Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 417 ✭✭CORKDOUBLE

This was a heartbraking defeat for Sarsfields ...to lose by two points like they did was tough going ...every player gave there all in a tight pitch ...it was a real club championship match at this time of the year ....Killmallock will be underdogs in the final but it will be closer than people think ...ttm i only asked a question , i have already said that your posts are the best you can read in terms of Cork GAA indeed in all aspects of Gaa...but my point is you seem to mention Cian McC. quite a lot in a negative way ...to me today he was excellant ..any player to score 12 points , 10 from play some huge scores and two fom play ...that for me is a player who was not poor as you say ..but who played very well ....thats all.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,391 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Cian Mc has been touted as a Cork senior hurler. He has had many a chance in the red jersey and has never really looked up to it. He is a high profile player because of his name and the success he has had with SARS. But he is not good enough for intercounty hurling. In nearly 90 mins of play he got 2 points from play, one a great effort over his shoulder. His free taking was very good. But in general play he was poor. Apart from when he was taking a free I barely heard his name being mentioned incommentary. He does not have the ability or in particular the speed for inter county hurling and he should not be considered.
    In many ways he is like Cussen. He too is not good enough for Cork.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

Today was a poor poor day for cork hurling
    Some valuable lessons we can learn imo.

I must simply must give a touch realism to this defeat as im sure some will try and put a spin on it, unlucky sarsfields, ref cost us, cussen unfairly marked, away in tight pitch cost us. And on another day could have won

No no no no no,I simply refute such nonense.
    Their were two average teams poor to be fair.
    This was made for sarsfields. Heavy conditions, tight pitch so lack pace not exposed up against a slow team, huge club expierence and Kilmallock had just one top forward mulchay, in Gavin o mahony has play at centre forward and so too young majestic paddy loughin both defender as no forwards.
    Two converted defenders playing as forwards.

If sarsfields met Cratloe they would be beaten by 8 or more
    Cratloe I watched now, watched train twice, last Friday week, such pace. Still and fluid cohesion in training and games only downfall is duel status will catch up them sooner rather then later

Sarsfields Brough bit rubgy training to their game and its good but must remember big physical players are no good unless no heart or stomach battle in great I mean great really great games

Sean was bang on the money, cork hurling lacks physical bite at club referee treat it like basket ball, soft touch our lad's get free so rarely have rucks mauls or srcums where will,bite, dogged hunger win ball you have no right to win is generated
    There big men but like fish out of water in munster in munster hurling rough when Fergal horgan refs and like kilkenny only toughest survive in jungle warfare.
    Cratloe aren't physical but like newtown when they won't win aerial ball,swarm around bees around honey and sting any one in their way

They allow you win in air but like an octopus in suffocation of life starved out of the enemy slowly like clare hurling in they swarm the contact aera force turnover after turnover

Sheer will and hunger for battle makes small men grow ten feet just like newton in hurling
    Look at majority of team played football and massive heart,courage balls of steel v Dr Crokes last year

Compare sarsfields. THEIR big men in central positions, ray Ryan, Martin, Cian mac, cussen,but bar cian who is a warrior but mobility is a problem, rest become small fish on the pitch in the stomach for battle in games outside cork comes up short again
    Rare exception is conor sullivan, kearney and fraggie super warrior but rest loughin, Ryan, William kearney today, Tadhg og Murphy, sullivan don't have warrior in them outside Munster

Classic example in ist half, referee overlooked free that sarsfields thought was, cussen threw hands over head as if come on world against us referee.
    I'm sorry now but it was no free.
    Yet cussen and sarsfields boys were calling for a foul.
    It was like ireland years ago playing offside or v England in w cup Italian 90, hand up our ball from the sideline we said was over the line, when they should of stopped whinging and got on with it.

No the hand stayed up like,as if the wanting to go the jacks, England played on, got flukey goal by Gary Lineker

Thankfully that irish team had steel to bounce back.

I was embarrassed to see it,sarsfields crying for soft frees ,though jesus if Brian cody was there he'd be laughing, it's a man's game
    Cody thankfully wasn't their hes too shrewd man to know this was a game of two poor teams and he wants see real hurling.

