Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SVP calls for increased social welfare payments

• 24-06-2014 3:33pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 970 ✭✭✭

I think it should be decreased to encourage people to start working again! Taking my tax dollars and getting a free house :mad::mad::mad:

http://www.rte.ie/news/2014/0624/626172-st-vincent-de-paul/

Editied: For people who don't want to work, not people genuinely trying to get jobs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭folan

yawhat! wrote: »
    I think it should be decreased to encourage people to start working again! Taking my tax dollars and getting a free house :mad::mad::mad:

tax dollars? but the article is about SVP and Ireland, where we use the Euro. your tax dollars are safe, my american friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

You do realise not everyone on SW gets a free house don't you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

What would you have us do with the sick and the disabled who cannot work mein Fuhrer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

I'd like to hear about these free houses

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

I'd like to hear about these free houses

And where do I get my dollars?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭comongethappy

What would you have us do with the sick and the disabled who cannot work mein Fuhrer?

You mean the 1 in 8 adults who are disabled?. (A world leading figure).

Who knows.... Money is infinite as we know.

MarkR wrote: »
    And where do I get my dollars?

OPs arse ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,709 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Get outta here with yer realistic scenarios

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

SVP calls for increased social welfare payments

Well, they would. Wouldn't they? This is news?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

You mean the 1 in 8 adults who are disabled?. (A world leading figure).

Who knows.... Money is infinite as we know.

Yes its always perplexed me as to how we seem to give out the disabled badges in this country like candyfloss. Seems to be acres of unscrupulous chancers with free parking in the city.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

No to an increase in general welfare payments. Maybe to the introduction of a fuel/energy subsidy IF it can be shown that one is needed to maintain a basic way of living on existing welfare levels.

I don't think one is needed though based on anecdotal experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Definitely not, Because as well all know since the crash the standard of living went dirt cheap and prices went down to pre boom. Oh wait.... And were do I get my free house ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

listermint wrote: »
    Yes its always perplexed me as to how we seem to give out the disabled badges in this country like candyfloss. Seems to be acres of unscrupulous chancers with free parking in the city.

Well, past governments had to buy votes some way!

And now you can't take anything back of people because they'll throw their collective toys out of their prams until you have to back down.

This will become completely unsustainable if it continues the way it is. We're on the brink now but most people don't give a **** as long as they get their "entitlements".

listermint wrote: »

They are not given out like candlefloss, you must apply producing a primary medical cert and cost 35 euros and not every disabled person qualifies for one.I'd also like to know how you know from looking at a car with a disabled pass that the owner of the pass is unscrupulous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭comongethappy

They are not given out like candlefloss, you must apply producing a primary medical cert and cost 35 euros and not every disabled person qualifies for one.I'd also like to know how you know from looking at a car with a disabled pass that the owner of the pass is unscrupulous.

40% more disabled adults from 2006 to 2013.
    Statistically impossible, but I'm sure its all on the level.

http://www.davidmcwilliams.ie/2013/04/04/the-mystery-of-disability

The disabled parking pass is not issued to every disabled person , you must meet certain criteria for it.

Could be the dole office fudging the figures, Recommending people go on the sick rather than claim JSA.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

A deeper examination of those figures is necessary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

The disabled parking pass is not issued to every disabled person , you must meet certain criteria for it.

Dubious. Very poor loose r
    eview process which gives an easy green light to the abundant dubious claimants.

efb wrote: »
    A deeper examination of those figures is necessary

Won't happen.

Special interest groups would have a field day and accuse the government of "targeting the vulnerable". Again.

That's the problem with creating a touchy-feely nanny state that babysits grown ass people. It's next to near impossible to reverse it once you tell people that they are a cosseted special group of people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Soft Falling Rain

Could be the dole office fudging the figures, Recommending people go on the sick rather than claim JSA.

Disability benefit and the like has been one of the biggest topics of contention in Joan Burton's war on those ripping the system, so why would any dole office actively encourage anyone to pursue an illness benefit? They want people off it not on it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭bogmanfan

Was only discussing the dole with my brother-in-law at the weekend. He's currently out of work, having returned home from working abroad. In his opinion, and for his circumstances (single, no dependents) he thinks the dole is far too high in this country. In his words, you shouldn't be able to save while receiving social welfare. Likewise it shouldn't be enough to facilitate a Sky Sports subscription or a 20-a-day smoking habit.
    It's a crazy situation we are in, where some people are better off being unemployed than working. A recent story in the Indo broke down the figures, and when medical card, rent allowance etc are taken into account, there is absolutely no financial benefit for some in getting a low-paid job.
    I would think that a raising of the minimum wage as well as the income tax band, combined with a reduction in social welfare would help to change this.

Disability benefit and the like has been one of the biggest topics of contention in Joan Burton's war on those ripping the system, so why would any dole office actively encourage anyone to pursue an illness benefit? They want people off it not on it!

You are not on the live register, Therefore not part of the unemployed figures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Naaaaaah. Thread needs a poll.

Chinasea wrote: »
    Dubious. Very poor loose r
    eview process which gives an easy green light to the abundant dubious claimants.

