Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Class division is real

• 07-09-2014 11:26pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 412 ✭✭

Something I've only discovered in the past few months, there seems to be an elite withing Dublin and it's environs, rugby and hockey playing scoffing at any mention of gaa, anti nationalism pro British agenda, is it just me or am I going mad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

I don't know. I don't live in Dublin.

Is this a real thing or just online?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭masti123

It's real, trust me

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 412 ✭✭better call saul

Chucken wrote: »
    I don't know. I don't live in Dublin.

Is this a real thing or just online?

Real of course, it's a different culture altogether, and hate that I've been mixed up in it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Something I've only discovered in the past few months, there seems to be an elite withing Dublin and it's environs, rugby and hockey playing scoffing at any mention of gaa, anti nationalism pro British agenda, is it just me or am I going mad?

Divisions in class is/was pretty bad. Especially when it's a double class. On a Friday afternoon. And it's sunny outside. You wanna be out there, shirt off playing football on the grass.

Not stuck in double maths doing long division. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I wouldn't associate D4ism with pro-British...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Stay off the dublin coast and you'll be grand, we do hate brits and love a bit of GAA once you move bit more in land

Bambi wrote: »
    Stay off the dublin coast and you'll be grand, we do hate brits and love a bit of GAA once you move bit more in land

Lol its nothing to do wit hating brits, just seems to be a hatred among this class for their own country, a disregard of nationalism and patriotism

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

"Is it just me" - are you having a laugh?! Surely you know people have thought this (and some of it is true) for years. Hardly a hidden thing.

Well I've never heard much of it

Real of course, it's a different culture altogether, and hate that I've been mixed up in it

Well if you're comparing Rugby fans and GAA fans, I don't understand it.
    I live 20 minutes from Thomond Park and live in a town with a few former Irish rugby players. There is no snobbery/class division with them.

GAA is also huge here. I've never seen any differences in the people that follow either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Lol its nothing to do wit hating brits, just seems to be a hatred among this class for their own country, a disregard of nationalism and patriotism

Depends on the definition of both 'nationalism' and 'patriotism', I suppose. If the old '800 years' chestnut is trotted out, well, yeah. That's a bit daft. Also inaccurate.

I like Rugby but don't like GAA. Does that make me part of this elite? Where do I sign up?

It depends. Do you support Leinster or Munster Rugby?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Awkward Badger

Have to say regardless of class, sporting interests or whatever else I haven't yet come across anyone I'd class as "Pro British Agenda". Whatever the fcuk that entails.

It depends. Do you support Leinster or Munster Rugby?

Both, but would have to be Leinster if I had to choose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Shure what's de difference man? Sounds like you've been out around dem wesht brits and their notions for too long

Both, but would have to be Leinster if I had to choose.

Both is the correct answer ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

I'm half English. Am I elite or just hate myself?

Divisions in class is/was pretty bad. Especially when it's a double class. On a Friday afternoon. And it's sunny outside. You wanna be out there, shirt off playing football on the grass.

Not stuck in double maths doing long division. :mad:

Yep, class division was prevalent in my school too. 1st three years before we chose our own subjects, our year was divided into 4 classes - C, M, D, F.

Us pupils named the letters: C =Clever M =Mediocre D=Dunce F=Fick.

I was in C
    *polishes prefects badge*

You're a conundrum ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Hate yourself? You're Irish through and through then ( also half English).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

No your right but this was always the case with Dublin and Wicklow, if it wasnt for the south and west, Ireland would still be under british rule and most of the people there would love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭ladhrann

Have to say regardless of class, sporting interests or whatever else I haven't yet come across anyone I'd class as "Pro British Agenda". Whatever the fcuk that entails.

Eoghan Harris and John Bruton??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Awkward Badger

ladhrann wrote: »
    Eoghan Harris and John Bruton??

What about them ? They are pro British agenda ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Ya the fecking West Brits going around wearing British Sports Jerseys!!!

