Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your most terrible date?

• 28-04-2014 11:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Feeling a bit low after a date last weekend :(
    This guy spent half the time ignoring me on his iPad, didn't offer so much as a hug or a holding of hands, fell asleep in the car when we went for a drive,....talk about repeated rejection! So disappointed that I wasted a beautiful sunny day with somone who hadn't even the good grace to be good company. Also a bit confused as he'd arranged the date himself!
    What was your worst date? What became of you or them, years later?

I had liked someone who was temporarily in my job to complete a project and was delighted when he asked me out before he left. He picked me up and straight away I knew he was ill, he was grey around the gills and his eyes were bloodshot, but he told me he was good to go and was looking forward to it too much to cancel.

Poor guy, by the time we sat down to dinner he was shivering, and I was insisting we abandon ship so he could go home to bed, but no, he kept insisting he was fine. He couldn't eat, could barely talk, was shivering away and looked whiter and whiter as the minutes ticked by. I was getting more and more uncomfortable and worried and eventually just refused to stay another minute.

I stood up and so did he, and he literally buckled at the knee. Anyway fast forwards two hours and he's in hospital after an ambulance ride, with pneumonia and a 'flu infection, a temperature of 103, and no one who knows him in my city. I had to pack up his belongings at his hotel, keep them at mine, buy him pjs and slippers for hospital, visit him daily for the 3 days he was in with whatever he needed, and take his mum to him when she arrived to take over on day two.

By the time he went back we were getting along great but there was no romance in that situation but I gained a friend anyway :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

Where do I start? My favourite one is not just one date, it’s a string of meetings. So I met this guy once and he talked me into a date. Then he calls me a day before if he should bring two motorbike helmets. I said why and he responds that usually girls, when they hear he has a bike, want to go for a ride. I flatly refused. I survived the date and couple more until I decided that he really is an idiot. Unfairly and stupidly I gave him it’s me not you speech. I did have couple of issues to resolve at the time but it wouldn’t be him if he was the last man on the planet.

I met him again a year or two later. He wanted to go for a drink or a coffee and I was clear from the beginning it is not a date. (I would go for a drink or a coffee often with customers, friends or whomever, male or female. It’s part of a culture that doesn’t translate that well into Ireland but it would mean absolutely nothing.) He actually jumped out of car when he saw me stopping behind him at the traffic lights so I didn't have much choice unless I wanted to cause traffic jam. Anyway when we were sitting down he started asking me wouldn't I at least sleep with him if I don’t want to date. I answered no, he asked me if I’m sure, I said yes and so on. Then he proceeds with you know I have and arrangement with my neighbor that when she washes my car for me I have mercy **** with her. I don’t know if he wanted to impress me, to inspire me or to make me jealous but I at that stage I had enough being polite and I left.

Anyway I met him again in a bank waiting in line so I couldn't avoid him. I told him that I am with someone and that I’m moving to Ireland to be with him and the next sentence was: so would you grab a coffee?... :D

As for what he is doing, I presume whatever he was doing before. He was a painter with very good opinion of himself. He found a way of painting that enabled very quick output of paintings and he flogged them everywhere. My parents have some of his work, I never overly liked them but my bf thinks they are kind of cool. Maybe he still has the same girl washing the car for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 122 ✭✭AlabamaWorley

Guy watching a football match over my shoulder and pretending he wasn't!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭jandm

Blind date arranged through an intermediary - we spoke on phone to arrange the meeting - said he was 6ft tall... I'm a taller than average woman but nowhere near 6ft but at the appointed time and place I heard my name and had to look down :-D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭lavinia hathaway

A coffee with a guy who announced that violence was ok as how else could people get their way? As for where he is now, I have no clue as I beat a hasty retreat and thankfully never saw him again!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Semele

Was messaging a guy on POF for a while- seemed really sound, fun, romantic, lightly flirty but not cringy messages- we duly arranged to meet in a nice pub of my choosing...

Met, went to the bar, made slightly awkward conversation as you do before you get sitting down comfortably.

Him (looking around): This is an interesting place. Seems full of hipsters though, is it a real hipster place?
    Me: Don't actually know, tbh, I haven't been in of an evening before.
    Him: I f*king hate hipsters. Think they should die.
    Me (somewhat taken aback): Erm, well...
    Him (accusingly): Are you a hipster?
    Me: No! Why?
    Him: Eh, you're wearing a CARDIGAN?

