Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you use a ladies toilet

• 25-06-2014 9:39am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Ok, In an airport in Spain this morning, it's pretty crowded,on my way to the gents toilet I noticed beside it there was a massive que ? By women waiting to enter the women's toilet, When I entered gents there was a few men waiting to use the cubicle ,Alas who comes out but a few women not a bother on them,

Now the questio n is would a man or you use a women's toilet in simlar circumstances and would there be uproar.

Personally I wouldent, I would just cross my legs and pray.

Have to leg it flight being called....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭SouthTippBass

Well, the queue in the mens generally moves a lot faster than the womens. So I would just wait the few minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭OhHiMark

Just whip your cock out in front of them. If they complain tell them they shouldn't come into the men's toilet if they didn't want to see a penis or two.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

I've never been particular about which bathroom I use when I need to go - whichever door is nearest, or whichever queue is the shortest. Nobody's ever said anything to me about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

I've used the ladies toilet lots of times if the mens is too busy.
    The urinals in there look awfully like sinks though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Women's toilets are generally airy, rose scented and a token of cleanliness, and hence why I wouldn't have any issue using one.

Men's on the other hand.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

I would, yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Women's toilets are generally airy, rose scented and a token of cleanliness, and hence why I wouldn't have any issue using one.

Ha! You've got that one wrong anyway mate. I was a doorman for years and at the end of a night I've often had to stick my head into the ladies jacks. More often than not they were worse than the men's. Male toilets tend to get the usual; p*ss on the floor, a bit of broken glass - the odd bit of gawk etc.

Women's toilets are a whole different kettle of fish. Instead of a splash of puke you'll find gallons of it where some b*tch projectiled all over the cubicle. I've seen manky sanitary towels left sitting on a cistern, in a sink, stuck to the doors etc; more often than not they look like they were used to stem a f*cking war wound. Not to mention things like jizz and p*ss-encrusted knickers casually strewn around the gaff. One night I went in there I thought someone had actually been murdered, some young one tried to open a bottle of beer off the jacks roll dispenser and nearly chopped her finger off when it broke. Looking at the cameras later, I saw that she proceeded to squirt blood all over the gaff before sticking her hand in her bag and sprinting out of the club.

Men's toilets are a f*cking Shangri La in comparison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I think surveys have found that women's toilets in general are left in much worse states than mens' because they do a lot more in there. Toilet paper everywhere, tampons and tampon packaging thrown on the floor, empty deodorant cans & makeup bottles, etc etc.

Men having urinals makes them much cleaner too. If you go into a men's toilet without urinals, there's usually piss all over the toilet seats. But with urinals they're usually pretty clean. Women's toilets on the other hand have piss all over the seats, all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,706 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

In Amsterdam, I went to the toilet in the airport. I saw "heren" and "damen" toilets, so thought heren = her, so I used the other one. Despite noticing no urinals and the fact toilet had no flusher (I discovered it flushed after you pushed down and released the toilet seat), I only realised I was in the ladies when some dutch woman came in and gave out to me (in dutch).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

you gotta go, you gotta go :D

Although it wouldnt generally work other way around, womens toilet always mad busy ¬_¬

The toilets downstairs in the lighthouse are unisex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

Bitches be trippin..or is that drippin !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

If you're in a highly emotional state and about to drop cable at any moment then it really doesn't matter. The only thing different in a womans jacks is the sanitary bin and far less pubes on the toilet seat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

FTA69 wrote: »
    Ha! You've got that one wrong anyway mate. I was a doorman for years and at the end of a night I've often had to stick my head into the ladies jacks. More often than not they were worse than the men's. Male toilets tend to get the usual; p*ss on the floor, a bit of broken glass - the odd bit of gawk etc.