..no.. no wait..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

I bet your're sick and tired of being derided as a Plastic Henry by the born and bred ''SuperEnglish'' who look down their nose at you and mock your accent with the notion that ''your're just trying to be one of us because no ones more poetic,witty,whimsical, and authentic as we are, OMG we're sooo special !'' :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Jaysus you got in early with this weeks Dublin thread and would you believe it, its been done loike a million times.

TL,DR?

The majority of people in most counties are bang on people, a tiny minority are cunts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

No your right but this was always the case with Dublin and Wicklow, if it wasnt for the south and west, Ireland would still be under british rule and most of the people there would love it.
    Either :D or :rolleyes:

Not sure yet. Probably :rolleyes: though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Well if you're comparing Rugby fans and GAA fans, I don't understand it.
    I live 20 minutes from Thomond Park and live in a town with a few former Irish rugby players. There is no snobbery/class division with them.

GAA is also huge here. I've never seen any differences in the people that follow either.

You must be from Adare then. 20 mins to Thomand Park? Do you not know the national speed limit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭The Dagda

WilyCoyote wrote: »
    You must be from Adare then. 20 mins to Thomand Park? Do you not know the national speed limit?

I was thinking Killaloe/Ballina.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I love rugby and GAA, listen dude the middle class don't have any hangups.

I'm a great fan of football also and the saddest thing I see is clowns supporting 'Yanited', Lolpool and Chelski.

Liverpool especially, their fans produce the biggest bullsh1t going. RAWK Meltdown on Twitter is always good for a laugh.

It pains me to see the real boys out there trying to make a stand. Ireland doesn't have much of a soccer culture because these sh1tes won't support the domestic league. You Jackeens for instance, you've 4 LOI teams to support, Pats, Bohs, Rovers and Shels (in the first division.)

Stop pissing around and start going to games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I love rugby and GAA, listen dude the middle class don't have any hangups.

I'm a great fan of football also and the saddest thing I see is clowns supporting 'Yanited', Lolpool and Chelski.

Liverpool especially, their fans produce the biggest bullsh1t going. RAWK Meltdown on Twitter is always good for a laugh.

It pains me to see the real boys out there trying to make a stand. Ireland doesn't have much of a soccer culture because these sh1tes won't support the domestic league. You Jackeens for instance, you've 4 LOI teams to support, Pats, Bohs, Rovers and Shels (in the first division.)

Stop pissing around and start going to games.
    People dont watch premier league because of some defect in their character. They watch it because they enjoy seeing top quality players plying their trade. You dont get this with LOI.
    Although I do agree, the tribalism engaged in by grown men for a team they have no real affiliation with is questionable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

What about them ? They are pro British agenda ?

Essentially.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

Well I've never heard much of it

Pfffftt. Totes bogger. As I said to Tarquin only the other day, while waiting for a tennis court to come free - "Sure they don't have a clue loike, bogball is their loife ffs".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Lots of tea and extremely greasy food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

People dont watch premier league because of some defect in their character. They watch it because they enjoy seeing top quality players plying their trade. You dont get this with LOI.
    Although I do agree, the tribalism engaged in by grown men for a team they have no real affiliation with is questionable.

Football culture means something in England and on the Continent, supporting your local team whether it be Grimsby Town or Man United. Saying the masses support the best quality means you don't understand their culture, it's not a consumer product it's something that these men have ingrained in them from a young age.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Of course, South Dublin elite Garrett Fitzgerald passed comment on Donneycarney local Charles Haughey that he had a "flawed pedigree"

We all know about Haughey. Wasn't his fault as he just wasn't bred of the right stuff :rolleyes:

Football culture means something in England and on the Continent, supporting your local team whether it be Grimsby Town or Man United. Saying the masses support the best quality means you don't understand their culture, it's not a consumer product it's something that these men have ingrained in them from a young age. Their born with it

I guess I can only speak for myself and my pals, we would watch games from the premiership, bundesliga, la liga, Eredivisie, series A, champos, europa, WC because there is quality football on show. Quality football is a rarity in the LOI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭RobYourBuilder

I guess I can only speak for myself and my pals, we would watch games from the premiership, bundesliga, la liga, Eredivisie, series A, champos, europa, WC because there is quality football on show. Quality football is a rarity in the LOI.

