Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

Cu Baire wrote: »
    A Hamilton High School Bandon V Ardscoil Rís
    B Rochestown College V Nenagh CBS
    C Castletroy CC V Pobalscoil na Tríonóide Youghal
    D Thurles CBS V Gaelcolaiste Mhuire AG

Predictions:
    A ASR
    B RoCo
    C Castletroy
    D Thurles

A v B ASR

C v D Thurles

Final
    There you go

Just for record anybody can get predictions wring school very hard predictable

But seen as your fast repeatedly to question others without debating points and then proclaim your right always predictions just little refresher

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭HighKing33

Lads can anyone explain Corks performance yesterday in light of everything that was said on this forum about cutbert. Cards on the table here, i'm a hurling man but i had to wade through mounds of what now appears to have been serious ****e in light of y'days performance in an attempt to find the hurling commentary. If a complete newcomer to football was reading this thread he would think that ccb had appointed an alien to run the team. It's a good job nobody of note takes these forums seriously and pays any attention to whats being said. Suggestion: if the standard of football analysis dosen't seriously improve we will have to have separate threads for football and hurling.

Common sense indeed.

Talk is cork will have big guns out for Wexford game challenge weekend
    There taking it more seriously that waterford crystal cup
    Cork were not he'll bent on winning it as jbm made commitment players new guys he'd stick with them up last game when ever were beaten

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭Cu Baire

You edited what you wanted you said ard scoil to win sorry now

Actually I edited nothing.
    I quoted a post that I put up on 21st January and said Rochestown could win. This opinion was based on the form and circumstances of the 2 teams since the original post on 18th of December.
    Also as you are very good at tracking other peoples posts please put up one where I claimed to be always right in predictions or even where I proclaimed my right always predictions as you put it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭Cu Baire

HighKing33 wrote: »
    Common sense indeed.
    Lads can anyone explain Corks performance yesterday in light of everything that was said on this forum about cutbert. Cards on the table here, i'm a hurling man but i had to wade through mounds of what now appears to have been serious ****e in light of y'days performance in an attempt to find the hurling commentary. If a complete newcomer to football was reading this thread he would think that ccb had appointed an alien to run the team. It's a good job nobody of note takes these forums seriously and pays any attention to whats being said. Suggestion: if the standard of football analysis dosen't seriously improve we will have to have separate threads for football and hurling.

I couldn't read most of it but it was just a few lads with agendas forecasting doom and gloom in the hope that it would come through.
    We all know the barroom experts who can tell you everything that is wrong and nobody knows anything but them. When proved wrong then they have a thousand excuses and just wait like the stopped clock for that one moment when they are right and start with the I told you so rants.

Cu Baire wrote: »
    Actually I edited nothing.
    I quoted a post that I put up on 21st January and said Rochestown could win. This opinion was based on the form and circumstances of the 2 teams since the original post on 18th of December.
    Also as you are very good at tracking other peoples posts please put up one where I claimed to be always right in predictions or even where I proclaimed my right always predictions as you put it.

My point was twice you posted threads where your predictions were right
    You reqoutes yourself

My point I saud clearly I'm not saying everyone is right with predictions but you seem to show when you are and jusr be fair and equal I pointed it out you are wrong also

You saud ard scoil win they didn't
    No big deal I got many game wrong myself
    Accept it and move on

I don't track posts but as any neutral poster will see you have particularly be fair devalues my posting on not this thread alone but numerous threads in the past with short sniping statement's you accused me trolling on limerick thread, you called me biased before yet you don't like it when your just questioned on valid point
    I ignored those posts as you clearly wanted a reaction

You have be fair now follows most my posts with huge attention at times
    Just look at them be fair now please

I have no interest as you will know I ignored you last while going tit tat as I'm here talk gaa you are you look at majority your posts alway reply to mine with snipes trying devalue them and seem particular interest my posts than topics on hand

I just saw post and said provide clarity on it seen as you were and I'm sure in future be fast enough to question me but I'm well used to you at this stage
    Back to gaa talk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Figsy32

To be fair I'm much more hurling too and I wouldn't know the ins and outs of the football set up and Cuthbert's quality or lack there of, but to suggest that beating what was in essence Dublin's second team is enough to say he's good enough for the job is extremely premature.

The concerns over tactical awareness, player positioning and player treatment all seem pretty fair from what I've seen in the last 18 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭commonsense.

Orizio wrote: »
    There is nothing surprising, we had a much stronger team out than Dublin, and it was very much a most win game. We still have the talent of a top three team imo, beating a weak Dublin side at home isn't some kind of miracle.

Remember we had a great league last year.
    Whilst your criticism of the football analysis on here is unfair, IMO - your point suggesting that in light of this good performance, the criticism of Cuthbert may have been OTT, deserves consideration.

Cuthbert presented himself (via a slick power point show) as having the nous to manage Cork and persuaded a selection committee to appoint him in preference to John Cleary (a man with a far more impressive CV)

He failed to implement effective tactics and the players were deeply unhappy with many aspects of his management.

