Class division is real

• 08-09-2014 12:26AM
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 412 ✭✭

Something I've only discovered in the past few months, there seems to be an elite withing Dublin and it's environs, rugby and hockey playing scoffing at any mention of gaa, anti nationalism pro British agenda, is it just me or am I going mad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

I don't know. I don't live in Dublin.

Is this a real thing or just online?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭masti123

It's real, trust me

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 412 ✭✭better call saul

Chucken wrote: »
    I don't know. I don't live in Dublin.

Is this a real thing or just online?

Real of course, it's a different culture altogether, and hate that I've been mixed up in it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Something I've only discovered in the past few months, there seems to be an elite withing Dublin and it's environs, rugby and hockey playing scoffing at any mention of gaa, anti nationalism pro British agenda, is it just me or am I going mad?

Divisions in class is/was pretty bad. Especially when it's a double class. On a Friday afternoon. And it's sunny outside. You wanna be out there, shirt off playing football on the grass.

Not stuck in double maths doing long division. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I wouldn't associate D4ism with pro-British...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Stay off the dublin coast and you'll be grand, we do hate brits and love a bit of GAA once you move bit more in land

Bambi wrote: »
    Stay off the dublin coast and you'll be grand, we do hate brits and love a bit of GAA once you move bit more in land

Lol its nothing to do wit hating brits, just seems to be a hatred among this class for their own country, a disregard of nationalism and patriotism

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

"Is it just me" - are you having a laugh?! Surely you know people have thought this (and some of it is true) for years. Hardly a hidden thing.

Well I've never heard much of it

Real of course, it's a different culture altogether, and hate that I've been mixed up in it

Well if you're comparing Rugby fans and GAA fans, I don't understand it.
    I live 20 minutes from Thomond Park and live in a town with a few former Irish rugby players. There is no snobbery/class division with them.

GAA is also huge here. I've never seen any differences in the people that follow either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Lol its nothing to do wit hating brits, just seems to be a hatred among this class for their own country, a disregard of nationalism and patriotism

Depends on the definition of both 'nationalism' and 'patriotism', I suppose. If the old '800 years' chestnut is trotted out, well, yeah. That's a bit daft. Also inaccurate.

I like Rugby but don't like GAA. Does that make me part of this elite? Where do I sign up?

It depends. Do you support Leinster or Munster Rugby?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Awkward Badger

Have to say regardless of class, sporting interests or whatever else I haven't yet come across anyone I'd class as "Pro British Agenda". Whatever the fcuk that entails.

It depends. Do you support Leinster or Munster Rugby?

Both, but would have to be Leinster if I had to choose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Shure what's de difference man? Sounds like you've been out around dem wesht brits and their notions for too long

Both, but would have to be Leinster if I had to choose.

Both is the correct answer ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

I'm half English. Am I elite or just hate myself?

Divisions in class is/was pretty bad. Especially when it's a double class. On a Friday afternoon. And it's sunny outside. You wanna be out there, shirt off playing football on the grass.

Not stuck in double maths doing long division. :mad:

Yep, class division was prevalent in my school too. 1st three years before we chose our own subjects, our year was divided into 4 classes - C, M, D, F.

Us pupils named the letters: C =Clever M =Mediocre D=Dunce F=Fick.

I was in C
    *polishes prefects badge*

You're a conundrum ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Hate yourself? You're Irish through and through then ( also half English).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

No your right but this was always the case with Dublin and Wicklow, if it wasnt for the south and west, Ireland would still be under british rule and most of the people there would love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭ladhrann

Have to say regardless of class, sporting interests or whatever else I haven't yet come across anyone I'd class as "Pro British Agenda". Whatever the fcuk that entails.

Eoghan Harris and John Bruton??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Awkward Badger

ladhrann wrote: »
    Eoghan Harris and John Bruton??

What about them ? They are pro British agenda ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,114 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Ya the fecking West Brits going around wearing British Sports Jerseys!!!

..no.. no wait..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

I bet your're sick and tired of being derided as a Plastic Henry by the born and bred ''SuperEnglish'' who look down their nose at you and mock your accent with the notion that ''your're just trying to be one of us because no ones more poetic,witty,whimsical, and authentic as we are, OMG we're sooo special !'' :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Jaysus you got in early with this weeks Dublin thread and would you believe it, its been done loike a million times.

TL,DR?

The majority of people in most counties are bang on people, a tiny minority are cunts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

No your right but this was always the case with Dublin and Wicklow, if it wasnt for the south and west, Ireland would still be under british rule and most of the people there would love it.
    Either :D or :rolleyes:

Not sure yet. Probably :rolleyes: though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Well if you're comparing Rugby fans and GAA fans, I don't understand it.
    I live 20 minutes from Thomond Park and live in a town with a few former Irish rugby players. There is no snobbery/class division with them.

GAA is also huge here. I've never seen any differences in the people that follow either.

You must be from Adare then. 20 mins to Thomand Park? Do you not know the national speed limit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭The Dagda

WilyCoyote wrote: »
    You must be from Adare then. 20 mins to Thomand Park? Do you not know the national speed limit?

I was thinking Killaloe/Ballina.