Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

This could be it. What'll I Do?

• 05-07-2014 1:59pm
    Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭

Howya AH. I could be on my last few minutes on earth so I'm spending it with you. I'm on a flight over the Atlantic and we've hit the weirdest turbulence ever. It was bumpy but now it's not. But the engines are making funny noises though so im assuming the worst.

I seem to be the only one freaking out which makes me think none of these people are right in the head. Why aren't they freaking out?

Anyway. I'm comptemplating life and all that. I could contact home but they'd tell me I'm bonkers. So I need the good folk of AH in my hour of need

I'll need a good eulogy. Has to have a bit of humour as well as something touching

They'll probably want gifts for the mass. Any ideas?

Also who wants my stuff? I've a signed photo of Larry Gogan at home and a piece of rock that apparently comes from Alcatraz. I've also 1 bottle of Sam Adams
    Lager too.

Now I'm waiting for the captain to come to say a few words of hope. In the meantime what should I do?

Btw I'm sitting beside a calm collected aul fella who I don't know. He's busy listening to music. So he's not going to hug me.

Relieve me of my sweaty palms AH, you're my only hope...

*salutes*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

On an airplane, well laa dee daa!

No recession there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Have they put diesel in the tanks again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

<Ooooooo, look at me, I'm on the internet, on an aeroplane...>

Well la la de la.

:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Write down why you think you deserve a parachute.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,557 ✭✭✭KeithM89

Just hope the impact kills you, wouldn't be too much fun floating around in the Atlantic waiting to drown knowing there's no hope any rescuers will reach you in time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

Fap. You'll be dead before they can arrest you.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

I wish it was la de da but it's not. I'm travelling for work. I haven't a penny to me name. Unless the Larry Gogan autograph is worth money?

I think a parachute would be wasted on me. I haven't been to the toilet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

faceman wrote: »
    I wish it was la de da but it's not. I'm travelling for work. I haven't a penny to me name. Unless the Larry Gogan autograph is worth money?

Thinly veiled 'I have a job and travel with work' post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Wishiwasa Littlebitaller

Looks like you picked the wrong day to stop sniffing glue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭House of Blaze

All right, Striker, you listen, and listen close.

Flying a plane is no different from riding a bicycle; it's just a lot harder to put baseball cards in the spokes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

Probably now's a good time! I mean, you don't wanna die and then let people find a dead body that sh@t itself do ya...

Think & plan ahead!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Have they used the 1 inch of sticky tape, god bless you.

Keep running up and down the aisle screaming let me off let me off.

Get into brace position and start praying then others will be worried.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

I haven't been to the toilet.

Senekot or consume a couple of gallons of Guinness would cure that ailement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

Your post seems remarkably sober, for a man who's about to punch his ticket.

Surely there's a drinks trolley nearby?

I'm afraid not sir.

And don't call me shirley.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

It's Aer Lingus. No free gargle!

Right I'm going to toilet just in case. The seat belt light is on though. I'll just go in my water bottle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Press the emergency button!
    The one with "emergency" written on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,112 ✭✭✭Sarn

Aviation and aircraft forum
    >

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

I will give advice...

But first one question..

Beats or Sennheiser headphones?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

Sarn wrote: »
    Aviation and aircraft forum
    >

Wouldn't it be better in the "Life & Death / Snakes on a Plane" forum ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

I cant see no Aer Lingus flight over the atlantic on flightradar24.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

OP, if you snuff it, can I have your empty Fairy Liquid bottle?
    I'm making a rocket. Thxbai.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

It has been half an hour now, is the OP brown bread or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

It's Aer Lingus. No free gargle!

Well stick it on your credit card then. Jaysus, no sign of panic here anyway.

Armelodie wrote: »
    I will give advice...

But first one question..

Beats or Sennheiser headphones?

Bose QC something or other.

Ok they're serving the food now. I guess no point kicking it on an empty stomach but chicken tikka as a last meal is hardly rock and roll.

Whose written the eulogy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭daithi1970

..start shouting Allahu-ahkbar! repeatedly. That should enhance the mood of your fellow travellers.

Right. I've tried chatting to Mr. Quiet beside me but I think he thinks I'm chatting him.

Need a new approach?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭dmc17

Right. I've tried chatting to Mr. Quiet beside me but I think he thinks I'm chatting him.

Need a new approach?