Let it suffice to say I was not his usual type, nor was he mine. It was the worst car crash of a date I've ever been on, however at some point we crossed the line into drunk enough to have grand, if rather bizarre craic! Although odd, laddish beyond belief and entirely lacking in social graces, he was refreshingly HIMSELF and we did get on in a sort of piss-taking way once I got over the shock of how different he was from the gentleman of his messages.

Not a hint of a kiss though- I put him on a bus home plastered, went home fairly disappointed as I sobered up...and got a message from him the next day to suggest that for our "next" date we break into a park and have sex.

I never saw him again.

Great looking guy though, shame really!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,057 ✭✭✭MissFlitworth

A guy who started off our date, after the 'Hi, how are you, nice evening' stuff with (honestly) "Have you ever considered suicide yourself?"

Then, because I was going through a stupid patch, I harrassed him by text message for weeks afterwards and *I* came across like the mental one. I'm probably high up on his worst ever date list!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭CarMe

A few weeks ago.

We had been on a couple of dates and we went out to dun laoire one Sunday and walking along the pier he kept saying what an amazing time he was having and how well we clicked, when I was feeling the complete opposite!

I was people watching and guessing if people were married or on their first date etc but he didn't get that at ALL just kept saying saying things like "but who are we to judge" wtf?! Nobody was judging anyone I was just playing an innocent little observational game!

Anyway, I really wasn't feeling it anymore so I led us over to a quiet area and we sat down, I started explaining that I didn't really think that we clicked and he started crying and asking was I breaking up with him, I said no because we weren't together but you're a really lovely guy, it's just a matter of chemistry! He asked was I not attracted to him, was it because of where he's from, because I had met a friend for coffee the night before, because he was boring, because he was too nice, asking was there someone else etc, to which I explained No, you're lovely we just don't click. He asked what he was going to do, that every other girl is a weirdo and I said "but sure, I'm a weirdo" and he said "but you're MY weirdo!"

After about 45mins of being really really nice I getting a bit pissed off and said look it's not the end of the world, it's not the biggest deal then he started shouting "what the fcuk was all this bullsh!t?!" Taking out his phone and rifling through it for mildly flirty texts I had sent him before, reading them out loud with people walking by!! I stood up now and said right I'm going to get the dart home and he grabbed me really scarily and said he was driving me home. I said okay but you needn't start snapping at me, I've been as nice and honest as I can! On the way to the car park he shouted "I'M NEVER COMING TO DUN LAOIRE AGAIN!!!" and when he started the engine "The power of love" came on and he punched the radio and said "I can't listen to this!!"
    Then on the drive home (why Oh why didn't I get the dart!) He started driving like a maniac and going up on the path asking is it because he didn't drive like a bad boy!

Single most awful experience of my dating life!!

Holy crap CarMe!

And some people think it's women that cause drama!

I love the Power Of Love bit though, oooh the irony is delicious :).

I can see it now....

Him: Is it 'cos I'm not a bad boy?

CarMe: No, it's 'cos you're a tool. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

Candie wrote: »
    By the time he went back we were getting along great but there was no romance in that situation but I gained a friend anyway :).

If your most terrible date was that you had the decency to look after someone who was ill and made a good friend I think you have a fairly lucky dating history! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

CarMe wrote: »
    A few weeks ago.

We had been on a couple of dates and we went out to dun laoire one Sunday and walking along the pier he kept saying what an amazing time he was having and how well we clicked, when I was feeling the complete opposite!

I was people watching and guessing what if people were married or on their first date etc but he didn't get that at ALL just kept saying saying things like "but who are we to judge" wtf?! Nobody was judging anyone I was just playing an innocent little observational game!

Anyway, I really wasn't feeling it anymore so I led us over to a quiet area and we sat down, I started explaining that I didn't really think that we clicked and he started crying and asking was I breaking up with him, I said no because we weren't together but you're a really lovely guy, it's just a matter of chemistry! He asked was I not attracted to him, was it because of where he's from, because I had met a friend for coffee the night before, because he was boring, because he was too nice, asking was there someone else etc, to which I explained No, you're lovely we just don't click. He asked what he was going to do, that every other girl is a weirdo and I said "but sure, I'm a weirdo" and he said "but you're MY weirdo!"

After about 45mins of being really really nice I getting a bit pissed off and said look it's not the end of the world, it's not the biggest deal then he started shouting "what the fcuk was all this bullsh!t?!" Taking out his phone and rifling through it for mildly flirty texts I had sent him before, reading them out loud with people walking by!! I stood up now and said right I'm going to get the dart home and he grabbed me really scarily and said he was driving me home. I said okay but you needn't start snapping at me, I've been as nice and honest as I can! On the way to the car park he shouted "I'M NEVER COMING TO DUN LAOIRE AGAIN!!!" and when he started the engine "The power of love" came on and he punched the radio and said "I can't listen to this!!"
    Then on the drive home (why Oh why didn't I get the dart!) He started driving like a maniac and going up on the path asking is it because he didn't drive like a bad boy!