Many feared that morale in the camp was still very low but hoped that the fact that all of last year's panel (bar Walsh, Cahalane, Butcher and Dineen) returned, was evidence that the players were determined to get on with things and hope that Cuthbert would learn.
    He has brought in an excellent S & C man and a very highly rated sports psychologist so there are some positive signs.

This was a must win game but Dublin had 1/3 of their c/ship side and we had 2/3 of ours so a 1 pt win was the minimum required.

Cork were very open in the 1st half and wasted a lot of scoring opportunities so there is still cause for concern over the coaching but the 2nd half was much better and the team will travel to Monaghan in a good frame of mind.

It's also to put this win into context - Dublin came to Cork with a reserve team and were pushing hard for a win late on having missed a number of reasonable goal chances - when Cork put out a reserve side against a Div 4 side -Waterford - we lost by a point.

Valid points lads and well made. My comments were a little tongue in cheek, but it's just cuthbert was practically being vilified here in the last few weeks. As i said above hurling is my game (played both but gravitated towards the small ball over the years) and I will bow to yer superior knowledge as I don't claim any great knowledge on football nowadays. But He can't be that bad can he. He made his pitch for the job and rightly or wrongly the ccb picked him. Any man doing his best thereafter dosen't deserve to be crucified in my view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Mehapoy

Valid points lads and well made. My comments were a little tongue in cheek, but it's just cuthbert was practically being vilified here in the last few weeks. As i said above hurling is my game (played both but gravitated towards the small ball over the years) and I will bow to yer superior knowledge as I don't claim any great knowledge on football nowadays. But He can't be that bad can he. He made his pitch for the job and rightly or wrongly the ccb picked him. Any man doing his best thereafter dosen't deserve to be crucified in my view.
    As an outsider looking in and in the limerick thread, I think certain posters should be aware that players, managers etc. and their families may be reading these forums...we all have the advantage of anonymity so if it's not something you'd say to their face then I think you should tone down your comments, some of the comments against the football manager, players and coaches is beyond the pale, they are all volunteers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Hurleratheart

My point was twice you posted threads where your predictions were right
    You reqoutes yourself

My point I saud clearly I'm not saying everyone is right with predictions but you seem to show when you are and jusr be fair and equal I pointed it out you are wrong also

You saud ard scoil win they didn't
    No big deal I got many game wrong myself
    Accept it and move on

I don't track posts but as any neutral poster will see you have particularly be fair devalues my posting on not this thread alone but numerous threads in the past with short sniping statement's you accused me trolling on limerick thread, you called me biased before yet you don't like it when your just questioned on valid point
    I ignored those posts as you clearly wanted a reaction

You have be fair now follows most my posts with huge attention at times
    Just look at them be fair now please

I have no interest as you will know I ignored you last while going tit tat as I'm here talk gaa you are you look at majority your posts alway reply to mine with snipes trying devalue them and seem particular interest my posts than topics on hand

I just saw post and said provide clarity on it seen as you were and I'm sure in future be fast enough to question me but I'm well used to you at this stage
    Back to gaa talk

in fariness, i think your being petty here TTM

Youself couldn't see midleton being beaten by Nenagh, no excuses you said - Midleton players were goingto light up Harty,

you talked up AG management in one post and then blamed them in next ones ,

its hard to miss your posts there so many of them, thats why you get so much response

pot callin kettle black i think and of course things can change and posters change there minds about things

I think Denis Hurley in the Examiner said today anyone who follows underage hurling wouldn't be surprised by Rochestonw win and how well there doing

Myself Im expecting another big performance in final and if there right with no injuries they will win

in fariness, i think your being petty here TTM

Youself couldn't see midleton being beaten by Nenagh, no excuses you said - Midleton players were goingto light up Harty,

you talked up AG management in one post and then blamed them in next ones ,

its hard to miss your posts there so many of them, thats why you get so much response

pot callin kettle black i think and of course things can change and posters change there minds about things

I think Denis Hurley in the Examiner said today anyone who follows underage hurling wouldn't be surprised by Rochestonw win and how well there doing

Myself Im expecting another big performance in final and if there right with no injuries they will win

Hurling heart I'm not be fair but there's clear agenda against some my posts be fair by some
    I hope and do think your not one those as your hurling fan grassroots up real type bread butter fan that I am myself and we belive I think hurling needs start at bottom down and have work done

I think you will find being bread and butter type fan like myself you know I have huge interested all schools and be fair I mentioned mtichewltown here last week and other schools and don't see many otherness posting teams be fair

I said management lordan was good at start year what achieves brings them together but as seventh I'm sure will agree I mentioned in most games tactically naivety some calls

I did expect mideton do well and in regards lighting up Harty o mentioned john looney and he did indeed light it up

Problem was as many fans know maybe you don't be affiliate to rivhestowm fair point but are actually mibdellton poorly managed as acknowledged by least five different posters here as dayne record is poor

I shouldn't be alienated for so many posts be fair but as poster other thread said I get unfair criticism here for my views more anyone else
    I think at times my length post and strong opinions go against me but magior cork posters want me post
    If that ever changes I would have no problem retirement my posts as done before as cork gaa thread not about one poster

Some imo make out be jusr cause I post a lot

But look I'm well used it at this stage it always comes every few weeks one poster critics me other wade in as they have support

