Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014 *mod warning linked in OP 26/07*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,394 ✭✭✭PhiloCypher

Just heard papadopolous name mentioned in the Greece game, anybody have any idea how he has acquitted himself, is he worth going back in for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Just heard papadopolous name mentioned in the Greece game, anybody have any idea how he has acquitted himself, is he worth going back in for?

He not at the World Cup. Did not make the squad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 781 ✭✭✭davyboy1975

Thats Sokratis papadopolous, other papa didnt make the squad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,739 ✭✭✭mormank

With all due respect, your brother is probably not going off any more than a few articles a month ago linking Vermaelen to Utd. I don't see us selling one of our only three centre backs unless we get a replacement in first. Wenger's last three big centre back signings (Kos, Mert and Vermaelen himself) haven't been too bad anyway.

Aurier might be the right back, there's been a lot of talk of that. Whoever it is, I'd be confident Wenger will pick a good man.

We definitely need a goalscorer, yeah. No arguing there.

True but he did say that Tommy V and RVP had some sort of close friendship or something, I honestly have no idea about that as I'm a pool fan myself. You could ver ywell be right about that tho, time wil tell. Were those 3 his last 3 CB signings tho, I believe his last 3 were Mert, Kosh and Squillaci! :D Before those 3 was Tommy V and the return of Sol Campbell, Silvestre not to mention the likes of Senderos and Djourou before them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,403 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

I think his name is papahatadopolous or something like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

That's the Dortmund guy not Schalke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,739 ✭✭✭mormank

MD1990 wrote: »
    I would say he is atm. As Messi doesn't dribble as much as he used too when he was playing on the wing. Cuadrado was outstanding for Fiorentina last year. One of the most exciting players to watch in world football imo.

Wow. Was not aware he was at that level tbh. Good chance he will get a 'big move' after his performances at the world cup too then I would imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭MarkY91

if he wasnt good enough to make the greece squad. why the hell were we in for him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭EuropeanSon

mormank wrote: »
    True but he did say that Tommy V and RVP had some sort of close friendship or something, I honestly have no idea about that as I'm a pool fan myself. You could ver ywell be right about that tho, time wil tell. Were those 3 his last 3 CB signings tho, I believe his last 3 were Mert, Kosh and Squillaci! :D Before those 3 was Tommy V and the return of Sol Campbell, Silvestre not to mention the likes of Senderos and Djourou before them...
    They were the last ones he signed to start, Squillaci (up there with Wenger's worst ever signings) was signed as 4th choice, as was Silvestre if I recall correctly, which is never going to be a big recipe for success.

Djourou was a good prospect who didn't make it, same with Senderos (who was given far too much game time).

I've no idea if RVP and Vermaelen are big buddies. I don't think it would matter. If Utd want him Vermaelen will definitely want to leave to get game time, I just don't think we'd let him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,972 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

MarkY91 wrote: »
    if he wasnt good enough to make the greece squad. why the hell were we in for him?

Think he had a doggy knee and had to have surgery.

Edit: Going by wiki, he also injured his shoulder shortly after returning from the knee injury. (good replacement for Agger)

MarkY91 wrote: »

Injuries one after another like Yesil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭MarkY91

ah right. i wasnt aware of his injuries!

I know it's caughtoffside so I'll just leave it here anyway for a laugh.

Exclusive: Liverpool Ready to Accept £90m Real Madrid Bid for Luis Suarez..
    Florentino Perez fearful that La Liga rivals Barcelona are also interested in the former Ajax man and is therefore ready to sanction an offer that will rule the Nou Camp side out of the running.
    http://www.caughtoffside.com/2014/06/29/exclusive-liverpool-set-to-accept-90m-real-madrid-bid-for-luis-suarez/

All I can say is Bidding war please!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

http://www.caughtoffside.com/2014/06/29/exclusive-liverpool-set-to-accept-90m-real-madrid-bid-for-luis-suarez/

Just waiting for spurs to nip in and rob him!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Ah feck I just got Suarez's name on my jersey and all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

A bidding war?? No thanks. I don't want the mad bastard fella going anywhere.

A bidding war?? No thanks. I don't want the mad bastard going anywhere.

None of do.

But I do think it's only a matter of time now. So if he is to go let him go for a lot of money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Got a laugh out of that, but not sure I agree. If a good player plus obscene money was offered, take it.

Love him as much as I do, he's too much of a risk and you just know he'll get a season long ban the next time he even mistimes a tackle simple because it's him.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,629 ✭✭✭googled eyes

Caught Offside ??

Then he's gone already lads, they know their shtuff .:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

This. I really want to see us with Suarez in the CL. So he's a little bitey, meh, I'm over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,475 ✭✭✭ratracer

Augmerson wrote: »
    Ah feck I just got Suarez's name on my jersey and all.

Is it a barca or a real jersey you got?? ;)

Got a laugh out of that, but not sure I agree. If a good player plus obscene money was offered, take it.

Love him as much as I do, he's too much of a risk and you just know he'll get a season long ban the next time he even mistimes a tackle simple because it's him.

Aye...it's a worry alright and tbh I'm slightly torn on him staying or going. I can't seem to make up my mind. Atm I want him to stay tho.

Could be different tomorrow tho...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

ratracer wrote: »
    Is it a barca or a real jersey you got?? ;)

MK Dons

T-K-O wrote: »
    This. I really want to see us with Suarez in the CL. So he's a little bitey, meh, I'm over it.

It's so bloody annoying that after fighting so hard to get us there he'll miss half the group games. Unless an appeal changes that. Doubt it will tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

Will your attitude change if Suarez has another fcukup and ends up with anything like a year ban.
    That's when Liverpool will be really screwed. If he does something mental it will probably cost Liverpool CL that season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

Will your attitude change if Suarez has another fcukup and ends up with anything like a year ban.
    That's when Liverpool will be really screwed. If he does something mental it will probably cost Liverpool CL that season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Aye...it's a worry alright and tbh I'm slightly torn on him staying or going. I can't seem to make up my mind. Atm I want him to stay tho.

Could be different tomorrow tho...

Well, we've been here before. Owen left? We got Torres. Torres left? We got Luis. Luis leaves...?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

Hidalgo wrote: »

He has already done something mental, *3.

Ideal scenario for me, he stays for another season on his best behaviour & form working towards a move next summer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭bitemeluis

How many champions league games is he out for?

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Well, we've been here before. Owen left? We got Torres. Torres left? We got Luis. Luis leaves...?

We get Moses!