Women's toilets are a whole different kettle of fish. Instead of a splash of puke you'll find gallons of it where some b*tch projectiled all over the cubicle. I've seen manky sanitary towels left sitting on a cistern, in a sink, stuck to the doors etc; more often than not they look like they were used to stem a f*cking war wound. Not to mention things like jizz and p*ss-encrusted knickers casually strewn around the gaff. One night I went in there I thought someone had actually been murdered, some young one tried to open a bottle of beer off the jacks roll dispenser and nearly chopped her finger off when it broke. Looking at the cameras later, I saw that she proceeded to squirt blood all over the gaff before sticking her hand in her bag and sprinting out of the club.

Jeeeez where were you working? Hell? I've been going out (and hence using women's toilets) for 13 years and have never come across anything like that...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Been there. Done that. Bought the sanitary towel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 MagicianBF

I've often men's bathrooms b/c the aforementioned crazy ladies' queues.

There's a café in Galway (Javas t'you locals) that used to have a bathroom and a staff bathroom. So a unisex bathroom! Then the changed it into a ladies' and a gents'. But like, they're both still just a cubicle with one toilet. SO who cares which door you pee behind! But coming out of the gents' one day this lady of maturity gave me the dirtiest look!

In Budapest we had a unisex bathroom which had stalls, urinals and a big sink. So what if a guys' taking a pee? I don't see why we can't just have unisex bathrooms everywhere. You can use a stall if you want either way

I've never used the men's, just queue for the ladies

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

MagicianBF wrote: »
    I've often men's bathrooms b/c the aforementioned crazy ladies' queues.

There's a café in Galway (Javas t'you locals) that used to have a bathroom and a staff bathroom. So a unisex bathroom! Then the changed it into a ladies' and a gents'. But like, they're both still just a cubicle with one toilet. SO who cares which door you pee behind! But coming out of the gents' one day this lady of maturity gave me the dirtiest look!

In Budapest we had a unisex bathroom which had stalls, urinals and a big sink. So what if a guys' taking a pee? I don't see why we can't just have unisex bathrooms everywhere. You can use a stall if you want either way

Only if I had to; so that's not often.

We have unisex where I work and it's fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

I have a little toddler so if the mens are dirty and I don't want women in the ladies getting excited then I just use the disabled toilet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    Jeeeez where were you working? Hell? I've been going out (and hence using women's toilets) for 13 years and have never come across anything like that...

It can happen

We were out for a friend's birthday in a normally wonderful establishment, and a whole bunch of dickheads invaded the bar. These were some very well dressed young lads and ladies who you wouldn't expect much trouble from, but they were horrible, and the girls were the worst. They seemed to somehow lay siege to the ladies room, 4 or 5 of them crammed in there, not to use the toilet, but they were in there drinking and chatting away. You couldn't go in there because they were treating it like their private room, and several times the bar staff tried to move them out because people couldn't go to the toilet! The staff managed to move on the group (and gave us all a free round of drinks by way of apologies), but the state of the place after they vacated was unreal, the toilet seats had been ripped off, soggy toilet paper all over the place... Who the hell think it'll be a laugh to rip toilet seats off? Downright unbelievable mess. If I hadn't seen it myself I'd hardly believe it.

By comparison I was in some dingy rock bar in London a while back, and they had gender neutral toilets, you'd go in and they were all cubicles with M/F styled like the AC/DC logo on them and they were downright pristine. It seems like there's some sort of psychological effect when it comes to gender neutral toilets where neither the lads or the ladies want to be seen as the messier gender infront of each other so are acting their best.

Links234 wrote: »

By comparison I was in some dingy rock bar in London a while back, and they had gender neutral toilets, you'd go in and they were all cubicles with M/F styled like the AC/DC logo on them and they were downright pristine. It seems like there's some sort of psychological effect when it comes to gender neutral toilets where neither the lads or the ladies want to be seen as the messier gender infront of each other so are acting their best.

Speaking of dingy rock bars. Have you ever been to the World's End in Camden? I was in there once with my ex and was telling her how awful it was, she kept accusing me of exaggerating so I went back into the jacks to take a photo.

There was actually a sh*te on the hand-dryer.