Be fair everything I said regards ag mideton management was said by many others
    I wasn't the only one now was I

You are flowing glow I'm geuinely happy after rochestown win but I think be fair making remark I just joined the support recently is wrong and I been through this argument before I though we moved on be honest, but I being bread butter fan before you surely appreciate I always support them

No point but could easily post old post me support the school last year

I'm critises unfairly as seen be one school over another nut geuine fans know I post all schools

Who else posted mtichewltown, charville winning limerick vocational ist year title christ ri etc mot many be fair
    I said before others can do it fair point
    I post school women game try give everyone attention
    Did anyone even mention ladies milford here bar myself be fair
    I mentioned this to show I try cover everyone as cork is cork to be me

I do agree regards richestown no surprise doing well

Hurley piece as alway was excellent and he knows school hurling inside out and does what I call real reporting games often away from limelight in most awful weather he deserves huge credit like paddy Ryan thwresw csllaghan for their coverage

I think myself and your self are on same side with lot views

I think you will be confident cork minor hurling team this year and your a big Denis ring fan like myself and we both agree cork should be munster final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Hurleratheart

Hurling heart I'm not be fair but there's clear agenda against some my posts be fair by some
    I hope and do think your not one those as your hurling fan grassroots up real type bread butter fan that I am myself and we belive I think hurling needs start at bottom down and have work done

I think you will find being bread and butter type fan like myself you know I have huge interested all schools and be fair I mentioned mtichewltown here last week and other schools and don't see many otherness posting teams be fair

I said management lordan was good at start year what achieves brings them together but as seventh I'm sure will agree I mentioned in most games tactically naivety some calls

I did expect mideton do well and in regards lighting up Harty o mentioned john looney and he did indeed light it up

Problem was as many fans know maybe you don't be affiliate to rivhestowm fair point but are actually mibdellton poorly managed as acknowledged by least five different posters here as dayne record is poor

I shouldn't be alienated for so many posts be fair but as poster other thread said I get unfair criticism here for my views more anyone else
    I think at times my length post and strong opinions go against me but magior cork posters want me post
    If that ever changes I would have no problem retirement my posts as done before as cork gaa thread not about one poster

Some imo make out be jusr cause I post a lot

But look I'm well used it at this stage it always comes every few weeks one poster critics me other wade in as they have support

Be fair everything I said regards ag mideton management was said by many others
    I wasn't the only one now was I

You are flowing glow I'm geuinely happy after rochestown win but I think be fair making remark I just joined the support recently is wrong and I been through this argument before I though we moved on be honest, but I being bread butter fan before you surely appreciate I always support them

No point but could easily post old post me support the school last year

I'm critises unfairly as seen be one school over another nut geuine fans know I post all schools

Who else posted mtichewltown, charville winning limerick vocational ist year title christ ri etc mot many be fair
    I said before others can do it fair point
    I post school women game try give everyone attention
    Did anyone even mention ladies milford here bar myself be fair
    I mentioned this to show I try cover everyone as cork is cork to be me

I do agree regards richestown no surprise doing well

Hurley piece as alway was excellent and he knows school hurling inside out and does what I call real reporting games often away from limelight in most awful weather he deserves huge credit like paddy Ryan thwresw csllaghan for their coverage

I think myself and your self are on same side with lot views

I think you will be confident cork minor hurling team this year and your a big Denis ring fan like myself and we both agree cork should be munster final

as long as cork hurling(schools minor senior intermediate club )on the up were def on same page

Im a big Rochestonw fan, but happy to support whoever comes to top from Cork

all i know is Im 100% right so far backing Rochestown from start, and I'm hoping to keep it that way

Don't know to much about Denis Ring myself but anything I heard is excellent.

Mehapoy wrote: »
    As an outsider looking in and in the limerick thread, I think certain posters should be aware that players, managers etc. and their families may be reading these forums...we all have the advantage of anonymity so if it's not something you'd say to their face then I think you should tone down your comments, some of the comments against the football manager, players and coaches is beyond the pale, they are all volunteers...

Valid points and I agree totally but I think must be kept perspective once judges field play not personal criticism is fine as be fair grassroots roots fans spend huge time involved going game making many sacrifice to go games and if they can't judge players performance then thry won't go games

Amis all criticism poor cork under twenty hurling management I like many still supported team others chooses not to
    We still go games as we support players though think ans thin

We criticism of ger Fitzgerald and kennelly be fair as managers only as be fair their record management are poor

I can only speak myself but saud many times nothing personal but judge them as managers

For example I'm huge fan teddy mac as player and stand up him any time but then manager I critize and be fair it's justified in records as manager

No one ever questions committed and passion
    Senior players and management know oh field play cork are criticism and they as many said know it's come territory

What more issue imo critise young lads under sixteen etc

I make point as geuine fans know here not naming any young lads as pure out crtising ans if there on performance judges performance I try and always say positive on aspects of their play

We had posters here before criticism cork minor footballer here where got personal with that poster view player in regards movement I strongly disagree with

I don't see problem however saying senior lad around panel few years is poor inter county players