Did you watch the Dundalk and Pats game on RTE last Friday? An entertaining game with some quality players on display.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

If only there were a place where we could talk about football...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

If only there were a place where we could talk about football...

And if only everyone who wants to talk about football would go there :-)

I actually met someone who described themselves as a west Brit a couple of weeks ago. It's a moniker I have never heard anyone apply to themselves. She was working the eccentric vibe though, so that may have been part of it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Pfffftt. Totes bogger. As I said to Tarquin only the other day, while waiting for a tennis court to come free - "Sure they don't have a clue loike, bogball is their loife ffs".

So that's where Tarquin was last week. I had searched everywhere for him as we had a tricky cricket outing against Douglas Newman Good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,730 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

What I've noticed is that pro - British or west Brit are terms ignorant or stupid people ascribe to arrogant / annoying people that they don't like or have anything in common with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Bambi wrote: »

Speak for yourself, it sounds like I need to move to D4.:p

Did you watch the Dundalk and Pats game on RTE last Friday? An entertaining game with some quality players on display.

Fair enough, an exception rather than the rule but I take your point that some if games can be ok

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭traprunner

In Dublin it's something like this:
    1. Banker and Property Developers class
    2. Horse Show class
    3. Hockey class
    4. Rugby class
    5. Soccer class
    6. GAA class (because they think everyone that likes GAA is a bogger)
    7. Long term dole class

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,376 ✭✭✭The_Captain

In Dublin, horses are for knackers. Horse Show class is solely for posh boggers with stables

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Balmed Out wrote: »
    What I've noticed is that pro - British or west Brit are terms ignorant or stupid people ascribe to arrogant / annoying people that they don't like or have anything in common with.
    Pro-British or "West Brit" are derogatory terms used by small-minded simpletons to describe anyone who doesn't subscribe to the notion that Northern Ireland belongs to people who've never even lived there (read: Southern Irish) and that the IRA of the 1970s and 80s were freedom fighters rather than butchers and scumbags.

I would describe myself as specifically non-nationalist*, but I love GAA, have little interest in rugby or soccer and have never watched a hockey game in my life.

Class divisions only exist in your head OP. You put them there yourself to convince yourself that there's something wrong with people who don't agree with you.

*I love Ireland, but I recognise that I love Ireland because I was born here by pure chance and had a fun upbringing. I would be willing to fight to defend Ireland only insofar as I would fight to protect my family and our freedom. If a merger with the UK was proposed tomorrow which would result in a better and more prosperous democratic state, I would consider it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,730 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

seamus wrote: »
    Pro-British or "West Brit" are derogatory terms used by small-minded simpletons to describe anyone who doesn't subscribe to the notion that Northern Ireland belongs to people who've never even lived there (read: Southern Irish) and that the IRA of the 1970s and 80s were freedom fighters rather than butchers and scumbags.

I wouldn't give them so much credit, most people who use it to describe someone else have absolutely no idea of the others political beliefs.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,550 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

Wait, you mean people are allowed to choose which sports to watch and what politics to believe in? Next youll be saying that they dont have to live their lives accordig to the parish priest's dicta!

Seriously though OP, you seem to know very little about Ireland. Limerick is the rugby heartland, dublin have good (but, sadly, not great) football and hurling teams and hockey is played on a limited basis in various parts of ireland (including Mayo for example -http://www.mayosports.ie/ProgrammesGrants/Projects/ ).

As for politics, if anti nationalist and pro british means being in favour of northern ireland remaining in the uk and giving up our territorial claim to it, thats 94% of the population according to the good friday referendum. So unless people in dublin voted twice and people outside of dublin not at all, it couldnt posssibly be just Dublin.

The real problem is that a lot of people dislike Dublin for reasons they cant explain, and some of them try desperately to try to identify something to show that theyre different folk!