Wayne Dundon guilty of Roy Collins murder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭padraig.od

Fair play to all authorities down there. Limerick seemed like a total basket case just a few years back, what with all of the job losses and drug crime, shottings but I feel the cities reputation is improving every day.

It seemd that Wayne Dundons wife had a big part in egging on Dundon ,she told him that the Collins"won't get away with it".The bitch should go on trial as an accessory to the murder.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/wayne-dundon-and-nathan-killeen-guilty-of-murdering-roy-collins-30433117.html

Behind every fat maggot is his even viler wife. Same with Gilligan and Geraldine.

I heard on the radio that 'some' of the evidence was corroborated by a prison officer but that is very misleading as the officers evidence only placed one of the witnesses in a certain place at a certain time.

On the balance of things though id imagine the Collins evidence alongside the forensic evidence was probably enough to put Dundon in the picture.

Surprised with the other scrote being seen as credible no doubt based on his own colourful past but i suppose whether Dundon and co is beind or outside bars that the particular witness in question will have an even bigger target on his head now so didnt really have much to gain in the end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Wayne was the lad who came to court in his knickers and a discman, wasn't her?

One of the most disgraceful scenes ever witnessed in an Irish courtroom.

Who on earth would admit to still owning a discman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

anncoates wrote: »
    One of the most disgraceful scenes ever witnessed in an Irish courtroom.

Who on earth would admit to still owning a discman.

Scooter don't allow their music to be released in mp3 format.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

I'm as delighted as anybody to see the guilty verdict but does anyone else find that the prosecution evidence was a bit iffy to say the least. IMO accepting evidence from the defendents sworn enemies isn't the most reliable evidence.

Well - this 'iffy' evidence, as you put it, is all an organised crime outfit will ever leave behind them.

Ireland's dumbest might show up on CCTV with the smoking gun in their hand and you have your straight forward open and shut case.

But this is a drug-dealing mafia, so the state must be able to make reasonable inferences and nail them on that - or else these outfits end up walking all over the state. The victim is never coming back so this is our best attempt as a society at giving them justice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 25,006 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Is there anything in the legal framework that could allow the gardaí to act outside of the law for a few weeks?

They know exactly what's going on, who's involved and were they (the ARU in particular) given free reign, could end most of the gangland problems inside a fortnight imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭RedemptionZ

Sleepy wrote: »
    Is there anything in the legal framework that could allow the gardaí to act outside of the law for a few weeks?

They know exactly what's going on, who's involved and were they (the ARU in particular) given free reign, could end most of the gangland problems inside a fortnight imo.

Get rid of the current gangs maybe, but there's plenty more to follow in their footsteps. Could be wrong here and I'm paraphrasing but I think it was Martin Cahill who said 'if yous think I'm bad, wait till you see who's coming behind me'

There's a cycle and it'd be better to try to tackle that cycle and stop people coming through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Like asking Gardai to commit murder extra judicial criminal acts and murder ? No , don't think we have that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Yes, that's just what Ireland needs, more corruption in the force with a death squad here and there.

Jeez.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Mardy Bum

One of the key witnesses was a guy who had stolen a Merc in the city with a kilo of the Dundons weed inside it. He still owed them the money and they were after for it. He was arrested in Portlaoise after being caught having sex with two 15 year olds. But he claims they were up for it and he didn't rape them. The cops has to escort him out through an enraged mob in the housing estate afterwards. He has been locked up half of his life and admitted making regular trips back home to Limerick and usually 'borrowed' a car to drive back to Portlaoise.

He is hardly a reliable witness is he?

I'd have Omar in the room if needed be to put Dundon down for a long time.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

Mardy Bum wrote: »
    I'd have Omar in the room if needed be to put Dundon down for a long time.

Except that Omar is a fictional character & this is real life with all the heartache and tragedy that comes with it.

I guess you missed one of the core messages contained in The Wire? That violence, whoever, commits it is senseless and solves nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭Evenstevens

What if got a 12 month sentence for public disorder and didn't have any money. What is your solution to that? Throw him in the corner until he died of starvation? Like in North Korea maybe?

Get the family to support them while inside. Don't think it's unreasonable to ask why my taxes should pay for bed breakfast and dinner for someone who chose to go out and commit a crime. I know things aren't always black and white and people come from bad backgrounds but there are some criminals who are in and out of prison habitually. Maybe if they had to pay for it while they were in there it might put them off doing the crime in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭Dracula!

If I could and it existed I would send those evil bastards to hell. Rotten diseased dark feckers with a u . I am from Limerick and as well as murder they flooded the place with heroin. They spread a plague in the area and to neighbouring counties. This news made my day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 33,637 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Just heard on the news there that three of the four (I think) Dundon brothers are serving life for murder now :eek:

That's quite some family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Mardy Bum

old hippy wrote: »
    Except that Omar is a fictional character & this is real life with all the heartache and tragedy that comes with it.

I guess you missed one of the core messages contained in The Wire? That violence, whoever, commits it is senseless and solves nothing.