Mentailtly seeped through team play for free, didn't get it, they got frustrated.
    They had same behaviour few years ago v Thurles Sarsfields

Problems isn't as Sean said their own fault.
    It's the refereeing in cork overall.
    Must change its culture of attitude and must be a meeting of officials and follow template of kilkenny
    Cork referee are main culprit not their fault as they follow protocol

At harty cup game seen it with cork teams playing each other, and cork referee, in dean Friday Diarmuid Kirwan in charville v midelton blew on both sides for smallest foul, gave a penalty for slightly touch contact, I said it match report not just being wise now

Nobody wants dirty play, but jesus it's hurling got to be of steel to it.
    Unless that changes we will produce soft hurlers.
    Any conicdende harnedy tough as nails, its because still plays in tough and rumble of junior hurling st itas, where when your hit your hit hard

Rebel norrie, delighted to know guys like you involved in coaching.
    I admire, respect your attitude.

This isn't new,the lack of physicality in cork hurling. I said it many times club hurling it's an issue
    Wallis said it three years ago.
    Again nobody listened when great proven coaches speak out.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/hurling/wallace-urges-cork-hurlers-to-get-more-physical-193564.html

I saw limerick minor train, there physical and they referee it,Clare man aongus o brien Wallis referred games where unless it's dirty everything goes
    Any player whinging told no uncertain terms get up off ground in no uncertain term

Limerick are very physical at minor and follow it through at harty cup with their sublime hurling skills as its toughness bred in to them
    Breeding will always come out through the eye of a cat
    We must breed a new culture of toughness in hurling in cork, official need to direct this referee enforce it and yes it will be a culture shock for some at ist but in time they will embrace adapt and in time grow to appreciate it's benefits

Midelton cbs have got tougher over years,hamilton have been lucky got lot games Fergal horgan today's ref down years and have become hardened to hes let it flow approach

Double, I see your point but ten points from frees means nothing to me absolutely nothing, I'm sorry but it's like asking me marry someone on beauty alone but zero personality.
    No no no, simply no full stop
    In hurling for cork at elite level I expect a complete package in hurling, warrior, hurler that performs in open play

What happens when frees aren't given or you have another free taker??
    How do we justify he's place
    Today he got one point in normal time, odd catch didn't dominate against Kilmallock, then two very late points play,simply not good enough player wanting regain cork place

Would kilkenny accept it,no why the name of God. should cork accept it

He didn't play well, I like roy keane expect post man deliver my post or mail as yanks like to call it
    I won't give him a box of chocolates for doing a job he's meant to do
    A free taker I expect mininium standard also, he got ten frees I expect that.

Box ticked
    But he didn't perform from open play and that for me means yes he did from play play poorly. SO many other boxes in my assessment of standard performance I expect he did not tick imo.

But you won't be alone some will glorify ten point frees and that's what wrong in cork we applaud sub standard performance where kilkenny like cody done with great Charlie carter drop him, that simple
    It was a poor performance imo

Another thing that must change is under no circumstances should any team play senior county club final with out two week break
    The ccb I always said do wonderful job in fixture planning, the only job imo they do consistently well over years, yes it need work but overall do good job, but whatever mayhem creates I don't care the glen proved no team after semi should play county final just week later as everyone looses, fans get no contest, glen made look poorer what they are,sarsfields blown up as great, and no real test

Glen were jaded and no way that bad and as proved sarsfields not that good.
    Next time team has a draw must get another week

I'm a huge fan of pat Ryan but he made a woeful mistake today leaving leahy at full back
    I previewed county final and said glen targeted him he could be in trouble.
    They did not.
    Kilmallock, sparrow knew from cork hurling he is good corner back but not full back
    At half time it was clear as dawn breaks day he was in trouble against kenneally who is not intercounty standard. Leahy is not a full back but fine in the corner
    I said they could loose as he was poorl under high ball

Straight after half time he was at fault for a goal
    I posted move him fast.
    Then he was at fault for the second goal
    I rate pat Ryan but he failed here,like if I can see it surely he can.
    Now fair enough he hadn't many other options to be fair unlike cork hurling but imo if your full back that poor you change him and try anything as the option can't be any worse but may be even in better