Cody does it as manager so too kerry
    Moral of ethics is fine to a point but this attuide dare not critise is what ruined cork football for years and also limerick hurling I mentioned this as your a limerick fan

Look at yere minor this year

Many on your thread you will find criticism of the manager
    Yes your own thread
    Now than manger was put forward as candidates for under twenty one or minor manager again in some quarters

It's well know that he's nice fella but solely and purely as manager he wasn't by lot involved last year minor team wanted be minor or under twenty one manager again as on results
    Ask limerick fans do they want him as manager
    You will I guess be told in no uncertain terms the answer

That's fair nothing wrong with it
    As by limerick not wanting him get another term or under twenty manager limerick have geuine chance all Ireland under twenty one glory and I'm convinced next year will win it

The same attuide hasn't always be in limerick though and like cork football this do not critise but accept mediocrity and poor results is why we don't win much

Everything with cuthbhert I speak from my self purely on field play and valid justified criticism on performance
    I said many times have him rile within cork gaa as administration but not coaching
    I said same niall moran terrific coach bit as player nor senior standard
    Now is that personal no its not I praised where due
    Kissanne I didn't rate as a player but imo will be one best young coaches around

There's few other forums one particular read once where abuse cuthbhert was awful as it's personal
    That's wrong

But on performance he was not vilified but judged just like kerry and kilkenny do
    Go there thread please and post your post and I'd like see their reaction
    There ruthless on field play alone
    Kilkenny people last year paper critises public training of mullnvat in their agm report
    Nobody complaint
    Next year they won leinster intermediate championship and kilkenny county and like twenty six out thirty games

Often people say player played game despite he being poor don't judge
    However what about moral code of ethics for better player he keeps off field or manager that works just as hard bust he's balls but never gets a chance despite same commitment and passion

Classic example one cork lad senior hurling vying for place panel league and he cancelled a trip abroad this weekend planned ages as wants play cork
    Now imagine guy that around cork panel proved time again not up senior cork level yet he gets place ahead him
    Now people say don't judge lad as committed passionate
    What about lad better than him doesn't get that same chance

Criticism field play is fine
    If you and others on limerick thread choose to accept not critise when valid that your opinion bit I think many cork fans sick sight of watching kilkenny and kerry win all Ireland year on year while we accept second best and even below it and likes munster rubgy call spade spade

Look criticism munster thread and I'm media among their own
    No complaints as they accept the demand for better

One performance as paudie palmer said today radio is nothing get carried away with as fair play he said cork could lost just as easily and this was a second strength Dublin to a point but applauded passion and commitment rightly so
    But it's wring say cork turned corner on one win when midfield clear problem

as long as cork hurling(schools minor senior intermediate club )on the up were def on same page

Im a big Rochestonw fan, but happy to support whoever comes to top from Cork

all i know is Im 100% right so far backing Rochestown from start, and I'm hoping to keep it that way

Don't know to much about Denis Ring myself but anything I heard is excellent.

Richestown football game Saturday twelve thirty mallow

Any injuries after weekend???

You think they have a chance
    I think they do but huge pressure both codes do both
    I think club scene rockies Douglas will be strong next few years also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭case885

TTM you really need to slow down when your typing, PROOF READ! :D

case885 wrote: »
    TTM you really need to slow down when your typing, PROOF READ! :D

Thanks,I see usual trend here one criticism me, they all join in
    Nothing changes
    Others dont seem to have a problem with it

Thanks,I see usual trend here one criticism me, they all join in
    Nothing changes
    Others dont seem to have a problem with it

Ah i didnt mean it that way, i was only joking. Your a valuable poster to the thread and have a great knowledge of Cork GAA.

Fair enough apologies geuinely
    there just a trend here among a few others it must be said

No worries.
    What have you made of Darren Mc Carthy's performances outfield so far TTM?
    Do you think JBM will start him in the league?

No worries.
    What have you made of Darren Mc Carthy's performances outfield so far TTM?
    Do you think JBM will start him in the league?

Superb keeper absolutely but not corner forward and he met he's match Saturday as limerick corner back are outstanding
    But if he had ti face Seamus hickey or Barrett tipp he wouldn't get a ball

He's best position for club is half forward but he's not ball winner cork crave and coughlan in similar role far far better hurler

Full forward line has cadogan Spillane luke horgan paudie cronin ahead of him and imo make panel as a goalie but not as a forward

Imo Walsh haughney will make it
    Kelleher may make it

It's hard to say but cian imo a definite and will be there but shouldn't
    In six years one good game v Galway four year ago rear been hit and miss

Lawton no where near this level
    Fine against colleague teams but limerick and clare showed him up

O Connor hard to know

Colm Barry and spillane imo have to make it

http://www.eveningecho.ie/sport/2015/02/01/leaders-stood-up-when-game-was-on-the-line/

Good balance read

The mention of leaders is very valid but cork always had those
    That was not the problem last year
    Yesterday tactically wise was not the test of test so cork survived but key test be next week as Murphy said

Great that he mentioned full back display cadogan
    Was outstanding at full-back back when there compared to half back imo

Full back line or no where

It's was good he mentioned five key players Dublin were without
    Add in kilkenny this year that's six

