Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Today I saw a classic and took a pic thread! Part 2

• Registered Users Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

What about the Land Cruiser pictures above? Any chance you know what that went for?

CFD

I was looking at that one meself, but that's in the next auction in September apparantly!

• Registered Users Posts: 186 ✭✭The Big Red Fella

Did that land cruiser sell & the silver celica RA28 behind it? some serious cash was spent on that cruiser!
    they are from Mccabes defunkt toyota garage in Ardee co louth!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭Diabhalta

Somewhere between Carrigaline and Myrtleville (co. Cork)

IMG_8429.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

Diabhalta wrote: »
    IMG_8421.jpg

IMG_8420.jpg
    Do you like my latest Deek?.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Capri

In 1961 the DKW Junior retailed for 4790 Marks.[2] It offered more luggage space and a wider cabin than the market leading Volkswagen Beetle, and customers willing to pay an extra 160 Marks for the optional heater had the advantage in winter of a car that warmed up much more rapidly than the Volkswagen with its air-cooled power unit

Wonder did PR Reilly in Killester assemble that one :confused: , AFIR they assembled the older DKW 3=6 :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

AFAIK only Hennesys in Ballincollig Cork were the only DKW assemblers.

Riley wasn't holding back, had to pull over to let him pass :P
    The Rolller earning it's keep :rolleyes:
    AH 3000 , daily driver in all weathers :cool:
    64/5 Mustang, saw a 67 'Bullit' earlier but too late for even a bad shot :(
    Elan +2 'Avengers' ?

Bit of a quiz here, name the 4x4 - it's NOT what you think :confused:

That BGT was an Anniversary model I think :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

I think the MG might have been re-shelled and re-registered.

No idea on the 4x4. Patrol would be my guess?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭rizzodun

Diabhalta wrote: »
    Somewhere between Carrigaline and Myrtleville (co. Cork)

IMG_8429.jpg

I love the H Van

Missed out on one going free a couple of years back, it was in a bad way but getting it for nothing I would have re built it from the ground up, it would've taken years but that would've been no hassle.

Always on the lookout for one cheap, maybe in a few years when I have money to spare!

A FREE H van!?

It must have been an absolute heap! :eek: :pac:

I'd love one, could make a great camper from one.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,615 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Kaiser D wrote: »
    I think the MG might have been re-shelled and re-registered.?

Nope. last of the line LE. That used to live around Harolds cross for a while I think.

And I'm gonna say that Y60 Patrol is an ozzie import but maybe I'm wrong?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

A FREE H van!?

It must have been an absolute heap!

funny you should that I met a guy who had one as a camper for him and his wife, I didnt ask or take photos as he was an knob so I walked away, I wanted to find out the history of it but it did look good.

• Registered Users Posts: 333 ✭✭mondymike

Capri wrote: »
    Bit of a quiz here, name the 4x4 - it's NOT what you think :confused:

That BGT was an Anniversary model I think :confused:

Is it a Suzuki. The lights side on and fenders remind me of a vitara

• Registered Users Posts: 72 ✭✭JohnxF

I think the MG might have been re-shelled and re-registered.

No idea on the 4x4. Patrol would be my guess?

Surely a Patrol? Or some rebadging of it? Did Nissan let anyone else sell them? That model was before the Renault tie-up.

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Nope. last of the line LE. That used to live around Harolds cross for a while I think.

And I'm gonna say that Y60 Patrol is an ozzie import but maybe I'm wrong?

LE - Last Edition ? :rolleyes:

4x4 photo Pt2 Getting close, but nobody's given me the correct answer !

• Registered Users Posts: 4,358 ✭✭✭kev1.3s

JohnxF wrote: »
    Surely a Patrol? Or some rebadging of it? Did Nissan let anyone else sell them? That model was before the Renault tie-up.

Yeah patrol gets my vote too.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

If it's not a Patrol (my first thought) is it a Land cruiser from the late 80's? I only ever saw one lwb passenger model here.

The road to Hell is paved with good intentions.

*hint*

The Patrol was re-badged about 7/8 times...

Ford maverick ?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,105 ✭✭✭hi5

• Registered Users Posts: 72 ✭✭JohnxF

hi5 wrote: »
    ^Yep, Ford Maverick

A rare enough beast so, even down under. Only 5 linked above and just over 40 Patrols of similar vintage! After a bit of Googling I see this badge engineering was a result of a government plan (google Button Car Plan). Looks like that coud have been the beginning of the end for Australian manufacturers. Both Ford and Toyota are winding down manufacturing there.

kev1.3s wrote: »
    Ford maverick ?

Well done, you win a ....... :rolleyes:

4.2L 6 so it says on Cartel, not sure petrol or daysel. More like petrol :)

There's a few SA/OZ Patrol ST's around - 4.2 diesel in them instead of the puny 4cyl the Army use.
    http://photos.carsguide.com.au/car/0296/3437/2002_nissan_patrol_used_2963437_1_l.jpg

Indo tests a 78 Golf - http://www.independent.ie/life/motoring/video-the-volkswagen-golf-mark-1-a-1978-test-drive-30477562.html

• Registered Users Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭mb1725

@ Capri.... I always like your pics, there's so much going on in them. Like yer wan in the MGB fixing the mascara :

316959.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭Diabhalta

Camden Fort Meagher (Crosshaven, Cork)

IMG_8466.jpg

Crosshaven

IMG_8523.jpg

IMG_8524.jpg

14812938025_5dd7116c11_b.jpg
    Cool little Citroen AX van. I'd love one of these.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭rizzodun

A FREE H van!?

It must have been an absolute heap! :eek: :pac:

Yes, twas in a bad enough way alright and yer man just had no time or interest in it, but my auld fella learnt his trade in panel beating in 60s and 70s cars, so it would've been salvageable.

Few yokes out in the rain - That RHD 64 Parisienne was JZJ-555 so defo a long time resident (MIGHT even be the one I 'remember' from my youth - but I still think 'my' one was a dark green 66-68 :confused: ) , Chevy P/U is around Newtownmountkenndy a bit.

Future classics in their own way - a Tesla and a Twizy, part of a 'dream' collection if you were young enough to wait 30years :rolleyes:

Capri wrote: »
    Future classics in their own way - a Tesla and a Twizy, part of a 'dream' collection if you were young enough to wait 30years :rolleyes:

That tesla is pretty cool, didn't think there would be any here. I had a bit of fun on the website a while ago tailoring one to my needs.