Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Trivial things that annoy you Part 43

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

My natural hair is alright, I've loads of it, it's just baby fine. Really flyaway.
    This is what I got the extensions for. See the flat head and then the volume.
    http://tinypic.com/r/rlho8w/8

Now I'm left with like most of it flat with random bits all nice and volumised. Grr. I hope they make good use of that two euro!

I have no idea which one is which, but I think the hair on the left looks better. :o I hope that's the right answer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

SuperOito wrote: »
    Jaysus. Would growing your hair not be cheaper?!

The term 'Foodie'. F*cks me right off! It's pure lazy.

And anyone who describes themselves as 'a bit of a foodie' is a bit of a muppet.

If only it were that easy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I have no idea which one is which, but I think the hair on the left looks better. :o I hope that's the right answer.

The left was my pancake head!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

conorhal wrote: »
    The unfathomable anxiety I experience when I'm just about to release an envelope to drop into a postbox, I tend to linger a few momentst to examine the address, stamp and how well glued down the flap is, all correct and yet there is almost always a brief moment of seperation anxiety as I let it go.
    It's only a birthday card FFS, it's not a long diatribe telling my boss where to shove his job or something.

Oh gawd, I do the exact same thing. And then I panic when I do eventually drop it in.

Haha! I thought I was the only one that happened to. That few seconds panic when you drop it. Glad to know there's two other weirdos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,202 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Yes, I get a touch of it as well. Something to do with the finality of committing one's correspondence to the postal system, with it becoming a criminal offence to finagle with it after that, and all. Cheeses, alright alright already, don't execute me!! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,016 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

The unfathomable anxiety I experience when I'm just about to release an envelope to drop into a postbox, I tend to linger a few momentst to examine the address, stamp and how well glued down the flap is, all correct and yet there is almost always a brief moment of seperation anxiety as I let it go.
    It's only a birthday card FFS, it's not a long diatribe telling my boss where to shove his job or something.

I know of someone who deposited the entire day's takings of the shop they worked in into a postbox, then panicked so badly they legged it instead of waiting for the postman to arrive. And then didn't admit it to her boss until she (the boss) noticed that the money hadn't been lodged in the bank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,074 ✭✭✭conorhal

jimgoose wrote: »
    Yes, I get a touch of it as well. Something to do with the finality of committing one's correspondence to the postal system, with it becoming a criminal offence to finagle with it after that, and all. Cheeses, alright alright already, don't execute me!! :eek:

Oh God.... I think I might have misspelled my nephews name on the card... I'm going to have to go and get a can of petrol to pour into the postbox before the postman arrives to erase my blunder!

That won't work. You're going to need a couple of kilograms of gelignite - do you know any quarrymen??

That sounds needlessly complex, I think it would be far simpler to break into the registrar of births deaths and marriages and alter his birth cert, then accuse my brother of not even knowing his own childs name......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

That sounds needlessly complex, I think it would be far simple to break into the registrar of births deaths and marriages and alter his birth cert, then accuse my brother of no even knowing his own childs name......

On that note, do you ever get the "Brian, that's Brian with a y"

Why, like what's the fcuken point?

eisenberg1 wrote: »

Oh there's another trivial thing that annoys me. My neice is Amy Aimee. Rips up another card (don't even get me started on the price they charge for printed bit of paper) and starts over.
    It doesn't make your kid 'unique' it just makes their name a pain in ass for people that can spell properly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

I do that occasionally too, wish it was a diatribe to the boss sometimes :D

Then when I've dropped in the fully addressed, stamped envelope, I sometimes start to wonder I did put the person's name on it...and on it goes. :o

My natural hair is alright, I've loads of it, it's just baby fine. Really flyaway.
    This is what I got the extensions for. See the flat head and then the volume.
    http://tinypic.com/r/rlho8w/8

Now I'm left with like most of it flat with random bits all nice and volumised. Grr. I hope they make good use of that two euro!

Lexie, honestly your hair looks lovely in what you call the flat head pic. :confused:

Could you not just stick a few big sized rollers in with some mouse and get the same effect? Maybe not everyday allright, but for occasions. your hair is lovely.

Those extensions could destroy your good hair eventually

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

eisenberg1 wrote: »

Still better than half the Irish names out there. Some of them are just a jumble of letters!

Jake1 wrote: »
    Lexie, honestly your hair looks lovely in what you call the flat head pic. :confused:

Could you not just stick a few big sized rollers in with some mouse and get the same effect? Maybe not everyday allright, but for occasions. your hair is lovely.

I'd be more concerned about the clear fact that I appear to be Bertie Bassets illegetimate daughter....

http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2009/02/01/article-0-002ED15C00000258-34_233x400.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Jake1 wrote: »

Extension complications are another trivial annoyance. Dont get them glued in, the glue will wreck your hair and you'll end up with bald spots. Ok so maybe a cornrow? Nah cant do that either because your hair is so think a cornrow would break it - hmmmm, but if I had thick hair would I need extensions? Clip in maybe? Safer but you can always see those b*starding wefts showing. It's a logistical nightmare - not to mention the risk of traction alopecia from literally being weighed down with hair :(

I love extensions. There's no feel good like a big head of thick, bouncy hair but I waited 4 years for a single hair so not going to risk losing it now!

