Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Campions, now The Balgriffin Inn: The continuing saga thereof...

• 04-10-2014 9:09am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭

I'm wondering if anyone knows the situation with Campions at Balgriffin.

I went there for a pint on Wednesday night only to discover it locked up, and it hasn't been open since.

Anyone know what the situation is with it?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

I'm wondering if anyone knows the situation with Campions at Balgriffin.

I went there for a pint on Wednesday night only to discover it locked up, and it hasn't been open since.

Anyone know what the situation is with it?.

Up for sale it appears

http://www.jpyounge.ie/commercialproperty/campions-malahide-road-dublin/

Only ten minutes walk away myself although haven't been in it in a few years. Shame really. Nice little country pub a couple of yards outside the city limits. Same family have owned/run it for over a hundred years. Their name is there on old censuses (censi?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Collie D wrote: »
    Up for sale it appears

http://www.jpyounge.ie/commercialproperty/campions-malahide-road-dublin/

Only ten minutes walk away myself although haven't been in it in a few years. Shame really. Nice little country pub a couple of yards outside the city limits. Same family have owned/run it for over a hundred years. Their name is there on old censuses (censi?)

I seen that link in a search this morning.

Thing is its my local, I drink there most Wednesday's and nothing has been mentioned about a sale recently.

I drink/drank in the bar.. A proper old style bar, with no female toilets :) ~ plus you could buy your groceries too, and their off sales were the cheapest around (and latest ;) )

I'll really miss Campions if its been sold

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭DLMA23

Jaysus that brings me back...

Spent many a happy afternoon in Campions on the mitch from Belcamp :D

DLMA23 wrote: »
    Jaysus that brings me back...

Spent many a happy afternoon in Campions on the mitch from Belcamp :D

Hope TO'S never caught you :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

I seen that link in a search this morning.

Thing is its my local, I drink there most Wednesday's and nothing has been mentioned about a sale recently.

I drink/drank in the bar.. A proper old style bar, with no female toilets :) ~ plus you could buy your groceries too, and their off sales were the cheapest around (and latest ;) )

I'll really miss Campions if its been sold

If its bought lets hope it opens as was and not as some soulless new type bar with pulled pork on the menu.
    I love the fact that its literally a few yards outside the city but sitting in it you would swear you were in a bar in the arsehole of Kerry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

Drank there when I lived close by, believe I even ran into Makikomi once, was never really enamoured with it, but they did have shelfed pint bottles so was ok by me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Drank there when I lived close by, believe I even ran into Makikomi once, was never really enamoured with it, but they did have shelfed pint bottles so was ok by me.

And I bet you were put flat on your back:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭rolliepoley

Sad times, lets hope its not turned into another Camelot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

It's been many many years since I was in it, but had it not turned into a bit if a kip lately ????

Just asking as I know someone who frequents the place and he said it to me.

realies wrote: »
    It's been many many years since I was in it, but had it not turned into a bit if a kip lately ????

Just asking as I know someone who frequents the place and he said it to me.

No it certainly wasn't a kip.

Some of the people drinking in the lounge may not have been the prettiest or welcomed into most pubs but they never caused any bother.

Just info'd that its to re-open this evening under new (English) ownership, although I don't think it'll be the same without Dave, Maurice and Faye pulling the pints.

Sounds like a quick sale...wonder how long it was on the market for.

Good to hear anyway. Enjoy your pint on Wednesday and try to make up for the one you missed last week :)

Collie D wrote: »
    Sounds like a quick sale...wonder how long it was on the market for.