Cork had shields and galvin out but that's it really

Doc and Clancy yes but cork have ample cover those position be fair and like Kelly and goulding terrific players wouldn't added more than Collins or hurley for example

That's the most important point realise while full back line be stronger this is essentially cork starting midfield v Kerry and huge worries and if maguire injured no real effective cover imo

Derry monaghan Tyrone should tesr cork midfielder as they will go long

Win crucial and two points can't be underestimated

But mayo winning and monaghan many seemed think could be for relegated means they have two points also

Dublin kerry guaranteed won be relegated

Donegal have one win also

Derry have loss but cork at home

Huge win but cork have tough road ahead yet

Mayo should be beat at home I said this even few weeks ago

Saw game v Kerry were imo not impressive in kerry had no interest judge record lost every game this time year before or close to it

Kerry if need win huge concerns ti cork but if don't need win cork should win

That's three wins but others could be contention also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭It makes sense

Figsy32 wrote: »
    To be fair I'm much more hurling too and I wouldn't know the ins and outs of the football set up and Cuthbert's quality or lack there of, but to suggest that beating what was in essence Dublin's second team is enough to say he's good enough for the job is extremely premature.

The concerns over tactical awareness, player positioning and player treatment all seem pretty fair from what I've seen in the last 18 months.

I would agree I appreciate the art of hurling more than football and only pass a small eye on the bigger ball. Although it was great to see cork beat Dublin I thought Dublin would win, I still think the jury is out until we have played 4/5 games let's see then how things pan out. From speaking to a few Lads at the game what was most impressive was the work rate and whole hearty approach which was good to see. Again I hope Cuthbert proves me wrong.

Very good post

I think every cork fan would love be proven wrong by cuthbhert

I'd love to say here I was wrong if he successful

What do you make cork senior hurling tactically and richestown chances harty cup and all Ireland now???

Brilliant read by eammon Murphy today where he got down to business

It was honest assement of the new comers for league places

He mentioned patrick Collins will Kearney sean o dounughe Brian o sullivan Glenn o Connor Andy walsh Murray lawton and Darren McCarthy as audition leage panel

He correctly said out of all those only Andy walsh advanced he's claims and work rate middle third will make him good addition but getting starting place is tough ahead Kearney Walsh cronin and haughney

He said will Kearney made some interception but still Conceded two three
    He felt Kearney was caught on breaks and collective errors felt he should still get chance in spring

That'd only part I disagree with

Kearney also imo got badly beaten for kavanagh goal v cit so imo not besr corner back in cork

He said Collins made few brilliant saves but fault few goals but has real under age potential and may overall push himself in ti the fray

Collins outstanding keeper but imo no need rush him yet

He correctly said Darren McCarthy club form wasn't transferred to senior as a forward

I think spillane and barry who were ineligible should be added to the panel

I must add read cuthbhert interview I'm paper and welcome change
    He pointed out Dublin had ten men out and identify cork like I said last year need three or four different way to play and monaghan would be a huge test

Good read definitely one of the best yet

Key will be team v monaghan
    It was acknowledged cork defence was too loose v Dublin

Good see things acknowledged as then you can believe in set up

Monaghan will be good test and tough place to win so ideal test for cork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭commonsense.

Harty final confirmed for Mallow. Can't see Thurles being happy. Fermoy wanted to host I hear. Thought it would have been the obvious choice.

Thanks for that
    Richestown played charville here and won frewn cup In football last year there so know ptich well

Nothing against any other venues but harty cup deserves complex like mallow
    Mallow is super complex for this final of this truly wonderful competition

There will be a huge cork crowd there

I think this adds to their advantage but the worry is three tough games in three weeks for young lads with football this weekend in mallow also

Any non football lads should go mallow Saturday even so they ger familiar with the place

Great news for cork hurling to hold harty cup so dear to cork history of hurling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 Froggyno11

We have seen the harty cup reach the final stage now like most competition, so who would people go for in the minors as of now for limerick game??

I'd go for
    Dalton
    Smith
    Griffin
    Hennessy
    Cashman
    O leary
    Darragh o brien
    Donal English but john Sullivan has really put himself imo contention for this

Shane Kingston could play midfield no problem at all
    Cormack
    O mahony
    Flynn
    Looney
    Halloron
    Gunning

Very hard team to pick but it has hurling, pace, dogmatic warrior and leaders and winners in that team and imo would beat limerick
    Obviously form could change it again
    That team I hope for a dry day as limerick won't be able for them but a wet day they would win also
    The key yesterday was likes mackey, grimes, houinhsn, Casey were all well contained yesterday so as good as they are cork have the players to contain them
    It be tough game yes but cork imo are in the perfect place now

Winning against thurles is key in gives them great chance easier route to all Ireland final however loosing still won't affect too much cork set up in beat limerick which was key and in harty this year cork schools won two duels with limerick schools with ag beating doon and yesterday win

Lost four but those three Youghal should beaten Castletroy but for the late smash and grab, better coaching would got ag win over Castletroy both lost by a point
    Colman young team with no cork minor came within crossbar drawing their game making the quatre finals
    Ard scoil were the only game imo that they beat hammies that a limerick team were the better team against a cork team and a higher standard and deserved the win imo
    You could not fault Hammies as they had a superb tournament and gave it everything

The key is imo the gap has closed though considerably and yesterday richestown beat limerick best and elite team and it was only cork school bar ag and mideton where you had a lot of cork present and past minors that could face limerick team with lot of Intercounty players
    Mideton and ag never had chance to play them this year to see what cork best Intercounty wise would do against them

Richestown with likes griffin, cashman, Kingston, cormack ans last year minor course Daniel meaney they had Intercounty experience or soon to become that plus likes power with the cork minor football so they had big big game changers you need at this level.