I would have taken conor sullivan and put him more as deeper sweeper with ray Ryan back there, leahy to corner
    I'd boxed in a zone aera around the full back to protect him as clear Kilmallock couldn't score from distance so stop goals you win the game
    This is the ist time I saw pat make such mistake so I'll give him benefit doubts as he's record is good.
    He got old team, limited forwards to win a county albeit very poor one but he installed belief, spirit, never give up, so he's done good to be fair

In summary two poor teams but I don't believe that draw was fair result, Killmallock were imo slightly better and they won and with player paddy loughlin and ghraham mulchay up front, two good performance from play deserved to win

I don't buy this that every sarsfields player gave every thing today
    All 15 no imo they didn't
    Kearney, sullivan, quigley and fraggie legs are gone but heart work ethic still there
    Too many of their so called great players did not perform when the need was greatest or consistently over 80 minutes and just had sporadic moments of brilliance.

I'm sorry but this moral victory, bounce ball, unlucky lark won't do sarsfields any good moving forward.
    They lost for a reason,it's quite simple they simply just were not good enough at the end of the day or deserved to win.
    If Cratloe had them today would won and won handy, podge collins would have either dominated leahy or sullivan marked him it was win win in sullivan couldn't play sweeper role then.
    Cratloe too much pace and bite hurling for sarsfields.
    Only way they loose to Kilmallock is if their tired from the football.

Shamboc totally agree post

• Registered Users Posts: 5,045 ✭✭✭zetecescort

And point bout shefflon not practice fress in training he's there play games

That's just training
    Now I ask would Brian cody be happy with pat horgan or cian mac performance in two games??!

Also horgan I wouldn't have him training frees in training he there to play solely

Train other days
    I said it last week I'd think he should be taken off frees as imo he seems think he undroppable as he's ace free taker
    Needs to be dropped ist two league games imo.

Never in doubt

It's poor reflection footballer bred in to football and father also chooses hurling on football

He made right choice

Solwhit what do make that???
    You got carried away when cadogan choose football but that simply he would unlikely get game time in hurling

• Registered Users Posts: 355 ✭✭sean mac

Never in doubt

It's poor reflection footballer bred in to football and father also chooses hurling on football

He made right choice

You got carried away when cadogan choose football but that simply he would unlikely get game time in hurling

What an indictment of the football management,a 3 year u21football,2 yr minor,4 munster football medals,2county football titles son of niall gone hurling full time at 22!!!!!!!only in cork

• Registered Users Posts: 341 ✭✭wackokid

sean mac wrote: »
    What an indictment of the football management,a 3 year u21football,2 yr minor,4 munster football medals,2county football titles son of niall gone hurling full time at 22!!!!!!!only in cork

Probably a bigger indictment on the people/system that appointed Cuthbert Sean?
    Having said that, I'm not at all sure that Damien would be good enough for intercounty senior football.

• Registered Users Posts: 355 ✭✭sean mac

Never in doubt

He made right choice

sean mac wrote: »

Two times club team year also Sean
    Agree everything you said

What a football manager we have he messed up fellas in the panel last year bigtime ....now 2 players that had football as there no.1 sport are gone to the hurlers ....what a shambles hes made of our football team....I believe that Damien Cahalane s best position would be full-back hopefully he would get a few games there ...mind you JBM did not seem to trust with the no.3 jersey this year .

Will be interesting if mark collins was asked to go hurling and he went

I prefer he stayed football,but it's more two players gone in Andrew sullivan left panel and dinneen unlikely as confirmed here by Castlehaven man join next year
    Doubts remain over a senior player also

Ronan mccarthy leaving also as coach is huge loss.

Huge concerns tbh

Hurling got a massive boost with cahalane at full back hurling alone, will improve leaps bounds

He had a good last year with little hurling and just back from injury
    Will improve further imo once he's left at full back not half back.
    Walsh will improve no end and once he improves the left side of hurling him and kearney will be the best partnership in midfield In Ireland.

