Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wayne Dundon guilty of Roy Collins murder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

darkdubh wrote: »
    Hopefully this is the nail in the coffin of the vile Dundon clan.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2014/0715/630801-roy-collins/

The only way to end it my opinion, is with actual nails in actual coffins.

I'm not one for advocating violence at all but these 'people' are a waste of space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭JC01

Great to see Ireland finally tackling this kind of crime.

I'm not too optimistic about the sentence he's gonna get though probably ~20 years which means after automatic remission, good behaviour, few suspended years etc hel serve less than 13. 50 years without the possibility of parole would be more like it but fat chance of that happening...

darkdubh wrote: »
    Hopefully this is the nail in the coffin of the vile Dundon clan.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2014/0715/630801-roy-collins/

Great that Roy got justice. Its just a pity that his family will have to live under witness protection for probably the rest of their days.

As for those scrotes, if they were eaten alive by flesh eating bacteria it wouldnt be enough for them. Id pity the bacteria that has to digest the vile b@stard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

JC01 wrote: »

I'm not too optimistic about the sentence he's gonna get though probably ~20 years which means after automatic remission, good behaviour, few suspended years etc hel serve less than 13. 50 years without the possibility of parole would be more like it but fat chance of that happening...

There is only 1 sentence he can get and that's life sentence.
    To get out after a Life Sentence you need to pass parole board - there is no set time.

also there is no "automatic remission" for murder but fire away with your ranting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

Only sentence for murder in Ireland is life.

Wayne was the lad who came to court in his knickers and a discman, wasn't her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,665 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

Only sentence for murder in Ireland is life.

That was John Dundon I think.

There is only 1 sentence he can get and that's life sentence.
    To get out after a Life Sentence you need to pass parole board - there is no set time.

also there is no "automatic remission" for murder but fire away with your ranting.

I'm not ranting but do you honestly see him spending 40,50,60 years in prison? Never mind the rest of his life? Just look at all the vile monsters convicted in this country and out roaming the streets again. Larry Murphy springs to mind (granted a lazy example, but ya get the idea)

And anyways a "life sentence" in Ireland is a set amount of years because its "unconstitutional" and "inhuman" to lock someone up and throw away the keys.

Im beginning to think whether capital punishment is the only way at this stage. If a few of these maggots were swinging out of the end of a rope in the middle of a packed Henry Street in Limerick i wonder if they would be that bit keener to conform? Wonder what the Pierpoint family is up to these days?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Delighted to read that. It's probably small comfort to the Collins family after all they have been through but hopefully this goes some way to helping them heal. Fair play to them for not backing down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Reformed Character

And anyways a "life sentence" in Ireland is a set amount of years because its "unconstitutional" and "inhuman" to lock someone up and throw away the keys.

Wrong on so many levels!
    We have life sentence prisoners now imprisoned for more than 35 years in this country, many more who have served well over 25 years.
    There is nothing unconstitutional about a life sentence per se.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

I'm not ranting but do you honestly see him spending 40,50,60 years in prison? Never mind the rest of his life? Just look at all the vile monsters convicted in this country and out roaming the streets again. Larry Murphy springs to mind (granted a lazy example, but ya get the idea)

rant away , don't let me stop you.

we have murderers still inside for quite a long time - like this now deceased fella and his partner in crime were jailed in the 70's
    http://www.herald.ie/news/serial-killer-who-pledged-to-kill-a-woman-a-week-dies-28008706.html

The life sentence isn't a set years and if a person fails to satisfy the parole board they can be kept inside forever. So I'm not sure where the unconstitutional and inhuman bit comes from.

Larry Murphy was given a set sentence for rape/kidnap not murder so your lazy example is actually wrong.

Wrong on so many levels!
    We have life sentence prisoners now imprisoned for more than 35 years in this country, many more who have served well over 25 years.
    There is nothing unconstitutional about a life sentence per se.

Yes but 35+ years is the exception rather than the rule which is the crazy part. Life should mean life no exceptions no ifs ands or buts.

From citizens information:

Prisoners serving very long sentences (including life sentences), are normally reviewed on a number of occasions over a number of years before any substantial concessions would be recommended by the Board. The final decision as to whether a life sentenced prisoner is released, rests solely with the Minister. The length of time spent in custody by offenders serving life sentences can vary substantially. Of those prisoners serving life sentences who have been released, the average sentence served in prison is approximately 12 years. This, however, is only an average; there are prisoners serving life sentences in Ireland who have spent in excess of thirty years in custody.

The average time served is 12 years???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,521 ✭✭✭francois

17 actually, also while the parole board can recommend release it is up to the discretion of the justice minister whether to accept the recommendation, notorious killers have spent 30+ years in prison, and I don't see any minister releasing any of the dundon brothers for a long time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,357 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

I'm as delighted as anybody to see the guilty verdict but does anyone else find that the prosecution evidence was a bit iffy to say the least. IMO accepting evidence from the defendents sworn enemies isn't the most reliable evidence.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Yes but 35+ years is the exception rather than the rule which is the crazy part. Life should mean life no exceptions no ifs ands or buts.

