Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

This just takes the biscuit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 298 ✭✭Mackas_view

When did this happen?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭smellmepower

Yesterday evening at 21:44 on the M50 going by the time stamp in the picture.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

Crazy foaming at the mouth on this thread. I'm not entirely sure the advocates of flogging him were joking either.

Why don't we just give him the electric chair???

Carlsberg don't do overreactions but if they did....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Jesus. wrote: »
    Crazy foaming at the mouth on this thread. I'm not entirely sure the advocates of flogging him were joking either.

The only over reaction I see is from the numpty who jumped on the brakes in the overtaking lane when asked to pull over.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,635 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Seriously dude?
    L driver, unaccompanied, on a motorway and jumps on the brakes in the outside lane?
    I would say licence gone, but he doesn't have one to begin with, he has a learner's permit that allows him to learn how to drive, whilst accompanied by a licensed driver. Not go on joy rides, but drive around in order to learn so he can pass his test.
    So, permit gone, pending a re-evaluation of his ability to drive. Otherwise known as idiot test, to make sure he has all his marbles and should be allowed to drive to begin with.
    Then start from scratch, but after an appropriate period off the road. 6 months minimum.
    Fine and points for dangerous driving and driving without a valid licence.
    That is what would happen in a proper country where people (including the police) not just think "ah, this law malarkey is just a bit of a laugh, sure you can't take that serious".

• Registered Users Posts: 364 ✭✭ScottStorm

I saw it on Twitter last night, no mention if the car was impounded but the driver was summonsed for all offences.

• Registered Users Posts: 255 ✭✭Dangel4x4

Stupid yeah but how else is he supposed to jump the car?

TimeToShine? What a misnomer...

When you break down on a motorway, you:

* safely go to the nearest emergency phone (or exit your car on the nearside and phone 999) and tell the person on the phone your location and that you've broken down. The nice person on the other end might even arrange for a warning message on overhead gantries behind you, if available.

* hang up, go back to your car and stand behind the railing so you aren't killed if someone hits your stationary car.

* wait for a tow truck to be sent to remove your car from the motorway. You will usually pay for this if you don't have breakdown cover.

You don't:
    * phone your buddy Lar to come on his tractor with de jump leads and his four kids and dog.

* stand in the road to flag down a passing car

We Irish are such clueless muck savages we don't deserve motorways...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

Not on the fcuking motorway and after that there is no more argument.
    He would have had to do a U turn on the motorway and if he didn't collect his Darwin award there and then, it should be 6 month ban with refresher training for idiots.
    The fact that we hand out 2 points for driving the wrong way on a motorway just underlines the "shure, be grand" attitude in this country to driving.
    I dare say that Ireland has very safe roads, despite laziness and indifference by the Gards.
    Dangel4x4 wrote: »
    TimeToShine? What a misnomer...

When you break down on a motorway, you:

* safely go to the nearest emergency phone (or exit your car on the nearside and phone 999) and tell the person on the phone your location and that you've broken down. The nice person on the other end might even arrange for a warning message on overhead gantries behind you, if available.

* hang up, go back to your car and stand behind the railing so you aren't killed if someone hits your stationary car.

* wait for a tow truck to be sent to remove your car from the motorway. You will usually pay for this if you don't have breakdown cover.

You don't:
    * phone your buddy Lar to come on his tractor with de jump leads and his four kids and dog.

* stand in the road to flag down a passing car

We Irish are such clueless muck savages we don't deserve motorways...

Oh I don't disagree with either of you, I was just pointing out the obvious - if you want to jump a car you need to be facing the opposite way.

I do appreciate the aspersions cast upon my intelligence (or lack there-of). It's the least you'd expect.

• Registered Users Posts: 255 ✭✭Dangel4x4

If you were being sarcastic or ironic, I apologise for casting aspersions on your intelligence. :D

That sounds reasonable Doc. My post was more aimed at the "hang, draw and quarter him" posters.

It was an incredibly stupid thing to do and he'll have to be punished but its not like he had a gun and went around trying to shoot people.

• Registered Users Posts: 270 ✭✭zbluebirdz

Q: Is the Garda driver qualified to drive over the speed limit? (i.e. has successfully passed the CPD2 training course)

If no, then the Garda driver is punished. The speeding driver is not punished.

If yes, then call the speeding driver's mammy ... I'm sure she'll sort out the silly kid ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

They should mount his head on a spike. I am hoping the fish and the crabs are having are having a good meal on his eyeballs.

Oh I don't disagree with either of you, I was just pointing out the obvious - if you want to jump a car you need to be facing the opposite way.

I do appreciate the aspersions cast upon my intelligence (or lack there-of). It's the least you'd expect.

Always expect the unexpected, especially in motors. ;)
    Was half thinking you werent entirely serious...

That sounds reasonable Doc. My post was more aimed at the "hang, draw and quarter him" posters.

It was an incredibly stupid thing to do and he'll have to be punished but its not like he had a gun and went around trying to shoot people.