Pa Callaghan will be a huge addition at half forward.
    Drop lawton and cian mac from the panel so and we will be much better
    Give Jamie coughlan game time and likes Murphy nagle things can improve
    Colm Barry also
    Depending on coach also
    Today exposed William kearney at elite level at corner back
    O Neill mcdonnell , conor sullivan, Burke, Stephen Murphy, Killan Murphy,David doolin much better options and Eoin moyinhan
    There is no need to add William kearney to the panel.
    Today showed some sarsfields lad's totally overrated.
    Conor sullivan, kearney only two deserve be on cork panel.
    Today even in club level on both teams showed poor full back six goals in game,each goal was preventable with good full back
    Cork must learn from today poor full back at club will be exposed at intercounty no chance unless you have a full back

Cahalane or Spillane must get games as we need starter and cover in position
    If Shane o Neill or mcdonnell go in their its really poor management
    No excuse for it.

Millstreet had good win against a poor clare team I heard.
    Without Kevin Crowley who was injury

They have a chance v brosna, as glen beigh were huge danger
    I'm not too familiar brosna , will be by end week.
    Anyone know much bout them??

• Registered Users Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭ciarriaithuaidh

Millstreet had good win against a poor clare team I heard.
    Without Kevin Crowley who was injury

They have a chance v brosna, as glen beigh were huge danger
    I'm not too familiar brosna , will be by end week.
    Anyone know much bout them??

Big physical team but with quite a few lads who have played Kerry u21 and Junior aswell. Surprise to see them beat Glenbeigh, but it probably didn't help having to play 6 days after a lot of them had a county senior final.

Would fancy Milstreet if they bring their A game to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭Slobbery

Some Great contributors in this thread.

I would have a great nostalgic gra for Cork hurling, growing up Waterford were never on the Telly and I knew more of the Cork hurlers as a boy to my shame, my heroes at the time would have been Jim Cashman, John Fitzgibbon and Teddy Mac, but my favorite of the lot was Tony O'sullivan.

Anyway, to weigh with some of my thoughts from yesterday, the pitch was very tight and claustrophobic.
    I think that any team that progress to this stage of the club competition will have a free-taker that will score a high percentage of the frees, I know the free have to be put over too, but I wouldnt be patting anyone on the back for doing it, it is expected.

Teams like Sars and Ballygunnar do not have a great record in Munster in recent times, granted they have been involved in close games but they come out the wrong side, maybe they are softened because the club championships they are coming out of aren't competitive?

on the Referee issue, I have attended multiple games at U16 and minor level in Cork this year as I have a nephew playing, I did think the refs were very very fussy, frees were got very soft, it doesn't prepare you for the Jungle.

In fact I think both the Cork and Waterford county winners are not hardened enough come this time of year to do well in Munster, they have it too easy over the summer

• Registered Users Posts: 303 ✭✭Smith614

Came away from Kilmallock disappointed for Cork hurling yesterday more than for Sars. Like it or not Cork hurling teams (club and county) at all levels don't want to know about it when a battle develops . We have ball players all over the county but Jez don't ask them to get down n dirty and to hurt to win a game. I see a share of training sessions and the amount of non-contact fancy drills is killing the game. Referees need to cop on and let games develop in Cork. Cathal McCalister was the only referee in Cork who was letting physicality come into games and yet he was pulled before the authorities and told to start blowing for frees more. Clubs didn't want to play under him as he didn't "suit their style". Its Time Cork hurling manned up. Harsh but true.

• Registered Users Posts: 230 ✭✭homeofhurling

yes agree there is something missing in cork hurling over the last few years lovely skilful hurlers but don't seem to have the belly for it when it gets hard
    which is something you would never say about cork hurling.

• Registered Users Posts: 98 ✭✭seventh7

Super post TTM,
    The inherent weakness in Cork hurling is the all round lack of physical strenght exhibited by player across all grades. Our coaches favour the artists to the detriment of the warriors. Lets face it you can't have a team of 15 joe deanes or 15 tony O sullivans it simply won't work. There is no real coaching blue print to bring Cork hurling forward across all developement squads players are selected with one simple criteria. We want greyhounds, greyhounds win sprint races, hurling is gladitorial it requires much more than raw speed. We ignore the prospects with real heart in favour of quicker maturing lighter players. Its very short sighted and has brought us to the current impasse.