Hosting conference calls. Great, big, inclusive meetings of minds, many of them sharp as a pound of sugar, from all over the world. Many of them American. Talk about herding cats. Mr. David Grady has the right of it, this is what it is like. I challenge you to take a look at this, and then blame me for pulling a flamethrower:

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    Extension complications are another trivial annoyance. Dont get them glued in, the glue will wreck your hair and you'll end up with bald spots. Ok so maybe a cornrow? Nah cant do that either because your hair is so think a cornrow would break it - hmmmm, but if I had thick hair would I need extensions? Clip in maybe? Safer but you can always see those b*starding wefts showing. It's a logistical nightmare - not to mention the risk of traction alopecia from literally being weighed down with hair :(

I love extensions. There's no feel good like a big head of thick, bouncy hair but I waited 4 years for a single hair so not going to risk losing it now!
    Have you looked into easilocks or great lengths (although they've to be imported from the UK now)? They use tiny little copper locks to secure the hair so it's actually not so bad for your hair. Mine are easilocks, and had I not had a wheely bin of water dunked on top of me, they'd have been fine.

The maintenance is a pain in the arse though. No sulphates in your shampoo, no silicone in your shampoo, only use conditioner on the ends of your hair, no hot oil treatments, use a protein spray but not near the beads, use a rose gold oil before you dry it, don't leave any of it damp and it takes like a billionty hours to blowdry, and brush your hair twice a day, and sleep with it in a braid to the side to stop tangles getting into it.

The effort. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Using Original Source Mint For Men Hair & Body Gel. Applying it as shampoo, then washing the beard ... menthol fumes are blinding. Every single time!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Czarcasm wrote: »
    *deep breaths*

It's trivial, but fcuk me it's annoying -

Work colleagues who treat me like I'm incapable of making a fcuking coffee for myself like I never make a coffee for myself, fcuking pawing me all over and then when I look like I'm annoyed by their patronising crap -

"Jaaaaysus, someone's in bad form"

Ya think? I was in great form two minutes ago before you feckin' started! :mad:

Outside, breathe, smoke, calm down, let it go...

Honestly, there's days when ya just want... ugh, I don't know any more :(

Peace and quiet, yeah, peace and quiet would be nice! :pac:

Are you alright for a coffee there? Go on, go on...:pac:

razorblunt wrote: »
    Using Original Source Mint For Men Hair & Body Gel. Applying it as shampoo, then washing the beard ... menthol fumes are blinding. Every single time!!
    Great for making your bits tingle!

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

razorblunt wrote: »

I'm pretty sure this stuff is what triggered my eczema. Shortly after i starting using it, without ever having a skin condition, I got eczema.
    After year of sensitive soaps and creams and potions and getting my skin under control, I decided to try an Original Source product again. This time I went for Lime. Blamo, eczema strikes back.
    I by no means blame the product, it just doesn't agree with my skin.

Trivial annoyance - I wish it didn't bother my skin, because it's great stuff

smash wrote: »
    Great for making your bits tingle!

I'll say. She gave me some stuff like that a while back for the shower, minty, tingly oul' stuff with bits in it. When I was drying myself off I didn't know whether I was freezing or dying of the E-Boli! :pac:

That's the one. Original source with crushed walnuts body scrub! :D

Guys where are ye buying the one with crushed walnuts?! I cannot get this in either dunnes or tesco in Portlaoise or tullamore. I know it's for men but I love it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

Guys where are ye buying the one with crushed walnuts?! I cannot get this in either dunnes or tesco in Portlaoise or tullamore. I know it's for men but I love it

Try Limerick;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Frigga_92

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure this stuff is what triggered my eczema. Shortly after i starting using it, without ever having a skin condition, I got eczema.
    After year of sensitive soaps and creams and potions and getting my skin under control, I decided to try an Original Source product again. This time I went for Lime. Blamo, eczema strikes back.
    I by no means blame the product, it just doesn't agree with my skin.

Trivial annoyance - I wish it didn't bother my skin, because it's great stuff

I was born with eczema but when I read this it reminded me of when I was doing my mocks for my Junior Cert. I'm allergic to feckin everything but had been using Herbal Essences shampoo and conditioner without any bother for a few months. Washed my hair one morning and my head blew up like a balloon, off to hospital and then they discovered I was allergic to penicillin :rolleyes: I remember my maths teacher at the time giving me a right bollocking over missing the maths mock because I was in hospital!!
    Herbal Essences and Simple are 2 brands that just don't mix well with my eczema and anytime someone recommends Simple skincare and I say that I have eczema they are aghast because of those bloody ads that were on the telly for years "not perfumed, not coloured, just kind"!

Ah Lexie-san, you ask me to expose the soul of old Japan. I'm reminded of the oul' woman who stopped off at a bicycle shop for ball-bearings for her son, and asked for "Tuppence worth a' bare-balls for Billy's bicycle!" :D

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I was born with eczema but when I read this it reminded me of when I was doing my mocks for my Junior Cert. I'm allergic to feckin everything but had been using Herbal Essences shampoo and conditioner without any bother for a few months. Washed my hair one morning and my head blew up like a balloon, off to hospital and then they discovered I was allergic to penicillin :rolleyes: I remember my maths teacher at the time giving me a right bollocking over missing the maths mock because I was in hospital!!
    Herbal Essences and Simple are 2 brands that just don't mix well with my eczema and anytime someone recommends Simple skincare and I say that I have eczema they are aghast because of those bloody ads that were on the telly for years "not perfumed, not coloured, just kind"!

The amount of over the counter moisturisers I've had to go through to see which one is best is ridiculous. Turns out the Aveeno one that's alright has mysterioulsy disappeared from stock everywhere, and the one I'm trying now is looney money and my daughter complains to me that I'm using it because it's hers. But coconut oil is the way forward, I'd recommend it and you will literally be able to slip out of tricky situations.