Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What Makes You Cringe ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭BikeQueery

I can see why ye get so frustrated at Fr. Ted references, what with those sparkling wits of yours :pac:

If you think quoting father Ted is wit, it's really not... it's cringe worthy, as per the thread. Something something those women were in the nip. Yawn!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Fakman87

Irish Nationalism.

I'm currently cringing at how many people have jumped on the MMA band wagon here because of Conor McGregor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

BikeQueery wrote: »
    If you think quoting father Ted is wit, it's really not... it's cringe worthy, as per the thread. Something something those women were in the nip. Yawn!

Didn't say it was funny. Just implied you weren't funny either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

Fakman87 wrote: »
    Irish Nationalism.

I'm currently cringing at how many people have jumped on the MMA band wagon here because of Conor McGregor.

I've been meaning to watch the sport for a while. I subscribed to the free trial of the UFC TV service and watched it and liked what I saw. So I've kept up my subscription and watched a fair amount of other fights now. Just because people get exposed to a new sport and like it doesn't mean it has to with band wagonning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Lyaiera wrote: »
    I've been meaning to watch the sport for a while. I subscribed to the free trial of the UFC TV service and watched it and liked what I saw. So I've kept up my subscription and watched a fair amount of other fights now. Just because people get exposed to a new sport and like it doesn't mean it has to with band wagonning.

Cringe :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,199 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

The first line of that show that comes into your head go into any thread in AH's and reply to someone with it instant most thanked post of the day.......

That's what your up against here :p.

Didn't say it was funny. Just implied you weren't funny either.

Am I trying to be?? (No)

You're not funny either by the way. :rolleyes:

The first line of that show that comes into your head go into any thread in AH's and reply to someone with it instant most thanked post of the day.......

That's what your up against here :p.

Fcukin hell :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Hotfail.com

Am I trying to be?? (No)

You both have lovely bottoms senses of humour.

:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Am I trying to be?? (No)

Blah blah

Blah blah

Blah blah blah

• Closed Accounts Posts: 750 ✭✭✭playedalive

When my Aunt says Marks and Sparks for M&S. Cringe factor 100 :eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,705 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

The way Irish women are "done up" on TV, especially on game shows, morning/afternoon tv... and Off the Rail.
    The pouts and chewy smiles with heavily lipsticked mouths, real cringe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Irish Nationalism.

Non Sequitur?

I think the word you're looking for is bandwagoning. The clue is in the sentence where you said 'band wagon'. Banwagoning is a human phenomenon.

I find it odd that people would 'cringe' or get annoyed at new people becoming interested in a particular thing. It's almost as if they're trying to assert some sort of faux-authority by sticking it to the 'newbs'.

I think it's great to see all the new interest in MMA that Conor McGregor has helped generate.

Lyaiera wrote: »
    I've been meaning to watch the sport for a while. I subscribed to the free trial of the UFC TV service and watched it and liked what I saw.

Good for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭Nesta99

People who walk around foreign countries wearing their County GAA jerseys so that just in case people wouldnt confuse them as not being from **

**insert any county. Meath people seem to be the worst at it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,992 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

When people start sentences with "Ah here,leave it out".

When someone tries to slip in a joke/witty remark they've seen on tv or read somewhere in a conversation and pass it off as their own. That always make me wonder if they've been sitting there the whole time waiting for an opportunity to use that line,
    That makes me cringe so much I find it hard to make eye contact with them for a while.

Are you kidding me? She has people in stitches all the time.

She's a surgeon.

Boom boom!

gets coat.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

They used to have meetups in some of the Irish chat rooms back when yahoo messenger was still going strong. I seen the pics and videos of many of them.

Something tells me its not much different on here.....

Yeah watch out for yourself man, a predator could be stalking you as we speak. Good thing the internet is anonymous and nobody knows what you look like eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,199 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Augmerson wrote: »
    Yeah watch out for yourself man, a predator could be stalking you as we speak. Good thing the internet is anonymous and nobody knows what you look like eh?

Is it you......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,819 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

I went to a football match recently - FC Tokyo versus Omiya Ardija. The game itself was fine, but before the game, all the FC Tokyo fans stood up with their scarves held above their heads, and sang along, karaoke-style, to 'You'll Never Walk Alone', with the English lyrics on the big screens for them to follow.

I was there with a Belgian lad and an English lad, and the three of didn't know where to look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭ardle1

When someone only gets one question right on 'The Just A Minute' quiz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

When my auld fella says 'Vorsprung durch technik' for anything German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,507 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

The welcoming for Donald Trump has to be the cringiest thing i've ever seen, literally rolled out the red carpet and a harpist for a fecking businessman only in Ireland

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,115 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Listening to me attempt to sing, still do it though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Watching Ms Danielle O Donnell, dressed in tight leather pants, whirling the corded mike at crotch height on local TV here.
    My French-Canadian mother-in-law adored him :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

osarusan wrote: »
    ..............................................................................................

I was there with a Belgian lad and an English lad, and the three of didn't know where to look.

From a geopolitical point of view I'd look eastwards ......... those Chinese have a few scores to settle! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭takamichinoku

My dad loved Daniel O'Donnell, was extremely cringey when I was young but had passed beyond some kind of line and became a bit charming in the last few years.

Irish Nationalism.

Conor McGregor's put on accent. It's some faux American abomination. I respect everything he's done for MMA over here and think he's a fine athlete but the chap is from Crumlin. Makes me cringe anytime he opens his gob.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,040 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Fake tan