Why do so few of the minors come through to be come established senior players, we simply choose the wrong type of player they simply do not stand up to the rigours of the modern game. We have tried to play the beautiful game the traditional Cork way speed skill guile. The game has moved on the players have physically changed. Kilkenny have set the standard and we have not followed. We keep hammering away with the same mantra and we keep getting the same result. With the best intentions we set up developement structures bring in the raw material to produce the finished product the complete Cork hurler and we come up short time and time again.

The system needs to change or we will be continually outmuscled we may occasionally sneak an all Ireland but we will never dominate the game like we have done in the past.
    I went to an underage game with a friend on Saturday in Ballincollig an U16 League quarter final between Ballincollig and Na Parsaigh we went to see to be truthful Danny Gunning as I would pay to see the kid play. He was simply awesome, combative and simply unstopable. another player stood out for Na Parsaigh, Ahern mindblowing how strong this kid is. At one stage on the ground holding off three players with an outstretched forearm he came away with the sliothar with gasps from the onlooking crowd. This kid can't even make a developement squad winter panel. I rest my case horses for courses. Without the Ahern's, Colemans, and Glessons the likes of Gunning, Sheehan. Siach, Cashman etc may wait to grace the big stage.
    Have no doubt we have the players we are just living in the past and dining on past glories

seventh7 wrote: »
    Super post TTM,
    The inherent weakness in Cork hurling is the all round lack of physical strenght exhibited by player across all grades. Our coaches favour the artists to the detriment of the warriors. Lets face it you can't have a team of 15 joe deanes or 15 tony O sullivans it simply won't work. There is no real coaching blue print to bring Cork hurling forward across all developement squads players are selected with one simple criteria. We want greyhounds, greyhounds win sprint races, hurling is gladitorial it requires much more than raw speed. We ignore the prospects with real heart in favour of quicker maturing lighter players. Its very short sighted and has brought us to the current impasse.

Why do so few of the minors come through to be come established senior players, we simply choose the wrong type of player they simply do not stand up to the rigours of the modern game. We have tried to play the beautiful game the traditional Cork way speed skill guile. The game has moved on the players have physically changed. Kilkenny have set the standard and we have not followed. We keep hammering away with the same mantra and we keep getting the same result. With the best intentions we set up developement structures bring in the raw material to produce the finished product the complete Cork hurler and we come up short time and time again.

The system needs to change or we will be continually outmuscled we may occasionally sneak an all Ireland but we will never dominate the game like we have done in the past.
    I went to an underage game with a friend on Saturday in Ballincollig an U16 League quarter final between Ballincollig and Na Parsaigh we went to see to be truthful Danny Gunning as I would pay to see the kid play. He was simply awesome, combative and simply unstopable. another player stood out for Na Parsaigh, Ahern mindblowing how strong this kid is. At one stage on the ground holding off three players with an outstretched forearm he came away with the sliothar with gasps from the onlooking crowd. This kid can't even make a developement squad winter panel. I rest my case horses for courses. Without the Ahern's, Colemans, and Glessons the likes of Gunning, Sheehan. Siach, Cashman etc may wait to grace the big stage.
    Have no doubt we have the players we are just living in the past and dining on past glories
    Totally agree seventh
    Dan gunning is in memorising brilliant form for cork minor trials he's Unmarkable I hear

Cork three best defender could not hold him
    Has hunger r,want,desire teak tough teak tough

Eddie brother same
    There a breed real tough hurling
    Eddie I'd have training cork senior groom him full back few years like rock was at just 19

Killan ahern totally agree has start Ag mhuire just got to simply got to no two ways bout it
    Hes fine hurler

• Registered Users Posts: 140 ✭✭Rebel norrie

Looks like we all agree cork hurling is gone soft. How do we solve it. Let games flow and refs to to use common sense. Clubs like Bride Rovers Killeagh Youghal survive at senior because they have heart spirit and know how to win dirty ball. Bigger clubs could learn a lot from these clubs.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Looks like we all agree cork hurling is gone soft. How do we solve it. Let games flow and refs to to use common sense. Clubs like Bride Rovers Killeagh Youghal survive at senior because they have heart spirit and know how to win dirty ball. Bigger clubs could learn a lot from these clubs.

