Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Has social media ruined the nightlife?

• Registered Users Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Everlong1

2014: And humanity has evolved to a point where Narcissism seems to be perfectly acceptable. Living ones life through a lenses, rather than just living in the moment. Quite sad really.

See also: obesity. Where we used to worry about kids dying from rickets, TB and polio, we have now bred have a generation of fat bast*rds.

the abolition of slow sets have ruined discos

Rain nightclub, The Portobello, Saturday nights. You're sorted.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

I know it might be an obvious question with an obvious answer but:

what do people actually get out of takin so many photos? It can't just be attention surely?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,894 ✭✭✭Triceratops Ballet

this is why I quit facebook this year, enough of stupid duckfaces, and checking in to places just to show off. A lot of people seem to be running their own pr machine, making sure they check in at all the cool places, and deleting photos/comments that don't show them in a positive light. It's so freeing not being part of it, I wouldn't go back!

• Registered Users Posts: 20,176 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

It just goes to show - as a species we don't seem to care about the nightclubs and the restaurants and what-not, we care about communicating. A dozen or so sitting around a fire telling stories in freezing loincloths would be much the same! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

this is why I quit facebook this year, enough of stupid duckfaces, and checking in to places just to show off. A lot of people seem to be running their own pr machine, making sure they check in at all the cool places, and deleting photos/comments that don't show them in a positive light. It's so freeing not being part of it, I wouldn't go back!

I used to check into the most bizzzare places I could think of,qutanamo bay,top of mount everest,the Rutland centre etc then I had a phase were I used to just post a picture of a potatoe everyday

• Registered Users Posts: 203 ✭✭Uncle Ruckus

Nothing worse than when you meet up with a friend for a few quiet drinks and they spend half their time on their smartphone twatting about on FB or twitter. It really is the height of ignorance.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭DoYouEvenLift

It's not just for nightlife either. During the summer I saw so many tourists walking around who'd stop, take a photo of a view or building for a few seconds and as soon as the picture was taken just leave. It's hilarious, they have the chance to take it all in while they are actually there after spending hundreds or thousands to travel to new places and don't take the time to relax and have a good look.

I haven't taken a camera with me on my last few holidays to make sure I don't do this kind of stuff and since my phone doesn't work abroad I've nothing to distract me. Holidays are way more enjoyable like this rather than wasting time taking pics to post for likes on Facebook or trying to impress family and friends. If they want to see what Paris or Rome or London was like then tell them to just go and enjoy it for themselves rather than seeing everything that's there through a screen first.

Nothing worse than when you meet up with a friend for a few quiet drinks and they spend half their time on their smartphone twatting about on FB or twitter. It really is the height of ignorance.

Get up and walk out without saying anything. Do the same if it ever happens on a date too, but ask them to stop first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

I remember a time where people sat in the pub and talked to each other. All I see now are tables of bluefaces.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Thank God I stopped going to nite clubs about 7 or 8 years ago before all this sh*t began.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

MJ23 wrote: »
    All I see now are tables of bluefaces.

Everyone's holding their breath? Surely then they'd have red-faces?

Unless they die?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

catallus wrote: »

Everyone's holding their breath? Surely then they'd have red-faces?

Unless they die?

A blueface is from the light shining from the phone onto yer face.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Phones are a crutch people can easily use when they are in an awkward situation, can't think of anything to say, on their own etc...

Nightclubs are awkward places so doesn't surprise me people use them all the time in them.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,042 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

MJ23 wrote: »
    I remember a time where people sat in the pub and talked to each other. All I see now are tables of bluefaces.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,659 ✭✭✭Corvo

Unfortunately, this is the way it will be for the foreseeable. Social media is totally, 100% engrained into culture now. I lost my IPhone on August 31st, and I mean I adored this bloody thing. Always tapping my pocket to make sure it was still in there, unconsciously taking it out, flicking the screen on button to check for messages and putting it back in my pocket. I decided not to replace it despite it being fully insured.

Best decision I ever made. Sure I have no phone and I'm technically "off the grid" and I'm sure that coastguard helicopter is looking for me, but I can socialise much better and find myself actually striking up conversation with strangers a lot more now.

Bit awkward if you are swapping numbers with a girl in a nightclub and you have to provide a work email or postal address though! :pac:

Corvo wrote: »
    Unfortunately, this is the way it will be for the foreseeable. Social media is totally, 100% engrained into culture now. I lost my IPhone on August 31st, and I mean I adored this bloody thing. Always tapping my pocket to make sure it was still in there, unconsciously taking it out, flicking the screen on button to check for messages and putting it back in my pocket. I decided not to replace it despite it being fully insured.

Best decision I ever made. Sure I have no phone and I'm technically "off the grid" and I'm sure that coastguard helicopter is looking for me, but I can socialise much better and find myself actually striking up conversation with strangers a lot more now.

Bit awkward if you are swapping numbers with a girl in a nightclub and you have to provide a work email or postal address though! :pac:

There's no need to go without it completely though. I always bring my phone with me on nights out but the only time I use it is at the end of the night to call a taxi.

Anyone see Love/Hate the other night? Siobhan recording herself riding in the jacks. The dirt bird.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,799 ✭✭✭amacca

the abolition of slow sets have ruined discos

being small,unattractive, bitter and angry ruined nightclubs for me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

Holsten wrote: »
    Phones are a crutch people can easily use when they are in an awkward situation, can't think of anything to say, on their own etc...