Rochestown have great chance of the harty cup and geuine realistic chance of an all ireland imo looking at the possible teams left as they tick all four boxes required, good coaching, talented players, but have big name game changer in that set up, and between football and hurling down the years have beaten big names so they have confidence in their own ability
    Kieran naturally are the teams to beat as they on last year have few available and there strong physical team with as any kilkenny team has and abundance of hurling
    I'd presume ger flood still up there and involved team he's a strength conditions coach and tio quality so kilkenny boys upper body strength be ideal test for rochestown
    I'm not too sure regards Galway schools but imo good counsel or Kieran meet next week in the semi would be biggest dangers for two munster teams left
    One thing is Kieran have a traditional and good counsel too in winning success and good counsel won all Ireland under sixteen football beating richestown last year and hurling beating mideton would I think have few likes sinnot, tomas o Connor, Richard hennessy so they will be strong
    Next year is probably the year though thar good counsel be better chance winning leinster
    I'd be hoping from cork view point good counsel win Saturday bear Kieran but at the same time as it's been so long since cork school bar last year under sixteen all Ireland final met kilkenny senior school in hurling or minor I'd one way like Kieran meet them see how cork school done and is there any difference between there best and our best as it is only by playing the best do you know if you can become the best

The rock two years ago said that in he's day the harty cup where he played as a half forward for mideton cbs it was a tougher standard than minor
    The level preparation now days and the pace I'd say harty cup is at least level in most games yes not all with minor inter county

This is great sign for cork minor hurling this year
    I always said it even last year in the dark days and year before regards under age, the talent is and always will be in cork football and hurling that won't change
    Cork have the sports people in any sport to compete with the best
    All it needs is good coaching and to be developed and for that you need resources as will has always been there with volunteers but you support that with money, and if you do it now it won't actually cost thar much cork will thrive at both codes as there's enough talent to satisfy both imo that one is not seen as superior to the next

I'm against view cork should be seen as hurling county
    Course hurling is king with all Ireland but football haa actually held its own or topped roll honour in all other three county grades bar senior with just seven all Ireland
    Cork should be seen not as a hurling county but the best gaa county around and imo must thrive for thar perfection
    Of course thar will take a change of attuide and also will course take a lot of time but if it happened it would truly be worth the wait

Once that's done there is no limit to what success in hurling and football can be achieved imo

Yesterday victory is still just unbelievable absolutely unbelievable in context of cork hurling as this is one step in solving problems from bottom up rather than relying on we are cork mushrooms theory
    This win didn't just happen as a one off it happened for a reason though hard hard work and progression
    Rochestown last year beaten doon in close game with lot injuries bur they learned so much in that defeat and just second year truly amazing outstanding there in a harty cup final

Good coaching proves king again and it's good for the likes of Douglas ans Blackrock and Carrigaline also
    Young talent that the rookies have is unbelievable and not case imo if they win senior county with Eddie Murphy the only question like mideton with Wallis is when,???

Good news cork hurling from grass roots up so far this year, rookies and mideton appointment good coached so sarsfields won't be winning senior next year thankfully
    The appointment of hartnett as minor selector
    The outstanding under sixteen mubstee success of Midleton, rochestown, again, mtichewltown who went close mubstee c senior quatre final, the reaching of the d final and so far at least likely too senior cork school in a and b final munster

The leaving Wallis from limerick that will weaken limerick and strengthen cork ans likely he'll be involved in cork under age pretty soon in the future I would guess
    Cork senior hurling panel seems be strong this year with more competition but when league panel is announced tomorrow or Tuesday we will know more

The intermediate all Ireland last year winning team and Dean Ryan and all Ireland final from mideton
    After five long painful years finally a competent under twenty management team for cork hurling

Landers so far seem good choice in the senior
    There lot work to do but at least progress is been made
    The investment must continue and referring in cork has to be sorted out with the dismal club standards and when cork coaching jobs come up they must be appointed in proven success
    The under twenty one credit due was good choice but the intermediate manager again showed how ccb make poor choices also

Again win yesterday was greater significant to cork hurling than waterford crystal as this was vital to cork hurling absolutely vital and cannot be underestimated and I hope cork as a county, North south east and west pull and join unites together and support rochestown in Feb twenty ist in harty cup final and I'm hoping few ex cork greats support them from all over
    Likes Jim cashman will be there with John playing

The hype will obviously be a factor but richestown having been under sixteen all Ireland football few these lads will be used to it
    I think after yesterday win only right absolutely media give these lads huge glowing tribute and as they didn't beat any old school they beat the powerhouse the kings ard scoil and they actually blew them away in truth

