Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Face Down, Ass Up. .

• 23-05-2014 10:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭

. .That's the way I like to foot turf.

That's what I was singing to myself today whilst footing my turf, I love to motivate myself in the bog. :)

Anyone else make up motivational songs for themselves as they go about their daily chores?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,573 ✭✭✭pajor

Have you ever got a ride..
    have you ever got a ride..
    have you ever got a ride in a tractor?

No idea what the rest of it is. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Lucifer MorningStar

pajor wrote: »

Real men ride bikes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,374 ✭✭✭Hotale.com

Real men ride bikes

Real men have decking, Joe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Real men ride bikes

Without saddles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Did you ever get it in, did you ever get it in, did you ever get it inside out!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Lucifer MorningStar

Without saddles.

Or without hands

• Closed Accounts Posts: 941 ✭✭✭Ciderswigger

Did you ever get a lick,
    did you ever get a lick,
    did you ever get a lick of a lolly...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

Do you have one for bagging too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭deise08

Did you ever get your hole
    did you ever get your hole
    did you ever get your hole weeks wages?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

did ye ever feel the balls - at the bingo
    did ye ever get the feel - of a fiver
    did ye ever get it up - side down
    did ye ever get it - side out
    did ye ever get yer hole - weeks wages

maybe more, i cant remember

I was roaring "bowl of, bowl of bowl of, bowl of bowl of, bowl of BOWL OF CORN FLAKES!" to the tune of the Yaya/Kolo Toure chant the other day when I was making breakfast.

Looking back on it I think my Dad was in the other room rather confused.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

. .That's the way I like to foot turf.

That's what I was singing to myself today whilst footing my turf, I love to motivate myself in the bog. :)

Anyone else make up motivational songs for themselves as they go about their daily chores?

As a bogger, turf is shyte - buy coal, it's moreish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,879 ✭✭✭ArtyM

Yeah, i have a wee ditty I like to hum...

Give them all their fries, give them all their fries.
    Nod and smile, it makes them happy.
    God I hope they all choke to f**king death on their own Vomit.
    Give them all their fries.

I don't even work in a restaurant!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Mariasofia

Did ya ever ride a c*nt
    did ya ever ride a c*nt
    did ya ever ride a country pony? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

For Savage Eye fans:

Did ya ever punch your mother,
    Did ya ever punch your mother in the face?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

There was an old woman
    who lived in a shoe
    she had so many kids
    her gee fell off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

caustic 1 wrote: »
    Do you have one for bagging too?

We don't bag them around here, we just drag them.

So it's

Well I'm going down the hill road trying to get home with this load
    I got seven tractors on my mind
    Four that won't tread heather, two that won't pull for me
    One thinks it's a fcuking combine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Up down turn around
    Please don't let me hit the ground
    Tonight I think I'll walk alone
    I'll find myself as I go home.

wrote that on my way back from the pub years ago.

Muise... wrote: »
    Up down turn around
    Please don't let me hit the ground
    Tonight I think I'll walk alone
    I'll find myself as I go home.

wrote that on my way back from the pub years ago.

Snip

You obviously weren't drunk enough if you remember it :P

Hotale.com wrote: »
    You obviously weren't drunk enough if you remember it :P

Nonsense - I was blue-green-grey-gee-eyed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

I'm a Civil Servant, I don't have chores and I'm not motivated to do any

21/25

As a bogger, turf is shyte - buy coal, it's moreish.

No way man, turf are the cheapest, healthiest, cleanest and sexist firing you can get. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 266 ✭✭Eileen Down

The village magician he was there
    Something something something
    He put his head between legs
    And vanished up his hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

uch wrote: »
    I'm a Civil Servant, I don't have chores and I'm not motivated to do any

What's the air to that one?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Foot is a verb now?

Sky King wrote: »
    Foot is a verb now?

Yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Red Pepper

No way man, turf are the cheapest, healthiest, cleanest and sexist firing you can get. :)

I think we both voted Ming #1.

Foot is a verb now?

