Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Coppers

13»

• Registered Users Posts: 25,488 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

foggy_lad wrote: »
    Back in the day it was pernod and blackcurrant or white lemonade and a pint

There was always more action in the carpark or out the front at kicking out time than ever happened inside and the Bees Knees was famous for the action on the street outside:D David and Goliath battles with Giants of men brought down by much smaller but smarter adversaries as well as full blown riots with patrons and Gardai all rolled into the one pile of flailing arms fists batons and feet.

And then all back the following weekend to do it all again :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

Senna wrote: »
    I think his battery died so had to go home, cock blocked by a Nokia.

Post invalid.

Nokia batteries never die.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭byronbay2

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    No. Coppers is not the place to be. It's dirty, smelly, stuffy, sweaty, dark, overcrowded and a vodka and coke costs seven euro.

Coppers is highly over rated. Yeah you'll get the shift but the place is a meat market.

Laughed when I saw these 2 lines one after the other! What do you think lads want in a nightclub - good music??

byronbay2 wrote: »
    Laughed when I saw these 2 lines one after the other! What do you think lads want in a nightclub - good music??

Em, we don't all go out to 'get da shift'. It becomes less important after the age of 16. Well it did for me anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

Em, we don't all go out to 'get da shift'. It becomes less important after the age of 16. Well it did for me anyway.

I've seen your replies on other threads.... they make me doubt the sincerity of this statement :P

Cormac... wrote: »
    I've seen your replies on other threads.... they make me doubt the sincerity of this statement :P

Quit stalking me! :mad:

I actually don't, I just like going out to have the craic.

• Registered Users Posts: 252 ✭✭Chickentown

http://www.thefreedictionary.com/accessorise

I wore a watch with a wine coloured face and a brown leather strap, which matched my boots which matched my belt.

That is why you didn't pull. Never mind this matching that and whatever.

Be a man. Thats what the girls are looking for after all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Dayum

Copper Face Jacks is an awful craphole...

I've only ever talked to one decent bird in there (that I'd be attracted to) i.e - brunette, Dublin, good career, going places, down to Earth sound girl - I was smitten etc. But we ended up literally roaring and shouting into each others ear because of the ghastly music being drummed out by some delusional cretin who somehow finds comfort in blaring out "Cotton Eye Joe" three times per night to a bar full of 20-somethings....madness and cringe-worthy.

Coppers being "easy to pull" is a myth. Don't know where it came from but it isn't. It suits the owners agenda though. I can't fathom how they've not been closed down for health and safety reasons because it's always uncomfortably packed. If there was a fire alarm, you might as well sit down wherever you're standing and await the inevitable. Far too many people are being let into it on any given night and you wouldn't have a hope in hell of getting out in the event of an emergency.

The drinks are not overpriced - they're extortionate. Everytime you buy something you feel like you've got fleeced or you've been scammed. A right sucker who imagines the bar staff laughing behind the bar among themselves just as a con artist would upon receiving the life savings of some unfortunate pensioner having convinced her he was the king of Arabia who happens to be her long lost uncle. It's particularly gawking considering the fact that you have to pay 10 Euro into this kip for the privilege of being ear-raped by music you wouldn't find in a top 10 list of the worlds most embarrassing places to be spotted. I'd rather throw myself off a bridge that suffer the abject humiliation of bringing a foreigner in there to hear the selected tunes on offer...what on Earth would they think of us? Two weekends ago, the first sight I had of the place in a while was when I walked through the door to be greeted by some plastered guy twirling some girl around before initiating and breaking into the Highland Fling and subsequent limbo dance of sorts - all of this was to the sounds of BeWitched. He felt he was the dogs b0ll0x. In reality, it was tragic.

I'm not going to pull in Coppers because it's not my scene. My body won't allow me to get so gee-eyed as to be in any state to throw myself on some random women. I get sick and vomit before I get to that state and quite frankly, I wouldn't be able to do it anyway. It's just not me. My style is different. I'm a good-looking guy (head and shoulders above anything I've seen in there anyway), good job etc - I don't need to rely on her being so totally intoxicated that "anything will do". It's not easy per se to pull in Coppers, it's easy to pull anywhere if you've no standards. Some men out there would literally get a leg over anything and that's why the myth grew.

What I'm trying to say is that had I met that girl I spoke about at the start of this post in Everleigh Gardens next door or in any other establishment for that matter we probably would have got on like a house on fire, met up afterwards, sparked and Bob's your Uncle, Fannys your Aunt.

If you want a decent night out on the town and you're not a teacher or a nurse, try Everleigh Gardens. Far more civilised, cleaner, nicely decorated, music isn't as guff, and far more beautiful people as opposed to that pretentious kip next door.

So yeah, just my two cent.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Eutow

Lose the stupid "cheeky grin" and grow a beard Roy Keane style, then maybe you will get a chance OP.

Eutow wrote: »
    Lose the stupid "cheeky grin" and grow a beard Roy Keane style, then maybe you will get a chance OP.

