Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Protestant church attacked in Donegal.

• 03-10-2014 3:46pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭

First I have heard about this kind of attack in this country but I am not surprised to see it happening. Shocking and disturbing. Sadly, I suspect that we will see more of these attacks in the years to come. (Easter 2016 in particular)

BBC

RTE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,407 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

At first i'm shocked. But then I learn it's an Orange Hall and suddenly I don't care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

It was an Orange Hall rather than a church. Relations between the religions are pretty good in Donegal (many mixed marriages, my own included). I don't expect any problems between now and 2016.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,514 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Berserker wrote: »
    First I have heard about this kind of attack in this country but I am not surprised to see it happening. Shocking and disturbing. Sadly, I suspect that we will see more of these attacks in the lead up to Easter 2016.

BBC

RTE

That's a pretty massive assumption to draw that sectarian violence will rise in the lead up to 2016, they don't actually need an excuse most of the time so I don't see how it would effect it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Did not know the orange order was a religion with its own church.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

At first i'm shocked. But then I learn it's an Orange Hall and suddenly I don't care.
    It was an Orange Hall rather than a church. Relations between the religions are pretty good in Donegal (many mixed marriages, my own included). I don't expect any problems between now and 2016.

Read the article properly. They attempted to burn down a church as well but failed.
    VinLieger wrote: »
    That's a pretty massive assumption to draw that sectarian violence will rise in the lead up to 2016, they don't actually need an excuse most of the time so I don't see how it would effect it

Not really when you look at the reaction of people like Kermit above. He has no problem with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

I'd be more concerned about who has to pay the water bill for the firefighters.

I'm not going to pretend to be horrified about someone burning down an orange lodge.

What about the Presbyterian church they tried to burn down?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

First I have heard about this kind of attack in this country but I am not surprised to see it happening. Shocking and disturbing. Sadly, I suspect that we will see more of these attacks in the years to come.

BBC

RTE

Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

It looks like plain old anti-social scumbaggery rather an anything more sinister.
    They wanted to burn something, and just chose this place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

the culprits should be garotted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭on the river

Absolute disgrace. Nobody wants to return to sectarian violence.

KungPao wrote: »
    It looks like plain old anti-social scumbaggery rather an anything more sinister.

You would like to think so but I have family in south Dublin and their church has been warned about such attacks by the Gardai of late too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

First I have heard about this kind of attack in this country but I am not surprised to see it happening. Shocking and disturbing. Sadly, I suspect that we will see more of these attacks in the years to come. (Easter 2016 in particular)

BBC

RTE

Not necessarily sectarian.Might be some crazy loon
    or some such.

You would like to think so but I have family in south Dublin and their church has been warned about such attacks by the Gardai of late too.

Why are you linking some sectarian act in Donegal to the anniversary of the rising? particularily given that its the 3rd of October?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Can a mod edit the misleading thread title?

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Can a mod edit the misleading thread title?

It's not misleading. A Protestant church was attacked in Donegal. Read the article I posted. Why are you people ignoring that fact? Not surprised by the head in the sand response I am getting from most people to be honest.

It's not misleading. A Protestant church was attacked in Donegal. Read the article I posted.

How about you explain yourself?

Why are you linking some sectarian act in Donegal to the anniversary of the rising? particularily given that its the 3rd of October?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭Knasher

Seems pretty sectarian to me if they first burnt down a orange order place, and then tried to burn a protestant church. I hope they catch whomever is behind it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Personally I fear for all the inevitable horrors that will incur with the imminent arrival of Halloween, 2017.

There's Gonna be major hassle in the Amish community in Australia and their Belgian neighbours.

BBC

RTE
    Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I for one am appalled that an organisation such as the Orange Order, a bastion of equality, friendship, inclusion and reconciliation could come under attack in this manner.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

the culprits should be garotted

Really though? That's harsh for any crime.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,768 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

I hope they catch those responsible. Given the general upswing of vandalism on church/community property this is more likely a sign of the current times rather than a repeat of the troubles.

I for one am appalled that an organisation such as the Orange Order, a bastion of equality, friendship, inclusion and reconciliation could come under attack in this manner.
    Me too.

They are nothing like the KKK and only want everyone to love each other as equals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Benny_Cake

It's undoubtedly an act of sectarian thuggery and I hope they catch those responsible. It's a stretch to suggest that this is likely to increase in the lead up to 2016 though. The type of person who does this probably doesn't need an anniversary to motivate them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

What about the Presbyterian church they tried to burn down?

"tried" being the operative word. Any sort of thinking person would at least bring an accelerator (petrol, etc.) if arson was the aim, rather than just trying to set alight a few sheets of paper.