The criteria has become much strict , a certain number of people automatically qualify for the pass , people with severe mobility issues and blind people .Everyone else needs an application through their GP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Chinasea

You cant and unless you have a wooden leg detector it is tricky but but but the whole review process is very shoddy, loose and open to out and out abuse. Wat to many dubious disability claimants in this country which imo affords a life of dysfunction and idelness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

I want more free money. Come on government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

People on social welfare are worse than Hitler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Jesus dole threads come as often as buses in here these days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭chasm

What free house would that be then?

bogmanfan wrote: »
    Was only discussing the dole with my brother-in-law at the weekend. He's currently out of work, having returned home from working abroad. In his opinion, and for his circumstances (single, no dependents) he thinks the dole is far too high in this country. In his words, you shouldn't be able to save while receiving social welfare. Likewise it shouldn't be enough to facilitate a Sky Sports subscription or a 20-a-day smoking habit.
    It's a crazy situation we are in, where some people are better off being unemployed than working. A recent story in the Indo broke down the figures, and when medical card, rent allowance etc are taken into account, there is absolutely no financial benefit for some in getting a low-paid job.
    I would think that a raising of the minimum wage as well as the income tax band, combined with a reduction in social welfare would help to change this.

Here is a shocking idea maybe people in work are not being paid enough to cover minimum standard of survival. €188 PW that's all you are entitled to all other stuff is means tested, not everyone gets all allowances. Medical card is no use to anyone only the sick never understand why it's always trotted out ? must be a lot of normal people on the dole suddenly getting sick to utilise this. or can you use it for free holidays or car rental ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭DoesNotCompute

SO where's the money tree growing these days?

Chinasea wrote: »
    You cant and unless you have a wooden leg detector it is tricky but but but the whole review process is very shoddy, loose and open to out and out abuse. Wat to many dubious disability claimants in this country which imo affords a life of dysfunction and idelness.

Point me in the direction of this review process specifically around disabled parking permits and while your at it can you help us with an application for free housing ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Lucifer MorningStar

I think they should print more money, then everyone will be happy :pac:

SO where's the money tree growing these days?

ECB ?

Medical card is no use to anyone only the sick never understand why it's always trotted out

Anyone can get sick.

The problem is that people who are above the modest cut of point/aren't "disabled" are paying for the doctor for both themselves and for their next door neighbor who has a medical card.

Anyone can get sick.

The problem is that people who are above the modest cut of point/aren't "disabled" are paying for the doctor for both themselves and for their next door neighbor who has a medical card.

True but why should it cost over €50 to see a doctor way way above the EU average. I think that should be looked into tbh cant be just he medical card keeping the price up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

So, if there's 450,000 ish on the dole, 237,000 out through disability, 500,000 students(??)..800,000+ retired(?), 450,000 PS workers and 800,000 Full time Mothers, 1500,000 kids in school...fcuk me, who's left to pay for it all?? That 237,000 disabled figure is mental tbh. How come that's never mentioned?? Jasus lads, get the boat, we're fecked, we really are.

Anyone can get sick.

Its possible to get GP cards and discretionary medical cards , despite the recent policies about them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Soft Falling Rain

The department of social protection isn't just about the live register. They want to cut costs anyhwere they can. It can be very difficult to touch disability or illness benefit once people qualify for it. People who qualify for these benefits are also not going to be put under pressure to find work.

So, if someone they feel is "borderline" is on disability benefit, they will try everything to get them off that benefit and onto the JSA for two reasons: to get them off the more protected benefit, and to make it easier to lean on them to find work, courses, internships etc etc...

I should qualify all of this by saying that I find these tactics to be quite cynical towards people. Depression, for example, falls under disability benefit. It is something that welfare offices will demand be scrutinised through regular check ups until the person is deemed "fit for work" and thus thrown back onto the JSA, regardless of how the individual in question feels about their own "fitness".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 970 ✭✭✭yawhat!

chasm wrote: »
    What free house would that be then?

Council house, replace free house with free accommodation then.

You pay rent to the council in a council house!

Are you talking about rent allowance and private rented or people.looking to.obtain a council.house ?

A tiny, tiny amount compared to what other people in the real world in the same area would be paying for private rental or a mortgage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭Broxi_Bear_Eire

I would love to know how all these people get them I am disabled but so far have been unsuccessful. My consultant note that I can manage to walk 25 metres that has halved from 50 in two years I am in agony doing this but won't give in. This distance will continue to decrease to to spinal degradation the nerves are badly damaged.
    It is not as easy as some people think getting a Blue badge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

I think it should be decreased to encourage people to start working again!

Maybe you should drop into Dublin Airport and tell those emigrating, that they don't need to leave at all. Since the country is apparently awash with job opportunities. And while you're at it, maybe you should actually point out where they can find this abundance of employment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Grand so. While we're at it, Dublin rents have gone up by 25% in the last two years. Can SVP lobby for my employers to raise my salary by the same level, maybe more actually because I'll be paying even more tax to help fund their dole increase?

How much do people on rent allowance pay out of their own pocket from their free money. 100 a month from their dole?

How much are people paying in Dublin who work and have kids? 1200 or more a month from their own pocket.

Sickens me.

A tiny, tiny amount compared to what other people in the real world in the same area would be paying for private rental or a mortgage.

The real world eh!

Yes the real world. You say you pay rent for a council house . How much rent is on a council house that you have pay from the dole? Its free money so your not paying anything! Probably 100 a month when others are paying 1300 a month with kids in dublin who actually pay their own way!