Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First shotgun

• 03-05-2014 8:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47

Well am just wondering wat a Gud first gun wud be I was thinking I wud lik a semi auto but whatever you's think I have about 1000e to spend o yeah and I will be using it for mostly game but the odd clays

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 678 ✭✭✭wirehairmax

For €1000 you should pick up a good second-hand beretta semi. Or for another €200 beretta do an a300 semi brand new. If you get a beretta it's the only shotgun you'll ever need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭snipe49

Luketie123 wrote: »
    Well am just wondering wat a Gud first gun wud be I was thinking I wud lik a semi auto but whatever you's think I have about 1000e to spend o yeah and I will be using it for mostly game but the odd clays
    Now my friend are u new to shooting how do u know u will like it. To spend all that money on a gun when u could pick up a nice second hand one for 400 may be wiser.U say u will be game shooting have u a dog yet.If no u could pick up a good dog with the left over money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 outfoxing

as a overall game and occasional clay shotgun I would stick with an over under, as this is your first shotgun it would be a lot safer and maybe a better type gun to gain experience with, I have all 3 types and each has it's own good and bad points, maybe a used Beretta silver pigeon 1 or Browning, sportsden , gunstore.ie or Patrick Carley, usually have some good shotguns in stock, happy hunting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

Get a dog first and a good pair of boots,then worry about a gun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 Luketie123

snipe49 wrote: »
    Now my friend are u new to shooting how do u know u will like it. To spend all that money on a gun when u could pick up a nice second hand one for 400 may be wiser.U say u will be game shooting have u a dog yet.If no u could pick up a good dog with the left over money.

To be honest I hav probly shot over 1000 shells with my fathers single barel I go out regularly with the local gun club

For €1000 you should pick up a good second-hand beretta semi. Or for another €200 beretta do an a300 semi brand new. If you get a beretta it's the only shotgun you'll ever need.

How much for a beretta o/u second hand

To be honest I hav probly shot over 1000 shells with my fathers single barel I go out regularly with the local gun club
    very good but do u have a gundog yet.

I will mainly be goin shooting with a friend of mine who has two or thee gun dogs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭.338lapuamag

Any benelli,there reliable any a good price second hand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

Yukon has a browning maxus for sale in the for sake section . A lot of gun for the price ..

And it beats the beretta hands down !!

Going to be slated for that comment

TriggerPL wrote: »
    Yukon has a browning maxus for sale in the for sake section . A lot of gun for the price ..

I was goin for a browning maxus when a lad told me I wud be better of with a o/u

Lads have this thing in there heads that semis are dangerous , but there only as dangerous as the person using them . Same rules apply weather it's an under and over or a semi ,

And although u have the room for three shells in the gun unless ur shooting pigeons or crows etc , I would never put more that two in it .

Maxus are a serious gun for the money

Lads have this thing in there heads that semis are dangerous , but there only as dangerous as the person using them . Same rules apply weather it's an under and over or a semi ,

And although u have the room for three shells in the gun unless ur shooting pigeons or crows etc , I would never put more that two in it .

Maxus are a serious gun for the money

I think his point was that people don't lik dem at clay shoots and der not allowed I in to regestered shoots is der such thing as a shell catcher

http://youtu.be/8tqQPpINgw0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭cookimonster

I think his point was that people don't lik dem at clay shoots...........

I can not find a single line in the ICPSA rules to support the claim that they are not allowed in registered shoots, there is a certain amount of bias against them.
    Most semi autos nowadays will eject forward or downward.

Is der any shell catcher that catches two shells

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Mai reason I don't like them is I've seen lads miss a pheasant with first two shots And then take the third.
    Rather see a bird go free than take the 3rd.
    I have a o/u baikel which must be near 30 year old and still shoots just fine. Been through hell nd high water and still a lovely gun to shoot. Ould double trigger job as well. Wouldn't trade it for the world

Well lad sim just a bit confused on which shotgun to get o/u such as a second hand beretta in or abouts 1000e or a semi auto such as a browning maxus I will be using it for snipe pheasant fox duck crows pigeons and in the of season clays I'm only starting of at clays I don't no if I will start competive yet and if u hav any recomendations happy to hear dem

Mai reason I don't like them is I've seen lads miss a pheasant with first two shots And then take the third.
    I have a o/u baikel which must be near 30 year old and still shoots just fine. Been through hell nd high water and still a lovely gun to shoot. Ould double trigger job as well. Wouldn't trade it for the world
    Same here pal. If u don't knock it in two let it go. I have a side by side lovely gun.