Nightclubs are awkward places so doesn't surprise me people use them all the time in them.

I think that was one of the reasons I smoked in my 20s. Twas a great thing to do with your arms when you were standing around like a pleb.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,496 ✭✭✭bb1234567

I think taking funny photos with friends makes a night better lol

• Registered Users Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Hmm a big chunk of us from work went for night out on Sunday ( it's a chef night out :D), it was not night club, but pub and "last stop" bar/pub. All of us were completely drunk off our tits, all of us dancing and just looking stupid. Was a great night out and there is not a single photo from that evening.
    So I guess it depends more on who you go out with: people who just out to have a good crack or people who are looking for material to farm likes on Facebook.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

I don't mind photos of a night out, we've always done that back in the days when you'd bring an instant camera out. Its nice to look back and remember the good times. Its the "I must put this photo on FB now!!" that I don't get, people constantly on the phone updating their status to show where they are, who cares? Who really needs to see photos of you the millisecond they are taken? Talk about showing off. No need for it. I was out the other day at lunch with someone who insisted on taking pics of their coffee and food to post on FB, like why would you do that?! I'm too old for this sh!t, life was so much easier when we were younger.

It can be difficult to approach a woman when she has a phone in front of her face. What's worrying is that these smart phones seem to be getting bigger and bigger, effectively putting barriers between people. You'd nearly have to jump up to see who's on the other side of it. Maybe that will become a new dance in the future. People jumping up and down while holding their phones. It will replace the pointing at the ceiling type dancing we had at raves.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,736 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I am pie wrote: »
    I feel blessed to have been frequenting night clubs in the 90s before fakebook and camera phones were a thing. People should be left to gurn in peace.

+1. As someone who did more than one or two silly things on nights out in his younger days, I'm eternally grateful that it was the days before everything had to be recorded/uploaded

In fact I remember a guy bringing a digital camera out one night and getting dogs abuse over it :p

It's the kids I feel sorry for - seriously. With even 7/8 year olds having smart phones now, it's no wonder that stuff like cyber bullying is a massive problem.
    Truth be told, I worry a bit about what it'll be like for my own little fella when he gets to that age himself. His old man has no time for any social media stuff really, but there's no escaping it at that age :(

• Registered Users Posts: 5,496 ✭✭✭bb1234567

nightlife in ireland is'nt ruined by social media imo.
    i think it's because there's never any middle ground - it's a choice between hipster "twisted pepper" horrible kips with rubbish music, or knacker infested hell holes.

gone are the days of having some sort of middle ground music/people wise.

plus, the younger generation are of age now to join us in these places, and what they do, they will carry over into their nightlife...

i still cant get over how young they all look. children - literally!!!
    nearly want to take the drink outta their hands sometimes and tell them to go home to their mammy!

Nah thats not true. Everleighs and Workmans in dublin city cnetre are both good, friendly people, musics not bad, not too busy. Theyre definitely middleground clubs...and there are plenty more you just need to look for them

amacca wrote: »
    being small,unattractive, bitter and angry ruined nightclubs for me!

Good God. Are you me ? Apart from the small bit (I'm 5'10").

• Registered Users Posts: 25 CentimoSal

on the other hand - there are a few people who are clued into 'switch-off, look up' culture. They play phone jenga when going for meals (the first one to pick up their phone pays for the meal).

I just don't like taking that to extremes - as in - refusing to buy a smartphone and 'sticking with the nokia' - it's a bit Luddite.

More and more people are learning restraint, and are putting phone in airplane mode on nights out.

Yes - you will always get the zombies looking for a cheap dopamine hit delivered via Twitter, facebook, etc

If that concerns you - don't cast them off as pond scum - just realize they'll be paying for that later when they develop mild ADD a decade down the line

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭kissmequick

Ah yes Foróige Discos.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

"want a beer?"
    "no thanks I'm gluten free"
    "....."

These people and everybody who remains friends with these ponytailed bearded people have ruined nights out.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,350 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

I remember being at my debs night four years ago. Nearly everywhere I looked around there were tons of people with smartphones taking pictures being taken every minute or less at any time I would have a dance with someone or at least try to have a chat with some of my mates. You would be certain they would probably post them up on facebook a few nights after it even though it was nothing special in them in the least. There are lucky a picture is not taken in a jacks of all places otherwise there would have been hell to pay from the people who ran the place where the debs was held.

I didn't own a smartphone at the time and thankfully still don't own because for one thing I cannot afford to buy one. They are such a nuisance when they are being constantly used all the time by people of my age.

One girl I talked to had even offered me to give photographs of my debs to me over facebook. I said no to her as my reasons were that I didn't have a computer at home but that was not the only reason that I was not going on facebook but that is for another time and another place.

Relying on a smartphone for various bits of information is a good thing. However over reliance on a smartphone or other internet devices, including constantly updating statuses on fb or twitter is certainly not a good thing for attaining vast information. It is also not good for trying to maintain a good mental health either.

All I can say is that having Social media at a limit is a good thing for maintaining your wellbeing and good health. Over reliance however is the opposite of that and should be challenged and even stopped if that over-reliance goes too far.

It still is just walk away from the camera if you don't like them being in your face

I shouldn't have to walk away though, especially if I happen to be sitting down.