Rub his leg or something. What exactly are you trying to achieve again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

Hmmm Bose...

Ok so you seem to know good quality...

My advice then is to start thinking about a new mod to take over from you on all those forums. Otherwise all your hard work of holding the trolls back will have been for nothing...

And no .. not that guy either... he is a good regular poster alright but just a bit too aloof to keep the show on the road...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

You're on a plane that's about to go down and you haven't take a selfie yet? Back to square one you go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,966 ✭✭✭gifted

Howya AH. I could be on my last few minutes on earth so I'm spending it with you. I'm on a flight over the Atlantic and we've hit the weirdest turbulence ever. It was bumpy but now it's not. But the engines are making funny noises though so im assuming the worst.

I seem to be the only one freaking out which makes me think none of these people are right in the head. Why aren't they freaking out?

Anyway. I'm comptemplating life and all that. I could contact home but they'd tell me I'm bonkers. So I need the good folk of AH in my hour of need

I'll need a good eulogy. Has to have a bit of humour as well as something touching

They'll probably want gifts for the mass. Any ideas?

Also who wants my stuff? I've a signed photo of Larry Gogan at home and a piece of rock that apparently comes from Alcatraz. I've also 1 bottle of Sam Adams
    Lager too.

Now I'm waiting for the captain to come to say a few words of hope. In the meantime what should I do?

Btw I'm sitting beside a calm collected aul fella who I don't know. He's busy listening to music. So he's not going to hug me.

Relieve me of my sweaty palms AH, you're my only hope...

*salutes*

Please tell us your not the feckin pilot cos that has to be the worst word from the captain ever..:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,709 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Maybe there is something wrong with the left fillangey?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Do you have access to a pack of Nurofen and the current Cara inflight magazine?
    Can you speak with a Cork accent?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭dar100

catallus wrote: »
    It has been half an hour now, is the OP brown bread or what?

Hopefully:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭INEEDANID

Hope you don't end up in a pig pen

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QrxPuk0JefA

Her man out headphones on. He's not up for the banter.

I've 6 hours 20 minutes to go.

There's nothing on the telly and there's only clouds out the window. I think that means we're still in the air. The agony is too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,420 ✭✭✭corner of hells

I'm goin' out to wait at the end of the runway , like in that Memphis Belle film.
    If I see a plane in distance , I'll start hollerin' and ringing bells and ya'll come running .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Sexy sex with the flight attendants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Ditch

daithi1970 wrote: »
    ..start shouting Allahu-ahkbar! repeatedly. That should enhance the mood of your fellow travellers.

:D:D:D Simply hitting the Thanks button can't even Begin to convey how much I liked that one!

Ye'd have to have a mate filming the screaming people around ye though ~ couldn't Not capture such a scene! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,293 ✭✭✭naughtysmurf

Stop being a pussy OP, ya got a light & whistle on your life jacket, you'll be grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,456 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Her man out headphones on. He's not up for the banter.

I've 6 hours 20 minutes to go.

There's nothing on the telly and there's only clouds out the window. I think that means we're still in the air. The agony is too much.

I'm assuming there are numerous Americans on the plane, a few at least will be carrying some anti anxiety medication. Fake a panic attack, someone offers you a Xanax, the rest of the flight will be no bother.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Yellowblackbird

Jim never has a second cup of coffee at home.

Why hasn't the op been posting more?

If the plane goes down you won't have to worry about the roaming charges.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

So........... Ya dead yet?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

Got a flight number for us?
    http://www.flightradar24.com
    We can watch...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

Like schrodingers cat if the plane crashes and we don't find it you're not actually dead, right? So you can just keep posting on boards until the plane is found and you'll know for sure whether you're dead or not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,709 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

If there was ever a time for a danger ****, this is it

5uspect wrote: »
    Got a flight number for us?
    http://www.flightradar24.com
    We can watch...

EI147

I'm still here. Barely. I'm very conscious of my breathing. I think I keep forgetting to breath. I'm peeing a lot much to the annoyance of the Quiet Man.

They have the blinds down. Even though it's constant day time. Something fishy.
    Then I saw one of the cabin crew emerge from a secret room that has a downstairs with a lunchbox. Bet she didn't have chicken tikka.

I've another 5 hours 25 minutes to go. I'm over some part of Canada that's so barren they weren't arsed to name it.

I'm just about holding it together AH. You're all my heroes.