Exactly. IMO if you miss with two let it live for the hunt another day. Anyone who takes the 3rd is out purely just to kill. Not to enjoy the hunt.
    Can't beat the old reliables huh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,814 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

der not allowed I in to regestered shoots

Yes they are.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Yes you are, but that's for another day and another thread. :D;)
    Don't agree with that at all.

It's on the same line of thinking as only a .270 should be used for deer, or a side by side for any shotgun shooting, because it's "traditional".

If shotguns were made way back when with three barrels, and someone had a semi auto with four shots then the argument would be if you cannot hit it with three then the fourth is unsporting.

Until recently my mate's Father used to shoot with us. He uses a single barrel Steven's. I imagine he feels the same about you using a double barrel as you do about people with a semi auto.

I use a semi auto. Three shot. If i miss with the first two, and the target still presents a shot for me to take a third, then i'm going to do it. Granted i don't shoot pheasants anymore. No use or need for them. However the principle is still the same for any quarry.
    Anyone who takes the 3rd is out purely just to kill. Not to enjoy the hunt.
    Gun snobbery, close mindedness. Like a conversation i had some time ago. A lad telling me the 6.5x55 was useless even though he later admitted to never having shot it. Preconceptions and ignorance towards other ways of doing things, plus a somewhat derogatory view point towards myself and others. "Out for the kill" indeed. Very reminiscent of any anti hunting comment i've ever heard.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭FISMA

Well lad sim just a bit confused on which shotgun to get o/u such as a second hand beretta in or abouts 1000e or a semi auto such as a browning maxus I will be using it for snipe pheasant fox duck crows pigeons and in the of season clays I'm only starting of at clays I don't no if I will start competive yet and if u hav any recomendations happy to hear dem

Have you handled either yet? If you can shoulder the two, you may find that you prefer one.

Also, if you are a member of a clay club, do they frown upon autos?

Two threads merged as they are from the same poster and of the same topic. Post 19 is the first post in the other thread.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Sorry cass but I'm going to disagree respectfully.
    I think two shots is enough to attempt to drop a bird. If both are missed then bird lives for another day.
    IMO if someone takes the third shot it's showing no respect for the quarry.
    Way I see it is first shot is a chance shot( if bird drops then it's well placed)
    Second shot should be the shot to adjust and place better shot hopefully to drop the bird but to take a third IMO just shows no respect then. Bird has earned its right to live as you didn't place the first or second shot properly.
    Again no offence to any semi owners but I'm just throwing in my two cents.

I think two shots is enough to attempt to drop a bird. If both are missed then bird lives for another day.
    Way I see it is first shot is a chance shot( if bird drops then it's well placed)
    Second shot should be the shot to adjust and place better shot hopefully to drop the bird but to take a third IMO just shows no respect then. Bird has earned its right to live as you didn't place the first or second shot properly.

First off I don't shoot pheasant either , if I'm out for a woodcock and come across one I might have a pop but I don't go out looking for them .

And as stated befor Id only use the third cartridge when shooting pigeons or crows etc .

But I don't see the problem with firing a third shot at a pheasant , ur on about the sporting chance , then don't fire the second shot , hit him with the first . After the first shot . The third shot is every bit as sporting as the second seeing as the bird would be that extra distance away .

And IMO if you need a second shot on a pheasant then ur not giving enough lead in the first place . There not exactly the most challenging bird .

Yet people love to shooting them .

Cass has point. There is a place out there for a shotgun that fires 3 shot's, There for all those lad's that cant shoot straight. ! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭Snakezilla

Go for an u/o

You dont have to jump in for a Beretta , there are a lot of good makes out there to fit your budget such as Lanber, Baikal, Miroku , Browning - all great makes that can be got for good money second hand. Beretta tends to hold their value. My advice would be to get a good condition Lanber Sporter. You could probably pick one up for about €800 or less maybe, then spend the rest of your budget on other things you need like cleaning kit , good knife , cartridges etc.

There are some clay grounds that dont like semi auto shotguns. There is nothing stopping you getting an o/u and getting into the sport then maybe a year or so down the line get a semi. A lot of lads have 2 or even 3 shotuns. I myself have a dedicated o/u for clays and sometimes gets used for game and I have a semi auto for vermin, decoying and ducks.

@ Dodderangler - That is such nonsense. IOW there is no need for semi auto shotguns? How do you feel about such things as:
    • Section 42 on deer
    • Taking a deer at anything over 100 yards
    • Using anything bar a side by side shotgun
    • Semi auto rimfire
    • Fox calls
    • Trail cameras
    • Etc.
    Surely all these would go against your moral compass too?

