Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ridiculous things your teachers said in school.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Squaredude

I propesed that magnetism could be used as a form of propulsion whilst studying physics in college. I was told it wasn't possible.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

xalot wrote: »
    My teacher in high infants tried to ration the toilet roil and would tell us to use exactly one folded over square and if we didn't then God would know because he watches us at all times, even in the toilet.

Catholic schools, cant even take a piss without guilt.

Had exactly the same thing in second class, except the bog roll was kept outside the toilet. One square for a pee, three squares for a dump. And it wasn't God watching us, it was a b!tch of a nun who would whack you with a ruler if you tried to take extra. One of many excuses the psychopath would use to hit us.

• Registered Users Posts: 18 Bosco13

I had a teacher tell us there were barely any pubs in America and that people have to drink in hotels.

• Registered Users Posts: 976 ✭✭✭8valve

My woodwork teacher, observing me ruining another piece of timber:

''What the fu(k are you doing? That stuff doesn't grow on trees, you know!!''

Our Christian Brother principal in primary was subsequently convicted for sexually assaulting lads in my year...thus proving my suspicions that I was an ugly child; he never even laid a hand on me, bar a sucker punch to the side of my head for singing out of tune in the choir.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 443 ✭✭Hairy Japanese BASTARDS!

When I was in sixth class in 2002, before smart phones and Google, a teacher came in from the class next door. He asked our teacher, what country used to be known as Persia?

They spent a few minutes speculating about countries in Africa. I raised my hand and said " excuse me teachers, it's Iran".

I was called a fool and told to shut up on front of the class.

The next day the teacher called me to the top of the class. Fair fûcks to him. He said "I would like to openly apologise to Hairy for being so rude and dismissive, he was correct in saying that Iran is Persia". He gave me a fiver and shook my hand.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Feisar

When I was in sixth class in 2002, before smart phones and Google, a teacher came in from the class next door. He asked our teacher, what country used to be known as Persia?

They spent a few minutes speculating about countries in Africa. I raised my hand and said " excuse me teachers, it's Iran".

I was called a fool and told to shut up on front of the class.

The next day the teacher called me to the top of the class. Fair fûcks to him. He said "I would like to openly apologise to Hairy for being so rude and dismissive, he was correct in saying that Iran is Persia". He gave me a fiver and shook my hand.

Fair play to him. There are two things I never forgot:

Great Teachers - Bit of a running joke now I bump into one every other year or so and still address him as Sir. I'm in my thirties, feckin' legend he is.

Sh!te teachers

First they came for the socialists...

He said "I would like to openly apologise to Hairy for being so rude and dismissive.
    Still a bit cruel to refer to you as "Hairy", that wasn't your fault. .

• Registered Users Posts: 33,972 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Never met a teacher who wasn't a massive tightwad, which casts severe doubt on the fiver story...

Life ain't always empty.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,390 ✭✭✭Airyfairy12

When I was in secondary school I was friends with a girl who lived in a care home, a few days before her 18th birthday she was kicked out and moved into an apartment on her own funded by the state, this is what happens to kids in state care homes when they turn 18.
    She was really struggling with living on her own and supporting herself, anyone whos moved away from home for the first time at a young age will understand how daunting and lonely it is, only in her case she was still in secondary school and had no family, she became really depressed and was anxious all the time. She was given money into her bank account each month to cover rent, food and bills but she had no budgeting skills at all. I can only assume she was getting a good deal of financial support because she was still in school.

As she was living on her own her school attendance wasn't great, she really wasn't coping with her new set up.

I was a year or two younger than her and tried to be as supportive as I could be. Id fill up bags of food from my own house and bring them into her, stay in hers for sleep overs, she'd stay in mine all the time and a few times had to talk her out of killing herself, taking late night phone calls, texting till the early hours, missing school to go check on her. It was a really stressful time for her and for me, being 16/17 and trying to support her.

In school the teachers all knew her situation and took it easy on her when she came in late and missed days but one in particular, our history teacher came down really hard on me during this time and I didnt understand why until one day During a History class she asked me what's the name of the home class my friend was in.. I said I didnt know and she lost it at me, said 'some friend you are' and went on a rant about what a terrible friend I must be to her in front of the entire class.

I was so shocked by her little outburst and wanted to cry, ended up dropping out of her class in the end she was a right b!tch.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,220 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

There is no future in higher ed.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭IamMetaldave

One of my primary school teachers used to tell us to read the last chapter of a book to see if it was worth reading...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭Ger Roe

Back in the last century, during my school days, we were told to think about hobbies and worthwhile activities to pursue during what was going to be a lot of leisure time. We were going to be the first generation that would have to figure out what to do with all our downtime, due to increased automation and an associated more generous sprinkling of prosperity all around society. We were all going to be better off as a result of working less, there would be new industries set up to advise us all how to keep busy.