Agreed, East Cork club hurling >>>>>

• Registered Users Posts: 98 ✭✭seventh7

The gunnings are a breed apart they are driven and comitted. Ahern is a fine hurler in the mould of bonnar Maher and like Danny Gunning if played in the right position is unplayable. Pat Heffernan told me at a recent game in reference to the Ahern lad that he had never seen such controlled agression in a young player. Na Parasigh look like they will be a force in the future a lot of power coming through there. The Ag got a wake up call against Castletroy they should have won. Ahern will surely start against Doon he gave them balance when he was introduced in Charleville.
    We need players with heart and intelligence they are there but our mentors dont appear to have the vision. If your not going to give a kid like Ahern or Ross Coleman an opportunity to develope on a Cork development squad then Cork hurling is f****d. Have you seen Coleman play he takes no prisoners this kid simply is awesome. These kids have been written off at by County coaches at 16 yet they have played Minor with 2 premier A sides at 15. It is difficult with a county the size of Cork to bring all the best elements together but madness to include players on squads who are playing in lower divisions just for the sake of representation. Something radically wrong here. The premier A city teams have been nurseries for Cork teams for decades now you will find the coaches are reluctant to put players forward for squads because recent experience tells them it destroys developing talent. If you look at the u16 situation from this year in my opinion any of the top 4 teams in the premier division would have beaten the Cork u16s. Na Parsaigh and Sars would must definetly have done so.
    The solution is simple stop picking guys because of who their daddies are and what they do. Rotate the selectors across all grades involve coaches from all clubs in the selection process make it inclusive get the city teams back on side and use them

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/kilmallock-edge-cracker-297105.html

Good report Im glad no overhyping of cussen or cian mac
    He was right that Killmallock deserves win

Look at scorers lad's
    Kenneally gets 1-2,paddy loughlin minor defender goal point, midfielder kearney three points, ghraham mulchay four all out perform cian mccarthy

This point clearly illustration of how he is not up to intercounty level.

He's right like I said yesterday, Cratloe play possession game but Kilmallock too direct, real dna of limerick hurling physically up it but slow team no plan be,so Kilmallock have real concerns

Look at majority clare u21,league championship games clare have outthought out ran limerick teams.
    If dry say then Kilmallock won't come close, Cratloe be too much for them.
    One worry is football next week so legs may not be fresh and it'd key to their running game.
    It could be saving grace Kilmallock
    But I'm certain all things being equal no football they would destroy Kilmallock

Either way Kilmallock won't win an All-Ireland.
    If there cute they could give them selves a chance,but I don't think sparrow as proved in clare. Will be ruthless and bold to change team

If I was manager I'd have Gavin I mahony at centre back with Paudie and Brian o sullivan
    Id put paddy loughin at full back v collins, huge ask but paddy is special type of player, he is fast, strong, intelligent.
    Got change full back line or could concede four v Cratloe
    Put Jake mulchay up front with another midfielder in buy Jake playing theforwards midfielder role as your playing with sweeper only way to beat clare Cratloe style

But of course that won't happen as any limerick team suffers severe allergic reaction to slightest thought of sweeper possession game, so it will be 1973, wille john mcbride on bus journey,passion and fury and pride,very admirable but they will fall short.
    They fail to realise forty years later and counting or accept the game has changed.

In way Kilmallock should play it in ennis as small ptich ennis suit them but gaelic ground's bigger space suit Cratloe, better ground surface they will bounce of the ground.
    That game yesterday was like I said it would be a dour, dog fest.
    Don't be fooled by six goals,as all were absolutely gifts of awful defending.

Another point I make saw tj Ryan interview Tg4,confirmed my believes won't come close all ireland
    He said we were very good last year, we need improve slightly.
    Slightly, wow I thought.

Limerick have real problems in team need makechanges but won't and hear him saying he will give Kilmallock lad's games shows love affair with the club and loyalty to them.

What Kilmallock lad's bar o brien, o mahony, ghraham mulchay already there are good enough for intercounty?? None, sorry now none.

Kevin o donnell played good but isn't best half back limerick,Jake mulchay fine club hurling but not intercounty
    Eoin Ryan good minor but not elite level.
    Kenneally was up against a poor full back so I wouldn't get carried away just yet.
    Two o loughlin no, not at this level.