Yeah, what is it about that look that children find so sexy?

Dayum wrote: »
    Yeah, what is it about that look that children find so sexy?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Dayum wrote: »
    Copper Face Jacks is an awful craphole...

I've only ever talked to one decent bird in there (that I'd be attracted to) i.e - brunette, Dublin, good career, going places, down to Earth sound girl - I was smitten etc. But we ended up literally roaring and shouting into each others ear because of the ghastly music being drummed out by some delusional cretin who somehow finds comfort in blaring out "Cotton Eye Joe" three times per night to a bar full of 20-somethings....madness and cringe-worthy.

Coppers being "easy to pull" is a myth. Don't know where it came from but it isn't. It suits the owners agenda though. I can't fathom how they've not been closed down for health and safety reasons because it's always uncomfortably packed. If there was a fire alarm, you might as well sit down wherever you're standing and await the inevitable. Far too many people are being let into it on any given night and you wouldn't have a hope in hell of getting out in the event of an emergency.

The drinks are not overpriced - they're extortionate. Everytime you buy something you feel like you've got fleeced or you've been scammed. A right sucker who imagines the bar staff laughing behind the bar among themselves just as a con artist would upon receiving the life savings of some unfortunate pensioner having convinced her he was the king of Arabia who happens to be her long lost uncle. It's particularly gawking considering the fact that you have to pay 10 Euro into this kip for the privilege of being ear-raped by music you wouldn't find in a top 10 list of the worlds most embarrassing places to be spotted. I'd rather throw myself off a bridge that suffer the abject humiliation of bringing a foreigner in there to hear the selected tunes on offer...what on Earth would they think of us? Two weekends ago, the first sight I had of the place in a while was when I walked through the door to be greeted by some plastered guy twirling some girl around before initiating and breaking into the Highland Fling and subsequent limbo dance of sorts - all of this was to the sounds of BeWitched. He felt he was the dogs b0ll0x. In reality, it was tragic.

I'm not going to pull in Coppers because it's not my scene. My body won't allow me to get so gee-eyed as to be in any state to throw myself on some random women. I get sick and vomit before I get to that state and quite frankly, I wouldn't be able to do it anyway. It's just not me. My style is different. I'm a good-looking guy (head and shoulders above anything I've seen in there anyway), good job etc - I don't need to rely on her being so totally intoxicated that "anything will do". It's not easy per se to pull in Coppers, it's easy to pull anywhere if you've no standards. Some men out there would literally get a leg over anything and that's why the myth grew.

What I'm trying to say is that had I met that girl I spoke about at the start of this post in Everleigh Gardens next door or in any other establishment for that matter we probably would have got on like a house on fire, met up afterwards, sparked and Bob's your Uncle, Fannys your Aunt.

If you want a decent night out on the town and you're not a teacher or a nurse, try Everleigh Gardens. Far more civilised, cleaner, nicely decorated, music isn't as guff, and far more beautiful people as opposed to that pretentious kip next door.

So yeah, just my two cent.

You sound like the anti-craic.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Eutow

I think Dayum hasn't had the shift for a while. He went on some rant on the what's better than sex thread.

FTA69 wrote: »
    You sound like the anti-craic.

Imagine yourself in the middle of yokels doing line dancing. That's how much I am like a fish out of water in there. Nothing about being anti-craic....what you consider craic is what others consider hell.
    Eutow wrote: »
    I think Dayum hasn't had the shift for a while. He went on some rant on the what's better than sex thread.

I'm actually engaged but thanks for the offer.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Posting on Boards

it was open in my browser

She was bending down in front of me. I had to stick it in.

• Registered Users Posts: 120 ✭✭Teacher23

Do Everleigh Gardens have a no teachers policy?? :O ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭Satriale

Teacher23 wrote: »
    Do Everleigh Gardens have a no teachers policy?? :O ;)

No teachers , No nurses apparently!

• Registered Users Posts: 120 ✭✭Teacher23

Satriale wrote: »

Better start practicing the steps for Cotton Eye Joe for Saturday night so ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 25,488 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Satriale wrote: »

But But But

They're all the durty burds :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

if you're half decent looking and from a nice area come find me

What really f**king disgusts me about this is how you want women to think:
    "am i objectively pretty to go up and talk to that guy" :mad:

It's people like you that give women and girls of all shapes and sizes women a bad self image of themselves for no good reason.

You want women to be even more deeply self conscious than a lot of them are now about even talking to a guy in a bar, quantifying themselves and their ability to socialise and find love solely on their looks and where they are from.

I hope to god you never have a daughter so you don't need to be on the other end of this assuring her she's pretty and should have the confidence to talk to whoever she likes :mad:

Maybe when someone you know is deeply upset and crying down the phone about how they hate the way the look and nobody will ever love them etc you'll find yourself regretting what you've said in the past

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Macavity.

Cormac... wrote: »
    What really f**king disgusts me about this is how you want women to think:
    "am i objectively pretty to go up and talk to that guy" :mad:

He's not in Coppers for the conversation you know.