You 100% misread or purposefully took a completely different point from what my post was about. The prosecution would have anyone take the stand in order to put the Dundons down regardless of their background similar to the Wire. I'm gobsmacked that you managed to do that but it's not the first time I've seen you doing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Just heard on the news there that three of the four (I think) Dundon brothers are serving life for murder now :eek:

That's quite some family.

Yeah. The parents must feel very proud.

A great day for Limerick and Ireland.

And please ......... no social worker types blaming society/background/system/Garth Brooks etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭juniord

Get rid of the current gangs maybe, but there's plenty more to follow in their footsteps. Could be wrong here and I'm paraphrasing but I think it was Martin Cahill who said 'if yous think I'm bad, wait till you see who's coming behind me'

There's a cycle and it'd be better to try to tackle that cycle and stop people coming through.

larry dunne said that when he was sentenced for heroin dealing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

juniord wrote: »

He wasn't lying either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Reformed Character

The heavy gang tried that in the 70's and 80's , it was a disgrace and an utter failure which led to miscarriage's of justice and human rights abuses as were evidenced in the Nicky Kelly/Sallins mail train robbery case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭RedemptionZ

juniord wrote: »

Thanks, I gave it a google and couldn't find anything so presumed I was wrong. Chillingly accurate quote.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

WilyCoyote wrote: »

And please ......... no social worker types blaming society/background/system/Garth Brooks etc

And don't forget the father was convicted of manslaughter in England for fatally stabbing someone in the face.A great bunch of lads the Dundons.

Nope, our boys didnt lick it off a rock.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

WilyCoyote wrote: »

If you so much as suggested that there was some genetic disposition there you'd be accused of being a literal Nazi.

Three brothers locked up for murder and their Da was done for manslaughter.

It's all societies fault. All the time. For every one of them. They're the victims really, poor lads.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 700 ✭✭✭mikeyjames9

didn't he get put out of the UK for throwing old ladies down stairs while robbing them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Ah lads, maybe if they had a community centre growing up....

They woulda burnt it to the ground cause they're a pack of spineless soulless cnuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,162 ✭✭✭✭Degag

There is only 1 sentence he can get and that's life sentence.
    To get out after a Life Sentence you need to pass parole board - there is no set time.

also there is no "automatic remission" for murder but fire away with your ranting.
    rant away , don't let me stop you.

we have murderers still inside for quite a long time - like this now deceased fella and his partner in crime were jailed in the 70's
    http://www.herald.ie/news/serial-killer-who-pledged-to-kill-a-woman-a-week-dies-28008706.html

The life sentence isn't a set years and if a person fails to satisfy the parole board they can be kept inside forever. So I'm not sure where the unconstitutional and inhuman bit comes from.

Larry Murphy was given a set sentence for rape/kidnap not murder so your lazy example is actually wrong.
    Are you a member of the Gardaí or the justice system in some way? Your very defensive regarding a very valid point that the poster was making albeit in a roundabout way.

How often have you seen rapists get away with a few years in jail out after 2 or 3 of them? How many times have criminals who attack and pray on 80 or 90 year old pensioners gotten away with a suspended sentence?

There are vile people in this country and the Justice system does not do their victims justice.

If Mr Dundon stays behind bars for the rest of life it will be fantastic and justice will be done but it's not done often enough IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭rogieop

Degag wrote: »
    Are you a member of the Gardaí or the justice system in some way? Your very defensive regarding a very valid point that the poster was making albeit in a roundabout way.

How often have you seen rapists get away with a few years in jail out after 2 or 3 of them? How many times have criminals who attack and pray on 80 or 90 year old pensioners gotten away with a suspended sentence?

There are vile people in this country and the Justice system does not do their victims justice.

If Mr Dundon stays behind bars for the rest of life it will be fantastic and justice will be done but it's not done often enough IMO.

He was exactly correct in what he was saying though.

Life is life. Nobody is getting out on a life sentance after 12 years. 17/20 maybe but thats only on temp release. you commint one crime and your life sentance will be re activated.

You seem to be mixing this up with the fact the justice system will gladly accept a guilty plea on manslaughter as opposed to go to trail on a not guilty plea for murder.

It makes their life easier, it saves money and the killer does 10/12 years.

Its a disgrace but that the country we live in.

Lets not forget this is a justice system that allowed an attempted racist t get of 5.5 years of a 6 year sentance simply because he was rich and could pay a bit of compo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,162 ✭✭✭✭Degag

rogieop wrote: »
    He was exactly correct in what he was saying though.

Life is life. Nobody is getting out on a life sentance after 12 years. 17/20 maybe but thats only on temp release. you commint one crime and your life sentance will be re activated.

You seem to be mixing this up with the fact the justice system will gladly accept a guilty plea on manslaughter as opposed to go to trail on a not guilty plea for murder.

It makes their life easier, it saves money and the killer does 10/12 years.

Its a disgrace but that the country we live in.

Lets not forget this is a justice system that allowed an attempted racist t get of 5.5 years of a 6 year sentance simply because he was rich and could pay a bit of compo.

So it's not life is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭rogieop

Degag wrote: »
    So it's not life is it?

yes it is. There is no guarantee for release, and even after release your sentance can be reactivated at any time.