Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread V2.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Why is updating Mobo bios so stressful?

PC didnt start straight away and im having mini heart attacks.

/Damn you MSI and removing bios from the updater thingie I have 2 more to do. Cant handle another one tonight.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 7,445 Mod ✭✭✭✭pleasant Co.

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Damn you MSI and removing bios from the updater thingie I have 2 more to do. Cant handle another one tonight.

ugh, when did they do that?

Not sure I guess sometime this year, I was on M7 for my Mobo, checked the other day and there 3 out since. I check the updater thing every few weeks for updates and Bios

https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/support/X99S-MPOWER.html#down-bios

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Monotype wrote: »
    I would just remove all the ones except the one that you want the OS on.
    Switch to AHCI and install.
    Reconnect the old drives and all your stuff should be on the HDDs (programs tied to your old windows may be broken).

Programs and stuff I don't care about. I just want to keep few documents, fotos and movies. Other then that - clean fresh install. Won't there be issue with those hdds as the system is now on Ahci?

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Why is updating Mobo bios so stressful?

PC didnt start straight away and im having mini heart attacks.

/Damn you MSI and removing bios from the updater thingie I have 2 more to do. Cant handle another one tonight.

The way I see mobo updates: if it's working, don't touch the fecking thing. Its just so easy to feck it up and do more harm then good with those updates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Just spent the last two hours straightening pins on an FX-9370. So stressful! Everything is just so crappy about AMD cpu's - pin design, huge power requirements, medicore performance, really bad thermals. Using the FX-9370 on an air cooler with a twin fan setup and it's still idling at 51c. Thankfully the pin straightening went well and it's working at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭Digital Solitude

Standard Thursday evening?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭SickBoy

Programs and stuff I don't care about. I just want to keep few documents, fotos and movies. Other then that - clean fresh install. Won't there be issue with those hdds as the system is now on Ahci?

AHCI, ATA or RAID modes on your hard drive controller only impact your ability (or lack there of) to boot your operating system when changed.
    The data on the drive stays fully intact.
    As mentioned above by Monotype, a good tip if you're not sure is to disconnect all other drives while reinstalling to ensure you don't blow away the wrong drive/partition.

The way I see mobo updates: if it's working, don't touch the fecking thing. Its just so easy to feck it up and do more harm then good with those updates.

Normally I would agree but my mobo has a tendency to forget which ports are USB 3.0 and the bios update is supposed to fix it.

Plus I was originally locked in my 5960X as the best CPU I could buy as I bought my PC before Skylake (it was delayed, it was kitchen or 4690 or X99) now my mobo has the ability to run a 6950X :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,532 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

might be a stupid question lads but sure il try, Ive my desktop hooked up to the internet via an ethernet cable at one end of a long house and the modem at the other end so wifi doesnt stretch. Is there any way i can plug something into my pc to broadcast wifi from it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

might be a stupid question lads but sure il try, Ive my desktop hooked up to the internet via an ethernet cable at one end of a long house and the modem at the other end so wifi doesnt stretch. Is there any way i can plug something into my pc to broadcast wifi from it?

I think I remember reading it's possible with windows 10. A quick google throws up this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,222 ✭✭✭Calvin

There's also software that does it...Connectify I think it's called. You could also get a pair of powerline adapters. Top quality stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,532 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

There's also software that does it...Connectify I think it's called. You could also get a pair of powerline adapters. Top quality stuff.

i actually have some good tp link ones i just cant figure out how to clone my wifi through them, ive tried the clone button on them as well as following the instructions, and i ve tried to use the password on the back of the adapter itself but no joy with either way, authentication always fails for some reason

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,727 ✭✭✭Metric Tensor

I did this in my house with an old router and a wired powerline adapter that I already had. I downloaded OpenWRT and flashed the router with it - then set it up with the same SSID, etc. and I can walk from one wifi zone to the other now without problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,222 ✭✭✭Calvin

i actually have some good tp link ones i just cant figure out how to clone my wifi through them, ive tried the clone button on them as well as following the instructions, and i ve tried to use the password on the back of the adapter itself but no joy with either way, authentication always fails for some reason

By chance are they the 4220 kit ones? I have those and iirc, when I first set them up, one was connected directly to the modem via cable and the other one all I had to do was press and hold the wps button on both adapter and modem and it synced up.