Speaking of dingy rock bars. Have you ever been to the World's End in Camden? I was in there once with my ex and was telling her how awful it was, she kept accusing me of exaggerating so I went back into the jacks to take a photo.

I have, it's a grand place to meet people because it's right across from the tube station, but you get one there and then move along to the Dev, Brewdog or the Black Heart to have a decent night... or basically anywhere else. It's a cattle mart :o

I found a turd on the floor of the gents in Kehoe's in Dublin, once. I imagine it was a one off...
    Links234 wrote: »
    I have, it's a grand place to meet people because it's right across from the tube station, but you get one there and then move along to the Dev, Brewdog or the Black Heart to have a decent night... or basically anywhere else. It's a cattle mart :o

World's End used to be the place to go for the young Irish back at the end of the 80s - that was before they opened the place up and it became too big. Back then, you could drink outside and the security bots hadn't yet been put on the doors.

The jacks in the World's End are notorious lad. The toilets are always overflowing with sh*t and are usually blocked as a rule. Also they serve possibly the worst draught beer in the world, possibly rivalled only by Waxy's. The owner was a sound lad though, he died last year outside the Sheephaven after he fell over and banged his head.

I enjoyed the WE back in the day & even Waxy's (for a brief period in the late 90s) but those sort of mega pubs don't do it for me, anymore.

I tend to drink local, these days. Better class of toilet (most of the time) :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Slightly off topic...

But I believe some people think that it is rude to use the disabled jacks if you ain't disabled?

I believe they are accessable for them but not reserved for them. What says you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

KungPao wrote: »
    Slightly off topic...

But I believe some people think that it is rude to use the disabled jacks if you ain't disabled?

I believe they are accessable for them but not reserved for them. What says you?

Knowing my luck, the day I use such a facility will be the day when I meet an angry wheelchair user when I come out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Yeah Right!

I have had the misfortune to use the ladies in a few pubs/clubs and I would rather hold it in and burst my bladder than repeat the experiences, drunk women are just dirty in the jacks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

I remember a female cleaner ringing into some talk show saying how they used to fight over who had to clean the ladies, i.e. they all wanted the less disgusting job of cleaning the gents.
    realies wrote: »
    ,Alas who comes out but a few women not a bother on them,

Now the questio n is would a man or you use a women's toilet in simlar circumstances and would there be uproar.
    I never get this logic, especially since nothing is on show in a womens toilet, so whats the big deal, its not like you've walked into a changing room or something. While women walking into a men's could see genitals at the urinals in a lot of them.

Urinals need to be introduced to womens toilets, there is some country in africa where the women pee standing up and the men squat.

I was in some pub recently and there were sanitary bins in the toilet. I don't think it was supposed to be unisex, especially as you had to walk by an open urinal to get to them. I then thought it was a clever trick to stop men pissing all over the seats, in case a woman was outside waiting to go in. Planned or not, it seemed to work, saw none of the usual lakes of piss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Was in a bar in the States one night and, as you do when the seal is broke, I made several trips to the jacks. Be it the increased alcohol intake or something, whatever move I made on the last trip to the toilets, I ended up in one of the cubicles in the ladies toilets unbeknownst to myself. Totally did not notice any difference going in.

As I stood there draining the spuds, there comes a massive ripper of a fart from a couple of cubicles down. I burst out laughing and say "Good man, better out than your eye". Immediately there was a scream and a womans voice shouts "Oh my gawd, is there a man in here?". The panic set in and sobriety hit me very fast. I nearly got big Jim and The Twins caught in my zipper I was trying to get out of there so fast (the yanks have zero tolerence for messing in bars and I knew there could be cops involved if I got caught).