Even Yeats used it as such:

"Where the wave of moonlight glosses
    The dim gray sands with light,
    Far off by furthest Rosses
    We foot it all the night,
    Weaving olden dances
    Mingling hands and mingling glances
    Till the moon has taken flight"

(The Stolen Child)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭ratmouse

A primary school teachers song for Irish class.

"Get put your focail leabhar, get out your focail leabhar,
    We'll have you learning Irish in a half an hour.
    'sea mean yes and níl means no,
    get out your focail leabhar and we'll all have a go"

Compliments of the great lyricist Richie Kavanagh ;-)

Even Yeats used it as such:

"Where the wave of moonlight glosses
    The dim gray sands with light,
    Far off by furthest Rosses
    We foot it all the night,
    Weaving olden dances
    Mingling hands and mingling glances
    Till the moon has taken flight"

(The Stolen Child)

I'm sorry but as a leaving cert student I can safely say 99% of 18 year olds in this country agree that Yeats can go f*ck himself.

Foot is a verb now?
    Don't say you never learned anything on boards on a Friday night.

I'm sorry but as a leaving cert student I can safely say 99% of 18 year olds in this country agree that Yeats can go f*ck himself.

What an utterly compelling point of view. Go to sleep now, kid - you'll have to study all weekend. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

'If I had a hammer' is a favourite of mine.

What an utterly compelling point of view. Go to sleep now, kid - you'll have to study all weekend. :D

I will. :(

I will. :(

You'll be grand kid, and remember that reading and learning and figuring things out are actually fun once the pressure to prove it is off. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭gg2

I loved studying Yeats - He Wishes For The Cloths of Heaven - so simple and beautiful.

Anywho I work in a pre school. Everything is a song - its how I roll. Sometimes I find myself in Tesco though putting ****e to song "oh where oh where is the ketchup gone oh where or where can it be"

gg2 wrote: »
    I loved studying Yeats - He Wishes For The Cloths of Heaven - so simple and beautiful.

Anywho I work in a pre school. Everything is a song - its how I roll. Sometimes I find myself in Tesco though putting ****e to song "oh where oh where is the ketchup gone oh where or where can it be"
    You know you really shouldn't be singing such saucy songs to kids.

gg2 wrote: »

I believe this is why primary school teachers are exempt from jury duty. :D

Ruubot2 wrote: »
    'If I had a hammer' is a favourite of mine.

I hate you.:(

Fifteen versions of that song on Spotify, and I'm listening to every. single. one. :mad:

I hate you.:(

Fifteen versions of that song on Spotify, and I'm listening to every. single. one. :mad:

Hammer Horror Headcleaner:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

When I saw the thread title I immediately thought i've come across too many lads in that position:o

foggy_lad wrote: »
    When I saw the thread title I immediately thought i've come across too many lads in that position:o

come across, or come across?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

come across, or come across?
    not sure but none of them were footing turf:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Lefty loosey righty tighty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

Face down, ass up
    That's the way I store my cups.

Hammer Horror Headcleaner:

I listened to Drivin' On 9 non stop on a loop whilst studying for my Leaving Cert.

There's a useless bit of information for you.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

awww the title promised so much.

I used to be roped into footing turf too OP, it is one of the most back-breaking jobs. Are you crippled now after it? You need to run yourself a nice hot bath :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,213 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Do you want yer auld lobby washed down sunshine ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭BlackEdelweiss

did ye ever feel the balls - at the bingo
    did ye ever get the feel - of a fiver
    did ye ever get it up - side down
    did ye ever get it - side out
    did ye ever get yer hole - weeks wages

maybe more, i cant remember

Memories of our school trip to france in the early 90's. 30 boys on a bus singing that at the top of our voices. There are loads more but I cant remember them either.

--LOS-- wrote: »
    awww the title promised so much.

I used to be roped into footing turf too OP, it is one of the most back-breaking jobs. Are you crippled now after it? You need to run yourself a nice hot bath :)
    Bit of windburn on my back and my wrist is a bit sore from pulling a few towey ones, but nothing I can't handle.:)