Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

NBA 2K15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,515 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Finally finished my 2nd season. Clean Swept everyone and won Finals MVP. Agent gave me a list of teams interested in me......Bulls had the least interest of any team.....cheers lads! I went with Rockets for my 3rd season, getting double the amount of VC for every game.

Rated 87, I said I'd give The Park another go. Last time I was on, I was level 2. Played about 10 games, lost the majority due to absolute idiot teammates. Only went up 1 level and still have zero things unlocked. No moves, animations, etc. I don't mind grinding levels if the games are fun but only 1 game I had I actually enjoyed and that's because the 2 guys on my team passed and took open shots. Wish it was better as I can't really face a 3rd season in My Career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,868 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

sheehy83 wrote: »
    as I can't really face a 3rd season in My Career.

The seasons are long (can't be helped as that's just how the NBA is). 80+ games can be annoying, and I feel obliged to play the majority of them (stat attacking)
    I'm just coming up to the play-offs in my second season (SG with the Thunder).

I've tried to keep it varied by messing the game length time and difficulty but yeah, I think a third season could be a slog, especially as my player's stats aren't going to develop much more, I think I've got 12 more attribute upgrades left.

Yeah, I want to get my guy up to a rating of 90 (shooting, athletics already maxed) Will tap away away at it but the 16 games in the playoffs (clean sweep) is a slog as it is.

Did ye see the Flyers won the My Park Championship and got a new court. Looks class. I can't even leave my court yet as I'm only level 3. Also Level 3 said it unlocks signature introductions but still locked for me.

Might forfeit my 3 levels and join the Flyers with their fancy new court on an Aircraft Carrier! :pac:

11034913_10155277641875305_942405794617026574_n.jpg?oh=60ce400e0a934e9f68bb0d92944f3931&oe=55941910

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,548 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Well it looks like my digital copy of 2k15 on ps4 is well and truly broken. Loaded up MyGM as usual and go into a simcast, then a message appears in the bottom left corner telling me I've to go back to the menu to install a new update. So I exit out to the main menu and it's stuck loading for a good 10 minutes. Decided to close the game at that point, and start it again, but now I can't get past the loading screen with all the team logos. Then I check the game information and the download status says 48.88GB/48.88GB??? It should say "Complete", so I'm thinking this is the root of the problem. If anyone could shed some light on how to fix this, I'd greatly appreciate it! I might just end up deleting and reinstalling it though.

Haven't played in about a week but getting that update needed message during my career the whole time. Then servers wouldn't load my career and i just gave up. That sounds very weird what's happening you though. I'll be on my ps4 shortly, I'll check the dowload/file size of my digital copy.

Not sure if the servers are acting up or what the craic is but I've decided to reinstall and find out for sure. Going by my internet speed, I'll have my answer after I've completed Half Life 3.

Update: Reinstalled and all seems to be ok so far.

martyos121 wrote: »
    Update: Reinstalled and all seems to be ok so far.

Weird one. Forgot to say I checked and showd size as completed so something definitely up there.

Yeah the odd thing is that it says completed when the game is closed, but when I'm playing it, it's 48.88/48.88GB. Still is now actually but it seems to be working fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭stephenl15

Thinking of getting this! Is a lot of the bugs/complaints patched or ironed out or is it still bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Mr Blobby

stephenl15 wrote: »
    Thinking of getting this! Is a lot of the bugs/complaints patched or ironed out or is it still bad

Wondering the same.
    I won't touch online since i'll be sticking to career.

stephenl15 wrote: »

Define the bugs/complaints?

Can't say I noticed anything even at launch bar maybe the Park being unplayable.

The only problems I see the game having are staleness' if you've played a lot of editions.
    Very little change to the core gameplay etc.

It's good for about 20 odd hours either way though.

The last I played was a few online games and the problems of 3 point bandits and unrealistic playing style leading to success was still there.