From citizens information:

Prisoners serving very long sentences (including life sentences), are normally reviewed on a number of occasions over a number of years before any substantial concessions would be recommended by the Board. The final decision as to whether a life sentenced prisoner is released, rests solely with the Minister. The length of time spent in custody by offenders serving life sentences can vary substantially. Of those prisoners serving life sentences who have been released, the average sentence served in prison is approximately 12 years. This, however, is only an average; there are prisoners serving life sentences in Ireland who have spent in excess of thirty years in custody.

It's not. It's 22 years on average.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

I'm as delighted as anybody to see the guilty verdict but does anyone else find that the prosecution evidence was a bit iffy to say the least. IMO accepting evidence from the defendents sworn enemies isn't the most reliable evidence.

Who gives a fúck tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Im not too sure now but when your in mountjoy for a serious crime do you still get the Full sky Package or do they force you to only have the Entertainment Package only

francois wrote: »
    17 actually, also while the parole board can recommend release it is up to the discretion of the justice minister whether to accept the recommendation, notorious killers have spent 30+ years in prison, and I don't see any minister releasing any of the dundon brothers for a long time

Who will be influenced greatly by the budget and the cost of keeping prisoners no doubt.

Slattsy wrote: »
    Who gives a fúck tbh.

Well if you were in the dock and the prosecution called your sworn enemy to give evidence against you then I would say that you might give a fuk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭howamidifferent

Specialun wrote: »
    Im not too sure now but when your in mountjoy for a serious crime do you still get the Full sky Package or do they force you to only have the Entertainment Package only

Probably get SkyGo on their iPads. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭Evenstevens

I always thought that prisoners should pay for their own bed and board while they are inside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Somehow I just can't feel any sympathy for Dundon and ilk regardless of the reliability of evidence against them.

A man who would shoot dead an innocent person for some silly perceived slight forfeits his right to be treated with the kid gloves the law would say defendants should be treated with.

Somehow I just can't feel any sympathy for Dundon and ilk regardless of the reliability of evidence against them.

A man who would shoot dead an innocent person for some silly perceived slight forfeits his right to be treated with the kid gloves the law would say defendants should be treated with.

Thankfully the justice system is not based on either 'sympathy' or hatred for the defendant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭thebannerboy

One of the key witnesses was a guy who had stolen a Merc in the city with a kilo of the Dundons weed inside it. He still owed them the money and they were after for it. He was arrested in Portlaoise after being caught having sex with two 15 year olds. But he claims they were up for it and he didn't rape them. The cops has to escort him out through an enraged mob in the housing estate afterwards. He has been locked up half of his life and admitted making regular trips back home to Limerick and usually 'borrowed' a car to drive back to Portlaoise.

He is hardly a reliable witness is he?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

I always thought that prisoners should pay for their own bed and board while they are inside

That still happens in many less developed parts of the world. You essentially buy you food and water or die.

The gospel line: "I was in prison and you visited me" always seemed kinda simple to me, sure how hard is it to visit someone, until I realised that, in some parts of the world, if people don't visit you (and pay your way) in prison, you'll probably die.

But the evidence was corroborated by a prison officer. To be honest, its such a volatile world the Dundons inhabit that there is a very hazy line between friends and enemies.

At the end of the day who is to say who really is a friend or enemy of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭thebannerboy

What if got a 12 month sentence for public disorder and didn't have any money. What is your solution to that? Throw him in the corner until he died of starvation? Like in North Korea maybe?

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

It seemd that Wayne Dundons wife had a big part in egging on Dundon ,she told him that the Collins"won't get away with it".The bitch should go on trial as an accessory to the murder.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/wayne-dundon-and-nathan-killeen-guilty-of-murdering-roy-collins-30433117.html

But the evidence was corroborated by a prison officer. To be honest, its such a volatile world the Dundons inhabit that there is a very hazy line between friends and enemies.

At the end of the day who is to say who really is a friend or enemy of them.

I heard on the radio that 'some' of the evidence was corroborated by a prison officer but that is very misleading as the officers evidence only placed one of the witnesses in a certain place at a certain time.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

One of the key witnesses was a guy who had stolen a Merc in the city with a kilo of the Dundons weed inside it. He still owed them the money and they were after for it. He was arrested in Portlaoise after being caught having sex with two 15 year olds. But he claims they were up for it and he didn't rape them. The cops has to escort him out through an enraged mob in the housing estate afterwards. He has been locked up half of his life and admitted making regular trips back home to Limerick and usually 'borrowed' a car to drive back to Portlaoise.

Well this is the level of human garbage these type of "people" hang around with.

It's hard to find excellent, pillar-of-society type witnesses amongst the lowest of the low so the justice system has to make do sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 780 ✭✭✭padraig.od

Fair play to all authorities down there. Limerick seemed like a total basket case just a few years back, what with all of the job losses and drug crime, shottings but I feel the cities reputation is improving every day.