The key will be a balanced approach though and don't do limerick leader last year I'm build up minors with like a twenty eight page supplements out the Friday before the all Ireland final
    YES TWENTY EIGHT PAGE SUPPLEMENT
    Twas unbelievable but only for it being limerick as you expect that with them, comes with the territory

The senior all Ireland preview for kilkenny they had a twenty page supplements
    For a semi final only kilkenny must have been laughing at it
    They never learn though
    Twenty page pull out for a senior game yet weeks later they go eight pages more for a minor final
    It was imo a bit much
    Ten pages would have done ot a bit more
    They never learn imo

This victory and harty final appearance has ti be recognised simply has to,over the famine we had but once kept in perspective it's fine
    It's fine to raise any expectation of a team after a win and yesterday justify that
    I think they should beat thurles as on paper stronger team and results show they have been the most consistent team in the harty cup
    They of course have ti turn up on the day

Like limerick last year I expected them beat cork as they were just better team
    That's not over hyping then nut realistic assement imo

Overhyped is twenty eight page pull out
    Cork should be sensible and let's not become the Limerick equivalent when it comes to hype and learn from their mistake
    It's natural yesterday win is going release lot joy and emotions, I feel it myself but last thing they need is be In media too much

Again well done to all and a thank you to everyone of them involved on field play and behind the scenes
    Whatever happens here on they have done cork hurling proud

1. Dalton (FON)
    2. Murphy (Sars)/ Cahalane (Bars)
    3. Cahill (Cloyne)/Griffin (Carrigaline)
    4. Smyth (Midleton)
    5. Hennessey ( Bars)/O’Keeffe (Nap)
    6. O’Leary (Valley Rvs)
    7. D O’Brien (Killeagh/Its’a)/Walsh (Bride Rvs)
    8. Kingston ( Douglas)
    9. Lowney (Clon)
    10. M Coleman (Blarney)
    11. O’Mahony (Newtown)
    12. Flynn (Erins Own)/Cormack (Rockies)
    13. Gunning (Nap)/ Fitzgibbon (Charleville)
    14. O’Halloran (Rockies)
    15. Looney (Aghada)

1. Kenneally could yet play in goals with Dalton a serious option in the forward line. This was done at the U15 tournament a few years ago and worked well but Dalton is twice as good outfield now as he was back then.

2. Murphy played well last year at the edge of the square for Sars in minor championship, Cahalane, strong and fast like his brother lack of hurling all year around at a high level and football may be a problem.

3. If Cahill is gone Griffin will probably play full back, might be tempted to play Cashman there but imo when the ground is hard he will be caught for a turn of pace at this level.

4. Smyth steady, strong can be used as a man marker on Hennessey/Nolan Tipp if we get to play them.

5. Hennessey does all the simple things right. Walsh played senior with his club last year was not involved not sure if he is back in the running.

6. O’Leary rock solid centre back, commands the centre, if in trouble with a very fast cf could be switched with Lowney.

7. O’Brien has improved in the last six months Harty run has stood to him should nail down a wing back spot. O’Keeffe has gone back a bit not very dominating for AG but still worth a shout.

8. Kingston could play anywhere from 5 to 15, Midfield has been a slight problem with this age group should do a good job allowing to ghost forward when in attack.
    9. Lowney only problem is he will be a dual and coming from Clon football will take priority but as good a hurler at this age as you will see.

10. Coleman lighting fast with plenty of skill, may be unheard of but should be in contention, can also play midfield with a swap with Kingston.

11. O’Mahony seems to be playing well, always scores and has a good hand.

12. Flynn going well in training I hear, plenty of pace and can take a score from anywhere inside 60 yards. Cormack opted out of development squads the last few years I think, big strong ball winner, well capable of taking a score, pace may be a problem when the ground drys up will be interesting to see his displays with Roco in the coming weeks.

13. Gunning pick of the 17s, has the potential to be a super corner forward, should make the step up. Fitzgibbon similar player to Gunning could very well be a toss-up between them, made a difference when introduced in county final last year, very accurate free taker within 60 yards.

14. Halloran could be played at 10, with Cormack at 11 and Mahony at his best position at 14, very good player will be to the fore with Christians in there bit for glory , also a talented out half could lose him to rugby in the long run.

15. Looney a surprise selection for some with last year’s minor panel but this lad has every skill in the book, plenty of pace if he becomes more direct when advancing on goal can be a serious threat.

Cashman could be used to upset a forward, with O’Leary from Castlelyons and Harrington who played all championship games for O’Neill last year also an option.
    English good player will be there abouts but needs to insert more intensity into performances, watched O’Sullivan on Saturday for the second time was excellent will be in with a shout.
    Don’t count out Billy Dunne has super potential seems to be hard to get it out but don’t be surprised if he wears no 14 in the first game. Also Beasung 17 (Russell Rvs) and Howard (Dromtarriff) could feature.
    Don’t think I have left anyone out maybe one or two 17s if Manley and McCarthy were to return from the round ball they would be there also.
    One of the strongest panels of minors in years should make Croker. Limerick have never beaten Cork at this age as far as I know, Tipp beat them in Forristal, 15 final and 16 semi-final with only a puck of a ball in all games, Kilkenny also strong at this age, What do you think TTM??