Good to hear anyway. Enjoy your pint on Wednesday and try to make up for the one you missed last week :)

I think I owe it to myself to check it out this evening for a post-training refreshment :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,092 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

I think I owe it to myself to check it out this evening for a post-training refreshment :D
    I heard all the regulars are barred. :D

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,044 ✭✭✭Gaspode

No, just Makikomi

Still no sign of it opening again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

Love/Hate scenes this evening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭CPSW

I think Nidge and his gang will be taking it over, they were recently spotted in the area drinking in it :-)

Sad news. I just got a text to say its being knocked down this morning :'(

***Edit, I cycled out to it just now and there's not a brick out of place!.. No developement work at all, sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 Ao

It's still standing ! I've heard a couple of pub groups mentioned in relation to Champions, The Cock n Bull and Weatherspoons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭PlayByTheRules

Planning permission for a housing estate approved by An Bord Planaela today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭crashplan

Planning permission for a housing estate approved by An Bord Planaela today

The Ruling can be found here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭snickerpuss

It's a pity the building will be demolished as it had been there such a long time and there are almost no older buildings in the area.

You can see the Campion family of publican grocers in Balgriffin in the 1911 census here: http://www.census.nationalarchives.ie/pages/1911/Dublin/Coolock/Belcamp/7521/

It's a pity the building will be demolished as it had been there such a long time and there are almost no older buildings in the area.

You can see the Campion family of publican grocers in Balgriffin in the 1911 census here: http://www.census.nationalarchives.ie/pages/1911/Dublin/Coolock/Belcamp/7521/

Its shocking how we hold little little value in history.

:mad:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Anywhere decent out there for a pint?
    Cam_________ oh, wait.

spurious wrote: »
    Anywhere decent out there for a pint?
    Cam_________ oh, wait.

Today?.. Well you could go to Shelbourne dog racing or the Aviva to see Ireland play Switzerland :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 Bird123

Looks like there’s some building activity going on inside Campions Pub in Balgriffin. I know the site was earmarked for houses but it looks like they might be doing something with Campions as the fitters are working inside the building without a bulldozer in sight. Anyone know what’s happening with it? Would be nice if they re opened a nice local pub that does good food considering the amount of new developments in the area.

Bird123 wrote: »
    Looks like there’s some building activity going on inside Campions Pub in Balgriffin. I know the site was earmarked for houses but it looks like they might be doing something with Campions as the fitters are working inside the building without a bulldozer in sight. Anyone know what’s happening with it? Would be nice if they re opened a nice local pub that does good food considering the amount of new developments in the area.

I seen that yesterday.

I loved the old Campions. I tried The Hilton hotel bar, its awful.

If you don't mind traveling then The White House in Baldoyle is superb, and the food is sublime.

But yes, with all the new developments in the area you'd think a pub there would be a little goldmine now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭Greentree_uk

hope a pub comes back, but keep the riff raff out...

Then you'll need bouncers on the door, then people will moan about that and since the old lounge was frequented by travelers (and a mix of locals from Darndale) you'll get the usual claims of discrimination.

And in fairness although the crowd in the old lounge was a bit rough, there was rarely an angry word exchanged.

I know the three brothers (Maurice, Fay and Dave) are out of the business now, and their kids didn't want it. Plus there's plans for development on the land, I doubt we'll have Campions back again.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,668 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Would love it to re open as a pub too but I'm doubtful. Saw the work going on and it's hard to figure out what they're up to.

Now this is only 2nd hand info and from a while back too but I heard they sold the drinks license on.

I live near the Hilton but wouldn't ever bother with it.

Lots of d development around that area now, I think a pub would do well.

humberklog wrote: »
    I live near the Hilton but wouldn't ever bother with it.

You're missing nothing. Its like having a beer in an airport lounge, absolutely awful.

Oh I never bother with it but have tried it a few years back (think I recall yourself posting about it the same time).
    I remember one time an Indian barman pulling my pint straight off in one pour, took a fortnight to settle and looked like a Mary Quant black and white dres when it eventually did. Tried to charge me 5.80 for it too.*tried*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,019 ✭✭✭davycc

Then you'll need bouncers on the door, then people will moan about that and since the old lounge was frequented by travelers (and a mix of locals from Darndale) you'll get the usual claims of discrimination.

And in fairness although the crowd in the old lounge was a bit rough, there was rarely an angry word exchanged.

I know the three brothers (Maurice, Fay and Dave) are out of the business now, and their kids didn't want it. Plus there's plans for development on the land, I doubt we'll have Campions back again.

