Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming ChitChat Ploughs On To Five

• Registered Users Posts: 11,204 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

He was really flying then! Fair play, not enough attention given to athletics.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,357 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    He was really flying then! Fair play, not enough attention given to athletics.
    he wouldnt be the most agile out there but he was looking forward to it yesterday . I told him to pretend the bull was running after him:D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Drove a few stakes for a new paddock for the sheep before i head to killarney. I'll leave the father put up the wire :'-)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

You lucky ducker! :D Have a good one!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Muckit wrote: »
    You lucky ducker! :D Have a good one!

Haha i intend to. Bout 20 of us going down. have the van taxed and insured and she's running on white so everything is nice and legal !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Connemara Farmer

Some handy skills for the hill or in the lambing shed ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 18,539 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Just parked up caravan in Salthill.
    Going to bring the kids to the dog racing tonight, haven't been to the dogs in about 25 years. Been in the dog house a few times though ;)

_Brian wrote: »
    Going to bring the kids to the dog racing tonight, haven't been to the dogs in about 25 years. Been in the dog house a few times though ;)

I was wondering who had brought the weather with them :p

• Registered Users Posts: 3,995 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Left house at 5am, been to loughborough, ascot and slough. Fighting the traffic now to get to the boat!! 4 days off :):)

I was wondering who had brought the weather with them :p

And beer, brought lots of beer too. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,890 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Kilorans on the prom is a nice pub for a few quiet pints and O' Connors up past Seapoint is nice for the diddly eye music but a little touristy.
    The dog track is a nice evening out but bring jackets because it's a breezey spot

whelan2 wrote: »
    ye, in fifth year. Great for the kids to see an improvement year on year

Great idea isn't it.

Bullocks wrote: »
    Kilorans on the prom is a nice pub for a few quiet pints and O' Connors up past Seapoint is nice for the diddly eye music but a little touristy.
    The dog track is a nice evening out but bring jackets because it's a breezey spot

Yep,
    Hoodies jackets and hats.
    Great bit if crack, kids thought it was wonderful.
    Thanks again. We left the prom clear ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Had this little lady this evening out of a 2yo springer, must weight her tomorrow, doesn't even feel like she's 20kg to lift her! Tiny

• Registered Users Posts: 11,204 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

And beer, brought lots of beer too. :)

Brought no beer, cause Kilkenny has lots already :D
    Parked up, hooked up, revved up in Billy Byrnes!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,980 Mod ✭✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Had this little lady this evening out of a 2yo springer, must weight her tomorrow, doesn't even feel like she's 20kg to lift her! Tiny

Plenty of room to grow out where she is now:-)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Plenty of room to grow out where she is now:-)

She'd probably do better on the vast Offaly plains :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,980 Mod ✭✭✭✭Genghis Cant

She'd probably do better on the vast Offaly plains :D

At least she wouldn't sink into the bog too far :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

TB test failed here this morning. Vet gone about an hour and a half ago. Just got stock sorted and in for the breakfast now. Cow who went out of her milk for no apparent reason other than an extended lactation about a month ago went down. Only just but seeing as we were locked up due to an animal we sold last autumn showing lesions in the factory a month ago we'd still be locked up and this girl potentially polluting the place for the next sixty days while we waited for a retest we just knocked her. First loss best loss.

There were a few among the milkers with substantial lumps but all within the tolerances. We'll insist on all of these being blooded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

TB test failed here this morning. Vet gone about an hour and a half ago. Just got stock sorted and in for the breakfast now. Cow who went out of her milk for no apparent reason other than an extended lactation about a month ago went down. Only just but seeing as we were locked up due to an animal we sold last autumn showing lesions in the factory a month ago we'd still be locked up and this girl potentially polluting the place for the next sixty days while we waited for a retest we just knocked her. First loss best loss.

There were a few among the milkers with substantial lumps but all within the tolerances. We'll insist on all of these being blooded.
    That's a balls, freedom, will you be under pressure on stocking rate for the summer or are all stock gone for now?

Sr shouldn't be a problem. The stock earmarked to go were to be replaced by other animals anyway.

Very interesting development by Tesla, power storage technology is one of the big stumbling blocks to solar and other "alternative" energy sources.

http://www.bbc.com/news/technology-32545081

• Registered Users Posts: 11,207 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Sorry to hear that.

feck, is there tb in your area?

Three near neighbours with bad breakdowns in the past couple of years. All lost 50%plus of milking herds one over 90% before he went clear. Pennywise and pound foolish by dept. They wouldn't depopulate to save the extra few quid compo when money was tight and left infected animals around in a relatively clear area for an extended period. The guy who was more or less depopulated had another minor breakdown since despite moving to a completely indoor system. Big badger cull carried out also. The guys involved with that assured us that our setts had been tested and found clear.

That's tough.
    Vet coming to home later to read ours.

That's tough.
    Vet coming to home later to read ours.

Best of luck.

Thanks.
    Just got word, all clear.

Thanks.
    Just got word, all clear.
    thats good, whats the weather like where you are?

Was near dry all day with occasional drizzle. But is belting down for last hour or so, mild enough.
    Seems west coast faired mush better today than midlands and east coast.