If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

LC Off Topic Thread (2015/16)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭coolerboy

PE on a Friday? You poor thing!

Do you not have a half day on Friday?

I only had 4 classes today so it was grand.

Just must've be your day haha.

Haha nahh we dont do half days here....haha ye ino :D

coolerboy wrote: »
    Haha nahh we dont do half days here....haha ye ino :D

We have 9 classes a day 38 mins each...way too much I think

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

We have 9 classes a day 38 mins each...way too much I think

We used to have 9 classes, 40 minutes each.

Now we've 6 classes, 1 hour each and 4 on Friday and let me tell you it is 1,000,000 times better! :pac:

Hahaha il hate to have 1 hr of Irish!!!!

Ah no it's grand.

Everything is based around group work so the glasses tend to fly by!

Ah no it's grand.

Everything is based around group work so the glasses tend to fly by!

Were doing the sraith tbh its extremely boring..... so a 38 minute class seems for ever :)

Oh nice, I guess the whole country must be at this self motivated leaning thing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭LovelySpuds

Today has got to be the worst day of my life.....
    Right I got my chicken fillet roll at lunch then when I opened it it fell on the ground and wouldn't you believe what happened next....A dog comes and eats it :grr: And leaving me with no lunch !!!!! And then at pe while semi naked haha ino, someone pushes me to the wall and I slipped in the shower then the ba**ards turned it on.....haha what a day

Can't beat PE last class on a Wednesday ;)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 27,439 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

That usually happens after a whole school inspection, to comply with the 28 hours for students regulation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,232 ✭✭✭Bazinga_N

Can't beat PE last class on a Wednesday ;)

Can't beat not having to do PE this year<33333

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭DublinArnie

Bazinga_N wrote: »
    Can't beat not having to do PE this year<33333

I enjoy PE. Isn't PE mandatory for all students in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,232 ✭✭✭Bazinga_N

I enjoy PE. Isn't PE mandatory for all students in Ireland?

No? There's definitelty no rule about it that's nationwide :eek: pretty sure it's just school policies. I just asked my princpal if I could use the time as a study class and he gave me the go ahead :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭mayogirlie1

In our school PE rotates every class has it for 7 weeks so I dont have it till January :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭Hana98

Bazinga_N wrote: »
    No? There's definitelty no rule about it that's nationwide :eek: pretty sure it's just school policies. I just asked my princpal if I could use the time as a study class and he gave me the go ahead :D

What?! You're so lucky!! I actually thought it was compulsory too. I'm so tempted to do that with some of my classes :D

In our school if you do LCVP you don't do PE.

I don't do LCVP so I have it first thing ever Tuesday, hate hate hate it!

Honestly though... Gimme extra maths even!
    spurious wrote: »
    That usually happens after a whole school inspection, to comply with the 28 hours for students regulation.

Honestly I haven't a clue, principal just said it's been in the works now for ages.

New time table and new extension, good way to start the year! :pac:

Why do all of you hate PE? My class is pretty obsessed with football so we do that often (which I hate) but when we play games like volly ball or badminton or do fitness circuits or lifting weights - I love it.

I think Physical exercise is very important for good healthy brain for optimum study :). Some people don't get it after school, so PE is vital.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭Hana98

Why do all of you hate PE? My class is pretty obsessed with football so we do that often (which I hate) but when we play games like volly ball or badminton or do fitness circuits or lifting weights - I love it.

I think Physical exercise is very important for good healthy brain for optimum study :). Some people don't get it after school, so PE is vital.

I actually love P.E. I get so into it :D Other people don't put as much effort into it. It's not fair on other people who genuinely try. I definitely wouldn't give up P.E. I love sport so much :)

I hope he doesn't browse Boards cos if he does I'm fecked!:pac:

It's the teacher, had him since first year and he's sound enough but for whatever reason PE turns into lecture class for him.

1 Hour PE class - 40 minute lecture/giving out - 10 minutes activity - 10 minutes to get changed.

I was in an LCVP briefly and the teacher was just like... Not doing PE? Grand! Everyone else do what ye want!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 phoebo

Anyone else going to the UCD Science open evening this month? Wondering if they would mind 5th Years going

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭kb98

phoebo wrote: »
    Anyone else going to the UCD Science open evening this month? Wondering if they would mind 5th Years going
    I was thinking of going to a few open days this year, maybe like tcd, ucd and rcsi, i presume they don't really mind if 5th years go?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 phoebo

kb98 wrote: »
    I was thinking of going to a few open days this year, maybe like tcd, ucd and rcsi, i presume they don't really mind if 5th years go?