Paddy loughin has intercounty senior written all over him but not now as riche mac, condone,hickey, all undroppable.
    Richie English dan Morrissey be ahead him, tom Ryan for half backs.
    Paddy is too young intercounty, not needed now at senior but he's time will come

I'd love to know who Kilmallock tj has in mind limerick team.
    To me shows he's statement of intent, direction he's taking.
    Also he has not added a selector tactics wise next year and this is rock he's team will perish on.
    Peter finn is not meant to be involved next year hands on role, so none tj  back room team are a. tactical genuis imo.

Limerick are in for a rude awakening next year and I hear wexford are already focused on them as main game,they want revenge for this year.
    Certaines not to win all Ireland next year, limerick,tipp,Waterford,Galway.

Kilkenny clare lead the way.
    Cork are the best outside chance of the rest.
    Lot depending on who Is coach.
    Tipp may only if someone beats kilkenny for them but won't beat kilkenny with o shea or core of players their similar Wales beating aussie in rubgy with gatland and majority Welsh players there, suffered too many defeats, too much baggage and beaten before a ball is thrown in.

Rebel norrie article from Wallis explain what needs be done
    Has to come from cork cork county board.
    You have a point regards east cork but I'll give you a quick history lesson, newtown north last team cork won all ireland club,meellinon border , junior club,ballyhea won intermediate, North cork have tough warriors too.Last all irelands win cork four north cork men played a part in 2005.
    Some belive east cork is the home of cork hurling but there not.
    Cork hurling is bout all corners cork,city, east, South,West, North and mid cork etc
    Cork hurling must simply be united front, no no no place for club bias or divisional bias imo in cork hurling.
    Cork means all cork.
    Nelson Mandela (Rip)united south Africa with far more problems win the world cup in 1995 as one country,Germany in soccer are one united force,Cork hurling the same.
    Must be united in battle.
    Irish by birth cork by the grace of God.
    When you wear the red and white you represent cork hurling.

The current administration secretary Diarmuid o Donovan who imo wonderful gaa passionate man,father likewise but I often wonder direction he see cork going in reading articles he wrote in echo before he got job.
    He views on 21 defeats in hurling down years I disagree with it,in rarely questioned management but rather questioned every thing else.
    He does some great work credit due but id rather donal og grady got he's job,won't happen.
    Article here shows he's thoughts club hurling in cork
    Has valid point bout money but no mention of refereeing so I doubt it will change

Surely he can change things now as he said it was problems then now he's charge, what will he do about it.
    He wrote article bout it,immense Credit due.

http://www.dodonovan.com/?p=377

Now he has power to change it imo.

Newtownshandrum the last cork club won munster club, only midelton before them in 1988 around I think.

I'd like to hear the anonymous person that said newspaper newtown were rumination of cork hurling in possession game.
    Here we has a club won senior all Ireland two clubs munster yet there questioned

Would he be so ruthless in he's assessment of sarsfields record four county's in seven years but a truly appalling, appalling record in munster club hurling and while I would not say sarsfields is the ruination cork hurling there appalling record in munster doing cork no favours at all at all.

They were saying usual rubbish on radio today sarsfields unlucky, two point loss, nothing between us,usual could have, should nonense.
    Yet again some fail to accept moral defeat are USELESS TO CORK HURLING AND AS DRISCOLL IN RUBGY SAID STOP THAT TALK IT'S NONENSE, HAVE IRISH RUGBY MOVED ON FROM THAT

Will some one for the love of god please call it as it was, yesterday, it was made for sarsfields, Kilmallock are average, ask limerick boys even,and its a disaster they lost.
    I hop Cratloe destroy them as blow out rubbish cork club hurling is not in demise, as Kilmallock win we hear rubbish cork were close.
    This was a poor poor standard of hurling yesterday tbh.

I get no joy in fact it upsets me I got to be so negative regards game yesterday from cork view point but you must must be realistic, if not how can we change.
    You cant fix a problem if you believe none exists.