Froggyno11 wrote: »
    1. Dalton (FON)
    2. Murphy (Sars)/ Cahalane (Bars)
    3. Cahill (Cloyne)/Griffin (Carrigaline)
    4. Smyth (Midleton)
    5. Hennessey ( Bars)/O’Keeffe (Nap)
    6. O’Leary (Valley Rvs)
    7. D O’Brien (Killeagh/Its’a)/Walsh (Bride Rvs)
    8. Kingston ( Douglas)
    9. Lowney (Clon)
    10. M Coleman (Blarney)
    11. O’Mahony (Newtown)
    12. Flynn (Erins Own)/Cormack (Rockies)
    13. Gunning (Nap)/ Fitzgibbon (Charleville)
    14. O’Halloran (Rockies)
    15. Looney (Aghada)

1. Kenneally could yet play in goals with Dalton a serious option in the forward line. This was done at the U15 tournament a few years ago and worked well but Dalton is twice as good outfield now as he was back then.

2. Murphy played well last year at the edge of the square for Sars in minor championship, Cahalane, strong and fast like his brother lack of hurling all year around at a high level and football may be a problem.

3. If Cahill is gone Griffin will probably play full back, might be tempted to play Cashman there but imo when the ground is hard he will be caught for a turn of pace at this level.

4. Smyth steady, strong can be used as a man marker on Hennessey/Nolan Tipp if we get to play them.

5. Hennessey does all the simple things right. Walsh played senior with his club last year was not involved not sure if he is back in the running.

6. O’Leary rock solid centre back, commands the centre, if in trouble with a very fast cf could be switched with Lowney.

7. O’Brien has improved in the last six months Harty run has stood to him should nail down a wing back spot. O’Keeffe has gone back a bit not very dominating for AG but still worth a shout.

8. Kingston could play anywhere from 5 to 15, Midfield has been a slight problem with this age group should do a good job allowing to ghost forward when in attack.
    9. Lowney only problem is he will be a dual and coming from Clon football will take priority but as good a hurler at this age as you will see.

10. Coleman lighting fast with plenty of skill, may be unheard of but should be in contention, can also play midfield with a swap with Kingston.

11. O’Mahony seems to be playing well, always scores and has a good hand.

12. Flynn going well in training I hear, plenty of pace and can take a score from anywhere inside 60 yards. Cormack opted out of development squads the last few years I think, big strong ball winner, well capable of taking a score, pace may be a problem when the ground drys up will be interesting to see his displays with Roco in the coming weeks.

13. Gunning pick of the 17s, has the potential to be a super corner forward, should make the step up. Fitzgibbon similar player to Gunning could very well be a toss-up between them, made a difference when introduced in county final last year, very accurate free taker within 60 yards.

14. Halloran could be played at 10, with Cormack at 11 and Mahony at his best position at 14, very good player will be to the fore with Christians in there bit for glory , also a talented out half could lose him to rugby in the long run.

15. Looney a surprise selection for some with last year’s minor panel but this lad has every skill in the book, plenty of pace if he becomes more direct when advancing on goal can be a serious threat.

Cashman could be used to upset a forward, with O’Leary from Castlelyons and Harrington who played all championship games for O’Neill last year also an option.
    English good player will be there abouts but needs to insert more intensity into performances, watched O’Sullivan on Saturday for the second time was excellent will be in with a shout.
    Don’t count out Billy Dunne has super potential seems to be hard to get it out but don’t be surprised if he wears no 14 in the first game. Also Beasung 17 (Russell Rvs) and Howard (Dromtarriff) could feature.
    Don’t think I have left anyone out maybe one or two 17s if Manley and McCarthy were to return from the round ball they would be there also.
    One of the strongest panels of minors in years should make Croker. Limerick have never beaten Cork at this age as far as I know, Tipp beat them in Forristal, 15 final and 16 semi-final with only a puck of a ball in all games, Kilkenny also strong at this age, What do you think TTM??

Cahill not on panel

Very good team hard to disagree very hard pick this year

Coleman lad from blarney is terrific hurler player under twenty one last year club but I don't think on it
    Young shine terrific hurler from blarney also but next year imo could be

Donal English will rattle it been superb in county minor final with super points from play

Cormac played himself on the starting team imo

Beaausang anther top player

Flynn is awesome in the air some hand on him
    That was a very detailed post and brilliant read

Manley is soccer oriented
    Great player
    Ger he's father new cappoqin coach next year

Tipperary are imo cork only danger in munster

Kilkenny are the only team I'd fear in the all Ireland but cork minor teams always has a good record v them and I'd love to play them
    Howard terrific player but was not on original panel and landers either
    So much competition up front

Dalton played out field last week challenge v lord mayo selection
    He's scoring from play has not been on par with others so imo too many better forwards but has ti be goalie and long distance free take where he was sensational all year in harty free taking abs side line cuts
    Side line balls he is awesmoric imo