I got out unnoticed and sat back in the booth with my friends as I see a paniced lady rush out looking around and calling over a member of staff. There was a bouncer called in and I was sure I was a goner as someone had to see me coming out. But no, was able to stay the night and got drunk for a second time as Mrs Bottom Burp gets her coat and huffily walks out the door.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Buzz Killington the third

Plazaman wrote: »
    the yanks have zero tolerence for messing in bars and I knew there could be cops involved if I got caught

In a similar situation to yourself, I was in a bar in the states and there were 2 cubicles. One marked for men and one marked for women. The men's was busy so I strolled into the other one and within seconds I had a bouncer banging on the door telling me to get out. I finished up and opened the door to be confronted with "What are you? some kind of pervert?". The fcuking thing was empty, there was only one toilet in there so it's not like I could have caused trouble. Eventually he calmed down but you wouldn't get that over here.

KungPao wrote: »
    Slightly off topic...

Oh God...waits for the war to begin. Have you seen the threads saying that people using wheelchair spaces in carparks should be given the death penalty? Watch out! :P

Plazaman wrote: »
    Was in a bar in the States one night and, as you do when the seal is broke, I made several trips to the jacks. Be it the increased alcohol intake or something, whatever move I made on the last trip to the toilets, I ended up in one of the cubicles in the ladies toilets unbeknownst to myself. Totally did not notice any difference going in.

As I stood there draining the spuds, there comes a massive ripper of a fart from a couple of cubicles down. I burst out laughing and say "Good man, better out than your eye". Immediately there was a scream and a womans voice shouts "Oh my gawd, is there a man in here?". The panic set in and sobriety hit me very fast. I nearly got big Jim and The Twins caught in my zipper I was trying to get out of there so fast (the yanks have zero tolerence for messing in bars and I knew there could be cops involved if I got caught).

I got out unnoticed and sat back in the booth with my friends as I see a paniced lady rush out looking around and calling over a member of staff. There was a bouncer called in and I was sure I was a goner as someone had to see me coming out. But no, was able to stay the night and got drunk for a second time as Mrs Bottom Burp gets her coat and huffily walks out the door.

:D:D

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I have a little toddler so if the mens are dirty and I don't want women in the ladies getting excited then I just use the disabled toilet.

Having a little todger isn't really classed as a disability.

It is something that can present itself though, for example if you are a Dad out with your daughter and she needs to go - do you accompany her into the ladies? You can't bring her into the mens... And I wouldn't be happy sending my child into a toilet alone if they were very young. We definitely need family rooms and tbh (I'll be shot for this) but is there any reason why disabled toilets cannot double as family rooms as they are already bigger and can fit buggies etc. I remember the funny scene in Jack and Sarah where he's not allowed into the mother and baby changing facility because he's not the mother. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Who cleans these jacks? Surely whoever does would need a background in hazardous waste disposal and the proper protective attire and tools provided to them.

I shudder even thinking about, must be one of the worst jobs in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I've used the gents in work a couple of times because the lady's is very often blocked, or someone's done something terrible in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭Pwindedd

Oh God...waits for the war to begin. Have you seen the threads saying that people using wheelchair spaces in carparks should be given the death penalty? Watch out! :P

No fecking way should those toilets be JUST for disabled people...they are just accessible to the both the able bodied and disabled alike. If i need to go, then I'm going into whatever one is free. Hate when they are locked and only access is by asking a staff member. What do they think the able-bodied are going to do in there ???

Why do they have to put disabled people through all the hassle and potential embarassment of having to go find the guardian of the key? I can't imagine that's much fun.

Pwindedd wrote: »
    No fecking way should those toilets be JUST for disabled people...they are just accessible to the both the able bodied and disabled alike. If i need to go, then I'm going into whatever one is free. Hate when they are locked and only access is by asking a staff member. What do they think the able-bodied are going to do in there ???

Go in as a group and take loads of cocaine?

Pwindedd wrote: »
    What do they think the able-bodied are going to do in there ???
    They're comfortable, private, lockable cubicles. So, go in for a shag, go in to shoot up, etc etc. I'm sure a wiley homeless person would use one to wander in out of the rain and have a few beers and a wash.

The baby changing rooms in Liffey Valley are key-only for the same reason.

In nicer areas they're usually not locked by default.