The Gards should be armed, so they can shoot people who stop in the outside lane. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭pablo128

bmm wrote: »
    Surely the Gardai should be laying down the letter of the law, not asking the public what to do ! Gardai need to act seriously to be taken seriously !
    Well I think their commments are designed to get people talking about these issues, instead of zoning out when the road safety ads come on the telly. Just like we are discussing it now.:)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

pablo128 wrote: »
    Well I think their commments are designed to get people talking about these issues, instead of zoning out when the road safety ads come on the telly. Just like we are discussing it now.:)

I'm thinking about my duckface on the Garda facebook page if the worst happens

• Registered Users Posts: 3,917 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

Moneymaker wrote: »
    Nail him to the wall

The fact he stopped in the overtaking lane is all the proof needed that this person has no business being on our roads.

More than likely a she. I know 5 women (3 with full licenses 2 provisional) who drove the wrong way on motorways. Women are ****ing deadly drivers.

Me -Full license holder 8 years driving no points (yes no points) no claims :)

Sister- Provisional license few years now. 6 points 4 accidents.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

Chris___ wrote: »
    More than likely a she. I know 5 women (3 with full licenses 2 provisional) who drove the wrong way on motorways. Women are ****ing deadly drivers.

Completely anecdotal. And although likely to be true that kind of talk doesn't go down well 'round here!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭magentis

Chris___ wrote: »

Shouldn't go around bragging about that $hit chris.
    Don't cha know you are going to get 12 points between now and the end of july.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

What the driver did had the potential to kill as many people as someone with a gun. In heavy traffic travelling at similar speeds that could be one huge pileup.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,931 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Just out of curiosity - Do you actually contribute to the forum, or just take the opposing view to the majority on a thread to see what reaction you can get. I don't think I've seen one post from you that isn't along the lines of "What an overreaction. I thought this was the motors forum, bla bla speeding/gardai/laws/etc"

So you think I'm trolling is it? Afraid not. Those are my actual opinions and also my contributions to this Forum. I do believe a lot of people on this Forum go way OTT about things. Off the road for five years? Straight to jail? Flogging? Come on FFS.

If you don't like that then that's just tough luck I suppose

• Registered Users Posts: 8,593 ✭✭✭blackwhite

ScottStorm wrote: »
    I saw it on Twitter last night, no mention if the car was impounded but the driver was summonsed for all offences.

Read the replies to the tweet - the gardaí confirmed that they escorted the driver to the Finglas exit and let him drive off.

https://twitter.com/GardaTraffic/status/492067472519217152

Just to repeat, they saw somebody commit two dangerous offences in the space of a minute (driving at 151kmph and then stopping in lane 3).
    They learned that the driver was an unaccompanied learner - who had clearly demonstrated that they have f*ck all understanding of what is safe and what is dangerous.
    And the Garda response was to let the clown continue to drive unaccompanied. :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 13,238 ✭✭✭✭djimi

blackwhite wrote: »
    Read the replies to the tweet - the gardaí confirmed that they escorted the driver to the Finglas exit and let him drive off.

Just to repeat, they saw somebody commit two dangerous offences in the space of a minute (driving at 151kmph and then stopping in lane 3).
    They learned that the driver was an unaccompanied learner - who had clearly demonstrated that they have f*ck all understanding of what is safe and what is dangerous.
    And the Garda response was to let the clown continue to drive unaccompanied. :confused:

And therein lies the problem with motoring in Ireland. Incompetant police force who have no interest in enforcing the law. The driver of that car should have been arrested on the spot given how many laws they broke in such a short space of time, but instead they got a telling off, will get 2 points and a relatively small fine and let go on their way. Appalling stuff from the Gardai.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,238 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Reading through the rest of that link, the Gardai are claiming they have no power to impound the car/detain a learner who is caught driving unaccompanied. Surely this cannot be the case?

And if it is the case, why dont they just follow the learner down the road and pull them over every 50m and issue a new charge of driving unaccompanied? You dont get a free pass to break the law once you have been caught once.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,422 ✭✭✭✭cson

ScottStorm wrote: »
    blackwhite wrote: »

Guards say there's nothing in statute that would allow them to seize the car.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,593 ✭✭✭blackwhite

djimi wrote: »
    Reading through the rest of that link, the Gardai are claiming they have no power to impound the car/detain a learner who is caught driving unaccompanied. Surely this cannot be the case?

And if it is the case, why dont they just follow the learner down the road and pull them over every 50m and issue a new charge of driving unaccompanied? You dont get a free pass to break the law once you have been caught once.

They have no power to detain them, or to impound the car.

They do have the right, however, to prevent them from driving the car unaccompanied.

Simply put, they could have told the driver that they weren't allowing him to drive the car until another person, with a full licence, arrived to accompany them.
    The guards could offer to drive the car off the motorway, and then wait somewhere safe with the driver until that person arrived.

Allowing someone who had been observed perform two dangerous maneuvers in quick succession to drive off without supervision is ridiculously negligent from the Gardaí, and IMO is a dereliction of duty on their part.

• Registered Users Posts: 245 ✭✭V Eight

this is the kind of Video that should be used in road safety campaigns rather than some ol' fart driving a Toyota.....

• Registered Users Posts: 7,004 ✭✭✭Wossack

cson wrote: »
    Guards say there's nothing in statute that would allow them to seize the car.

ideally should have pulled him over 5 mins later for driving unaccompanied, and let him go again (and rinse and repeat)

• Registered Users Posts: 13,983 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

What difference would having a full license make to this situation? The test in no way encompasses motorway driving.