Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

****Change to Charter-Please Read****

Neyite wrote: »
    Personal Issues is not a discussion forum so it would probably better suited to LTI perhaps?

There's already a similar thread in LTI.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

I think this is a really good idea. AH really has gone to hell recently. Most of the threads invariably end up with Shinnerbot 15, a libertarian who more than likely lives with his parents, Common Sense Liberal Stereotype, and a couple of student socialists arguing about semantics and 'whataboutery'. And I'd rather pop my eyes out with a teaspoon than have to see a first page filled with those type of threads.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

. AH really has gone to hell recently.

If I had a dollar for every time I have heard this in the past 11 years.
    I'm sure it has gone to hell since Jan 2014...mind, it was fantastic in Dec 2013!

Not a big fan of this move to be honest, there is a very different style of debate in Politics. Politics Cafe is a bit of a tumbleweed forum (four threads with replies today) and I really don't see it getting the traffic.

Plus I think you run into the usual arbitrary nature of deciding what is a political thread. I have had spirited debate on turfcutters and gun control in the US, they are both 'political' issues. I don't see the need to move those threads either to Politics Cafe or Farming and Shooting for that matter.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,163 ✭✭✭Beefy78

Can someone just confirm where this year's Poppy thread will go please?

Thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,988 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

MadsL wrote: »
    If I had a dollar for every time I have heard this in the past 11 years.
    I'm sure it has gone to hell since Jan 2014...mind, it was fantastic in Dec 2013!

It's always new users who say it too :pac:

you all have it easy. long gone are the days of rampant cronyism, cliques, bigotry, and most of all drunk mods banning people in the middle of the night threads for the lols. Not in any particular order. Speaking of which you aren't subjected to partial nudity either.

some or all of the above statement may be true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

I think this is a really good idea. AH really has gone to hell recently. Most of the threads invariably end up with Shinnerbot 15, a libertarian who more than likely lives with his parents, Common Sense Liberal Stereotype, and a couple of student socialists arguing about semantics and 'whataboutery'. And I'd rather pop my eyes out with a teaspoon than have to see a first page filled with those type of threads.

Have you tried blasting it with pi**...

But seriously though... I think AH hasn't gone to hell enough lately..

I think we should leave things as is though.. The mods will be bumping into each other asking "Is this political or not?" then you will have posters asking "where's the thread gone?".

Ya sure... try it out for a while but my bets are that it'll be back.

Nobody really knows what AH is.. but that's its main attraction. If you say AH is definitely NOT politics or anything politically related then yissr on a hiding to nothing...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,231 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Armelodie wrote: »
    The mods will be bumping into each other asking "Is this political or not?"
    The AH mods have done a grand job so far methinks. They are really easy to work with too. Very helpful, and more importantly, they care.
    then you will have posters asking "where's the thread gone?".
    Move Thread and Leave Expiring Redirect: 1-week. Problem solved.

Black Swan wrote: »
    The AH mods have done a grand job so far methinks. They are really easy to work with too. Very helpful, and more importantly, they care.
    Ya sure they do indeed do a good job in an 'eclectic' forum such as AH and I don't envy their job. But wouldn;t they be throwing the baby out with the bathwater by chucking all the 'political' content out.

Have a look at the last 14 posts I just captured.. eight of which could be easily classed as 'Political' in some way.

So that would be over 50% of the AH traffic gone! Is that what folk want...
    After Hours - boards.ie-1.jpg

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,231 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Have a look at the last 14 posts I just captured.. eight of which could be easily classed as 'Political' in some way.
    The AH and Politics mods, with Dav's guidance and help, have had many discussions about this issue. We are working very well together. Some OPs are clearly political, some are clearly not, while some fall into the grey area in between. Good mods know how to exercise their discretion when making decisions. The AH mods are smart. Thus far the moves they have made to Politics Café appear good. Sure, someday they may move a grey area thread or two, but it won't break AH, the lead forum on boards with almost 5 million posts (4,891,118).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Black Swan wrote: »
    The AH and Politics mods, with Dav's guidance and help, have had many discussions about this issue. We are working very well together. Some OPs are clearly political, some are clearly not, while some fall into the grey area in between. Good mods know how to exercise their discretion when making decisions. The AH mods are smart. Thus far the moves they have made to Politics Café appear good. Sure, someday they may move a grey area thread or two, but it won't break AH, the lead forum on boards with almost 5 million posts (4,891,118).