I'm from Darndale myself and worked there in the late 90s while doing my leaving cert in belcamp, I am awful with names but I remember one of the doormen had a lovely opel calibra coupe, I never seen any rows in my time there and the only fella who was bared permanently was a local dipso called Frank something who threw himself over pub furniture and got as many claims as possible, he was always going around on crutches and wearing neckbraces etc.

Hopefully the bar makes a return as some day soon, much missed in my extended family

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭Villan11

Sounds like Frank Gallagher.....:p
    davycc wrote: »
    I'm from Darndale myself and worked there in the late 90s while doing my leaving cert in belcamp, I am awful with names but I remember one of the doormen had a lovely opel calibra coupe, I never seen any rows in my time there and the only fella who was bared permanently was a local dipso called Frank something who threw himself over pub furniture and got as many claims as possible, he was always going around on crutches and wearing neckbraces etc.

Hopefully the bar makes a return as some day soon, much missed in my extended family

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,044 ✭✭✭Gaspode

At least The Newtown House is still open

davycc wrote: »

I only started drinking there around mid 2000's. I used to drink in the lounge, but then moved into the bar.. I used to love looking at the RTE Wednesday movie in the bar.

Loved the place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Buckfast W

Campions should be reopening in about 4-5 months, work has already started

Buckfast W wrote: »

It doesn't take 4-5 months to fit out a bar, even if that includes putting in a kitchen/dining area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,186 ✭✭✭✭L1011

It was still licenced as of last year, licence hasn't been published as renewed yet but if you are altering the floor area you need to get a declaratory order from the district court for that so it would explain it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,019 ✭✭✭davycc

Where did you hear that. Hopefully it's correct

retalivity wrote:
    All of them, if you think about it.

It's definitely opening, my friends da is an architect they got the contract and drew up the plans, apparently there knocking a wall or 2 inside and are taking off part of the gabel wall because there's a road going in at the back, there also building 70 odd houses in behind, 4-5 months is what I was told but could be sooner, as far as I know the bar should stay the same, dunno what the story is with upstairs though, dunno if there knocking through any of the bedrooms

Hopefully you're right. The area needs a decent bar, just a pity it'll never be the old Campions.

(Hope there's a dart board)

That's great news Buckfast.

The old Campions never really attempted to tap into the new residential crowd that popped up in the last 8years+.
    I know as a blow in to the area it kinda felt too cliquesh. It wasn't an unfriendly shop but nor was it welcoming.

I'd rather see a new broom approach that would make it a more friendly environment for new customers. There's plenty to tap into now regards new local residents especially with that new apartment block open across the road.

New owners would now have the critical mass of new residents to start the slate clean.

humberklog wrote:
    The old Campions never really attempted to tap into the new residential crowd that popped up in the last 8years+. I know as a blow in to the area it kinda felt too cliquesh. It wasn't an unfriendly shop but nor was it welcoming.

humberklog wrote:
    That's great news Buckfast.

humberklog wrote:
    I'd rather see a new broom approach that would make it a more friendly environment for new customers. There's plenty to tap into now regards new local residents especially with that new apartment block open across the road.

humberklog wrote:
    New owners would now have the critical mass of new residents to start the slate clean.

Would agree with all that, a new pub in the area is badly needed, hopefully they turn it into a Cock & Bull type place with good food and good beer.

I think the Campion family are still running the pub not 100% sure, I'll ask my friend who took out the contract

Two young lads from Wicklow have taken over Campions, the Kavanaghs

Yeah I was wondering as the whole site including pub was in the bundled sale. I think Young's were auctioneers.
    5 acres!

Would be good if it was open for the World Cup.

Might be fun if some Boardies wanted to do a looksee on it when it opens?

Pints for the world cup, count me in :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 Bird123

Wonder would that be Greg Kavanagh, the multi millionaire developer from Wicklow who has also bought Clonskeagh House and The Globe Bar? 🀔

Bird123 wrote:
    Wonder would that be Greg Kavanagh, the multi millionaire developer from Wicklow who has also bought Clonskeagh House and The Globe Bar? ðŸ€â€

I think it might be, I heard the 2 lads were minted alright