Yeah, although on their website for the Open Evening it said for 6th Years and mature students but i suppose how are they gonna know!

phoebo wrote: »
    Yeah, although on their website for the Open Evening it said for 6th Years and mature students but i suppose how are they gonna know!

True :)

I'm going to the Trinity Open Day in December, and might go to DCU as well :D

Are the dates for junior cert appeals finished yet because I calculated my lowest grades which were all 86% but cspe was 88% and I still got a B those subjects were maths tech g technology and cspe.....and my religion and english should have been Bs the lowest possible grade was 78% and 71% respectively........ and still got Cs. I think that my religion was greatly miscalculated :)

░░░░░▄▄▄▄▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▄▄▄▄▄▄░░░░░░░
    ░░░░░█░░░░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░░▀▀▄░░░░
    ░░░░█░░░▒▒▒▒▒▒░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░░█░░░
    ░░░█░░░░░░▄██▀▄▄░░░░░▄▄▄░░░░█░░
    ░▄▀▒▄▄▄▒░█▀▀▀▀▄▄█░░░██▄▄█░░░░█░
    █░▒█▒▄░▀▄▄▄▀░░░░░░░░█░░░▒▒▒▒▒░█
    █░▒█░█▀▄▄░░░░░█▀░░░░▀▄░░▄▀▀▀▄▒█
    ░█░▀▄░█▄░█▀▄▄░▀░▀▀░▄▄▀░░░░█░░█░
    ░░█░░░▀▄▀█▄▄░█▀▀▀▄▄▄▄▀▀█▀██░█░░
    ░░░█░░░░██░░▀█▄▄▄█▄▄█▄████░█░░░
    ░░░░█░░░░▀▀▄░█░░░█░█▀██████░█░░
    ░░░░░▀▄░░░░░▀▀▄▄▄█▄█▄█▄█▄▀░░█░░
    ░░░░░░░▀▄▄░▒▒▒▒░░░░░░░░░░▒░░░█░
    ░░░░░░░░░░▀▀▄▄░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░░░░█░
    ░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▀▄▄▄▄▄░░░░░░░░█░░

░░░░░▄▄▄▄▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▄▄▄▄▄▄░░░░░░░
    ░░░░░█░░░░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░░▀▀▄░░░░
    ░░░░█░░░▒▒▒▒▒▒░░░░░░░░▒▒▒░░█░░░
    ░░░█░░░░░░▄██▀▄▄░░░░░▄▄▄░░░░█░░
    ░▄▀▒▄▄▄▒░█▀▀▀▀▄▄█░░░██▄▄█░░░░█░
    █░▒█▒▄░▀▄▄▄▀░░░░░░░░█░░░▒▒▒▒▒░█
    █░▒█░█▀▄▄░░░░░█▀░░░░▀▄░░▄▀▀▀▄▒█
    ░█░▀▄░█▄░█▀▄▄░▀░▀▀░▄▄▀░░░░█░░█░
    ░░█░░░▀▄▀█▄▄░█▀▀▀▄▄▄▄▀▀█▀██░█░░
    ░░░█░░░░██░░▀█▄▄▄█▄▄█▄████░█░░░
    ░░░░█░░░░▀▀▄░█░░░█░█▀██████░█░░
    ░░░░░▀▄░░░░░▀▀▄▄▄█▄█▄█▄█▄▀░░█░░
    ░░░░░░░▀▄▄░▒▒▒▒░░░░░░░░░░▒░░░█░
    ░░░░░░░░░░▀▀▄▄░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░░░░█░
    ░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▀▄▄▄▄▄░░░░░░░░█░░

What results did you get in the end?

kb98 wrote: »
    What results did you get in the end?

I am disappointed with them I got 2as 6bs and 3cs....got As in science and geography...all higher except cspe. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Consonata

I am disappointed with them I got 2as 6bs and 3cs....got As in science and geography...all higher except cspe. :(

Do they really matter enough to you that much that it is worth appealing them? Surely its better to be looking to your future exams than reminiscing on past ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭Beca19

Pretty sure the closing date for appeals was the 26th :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭Take Your Pants Off

Hi, lads any help in this question.
    Solve 2x^2 - root3x -3=0
    I think you have to sub in a substitution such as u.for root3x