I've no problem with you or anyone that thinks like this, no matter how outdated it is, but i do take issue with someone when they announce/say that a certain category or people (semi auto owners) are unsporting and not respectful of quarry because they choose a certain type of gun.

A brand new Beretta Urika will start at around €1,050 so your budget will cover whatever you want.

I have and use both an O/U and Semi auto. The semi auto is fantastic. The thrid shot is very handy, the recoil is less than the O/U, and the fit is perfect. The drawback is only one choke so i choose more carefully before going out.

The O/U is a quality gun too. Dual chokes, and easier at a clay shoot (break open). However once you handle it right a semi auto is every bit as good at a clay shoot as an O/U. I would not let this be the deciding factor. A game gun will be lighter than a sporter, but also not suited towards clays (at least not constantly).

You need to go out and shoulder a few guns. You might be looking for a semi auto, but find that none suit you. Once you narrow down a few makes/models that suit then you can decide, based on what they are, if it's a semi auto or O/U you want/need to go for.

When I was considerably younger I bought a pump action because the opertunity was there and I fancied it. Over the years it got some use but I always got a kick, no pune intended, out of it.
    Later on in life when i took up clay shooting on a very regularl basis, I was given the opertunity to use a o/u and got quite proficient with it. Every one I shot with at that time used o/u and I fully intended to buy one, until.......
    I got the chance to spend a good few hours shooting various different shotguns including semis, there and then I made up my mind to buy one and within the year I had one and haven't looked back.
    The point is, buy what you like, are comfortable with and can reasonable shoot well (no perfect gun fit will guarantee your abilities to shoot well in the beginning) otherwise you will always be secound guessing your choice. You'll only know by giving various guns a go and you never know you might end up like the rest of us with a cabinet full of guns to tickle your fancy when the mood or time calls for it.

Cass I ever meant to come across saying all semi owners are doing what i said but I just don't see any point in taking a third shot on a bird after missing first two.
    Each to their own but it's my opinion on it as I don't see it being sporting.
    Again I meant no disrespect to any semi auto owners here but I just said what I seen.
    I can see the uses for having a semi when it comes to pigeon shooting or crows or odd fox as it's taking them out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭tikkahunter

Exactly. IMO if you miss with two let it live for the hunt another day. Anyone who takes the 3rd is out purely just to kill. Not to enjoy the hunt.
    pure waffle,what if you had a lad either side of a ditch one lad misses with 2 shots and the bird crosses over , should the other lad just not fire:confused: .What the **** do you shoot for ..yes to kill if it was just for the hunt go out with just dogs and leave the gun at home.
    To the op a lot of super high end guns on the market for 1000 euro,just make sure the gun fits you properly and look and look and look till you are happy with the gun your going for ,stay away from any Turkish ****e,will only break your heart.

Aren't a lot of the new beretta been made in Turkey ? And hence the reason there quality isn't as gud as it one was .

And the main reason I didn go for a beretta is the customer support is the worste I've ever seen .

I've seen a new silver pigeon a year old , and hairline cracks came in the stock of it , beretta wouldn cover it's replacement , saying it over the year .

Buy a browning, or pick up a beretta about ten years old brilliant quality back then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,814 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Aren't a lot of the new beretta been made in Turkey ? And hence the reason there quality isn't as gud as it one was .

And the main reason I didn go for a beretta is the customer support is the worste I've ever seen .

I've seen a new silver pigeon a year old , and hairline cracks came in the stock of it , beretta wouldn cover it's replacement , saying it over the year .

Buy a browning, or pick up a beretta about ten years old brilliant quality back then

The top end competition guns; 692, DT10 etc. are all still made in Italy. It's the cheaper semi autos etc. that they've farmed out to Turkey with their own tooling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭tikkahunter

Just the "cheaper" line of beretta anything new for around 1000 i wouldnt touch.Just looking back on my post i should have said super used guns on the market for around 1000

Ye the only berettas ul get for round the grand are silver pigeons or semis all made in Turkey .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭valerossi

Noting like a harmless question to start an argument in our little shooting community eh:)
    Semi autos are fine lad just let you last cartage be a heavier load so it has the legs to get to the bird because if you missed the first two he's making a b line to the next parish. Theirs more maintenance in a semi to mush not much and don't worry about chokes lad, they've been fixed at full/modified longer than interchangeably.
    With €1000 you can have pretty much have any second hand shotgun your average dealer has so check for a good fit and don't set your heart on any make or model. Go in with an open mind you could walk out with a side by side delighted with it.

If you can bring someone from the club with you who knows a good secondhand shotgun is more than a name and a clean stock. And I'm sure you already have pm's from from lads looking to sell their guns.