Be a great local multiplayer though if someone had buddies to play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,294 ✭✭✭shamrock55

Im just downloading this as we speak ( i know im a bit late but im board and just went with this as i like b- ball but never played one of the games before) so what type of game modes are there and which are the best, the bleedin thing is taking an age to download:rolleyes:

So ive played about 5 games so far,2 in season mode and 3 online games and lost them all, im a bit bored with it already tbh, i cant attack or defend for ****, im sorry i got it now,does anyone have any tips for me so i might enjoy it more there seems to be an awfull lot of button combos for offensive and defensive play

shamrock55 wrote: »
    So ive played about 5 games so far,2 in season mode and 3 online games and lost them all, im a bit bored with it already tbh, i cant attack or defend for ****, im sorry i got it now,does anyone have any tips for me so i might enjoy it more there seems to be an awfull lot of button combos for offensive and defensive play

Master the pick and roll. It's my go-to option on offense nearly all the time and usually either creates a clear lane to drive to the basket, or gives you an open 3 shot. It's incredibly effective when you get it right, just hold down circle/B until one of the bigs has a green icon above his head. Another great tip from this is if it creates a lane to the basket, drive to it and as you're about to finish, pass to a good 3 point shooter if you have one. He will be wide open 9 times out of 10.
    Hope that helps a bit.

Thanks for that, ill give it a go, any defensive tips, i find i tend to mash at every button when defending which i dont want to be doing obviously:D i want to be more deliberate in defence

Key for defence is being conservative. Never try and steal if the opponent is holding onto or dribbling the ball, you're more likely to foul than actually turn the ball over. If your playing as a team as opposed to mycareer, always pick one good defensive player on the court and stick to him, don't switch. Focus on controlling one man and your AI teammates will do a good job with the rest. As for controlling that one man, and this applies to mycareer too, il give you a basic rundown of how to manage that:
    If you're guarding a PG or SG, he'll nearly always be on the perimeter. If he has the ball, leave about a metre between ye. This is a good distance because he won't try a 3 in that situation, and you're also far enough away to react to a drive. If he tries to drive to the basket, try your best to get in his path and hold L2/LT. Sometimes he will get past you, other times he will be stopped and pass it away.
    I'm not particularly great at defence myself, but if I were to go into detail of what to do in every situation, I'd be here all night lol. The above should cover you most of the time, but blocking, rebounding and stealing has more to it than that. Best of luck, it's a fantastic game when you put everything together and it all clicks into place. It does take time, but it's so worth it.

Cheers marty, i might even give you a few games when i get to grips with it, oh and one more thing in my games im playing with a side on camera view but alot of videos on yt show the view looking down court which looks better i think, how do i change the camera view?

When you're in a game, go through the pause menu and you should have plenty of cameras to choose from. I usually stick to the basic side-on one for team play, but always use the default down-court one for mycareer. Experiment with a few and find what works best for you.
    Will surely be up for a few games when you've got the hang of things, I'm not particularly good either so it should be a close few games!

Im upthepoolfc if you ever fancy giving me a good thrashing:D

What console you on?

Ps3

Ps3

Ah feck I'm on PS4. I think the engine is pretty much the same so all the advice should still apply.

Not to worry thanks anyway

This game is doing my bloody head in.

I went back to it last week since I've nothing to play and I bought it on the store(if I bought a disc id have traded it by now).

Decided to make a PG as my first career was a SG(aspirations to shoot spot up shots) and then i did a PF to help with the park.

This game will NOT let you shoot more than 40-50% while you're low(my low right now isn't exactly low either 81 jumpers, 82 driving layup) anyway.
    You take 45 shots, it wont let more than 20 drop.

You can drive 15 times and the ball just keeps falling off while you're not getting foul calls.
    Same for jumpers they just eventually say "unless you get green this isn't going regardless".

I have no problem with the above but its the consistency, at the other end the AI makes basically every one of those drives or gets fouled.
    Same for the jumpers they just keep sinking them, contested by your team mates and all.

Most of the high salary games end up in 20 point losses as the AI shoots 50%+ as a team and countless guys are 6:8, 4:5, 15:22 etc.
    In my last Ariza shot 0:7, a lot wide open on doubles and Harden was 4:12 which is a consistent trend too.
    Having better team mates doesn't help as the scripting follows you by club.

It's obviously not helped when your team leaves guys like Clay Thompson open or needlessly sag off.

I've lost count as well how many times a big has just stood under the hoop trying to get a charge on the wrong side to the drive leaving an open layup.. This happens loads while I'm being rotated onto properly on my drives.