....so was it a Fuhrer decree? Rather explains the "we've done this, lets chat pointlessly about it" thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users Posts: 7,991 ✭✭✭Hitchens

another problem is that AH has been modded to death, and yet there are a certain few 'pet' knob-heads who are allowed to say anything they like

is it ok to give a donation, btw?

Hitchens wrote: »
    another problem is that AH has been modded to death, and yet there are a certain few 'pet' knob-heads who are allowed to say anything they like

is it ok to give a donation, btw?

See, that's the kind of vague waffle that causes any sort of feedback thread to descend into chaos.

1 - Name the "certain few 'pet' knob-heads.

2 - Give links and quotes to/of examples of what you claim.

• Registered Users Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Nodin wrote: »
    ....so was it a Fuhrer decree? Rather explains the "we've done this, lets chat pointlessly about it" thread.

You may just have to face the fact that most people are in favour of change. This thread alone would indicate that. It's been open a week and only a handful of people are not in favour.

We can't make everyone happy and we will never try.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

The ice cream thread is exactly the kind of "political" thread which shouldn't have been moved IMO. It's only vaguely political and is far more social / ripping the piss, which is what AH used to be all about before mods decided to try and change it into something it never was.

You may just have to face the fact that most people are in favour of change. This thread alone would indicate that. It's been open a week and only a handful of people are not in favour.

Seeing as the decision has been made beforehand behind closed doors, many would wonder why bother arguing a fait accompli.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Maphisto

Mick there have 77 replies, I'd imagine the rest haven't seen it, haven't thought about it, or couldn't be bothered.
    You'll be in trouble with O'Leary if you start stealing their motto.

• Registered Users Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Seeing as the decision has been made beforehand behind closed doors, many would wonder why bother arguing a fait accompli.

This thread isn't a group discussion on if we should make a change.
    We made the decision based on many feedback threads and other information. The change was going to happen, this thread was to answer the why and when and maybe work through the more grey issues.

This thread isn't a group discussion on if we should make a change. .

Yeah. Which again begs the question why a thread at all. If you want to give the appearance of consultation, its always best to start the thread before going ahead with something.
    We made the decision based on many feedback threads and other information. The change was going to happen, this thread was to answer the why and when and maybe work through the more grey issues.

Which translates to what I said earlier "the decision has been made beforehand behind closed doors". As a result, nobody outside of those doors has any notion of why the decision was taken, and no statement made about it out here is provable.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,108 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

The bolded part is why, for me. What exactly is AH "intended" to be? Shouldn't that be defined by how people use it?
    That ship has sailed on a number of forums, particularly those with decent traffic. Where once the community had more say, or things were at least more organic, more freewheeling, now it's much more top down, "safe", more "middle management" thinking and action and detachment(and that even includes the middle management speak). A feeling of we're not really sure what some forums are for.

Boards has long been accused of being moderator heavy and in the past I nearly always disagreed with that viewpoint and IMHO I think I was right. Today I'm not nearly so sure, or at least in some areas. We're being corralled more and more and we've become more isolated within the groups and titles. Not just users, that goes for the mods and admins too. It's become internally cultural as a way of thinking and doing. Which is kinda weird given all of us, save literally a handful of people, are volunteers here of our own desire as users, mods, cmods, admins.

This change IMH? Translation: Boards is losing the numbers game in the last 18 months. Traffic is down. Not by that much, but the wave has crested. After Hours is the gateway forum, the most popular and populous forum of all. Let's try and spread that popularity into other forums and hope it takes root elsewhere.

This community and all the communities on Boards grew into the great communities they are organically with the odd measured move at the tiller. Forcing that tiller against the flow will work for a while, or appear to work, but there will come a point where it'll stop working. Too many forums will dilute the userbase further(and there are too many forums, a huge amount of which are driven by less than three people). People will simply start to look elsewhere.

How you will see that coming is not from any protest. What is often missed is that protest shows folks actually care. Care enough about what they want to see in a community sense. When people mumble, but pretty much ignore changes, because they come to expect such changes from the top down, or go with the flow, when people stop bitching, then that's when you start to really lose them and their attachments and that's when a community is strapping on the water skis and preparing to jump the shark.