There were actually studies produced that highlighted the need for the positive distraction that was going to be required as we all rode in to our sunset years on the pigs back.

Yeah... and some day pigs might fly.... the pension age is rising, pension privileges have been reduced over the years, we are working longer, in many cases for less money and we never got the flying hover cars either!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,373 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

We had a primary school teacher who had a thing about porridge and every now then would get into a rant about breakfast cereals and tell use there was more nutrition in a cardboard box than in cornflakes, being 6 or 7 we hadn't a clue what nutrition meant.

I had a teacher tell us that dilemma was spelled "dilemna". I went around correcting people for years. Mortified when I looked it up eventually.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭D3V!L

I was told I'd amount to nothing by several teachers. Thankfully I didn't listen to them ....... at all through my entire education.

Did quite well for myself in the end strangely :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭seagull

I had a teacher tell us that dilemma was spelled "dilemna". I went around correcting people for years. Mortified when I looked it up eventually.

Your teacher was right. That is how it should be spelt in the English speaking world. You are promoting yet another American abomination.

• Registered Users Posts: 40 doggerland

We had a teacher who was proud of never watching the news, reading a paper or voting etc. Encouraged us to do the same and would argue her case against any opposing voices. This was 6th class. I wonder what damage she really did.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,972 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

seagull wrote: »
    Your teacher was right. That is how it should be spelt in the English speaking world. You are promoting yet another American abomination.

520965.png

Life ain't always empty.

seagull wrote: »

It literally translates from the Greek 'Di' and 'Lemma' meaning two or double propositions. There is no Greek word 'lemna' in this context (there is but its to do with seaweed or water lilies or some crap).

I'd be interested to see proof of the mn spelling being correct.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭Eggs For Dinner

Christian Brother head teacher, as he rubs my arm

Eggs, you're going to do very bad in the Leaving Cert, but a good looking lad like you will get a job anywhere

• Registered Users Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭joeguevara

It literally translates from the Greek 'Di' and 'Lemma' meaning two or double propositions. There is no Greek word 'lemna' in this context (there is but its to do with seaweed or water lilies or some crap).

I'd be interested to see proof of the mn spelling being correct.

There doesn't seem to be. Its given regularly as an example of the Mandela effect.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,176 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

A teacher to me :

Hey would you like to mind my kids during the summer? I think you would be good at it.

I said ..........no.
    I had said to this same above teacher that we would need to stop getting handouts from the EU at some stage. Her answer was ....'well ..what do you know about it? You know nothing about the real world' She was a huge fan of bono's humanitarian work. Her husband was a big shot lawyer. They were rolling in it. But apparently she knew about the real world.

She worked in a state school. She spent ages lecturing kids from council houses and council flats ABOUT kids from council houses and council flats. She was UNBEARABLE.

She was also a terrible snob and very judgemental.

Oh another teacher said that there would be no property crash no house prices would ever come down it was all talk.

I met the Councillor from that school a few years later. She couldn't get over that i had gone to university and gotten a degree. It blew her mind.

So she didn't as much say i would never amount to anything but it was implied.

Another teacher ..'You dont have to be able to do something to teach it'.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,824 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

“Mr Strumms, don’t turn up for your physics leaving cert exam, no point, you won’t pass, spend the time instead studying for something you will be likely to perform well in”.......“a circus ? because that’s what it was like being taught by you.. “ I replied... knowing well there was fûck all he could do with me about to walk out the door and see him never again.... I thought in later years it might have been reverse psychology maybe, which if it was it was genius because I was crap at physics but i not only passed I got a C. An asshole of a teacher.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Feisar

In fairness that's true of sporting endeavours.

First they came for the socialists...

Feisar wrote: »
    There is an old saying that goes along the lines " those who can do it well, do it, those who can't! teach"

• Registered Users Posts: 2,135 ✭✭✭kowloonkev

You might be thinking of sports management, rather than teaching, or coaching.

I don't believe this.

The teacher was teaching me something akin to sports ....but i was saying and this is true. I AM RUBBISH AT THIS ...I CAN'T DO IT..HOW AM I GOING TO TEACH OTHERS TO DO THIS? He said you don't have to be able to do it just coach it.

It was a module i had to do to get an overall qualification I wanted. (which qualifies me to teach something I AM good at!).

I am pretty sure i would be a rubbish coach at it though as i can't do it! :pac:

kowloonkev wrote: »
    You might be thinking of sports management, rather than teaching, or coaching.

There is really no such thing as 'sports management' every sport is so diff.

And you have to be able to do a little bit!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭joeguevara

There is an old saying that goes along the lines " those who can do it well, do it, those who can't! teach"

And those who cant teach, teach PE.

I deffo couldn't do it. Prob can't teach it either :P

Also the thing i can do ...i think i am better at teaching ..so I disagree with this.