The double teams as well are fairly cheap, my guy is the only one who's chucked balls miles away into the crowd while ANY AI I double ends up hitting a dimer pass out of there's.
    You get the odd ball up but the success the AI traps you compared to them is just so cheesy.
    There's also the problem that you can't double team as well as the AI since you have to go yourself while they can call anyone.

The reason I think the game plays like this is simple.... They want to make it so unenjoyable that you feel compelled to but the VC to get your player high in the hope it changes.

Very annoying though that the game could be enjoyable but its ruined by some slider rubbish that makes trimmings impossible to avoid.

Yeah, went to play again last week (same, I would have traded it by now if I had a physical disk) but there was a big update so just said forget it. I'm on my 3rd year on my career and beastin' on the court but I just couldn't be bothered to keep going.

I see NBA 2K16 has been announced and if you pre-order, you can play it 5 days early. I think it's absolute bollox. If the game is ready a week early then just release the fecking thing!! I will NOT be pre-ordering this*

*Don't hold it against me when I create the NBA 2K16 thread saying how I just preordered and really looking forward to it :(

Yeah, went to play again last week (same, I would have traded it by now if I had a physical disk) but there was a big update so just said forget it. I'm on my 3rd year on my career and beastin' on the court but I just couldn't be bothered to keep going.

I see NBA 2K16 has been announced and if you pre-order, you can play it 5 days early. I think it's absolute bollox. If the game is ready a week early then just release the fecking thing!! I will NOT be pre-ordering this*

*Don't hold it against me when I create the NBA 2K16 thread saying how I just preordered and really looking forward to it :(

Not sure did I play it before the update.
    Don't remember when it downloaded anyway.

Realistically it hasn't made much difference to the game play.

I've seen a number of flagrant 1s though which weren't there at the start of the year.

It could be so much better if they didn't ride you so bad you feel like buying VC.

I am playing HOF and only higher salary games... Some middle ones... So you could change either of those but you shouldn't have to.

Just annoying to see your bigs try to take an impossible charge or give free throws when you're beat off the dribble while you'd get 6 good drives and its either blocked, no call or an unrealistic roll off when you might have put it up from directly under.

I've been blocked 3 times in a row more than once and it's not even like the blocks you earn where you time a jump, these were just cheesy, ways you wouldn't be able to do yourself.

It's like FIFA scripting in UT but at least that's online and works both ways, this just means you lose game after game as you're team use realistic sliders while the AI just keep scoring.

Man **** this game.

Played a bit of MyTeam lately since it was brought up in the 2016 page a short while ago.

Won my first 7 straight.
    Since then I'm getting hammered but I'm in the max 3 gold division and my players are fairly crap in general never mind the golds.

But what's really annoying me is the jump shot online.
    In the last few games I've been getting reds which are misses whether you're open or not.

Just brought Paddy Mills into practice and got two greens from feck all efforts and I could never score with him so much I sold him.
    No doubt the same would happen for every player im getting the reds with.

I think its related to who's hosting as I've generally been away from home the past 10 games of which I've lost about 8.

Its not even consistent as my opponents are just sinking EVERYTHING, even contested 3s.

Seriously not bothered buying it this year if that's going to continue to be the case as its generally been a problem for years.

So annoying where you can't score unless its a dunk or lay up cause you're getting red releases on nearly every jumper.

HAHAHA sucks doesn't it :D I rarely get reds in my jumpshot but still miss open uncontested shots close enough to perfect.

I'm gonna get 2k16 but mostly for my player (sigh), the park and pro-am (sigh) and if my team is fixed, that'll be a bonus. I know I'm in for a world of pain but maybe, just maybe, it will be a perfect launch where everything will be working fine on release and the game be totally balanced. Could happen right?.....right???

Decided to jump into the park to build coins and maybe buy some myteam packs before playing again to at least even the team balance a bit.

First game, 7 foot guy I'm guarding is just going back and forth outside the perimeter and sinking 3s while you cant possibly move the defender fast enough to keep up.

.... NBA 2k15 Uninstalled :D

Not bothering with 16 unless they sort out the 3 point rubbish in this game.

Button delay, rigid defensive movements, 3 point bandits everywhere... Ughh