Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Abusing candidates/canvassers - where is the line?

12346»

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 9,829 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

While on one hand there is the normal good manners that most people use in everyday interactions on the other, these politicians pay no attention to emails, letter writings, protest marches, polls, - instead they live in their own cosseted world where nothing is allowed to impinge on their reality field.
    Is anger the only way to break through?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

Manach wrote: »
    While on one hand there is the normal good manners that most people use in everyday interactions on the other, these politicians pay no attention to emails, letter writings, protest marches, polls, - instead they live in their own cosseted world where nothing is allowed to impinge on their reality field.

There is a massive difference between being angry at the government and posting on to a young newcomer that had nothing to do with the system Facebook page that she has an "arse like a hippo"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

The best way to 'impinge on their reality field' is to contest the elections that they are contesting.
    Are the group who were behind this harassment putting themselves in front of the electorate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭mel1

In the line of fire? They aren't soldiers. They are regular people putting themselves forward to be in a position to make a difference.

Can you tell me off hand what the salary is and how much in bonuses they get?

I wasn't aware she had been elected to government. I thought she was a candidate for local election.

This was more than just shouting. This is a campaign of personal abuse and intimidation. It is as counter to democracy as anything.

People are pissed off. They are pissed off at the scumbag bullies picking an easy target to abuse in order to try and make themselves feel good. They don't stand for anything other than their own personal interests and they've shown that they have no qualms about how they try and fulfill those interests.

If you had read my post properly instead of jumping the gun I said "eventually"
    All candidates have a mind of moving up the ladder "eventually"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭_MadRa_

When the custard you poured down their trousers comes out on their shoes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

mel1 wrote: »

God forbid they should try and move up the ladder to make a difference for a wider area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,793 ✭✭✭tritium

mel1 wrote: »

And as I pointed out in reply to you, many of the political class have either given up or deferred more lucrative careers to do what they do. Shatter and McDowell both had well paying legal careers, varadker is a doctor. With the dishonourable exception of Charlie haughey very few politicians live lavishly on their salaries, albeit there was a trough mentality wrt pensions and so on on the boom years ( I believe most of us were part of that trough mentality to a greater or lesser degree however)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Icepick

It's most ironic because these bullies are still able to enjoy some of the highest benefits in the world thanks to Labour. This just shows how delusional socialists are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,392 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

Jesus! You wouldnt see this carry on in Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

A candidate for local councillor? Really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,491 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Are you Joking Labor are Traitors to this country, they have lied and lied to to the people, Labor so against Water charges the scumbag now introduces them, so against property tax, guess what introduced it, Labor have done nothing but make life even tougher on already suffering people, while they still gladly ride the gravy train. Not saying what these people did necessarily was right but if any Labor candiate comes to my door they will get a swift **** off and the door slammed on them. They have betrayed the people and should be booted out of power ASAP
    You can be against all the charges you like, but if you find yourself in government you will see that we are spending more than we are taking in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Clandestine

The true face of socialism shown right here. We don't need delusional youngsters parading the words of Karl Marx, or Emma Goldman. These kids need to realise there is no "wonder solution" thats going to remove the countries problems overnight. Groups like People before profit and the socialist party are to blame for this, their economic manifestos are impossible to implement and they are anti "hate speech", also known as speech they don't agree with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,955 ✭✭✭delthedriver

You can be against all the charges you like, but if you find yourself in government you will see that we are spending more than we are taking in.

Very true !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭joe swanson

Not a labour voter but that's a disgrace and noone should be abused like that. You could have a good guess at the sort of people those simpletons vote for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Then don't make promises you can't keep, people voted for them based on these things going back on them regardless of circumstances is a betrayal of those who voted for them and what they supposedly stood for. They knew the situation of the country before they got into government, they lied to get votes and that is a disgrace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭flyingoutside

The amount of self righteousness in this thread is ridiculous. Fair play lads you're all going to heaven.

The actions in the video are wrong but to be honest I thought things would be a lot worse. There is a lot of anger in the country and I don't mean people who just use it for attention. Anger is rarely a rational thought process and can bring out the worse in the people. While not defending the video in any way, I'm not surprised by any of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

The amount of self righteousness in this thread is ridiculous. Fair play lads you're all going to heaven.

One persons self righteousness is another persons common decency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Maudi wrote: »
    Eleven austerity suicides a week..Eleven..people..irish people you dumwit..kill themselves..because of this gov austerity (its not really austerity its money shovelled out of the country to bondholders/imf.) Children are put out of their homes by the thousands because of repossessions..homeless figures are at an epidemic level..irish people are eating out of bins.for christs sake!!.emigration is rife..working people are the new poor..and you expect citizens to what? Have tables on the streets laden with tea and scones coronation style to welcome the parasitic van guards of the political dynasty that caused this corrupt cash grab to happen ..yes welcome ..come tell me more lies to my face and why I should vote corruption once again..I dont think so pal..people have woken up..

I Heart Internet, can I not even say it now? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,228 ✭✭✭mrsbyrne

The haranguer in this case appears to me to have mental health issues. She's also quite stupid but thinks she's a genius. She's more than likelythe type of person who's permanently in the throes of a major row with
    ESB
    Sky
    Little woods
    Vodafone
    Etc.
    She spends all day on the phone telling people she knows her rights. She seems to think that the candidate here was obliged by law to answer her questions. The Genockey brother messed up by referring to the woman's daughter, though , just giving her more room to complain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

Gbear wrote: »
    How about the North American Man-Boy Love Association?

There is the line there. Hate north americans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭flyingoutside

Phoebas wrote: »
    One persons self righteousness is another persons common decency.

No to be fair. There's a difference between having common decency and thinking you're great for bring decent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,346 ✭✭✭No Pants

"I approached the man in the black T-shirt first, I did not know who he was and asked if I could speak to Martina. He said no. He and Martina then walked away from me. I followed and asked her if I could talk to her,she ignored me."
    That should have been the end of it right there. To continue on past that is ignorant.

No candidates have called to my door. If they do, most of them will be politely informed of my intention to vote. Nothing more than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,491 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Then don't make promises you can't keep, people voted for them based on these things going back on them regardless of circumstances is a betrayal of those who voted for them and what they supposedly stood for. They knew the situation of the country before they got into government, they lied to get votes and that is a disgrace.
    I doubt very much FF made the new government aware of how much s1te we were in before the election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 NowThatsCool

Democracy is overrated - look at all the happy dictatorships and anarchies in the world. Is it really worth the effort to get off your fat, fair-city-watching arse and educate yourself on the economic and social issues of the day so that you can return representatives capable of making sensible decisions that reflect your world view? Is it ? is it, really ?