Plus where does this end? A large chunk of the threads in AH would comfortably sit in the humanities forum(as we speak that forum is looking to revamp in a effort to gather more users, so...). Others would sit in Celebrities/Film/TV/Sport/Spirituality/Humour/Animals & pets/Gentlemans club/Ladies lounge/etc[Apply or delete as applicable]. Then what have you got left in AH? Blasting with piss and your ma stylee is out anyway(thankfully).

I'll gaze into my crystal ball and bet that the majority of threads moved will die a death, or fade away as a discussion between two people who were invested enough to follow the redirect. Little interest will be generated elsewhere and those who wanted to post on such topics in AH will after a while learn to not bother. Everyone and everywhere loses. Hopefully I'll be proven wrong. Let's see.

Me? For my sins, I still hold quite the loyalty to Boards.ie and the After Hours forum would be a goodly chunk of that and I do hope it works out and I'll still keep posting my flavour of bullshíte for ye all to laugh at.

PS Over the years I've noted a snooty attitude among some towards After Hours. It wasn't "high brow" enough for the same some. Well the After Hours of today is so much more intelligent, involved, informative and more engaging thanks to the community and mods here and now it seems this needs to be diluted to try and spread that elsewhere?

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Could Distilled not just buy out politics.ie, no?

strobe wrote: »

?

strobe wrote: »

Agree with all wibbs said, although i'd still be open enough to give it a go... But if it fails could we move the politics forum under AH !!

• Registered Users Posts: 36,223 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

That's where I am anyway. Just note that it's a poor decision and move on because arguing won't change the decision. I also can't express my thoughts in as eloquent fashion as Wibbs unfortunately so I'd be wasting my time to some extent anyway. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,519 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Would have liked to see the AH perspective on developments in Iraq.

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    That's where I am anyway. Just note that it's a poor decision and move on because arguing won't change the decision. I also can't express my thoughts in as eloquent fashion as Wibbs unfortunately so I'd be wasting my time to some extent anyway. :)

A bad idea, badly carried out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Maphisto

AH is light hearted, not too serious, with the odd flare up of tempers (me included) on sensitive or emotive issues, a bit like in a busy pub where we all knew each other.

Occassionally the publican, a big strong ugly looking man, has to step in and stop serving some people that have had a little too much. Sometimes when they start wrecking the place he kicks them out.

But all of this is great banter and kind of why we come to this pub. Now if we can't discuss sport (not that I want to - I admire those who do); can't discuss politics (I don't always want to but its nice to have the choice); can't have our Olympic RCC bashing events - doesn't AH reduce itself to "Are your farts worse than anyone else's" threads. No doubt fun in their place but is that the intention?

Maphisto wrote: »
    AH is light hearted, not too serious, with the odd flare up of tempers (me included) on sensitive or emotive issues, a bit like in a busy pub where we all knew each other.

Occassionally the publican, a big strong ugly looking man, has to step in and stop serving some people that have had a little too much. Sometimes when they start wrecking the place he kicks them out.

But all of this is great banter and kind of why we come to this pub. Now if we can't discuss sport (not that I want to - I admire those who do); can't discuss politics (I don't always want to but its nice to have the choice); can't have our Olympic RCC bashing events - doesn't AH reduce itself to "Are your farts worse than anyone else's" threads. No doubt fun in their place but is that the intention?

It's certainly going to be the cumulative affect.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,405 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

yep already a big chunk of stuff i use to read on here down the drain, feck all to read on after hours now and no i shant be going to the cafe i cant be arsed its basically dead over there. Really a bad move, way to kill the conversation.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,988 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Lone Stone wrote: »
    yep already a big chunk of stuff i use to read on here down the drain, feck all to read on after hours now and no i shant be going to the cafe i cant be arsed its basically dead over there. Really a bad move, way to kill the conversation.

Frankly does it matter where the conversation is?

I get that After Hours is convenient, being the first link under rec and all, but forum subscription makes that a non-issue. I subscribe to 8 different tech forums, so it really doesn't matter which of those someone wants to start a thread, it will get read. Similarly I have 3 politics forum subscribed.