• Registered Users Posts: 140 ✭✭Rebel norrie

TTM. I wasn't saying east cork hurling is good. But unless the bigger clubs SARS. De Glen Pairsaigh. Rockies have same mentality of the village and town clubs who would die for each other on the field of play. They are going nowhere.

http://www.eveningecho.ie/2014/11/10/walshs-departure-raises-huge-doubts-for-the-footballers/

That's Barry o Donovan article I was on bout the other day

Great points raised

Shocking admission Valerie mulchay in football all stars in she
    Performs in the biggest game of the year but overlooked

Lyndsey davey imo did not deserve one. Three points game was open,where was she in Last twenty need was greatest, just like Lyndsey peat didn't perform need greatest but cork mulchay stood tall. A great great I mean great in fact let me go further as say she was just great would be an insult, imo she was. astounding memorising magnified great she was in that final when the need was greatest four awesome wonderful breathtaking points
    When the need was greatest Mulchay stood up.That deserves an all star.

Her ommission to me makes this all star selection a shambles.
    Delighted for noelle healy dublin going be one of all time greats still very young.

Picked our out in the summer one to watch fine player
    Imo her and ruddy two players that would only be good enough to play for cork from Dublin.Awful call imo ruddy didn't get one.

http://www.eveningecho.ie/2014/11/10/sars-were-unlucky/
    Just as I thought yesterday
    What a head line imo.
    When you say unlucky you mean not your fault is my interpretation.
    No sarsfields have only themselves to blame imo
    As for consolation winning reardens club awards I don't agree.
    Great competition yes but to say its some consolation for failing again in munster imo it's not and if they think it is then they will never win munster.Will anyone outside cork regard them great team. No they won't in fact some in cork today say there just average to best.

Clyda lost three cork finals but did not rest laurels wanted munster, say opportunity, and they Capre Diam seize the moment.
    They left golden opportunity go yesterday,sarsfields looked a gift horse in the mouth, fighting talk from pat Ryan try next year, team year older be lucky to get out of cork

How you can say team unlucky when your centre forward cork senior gets one point play in hour hurling, your full back conceded three goals with out change is not unlucky in sarsfields never controlled controllable, Cian mac should done more, pat Ryan should switch full back when it was blatantly clear as I said at half time he was in trouble.
    Paul o connell spoke that irelands so much work do after win, so refreshing honesty.
    Sarsfields loose??nobody critised or will their performance.

Sarsfields were terribly lucky that for a frontal charge Kilmallock didn't get free instead sarsfields got free then

As for the board delighted ger lane get chairman.
    I'd say tracey Kennedy will get her job too, both deserve it to be fair.
    No mention 21 hurling job,it's like I said it would be rushed through appointment again probably.
    No mention who on committee was picked to decide.

• Registered Users Posts: 303 ✭✭Smith614

Sars are dire as is standard of cork club hurling. Ballyhea beaten by Lixnaw a dire result. SARS brutal in Munster for past few yrs. Courcey rovers beaten by Ballyduff in 2012 intermediate championship. 2 yrs out of 4 and cork intermediate champions beaten by Kerry teams. Nuff said .

• Registered Users Posts: 92 ✭✭solwhit12

Never in doubt

He made right choice

Cahalane is not good enough for either IMO he doesn't understand that u must mark your man not just go maurading up the field when you want .if u think he's the answer to the full back problem your wrong on Cuthbert I just think he gets a hard time.if things don't improve next year I'll have no problem with the criticism but I think he deserves to be given chance.jbm made some shocking calls against tipp yet there isn't a thing said about that yet Cuthbert if that they would be war but after the tipp game it was dualism was at fault for the performance which was as bad as the football against Kerry.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,045 ✭✭✭zetecescort

hurlers cut a bit of slack imo because they are on the up the last few years, football going backwards(not all Cuthberts fault tbf) when the opposite should be the case given underage results in both in recent years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,723 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

hurlers cut a bit of slack imo because they are on the up the last few years, football going backwards(not all Cuthberts fault tbf) when the opposite should be the case given underage results in both in recent years.

what sort of footballers are being picked though for minor and U21
    big athletic players who can run all day and handpass the ball with the fist
    that has worked against Cork once they came up against a decent footballing team at U21 level who could also do the physical side of the game - Galway in 2013 and Roscommon in 2014

A lot of talk about Cork hurlers been soft etc....just watched Sars game again ...nothing soft about Conor O Sullivans shoulder on Graham Mulcahy which led to the point to draw the match....a fair shoulder i might add .