Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Weekend. Is staying in the new going out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

Myself and Mrs Boobar try to go out together once a month....sometimes we don't bother.

Like many others, I like staying in listening to my own choice of music or watching a good box set ....nice takeaway, decent bottle of wine.

I was in my local pub about 6 months ago, I said to the publican about the drink offers in the supermarket. Aye he says, but you don't get the social aspect. I was his only customer that night! To be fair, he did burst out laughing after he said it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

efb wrote: »
    It's an age thing. If your under 25 you will be c likely to go out most weekends, under 30 some weekends and under 40 odd weekends
    I went out the most in my late 20s/early 30s because of having money.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Only really head out maybe once a month now to be honest, it can be tough to justify the expense and I've found that I'm having more fun as I'm not doing the same thing weekend after weekend.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

I go out very rarely. Way too expensive and it's boring unless you can actually have a real chat. Most of the music in pubs is too loud.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Peist2007

Go out once a month and have a good time. But it's a thing to do rather than the be all and end all as it is to seemingly most people.

• Registered Users Posts: 491 ✭✭tempnam

Why does going out have to equate to getting drunk and 'paying for it' or 'dying' the next day??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

tempnam wrote: »
    Why does going out have to equate to getting drunk and 'paying for it' or 'dying' the next day??

Because Irish people can't drink without getting utterly wrecked ruining not only that night but also the next day. We are exactly the stereotype that other nations have of us.

Me, i prefer to stay going, it's the new in-out.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Schwiiing wrote: »
    You're the kind of person I love to avoid. Just a shame I cant avoid similar people at work. Monday to Wednesday its all talk about last weekend then from Wednesday to Friday it's all talk about next weekend.

The exact same stories from the exact same places about the exact same people every single week.

When I was in college a few years back, when I told people I didn't drink they either laughed in my face or behind my back. There was never an indifferent reaction. Just the exact same look of exasperation then a smirk that would start to spread across their face.

This country is pathetic when it comes to alcohol.

You sound like the one with the problem to be honest. I'd be walking on eggshells around a person such as yourself at work.life is short,do what makes you happy. If people want to get **** faced at the weekend I wouldn't begrudge them that. I certainly wouldn't have the sense of smug superiority you seem to be showing.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭ciano1

Schwiiing wrote: »
    What is it with drinkers and their need to tell non-drinkers they're boring?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

ciano1 wrote: »

I'm amazed it took this long for that to show up.

• Registered Users Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

I spend an obscene amount of my disposable income on socialising but fcuk it, I live in a really fun city and I'll be dead long enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

smurgen wrote: »
    You sound like the one with the problem to be honest. I'd be walking on eggshells around a person such as yourself at work.life is short,do what makes you happy. If people want to get **** faced at the weekend I wouldn't begrudge them that. I certainly wouldn't have the sense of smug superiority you seem to be showing.
    The post it's in response to is no better IMO. Telling people they're a bunch of bores because they don't bother going out getting wasted a lot. As if heading to the pub makes a person guaranteed to be really non boring.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

The post it's in response to is no better IMO. Telling people they're a bunch of bores because they don't bother going out getting wasted a lot. As if heading to the pub makes a person guaranteed to be really non boring.

"I got so drunk that i must be interesting, roight? You're just a dry****e."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Tarzana

Mostly like to stay in. More relaxing, my weekend feels longer, and I've gone off boozing for the most part. Like to go out and get ratarsed two or three times a year though.

Nib wrote: »
    I couldn't care less if a person drinks or not. It's none of my business, but they would most likely bore the tits off me.

This is funny because drunk people are the most tedious you could meet, myself included.

• Registered Users Posts: 883 ✭✭✭anto9

A night out costs me maybe the equivalent of 8 to 10 Euro ,in the Country i live .I go to my local Western bar ,on my scooter .Its about 4 km away .A large bottle 660 ml ( bigger than a pint ) of local beer costs B80 or 2 Euro .I can just manage 3 or 4 .
    I only go out one or two nights a week though .Just to get a break from the wife and 2 kids at home .At my age if i over indulge ,the hangover next day is like a living death .I do drink at home also ,or sometimes a neighbor will have a party.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,477 ✭✭✭sioda

Gave up drinking 2 years ago and not at first but now I go out more than I did when drinking and am still out till kebab o clock.

Don't miss the hangovers but why can't I resist the lure of the takeaway :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭yipeeeee

Weekends definitely feel longer when its not a drunken haze.

Going out on a Saturday, next thing you know its Monday morning, because you have been a mess on your couch all Sunday between napping etc.

Weekend goes way too quick.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

The going out every week has started to fade for me , partly because of my job and having a two year old. Hangovers aren't worth it anymore, getting worst and worst. I still do love going out and having a few drinks with friends but two day hangovers are the real deal now, and it's expensive.

So I've started to enjoy the other side of the weekends, getting up early and doing thing's, feeling fresh the next morning instead of in bits.

I prefer staying in now I guess, having a beer or two on a Friday or Saturday night and watching match of the day or a film , maybe the odd time smoke a joint and order a pizza , play a game etc..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

I couldn't care less if a person drinks or not. It's none of my business, but they would most likely bore the tits off me. What would you like to talk to your work colleagues about? The weather? Politics? Star Trek?

