, AKA the 'Muslim Shoe Bomber.

And that sole reason *cough* was why the trillion dollar global 'war on terror' was renamed 'the war on Muslim footwear'.

sigh

• Registered Users Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

voz es wrote: »
    I went to thorpe park in just outside London 3 or 4 years back. Security heard my accent and asked me to go through a random screening, the que comprised of 3 Irish lads, aprox 8 asians and the rest was made up of Black people.

I felt that was racial profileing there on full show and I let them know it. Nothing to do with the topic really but I felt the need to air it.
    I get the impression that you didn't like it.

And I think that has much to do with the topic: if people are treated less well because they can be put into a particular category, where people who fit in that category are not necessarily a security threat, they are right to feel that they are being treated unfairly.

The man in this case was effectively advocating that Muslims should be treated differently because they are Muslims - even though the large majority of Muslims are law-abiding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I was going through faro airport and at passport control the officer looked at me looked at the photo in passport looked back at me and growled you need to shave your beard off,

Was flying from Lisbon to New Delhi and in a que for European passport holders only, when I got to the top the officer said, your in the wrong que get over there, when I protested and said Ireland is in the EU , he looked at the passport again looked at me and said sorry thought you were an Iranian . Lol just thought I would share...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭NSAman

The man in this case was effectively advocating that Muslims should be treated differently because they are Muslims - even though the large majority of Muslims are law-abiding.

A large majority of every population is law-abiding. Yet, it seems some religions are treated with kid gloves in Europe than other religions. Yes I travel extensively and in the States this divide doesn't occur to the same extent as it does in Europe.

Karl Stein wrote: »
    And that sole reason *cough* was why the trillion dollar global 'war on terror' was renamed 'the war on Muslim footwear'.

Put your sarcastic gifs away and don't be so ridiculous. Nowhere did I ever say that was the case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

I think what has happened is that police and other security types have been watching too many American TV shows and now think the public must only speak when spoken to, and if the officer is not given the greatest respect they can start harassing.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

NSAman wrote: »
    A large majority of every population is law-abiding. Yet, it seems some religions are treated with kid gloves in Europe than other religions. Yes I travel extensively and in the States this divide doesn't occur to the same extent as it does in Europe.
    One thing seems plain enough to me: Muslims are not treated with kid gloves in AH.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

One thing seems plain enough to me: Muslims are not treated with kid gloves in AH.

Nor should they be. They don't deserve any more privileges than any other cultists.