If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Beef General Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

_Brian wrote: »
    Disgusting as it is mostly lads who will make a living at the moment are lads with sufficient SFP to run their households. From a farm perspective they need break even leaving the SFP 100% for their family. My only thoughts on this are they should deliver only the minimum beef into the system while its break-even as it does nobody any favor to produce the product with no profit..

The place will end up falling down around your ears if you attempt that. The stock go. The savings dwindle. You have no gross margin to keep the farm right. Weeds replace grass.. The highly productive beef farms around here are the only ones that are able to retain their sfp for income and keep the place going forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

JDI, whatever about part-time farmers loosing money, spare a though for the full-time guys who were say, struggling even in good times. How will they survive?

You're right. They must live on porridge and butter sandwiches!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,243 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Willfarman wrote: »
    The place will end up falling down around your ears if you attempt that. The stock go. The savings dwindle. You have no gross margin to keep the farm right. Weeds replace grass.. The highly productive beef farms around here are the only ones that are able to retain their sfp for income and keep the place going forward.

Yes, and I made that point in a previous post..
    But in the short term its probably the best strategy... I hate to say it, but I really don't see another solution... you can be damn sure the solution isn't coming from Teasasc, Simon Coveney nor the IFA.
    The place won't fall down in a year, and there is no compulsion to spend your capital... But why shouldn't we starve back the supply of stock to the factories... Your better breaking even on 50 head than loosing/breaking even on 200 !! Even for just one year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

What's the point in paying fees and the organisation lifting subs of killed cattle and milk too. And then slating the members for not speaking out to the factory reps.

No point in having a dog and barking yourself !!

How would the unions work if they didn't have the threat of strike to drive their demands,.... that's exactly what you're asking IFA to do.
    Sure we can all leave the work to someone else, it's already happening, farmer protests are so mickey mouse now that they don't worry anyone and farmers will keep standing back from the defending their income until they're screwed into the ground.
    But sure there's ''No point in having a dog and barking yourself ''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,243 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

rangler1 wrote: »
    How would the unions work if they didn't have the threat of strike to drive their demands,.... that's exactly what you're asking IFA to do.
    Sure we can all leave the work to someone else, it's already happening, farmer protests are so mickey mouse now that they don't worry anyone and farmers will keep standing back from the defending their income until they're screwed into the ground.
    But sure there's ''No point in having a dog and barking yourself ''

Please don't take this personally but every time I mention the IFA and give my opinion I'm not out sparring or having a go at you personally. Please stop sparring back as if your the official spokesperson for them. It just drags down the whole thread.

Im allowed to think the IFA are ineffective and allowed to make that opinion public without being badgered about it.

Please don't take this personally but every time I mention the IFA and give my opinion I'm not out sparring or having a go at you personally. Please stop sparring back as if your the official spokesperson for them. It just drags down the whole thread.

Im allowed to think the IFA are ineffective and allowed to make that opinion public without being badgered about it.

You didn't answer my question
    Unions can't deliver without the support of members....every union needs a lever like strikes, protest, etc farmers have no lever.
    Threat of a rail strike on sunday, union member action is so effective they probably wont need to strike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,112 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

right so this is "BEEF GENERAL THREAD" back on topic......are people finished serving for next year yet?

And there's enough farms neglected already....shameful really
    is there a prize for growing the most ragworth I wonder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,638 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Anyone at marts today?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

have the spring born calves going onto ration from today(the last of 16%), old mans going to pick up a share of calf 18 for them in the morning. Got quoted 380 a ton, anyone anything cheaper at the 18%.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Miname wrote: »
    have the spring born calves going onto ration from today(the last of 16%), old mans going to pick up a share of calf 18 for them in the morning. Got quoted 380 a ton, anyone anything cheaper at the 18%.

I dont have any prices but does 380 a ton sound a bit on the steep side ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

moy83 wrote: »
    I dont have any prices but does 380 a ton sound a bit on the steep side ?

Dg have a 19% Heifer rear er nut for 300 I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Reggie. wrote: »
    Anyone at marts today?

Was in Kk, auctioneers were earning their money today struggling to get bids

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

simx wrote: »
    ssh stop that sort of craic. cull cows were a good trade round here the last couple of sales. Heifers selling alright but not many about for bulls or bullocks.

The 380 a ton seems way out to me. I'll try another couple tomorrow and see how that goes

Any value in it ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭SIX PACK

Can someone tell me what price steers at 30 months. are making this week in the factories .
    The link on Bord bia are saying €3.60 per kg tops which can't be right.

How are you meant to make a profit with those kind of prices?

Any value in it ?

Cows were a good trade, seen a few heifers and blks wouldn't of been so bad, I'd say if willing to stay around till later in the sale be better value in blks

SIX PACK wrote: »
    Can someone tell me what price steers at 30 months. are making this week in the factories .
    Thanks The link on Bord bia are saying only 3.60 per kg tops which can't be right.

I think that's the going rate alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 924 ✭✭✭grange mac

Thanks The link on Bord bia are saying only 3.60 per kg tops which can't be right.

Dont read the journal so...makes for depressing reading. Be doing well to get 3.65 (plus qa)
    Have some going next week & tempted to let majority go as nothing seems to be able to put a floor under the price.
    Show and sale in skibbereen tomorrow so will give a good idea how cattle are going.

Miname wrote: »
    ssh stop that sort of craic. cull cows were a good trade round here the last couple of sales. Heifers selling alright but not many about for bulls or bullocks.

The 380 a ton seems way out to me. I'll try another couple tomorrow and see how that goes

Cull cows were a good trade alright but everything else back, neighbour sold ch blks, nice enough quality 635kg €1090

Overage? Ah feck that is humble spuds now.

Couldn't say on age, seen them in pen outside, was told what they made/weight... Probably be somewhere between March and may 12 I'd say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭ellewood

simx, what were heavy ch or limo cows making if they were any 7-800 kgs ?

ellewood wrote: »
    simx, what were heavy ch or limo cows making if they were any 7-800 kgs ?

1200-1350/1400 dependent on cow quality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,347 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

1200-1350/1400 dependent on cow quality

for cull cows or breeding stock?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 FYM

The link on Bord bia are saying €3.60 per kg tops which can't be right.

How are you meant to make a profit with those kind of prices?

got 3.65 on monday expecting 12cent qa bonus on top only to learn that weihh spec changed from 420kg to 400kg

FYM wrote: »
    got 3.65 on monday expecting 12cent qa bonus on top only to learn that weihh spec changed from 420kg to 400kg

Loooking like it'll be 380 max soon, well use to max weights here selling lambs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 FYM

rangler1 wrote: »
    Loooking like it'll be 380 max soon, well use to max weights here selling lambs

Rangler i dont mean to have a go at u here but that is very disapointing. the tone of your above quote it that i am lucky and i should b greatful. it is the sheer (percieved) lack of fight from the IFA that has beef farmers totally bewildered. just because they did it to lambs pigs and chickens we should accept it in beef... look at those sectors now completely dominated by imports. if the IFA are fighting tooth and nail for the beef industry it isn't been effectively communicated to farmer on the ground or the industry stakeholders.

just a taught

for cull cows or breeding stock?

Cull cows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,112 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

would it be possible to get this-beef crisis- in a single thread please it is totally derailing the beef general thread ? sorry if its alot of work

Done, for better or badly.....G.