You're the type of person I like to avoid in any situation.

What is it with non-drinkers and their need to tell everyone they don't drink alcohol?

You leave Star Trek out of this buddy... It's done more for this world than you have..:cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭barry181091

If you are new to the working world from college I have found what most do is go out Thursday & Saturday. Doing a Friday + Saturday is wreckless and kills you until Tuesday. Generally the Thursday is really cheap, good fun and there is more young people out.

• Site Banned Posts: 824 ✭✭✭Shiraz 4.99

The thought of going out& throwing 100 quid plus over a counter actually repulses me now.
    I'll download the latest release or hook Youtube up to the TV, a few cans & a bottle of red, lubbly.

What some people have as their weekend fun is really just a normal weekday night i.e. watch some tv series or a movie. Don't know how people don't get bored doing it all weekend too. If I wasn't going out to the pubs and having the craic at least once a week and often twice I'd get fierce bored and miss out on a lot of craic. I'm nearly 30 and am going out as much now as I did in college, more if anything at times due to being able to afford it much more.

The weekend night you spend in watching a movie is also much more enjoyable when its recharging the batteries rather than doing it all weekend every weekend.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭barry181091

I get the non-drinkers complaints but unfortunatley that it is our social culture to go out at weekends etc. If I was in the likes of Canada, you can be sure I would be doing things like skiing, ice skating at weekends instead.

What some people have as their weekend fun is really just a normal weekday night i.e. watch some tv series or a movie..

Not really, it has a much different feel. You are not thinking about getting up for work in the morning and generally stay up much later.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,260 ✭✭✭Mink

What some people have as their weekend fun is really just a normal weekday night i.e. watch some tv series or a movie. Don't know how people don't get bored doing it all weekend too.

I might watch one show on a weekday night but then get going on other stuff - just crap that is backlogged, work out etc.

Then I'll watch a chunk of a boxset or movies on weekend.

Probably only get out for a night out 4-5 times a year (husband works a lot of weekend nights & we have a sprog).

But when we do, we really make the most of it. Get fully dressed up, go out for dinner with friends, pub crawl in town and then onto nightclub or a gig until kicked out at 3/4am and we all stay in a b&b nearby so no arseing around with taxi's.

Costs a fortune and there is some recovering to do (we're heading mid 30's now) but it's only a few times a year and then we really enjoy the night.

The other alternative is house parties - a couple of those 4-5 nights out would be a proper big house party, great craic!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,833 ✭✭✭Useful.Idiot

I've been going out pretty much every Friday and Saturday night for the last year or so minus a few chilled nights here or there. There's just always fun stuff going on.

Being a weekend warrior may start to get old soon though. The wallet and the weekend productivity always suffer for it.

That said I rarely end up in a club. Gigs and parties are a lot more fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

You're all a shower of boring gits.

There's nothing like heading to the local with a few mates to catch up and have a good laugh after a long tiring week at work. We usually go into a club then for more of the same.

I spend enough time at home during the week watching shite on the telly without doing it at the weekends too. Get out there, meet new people. You're a long time dead.

"What did you do at the weekend?"

"Went out"

"Faaaascinating".

Not!

I like going out as much as the next person but it doesn't make you an interesting person. There's PLENTY of other ways to meet people and there's plenty more to do besides from going out, getting pissed, dying from a hangover rinse/repeat bollocks.

In fact, people who tend to do only that bore me to absolute tears (not saying you do but many do).

• Registered Users Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

What some people have as their weekend fun is really just a normal weekday night i.e. watch some tv series or a movie. Don't know how people don't get bored doing it all weekend too. If I wasn't going out to the pubs and having the craic at least once a week and often twice I'd get fierce bored and miss out on a lot of craic. I'm nearly 30 and am going out as much now as I did in college, more if anything at times due to being able to afford it much more.

The weekend night you spend in watching a movie is also much more enjoyable when its recharging the batteries rather than doing it all weekend every weekend.

I was the exact same to be honest but now that I've a fight coming up in November I had to knock the booze on the head completely for three months. I thought I'd go insane without the prospect of going to the pub but gradually you adjust into a routine. I work Saturdays and normally finish around 2pm where upon it was straight into the pub for around 6pm. Now though I might meet friends for dinner. I went on a historical walk the other weekend, this weekend I'm going to a play. The cinema is an option as is something like the museum. Sunday, I'm in the gym all morning and then usually head into Central London to meet friends, dinner etc.

After a while the "thirst" wears off to the point you don't even think about it anymore really. Once you're creative with your time you can easily fill the gap. The first three weeks are a bastard though.

• Registered Users Posts: 778 ✭✭✭jessiejam

cloud493 wrote: »
    I haven't been out on a saturday night for a year or so. Mainly cos I'm not very social, its very expensive, I don't drink, etc. Judging by my Facebook newsfeed though, I'm in a minority.

Take no notice of "fakebook". People only put up what they want you to see. The majority of people are doing exactly what your doing at the weekend.
    Saying that I do like the odd night out but don't go blabbing on facebook about it. Mostly since becoming a parent I like to catch up on all the telly i missed during the week and look forward to waking on a saturday and sunday without a sick stomach and headache.
    My liver can't cope with drink very often anymore...