It is something that can present itself though, for example if you are a Dad out with your daughter and she needs to go - do you accompany her into the ladies? You can't bring her into the mens... And I wouldn't be happy sending my child into a toilet alone if they were very young. We definitely need family rooms and tbh (I'll be shot for this) but is there any reason why disabled toilets cannot double as family rooms as they are already bigger and can fit buggies etc. I remember the funny scene in Jack and Sarah where he's not allowed into the mother and baby changing facility because he's not the mother. :)

See, this is why we need more gender neutral facilities around, solves all these issues.

I bring my daughter into the men's, or the ladies, whatever is closest. Why wouldn't I?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Buzz Killington the third

We definitely need family rooms and tbh (I'll be shot for this) but is there any reason why disabled toilets cannot double as family rooms as they are already bigger and can fit buggies etc.

A lot of them are. The big malls like Dundrum do this.

I bring my daughter into the men's, or the ladies, whatever is closest. Why wouldn't I?

Well maybe the crazy yanks would get hysterical and call the cops if you went into the ladies...and then there was the poster who suggested that throwing your d1ck around in the mens in perfectly acceptable :D

Wasn't it an Irish gym where someone lost the plot that a young lad saw naked men in the men's changing room?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=76771636
    http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/pool-swimmer-over-the-moon-after-being-cleared-of-lewd-act-26815732.html
    The court heard that on the day in question the boy had gone into the male changing rooms "for the first time on his own".

The boy agreed with Mr Nicholas that he found it "a bit daunting" that Mr McMahon was "walking naked around the changing rooms".

Mr Nicholas said it was "highly important" that they consider that the boy, "had little or no experiences" of adults walking around changing rooms naked.

He added: "In any changing room of this type there would be nudity and the whole thing was new and daunting for him."

In his final address to the jury, Mr Nicholas said: "If you're young and not used to nudity, the shock of it could be overwhelming. . . Use your common sense. Of course there would be nudity, scratching one's self, towelling one's self, and so forth."
    - See more at: http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/pool-swimmer-over-the-moon-after-being-cleared-of-lewd-act-26815732.html#sthash.jGfaUg8l.dpuf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

bluewolf wrote: »
    Wasn't it an Irish gym where someone lost the plot that a young lad saw naked men in the men's changing room?

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/pool-swimmer-over-the-moon-after-being-cleared-of-lewd-act-26815732.html
    The court heard that on the day in question the boy had gone into the male changing rooms "for the first time on his own".

The boy agreed with Mr Nicholas that he found it "a bit daunting" that Mr McMahon was "walking naked around the changing rooms".

Mr Nicholas said it was "highly important" that they consider that the boy, "had little or no experiences" of adults walking around changing rooms naked.

He added: "In any changing room of this type there would be nudity and the whole thing was new and daunting for him."

In his final address to the jury, Mr Nicholas said: "If you're young and not used to nudity, the shock of it could be overwhelming. . . Use your common sense. Of course there would be nudity, scratching one's self, towelling one's self, and so forth."
    - See more at: http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/pool-swimmer-over-the-moon-after-being-cleared-of-lewd-act-26815732.html#sthash.jGfaUg8l.dpuf

I used to work in a gym and we would occasionally get complaints from men about their sons seeing other men unclothed in the changing rooms. We used to just say "Well, it is a men's changing room".

I can't find anywhere what this guy was accused of or who accused him exactly. There seems to be a suggestion that he went to court for being naked in the shower but surely that's not the case??

The guy was basically accused of touching himself indecently in front of a child who had been in the changing room.

It became apparent in the court case that the guy was just scratching his balls and/or drying himself off with a towel and the child was uncomfortable being in close proximity to him.

Think of how you dry your private parts off with a towel, then imagine how that would look to a child who'd never been in a shower room before.

I'm trying to understand it but I just don't get how someone so unworldly would then go and lodge a formal complaint against a guy for indecent exposure or whatever the charge was

bluewolf wrote: »

Ye gods, we are so repressed :(