This doesn't seem as big as the headlines spin it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

2016 my eye. It's vandals, young thugs who know nothing about nothing except for the tripe that's spouted at home and between themselves, result, "let's burn the prods out of it". Feck all to do with religion rather more to do with stupidity and ignorance. They fell ten feet tall today but are only little runts trying to rise a ruckus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

Eh, what has this to do with Protestantism? The Orange Order is a loyalist organisation. Very different things. Ireland is a very enjoyable place to grow up and live in as an Anglican (ignoring the modern Atheist sneering seen online). Rumours abound that they've been seen as President, winning All Ireland's and shopping in Supervalu.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Madam

I'm really surprised by this, most folk in Donegal(especially around Convoy and Raphoe)get along fine with each other no matter their religion. Catholics have been known to use the Orange halls as community centres in certain places, even to the point of using each other's instruments for pipe band competitions. Probably this was perpetrated by some eejit(s) from the six counties out to cause tensions in the community.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

Made me quite mad reading the title to think an idiot would do something like, but then I see its actually an orange hall the anger quickly evaporated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Couldn't even make it as far as the second paragraph before posting that drivel?
    attempt was also made to burn down a Presbyterian church in the village.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

Eh, what has this to do with Protestantism? The Orange Order is a loyalist organisation. Very different things. Ireland is a very enjoyable place to grow up and live in as an Anglican (ignoring the modern Atheist sneering seen online). Rumours abound that they've been seen as President, winning All Ireland's and shopping in Supervalu.

Are there Catholics in the Orange Order? I think not, therefore, yeah has a lot to do with Protestantism, however I do believe this had to do with thugs wanting to stir the pot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

I know this town very well and through the years there have never been bad relations between communities. People live side by side in peace here, work together and do business together, inter marry, and all the rest. What has changed in Convoy over the last number of years are 2 things.

There were very many houses left vacant after the building boom, a good few of these houses were let out to younger people that relocated from over the border.

The Garda station was closed due to cutbacks, as was the station in Raphoe.

Convoy started to get the reputation of being a bit wild, especially at weekends.

This incident may have been caused by visitors with strong prejudices from another jurisdiction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭kingchess

I know this town very well and through the years there have never been bad relations between communities. People live side by side in peace here, work together and do business together, inter marry, and all the rest. What has changed in Convoy over the last number of years are 2 things.

There were very many houses left vacant after the building boom, a good few of these houses were let out to younger people that relocated from over the border.

The Garda station was closed due to cutbacks, as was the station in Raphoe.

Convoy started to get the reputation of being a bit wild, especially at weekends.

This incident may have been caused by visitors with strong prejudices from another jurisdiction.

ahh yes -the Brits bringing their problems to our part of the Island

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

sub-tiny percentage of a rural local population in isolated moment of bigotry shocker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

I'm a protestant from East Donegal with an uncle in the Orange Order.

This attack on an Orange hall and Presbyterian church is shocking to me because there is absolutely no division between the two communities that I have noticed.

Demographically, East Donegal would be 50/50 in terms of Catholic/Protestant, there are lots of mixed marriages and both communities work together.

Also, an attack happened in Newtowncunningham also in East Donegal, 2 weeks ago. Im guessing it could be some thugs from a couple of miles away across the border trying to import their thuggery here. Hopefully it ends here...

sub-tiny percentage of a rural local population in isolated moment of bigotry shocker

Great contribution, bravo

The orange order is a very different beast in Donegal, it is more a social group celebrating their shared heritage. Take a look a Rossnowlagh orange parade for example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,673 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Wouldn't be surprised if the culprit was from the North, or a blow-in from there now living in Donegal.

Donegal natives from both sides of the religious divide tend to get on rather well, and this sort of stuff would not be normal for true Donegalers.

Not overly religious myself, but have nothing but utter contempt for anyone who tries to burn down a church of any faith. Utter scum, and I hope they are caught and put away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭Young Blood

Cant say I wasnt happy when I heard the news.

Hate breeds hate.

The firemen should of saved themselves the water charges and let it burn to ground.

the fact that the irish government gave the orange order 2 million euro in funding sickens me.

Hate breeds hate.

The firemen should of saved themselves the water charges and let it burn to ground.

the fact that the irish government gave the orange order 2 million euro in funding sickens me.

http://oceanfm.ie/2014/09/13/president-invited-to-rossnowlagh-orange-parade/

John Doe1 wrote: »

Who knows how many more Lenny Murphys and Johnny Adairs will go through the ranks of the Orange Order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,673 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Hate breeds hate.

It certainly seems to, you seem to have a lot of hate in you.

Firemen don't pay water charges, and it did burn to the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

KungPao wrote: »

It was the 2nd one in 3 weeks in Donegal was it not? If there was other arson attacks not related to the orange order aswell then maybe. If its just those two then that's a big coincidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭Smiles35

Who knows how many more Lenny Murphys and Johnny Adairs will go through the ranks of the Orange Order.

Are you for real? They're Freemasons at the end of the day.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

"Nordies in sectarian nonsense shocker"

A quagmire that should be ignored until it fixes itself and the people up there realize that all of their beliefs are truly laughable and we are all just animals with ridiculously short lifespans who really shouldn't be wasting them on such idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

Disgusting act. Im not a fan of the orange order but they are not harming anyone in Co.Donegal so why target the hall.

Sounds like uneducated teenagers did it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭Broxi_Bear_Eire

Noblong wrote: »
    Are you for real? They're Freemasons at the end of the day.

Think you need to do some reading two totally different organisations.
    For example have a wee read up on where certain Masonic lodges are located

Free Masons mee eye. Free masons don't go around parading stiring up sectarian tensions.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭DarkyHughes

Can't say I'm to upset to see a building that represents sectarianism being burnt to the ground.