It seemd that Wayne Dundons wife had a big part in egging on Dundon ,she told him that the Collins"won't get away with it".The bitch should go on trial as an accessory to the murder.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/wayne-dundon-and-nathan-killeen-guilty-of-murdering-roy-collins-30433117.html

Behind every fat maggot is his even viler wife. Same with Gilligan and Geraldine.

I heard on the radio that 'some' of the evidence was corroborated by a prison officer but that is very misleading as the officers evidence only placed one of the witnesses in a certain place at a certain time.

On the balance of things though id imagine the Collins evidence alongside the forensic evidence was probably enough to put Dundon in the picture.

Surprised with the other scrote being seen as credible no doubt based on his own colourful past but i suppose whether Dundon and co is beind or outside bars that the particular witness in question will have an even bigger target on his head now so didnt really have much to gain in the end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

One of the most disgraceful scenes ever witnessed in an Irish courtroom.

Who on earth would admit to still owning a discman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

anncoates wrote: »
    One of the most disgraceful scenes ever witnessed in an Irish courtroom.

Who on earth would admit to still owning a discman.

Scooter don't allow their music to be released in mp3 format.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Well - this 'iffy' evidence, as you put it, is all an organised crime outfit will ever leave behind them.

Ireland's dumbest might show up on CCTV with the smoking gun in their hand and you have your straight forward open and shut case.

But this is a drug-dealing mafia, so the state must be able to make reasonable inferences and nail them on that - or else these outfits end up walking all over the state. The victim is never coming back so this is our best attempt as a society at giving them justice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,363 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Is there anything in the legal framework that could allow the gardaí to act outside of the law for a few weeks?

They know exactly what's going on, who's involved and were they (the ARU in particular) given free reign, could end most of the gangland problems inside a fortnight imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭RedemptionZ

Sleepy wrote: »
    Is there anything in the legal framework that could allow the gardaí to act outside of the law for a few weeks?

They know exactly what's going on, who's involved and were they (the ARU in particular) given free reign, could end most of the gangland problems inside a fortnight imo.

Get rid of the current gangs maybe, but there's plenty more to follow in their footsteps. Could be wrong here and I'm paraphrasing but I think it was Martin Cahill who said 'if yous think I'm bad, wait till you see who's coming behind me'

There's a cycle and it'd be better to try to tackle that cycle and stop people coming through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Like asking Gardai to commit murder extra judicial criminal acts and murder ? No , don't think we have that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Yes, that's just what Ireland needs, more corruption in the force with a death squad here and there.

Jeez.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Mardy Bum

I'd have Omar in the room if needed be to put Dundon down for a long time.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Mardy Bum wrote: »
    I'd have Omar in the room if needed be to put Dundon down for a long time.

Except that Omar is a fictional character & this is real life with all the heartache and tragedy that comes with it.

I guess you missed one of the core messages contained in The Wire? That violence, whoever, commits it is senseless and solves nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭Evenstevens

What if got a 12 month sentence for public disorder and didn't have any money. What is your solution to that? Throw him in the corner until he died of starvation? Like in North Korea maybe?

Get the family to support them while inside. Don't think it's unreasonable to ask why my taxes should pay for bed breakfast and dinner for someone who chose to go out and commit a crime. I know things aren't always black and white and people come from bad backgrounds but there are some criminals who are in and out of prison habitually. Maybe if they had to pay for it while they were in there it might put them off doing the crime in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭Dracula!

If I could and it existed I would send those evil bastards to hell. Rotten diseased dark feckers with a u . I am from Limerick and as well as murder they flooded the place with heroin. They spread a plague in the area and to neighbouring counties. This news made my day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,029 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Just heard on the news there that three of the four (I think) Dundon brothers are serving life for murder now :eek:

That's quite some family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Mardy Bum

old hippy wrote: »
    Except that Omar is a fictional character & this is real life with all the heartache and tragedy that comes with it.

I guess you missed one of the core messages contained in The Wire? That violence, whoever, commits it is senseless and solves nothing.

You 100% misread or purposefully took a completely different point from what my post was about. The prosecution would have anyone take the stand in order to put the Dundons down regardless of their background similar to the Wire. I'm gobsmacked that you managed to do that but it's not the first time I've seen you doing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Just heard on the news there that three of the four (I think) Dundon brothers are serving life for murder now :eek:

That's quite some family.

Yeah. The parents must feel very proud.

A great day for Limerick and Ireland.

And please ......... no social worker types blaming society/background/system/Garth Brooks etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭juniord

Get rid of the current gangs maybe, but there's plenty more to follow in their footsteps. Could be wrong here and I'm paraphrasing but I think it was Martin Cahill who said 'if yous think I'm bad, wait till you see who's coming behind me'

There's a cycle and it'd be better to try to tackle that cycle and stop people coming through.

larry dunne said that when he was sentenced for heroin dealing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

juniord wrote: »
    larry dunne said that when he was sentenced for heroin dealing

He wasn't lying either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Reformed Character

The heavy gang tried that in the 70's and 80's , it was a disgrace and an utter failure which led to miscarriage's of justice and human rights abuses as were evidenced in the Nicky Kelly/Sallins mail train robbery case.