Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

European Championshps Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭andyman

What a scumbag. He only got that break because of the chaos behind and he celebrates and takes the piss like that.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭pajor

John.Icy wrote: »
    mother of god, the lack of ability of the Eurosport commentators to read the names of the two Irish athletes is boggling. Even on the replay stuck to Robinson being the one who fell!! And again there now!

My first annoyance. :pac:

Gap between O'Hare and Robinson was 0.17s!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭shiibata

To be honest, its a wonder a lot more didn't fall, thought it was Beechers Brook there for a minute..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Such a shame. Had the makings of a really good race for the Irish. Wonder what might have been....

• Registered Users Posts: 4,016 ✭✭✭Itziger

I just hope Ken's injury doesn't resurface after that. Horrible looking incident. Great run by Robinson, a real championship runner, gives himself a chance. Did O Hare kick it all off with his first move?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

Robinson (IMO) ran a bad race tactically, stuck to the inside he left himself with too much to do in the last 300m and it cost him a medal. But he his very young and I see him as a European medalist at some stage. Just pure bad luck for O'Lionaird, he looked really good to me and full of running.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭gerard_65

I thought Robinson had a medal, so close, I was shouting at the tele, but a great run. Hope Len is OK, looked like a hamstring.
    Mekhissi-Benabbad is a twat.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,137 ✭✭✭rom

What a race

That was a great finish. What a last leg from the French.

Itziger wrote: »
    I just hope Ken's injury doesn't resurface after that. Horrible looking incident. Great run by Robinson, a real championship runner, gives himself a chance. Did O Hare kick it all off with his first move?

Ye, great run by Robinson, unfortunately presently overshadowed by the falls in the race.
    BBC tried their hardest to blame the French lad for the falls, nearly killed them to say he wasn't responsible

gerard_65 wrote: »

Unreal! What an afternoon! I'm exhausted with the tension!!!!!!

The Ukrainian anchor will regret that for the rest of her life.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,357 ✭✭✭Wrongway1985

Gabby Logan we know you're a mother we've heard that the other 50 times you mentioned that this week.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,687 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

What time is the mens 400 relay final on?

Stheno wrote: »

14:42 according to schedule

• Registered Users Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Stheno wrote: »

On in next few minutes. 2.42 start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 277 ✭✭Sanchez83

I'd disagree with you PConn.The position Robinson took kept him out of trouble.
    The only move he couldn't cover was Benebahds but nobody covered that move.
    I don't think Paul could have done much more to be honest.
    O Lionard was very unlucky.

Here we go. Good luck lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭andyman

Morrissey ran an excellent 3rd leg there.

Good run and a NR.

Hammered the national record again, fair play to them, 3.01.67

Good run and a NR.

By almost 2 seconds!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Good run and a NR.

By almost 2 full seconds, i think that was an excellent performance.

Sanchez83 wrote: »
    I'd disagree with you PConn.The position Robinson took kept him out of trouble.
    The only move he couldn't cover was Benebahds but nobody covered that move.
    I don't think Paul could have done much more to be honest.
    O Lionard was very unlucky.

Just watched the race again and perhaps I was a little harsh, I'm a big fan of Robinson's. Such a messy race he did well just to stay standing.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

andyman wrote: »
    Morrissey ran an excellent 3rd leg there.

Ya that's the first thing I noticed about the race. Any split times available yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Just looking at the relay team there. Gregan was the old man of the team at 24, the others are 21, 22 and 23. If they can all stay fit there are many years of improvement ahead surely?

Excellent last leg by Martin Rooney too, in the shape of his life.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,364 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Robinson always looks to me like he's not going to go...then bangs it out. Thought he had a good run...shame about all the falls.

AI have put in an appeal according to twitter.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,357 ✭✭✭Wrongway1985

pconn062 wrote: »
    Excellent last leg by Martin Rooney too, in the shape of his life.

Ya great to see him do well after injury issues, really took the race by the scruff of the neck

Slightly off topic here but as we are talking about 4x400 presently, why do 400m races not take place in Ireland until u17 level?