Noone questions how big is your fecking house icysean?

Sean Quinn???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,387 ✭✭✭glynf

You could put a small gigabit switch like a €20 netgear at the end of the ethernet cable, the plug your PC & a decent wireless AP into it.
    Picked up a long range ubiquiti AP off amazon for less than €100 for the home place.

It works very well-especially considering its a big enough and old house (200 yrs + so 2ft thick walls in places), so they're well worth the money if you use a lot of wireless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭..Brian..

Lads, where are the best sites to buy laptops?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭dunworth1

glynf wrote:
    You could put a small gigabit switch like a €20 netgear at the end of the ethernet cable, the plug your PC & a decent wireless AP into it. Picked up a long range ubiquiti AP off amazon for less than €100 for the home place.

Lots of APs have an integrated switch.

The pro version of of the unifi has a pass through

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

..Brian.. wrote: »
    Lads, where are the best sites to buy laptops?

What kind of laptop, how much are you willing to spend? If you're looking for something high end I'd look for offers on overclockers and pcspecialist. Otherwise I suppose shop around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 803 ✭✭✭BelovedAunt

Lads I want to sell an old pc, it has everything except for ram. Here are the specs:

Cpu: Intel Core i3-2100 3.1 Ghz (Sandybrigde 1155)
    Motherboard:MSI B75MA-P45
    Graphics: AMD Radeon HD 6870 1GB
    Case: FRACTAL DESIGN Core 1000
    Power Supply: OCZ 400 W Silencer MK III (Modular)
    Storage: OCZ Vertix 4 128GB SSD

It also has an external wifi adapter that sits on top of it but I'm not sure of the model. What would be a realistic asking price for this? Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Buy the RAM and sell it as working vs parts/barebones. Itll fetch more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Nice looking rig.

14563490_1814580852152961_2077910473521035982_n.jpg?oh=32c3c29f5e6cefecd20b7b23a2a154da&oe=5861BB16

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,266 ✭✭✭Shlippery

Lads, quick one for ye, got my NZXT S340, beauty of a case. Will throw up pictures at some stage.

I was transplanting my mobo to new case (such a pain in the ass.)

Only thing missing was USB 3.0. I've 2 front panel usb 3.0 ports on the new case but no slot to plug it into the mobo (it's Asrock P67 Pro from 2011)

Is it possible to get a PCI card? Or would there be an adaptor to convert them to USB 2.0?

I don't mind what speed it is really, i'd just rather have the two ports doing something rather than sitting there unused until I get a new motherboard further down the line!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Either or, really. You can get a PCI card handily enough but an adaptor would be way cheaper obviously. Not having front USB ports is something you think won't be a huge deal but it very quickly turns out to be a pain!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,766 Mod ✭✭✭✭mossym

Nice looking rig.

I'll have an americano and two lattes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,266 ✭✭✭Shlippery

Either or, really. You can get a PCI card handily enough but an adaptor would be way cheaper obviously. Not having front USB ports is something you think won't be a huge deal but it very quickly turns out to be a pain!

http://www.roccat.org/en-IE/Products/Gaming-Accessories/Apuri/ Ah I have one of these lads so i'm not stuck for portss, but it would be nice to get them up and running!

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Akasa-AK-CBUB19-10BK-USB-Adapter-Cable/dp/B00BQ8A6N6/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1476182528&sr=8-1&keywords=usb+3.0+to+usb+2.0

this should do the trick so, just need to find another £20 of stuff to buy from Amazon :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭Awkward Customer

Had a dream last night where I ordered a Western Digital Green drive off of Amazon (I hadn't) and they sent me a WD Red instead. Quite bizarre and sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭SickBoy

Had a dream last night where I ordered a Western Digital Green drive off of Amazon (I hadn't) and they sent me a WD Red instead. Quite bizarre and sad.

Kinky!

That "rig" looks horrible. I am pretty sure few weeks in it will be a dusty mess and a pain in a hole to clean.
    I might be out of touch with what people find fashionable, but for me it was always a clean, "less details the better" cases.

on other topic: when we would expect Skylake replacement? Zen shouldn't be that far away too? Really would be tempted to upgrade my 2500k, but don't want to go Skylake with new shiny not that far off.