Oh.My.Good.God. :eek::eek::eek:

You win the competition FOREVER!! :eek::eek:

Riskymove wrote: »
    If your most terrible date was that you had the decency to look after someone who was ill and made a good friend I think you have a fairly lucky dating history! :)

Ah that's nice :) We laugh about it now, but I was terrified something terrible was wrong with him and was so relieved when it was all treatable run of the mill (though miserable) stuff. He's been a seriously great help with some academic stuff over the last year or so, so I've gained more than I gave.

You would have to be seriously inhuman to not help someone alone and sick in hospital though, so I won't take any credit for that.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

This was a date I had about four years ago and I still get a pain in my face from laughing at the sheer ludicrousness of it. :D He was a bell end and a nut job and I honestly wondered for a moment if I was on some hidden camera show.

Rather than write out what happened, I'll just copy the email I sent to a friend the morning after.

[FONT=arial,helvetica,sans-serif]Set the scene. Yesterday evening. The Bailey @ 7pm. I was running fifteen minutes late. Date ended at 7.49pm. So [/FONT][FONT=arial,helvetica,sans-serif]I broke the world record for the world's shortest and most bizarre date last night because (drumroll):[/FONT]

• [FONT=arial,helvetica,sans-serif]He was completely and utterly socially inept[/FONT]
    • [FONT=arial,helvetica,sans-serif]I think he may have had quite severe Aspergers[/FONT]
    • [FONT=arial,helvetica,sans-serif]He kept scratching his balls (not discreetly, I mean big, expansive sweeps of his evidently itchy undercarriage)[/FONT]
    • [FONT=arial,helvetica,sans-serif]He got emotional when he said he never got past a third date with people - "what is WRONG with meeeeeeeeeee?" Please tell me, what is wrong????[/FONT]
    • [FONT=arial,helvetica,sans-serif]He told me he may have a third date with a girl but she is away in Limerick a lot and will have to see how it goes, what did I think?[/FONT]
    • [FONT=arial,helvetica,sans-serif]He kept ringing his hands asking why girls "don't do anything more than kiss" on dates and would I have sex on a first date if I really liked someone.[/FONT]
    • [FONT=arial,helvetica,sans-serif]He asked me to tell him honestly why he never got past third dates[/FONT]
    • [FONT=arial,helvetica,sans-serif]He "accused" me of flirting outrageously with my male work colleagues when I was telling him a story.[/FONT]
    • [FONT=arial,helvetica,sans-serif]He admitted to having a "happy ending" Thai massage in Sandyford as often as is possible, once a week because "it's needed, I just really reeeeeally need it".[/FONT]
    • [FONT=arial,helvetica,sans-serif]His work is interfering with his personal life[/FONT]
    • [FONT=arial,helvetica,sans-serif]AND AND AND he told me after fifteen minutes he had to shoot off as he forgot he had to do something.[/FONT]
    Can't wait to see him again, I really think we clicked :)

Lolers - still makes me laugh when I think of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

I won't go into the details of the worst date, but will share the second worse with you instead. I was quite good friends with someone, and we're both very chatty. He'd hinted once or twice about asking me out, and eventually we agreed to go on a formal "date". Bear in mind, it wasn't unusual for us to go out for dinner before this. We met at a restaurant in Dublin city centre, and everything was immediately awkward.

We sat there, not speaking. The waitress came along and asked if we'd like to hear the specials. Both of us jumped on the opportunity for something to break the ice, so we spent about 5-10 minutes quizzing the poor waitress on the menu (thankfully the place was quiet). She left, we stopped talking. Both of us become extremely interested in the wine menu. Every now and then, one of us would say something, but it was pretty rare.

Towards the end of the meal, we both received texts from a friend saying everyone was in a certain pub. We both leapt at the chance. We went to the pub, sat beside each other, but talked to anyone else in the world possible.

Next day it was already arranged for him to come over to my place with a few others. Decided that I'd tell him it wasn't working when he arrived. Before I got to say anything, he told me he'd had some very bad news, so I didn't feel I could say anything then.

He crashed over in my place that night, and the next morning, still not talking, we went for breakfast. And continued to not talk. I drove him home, still not talking. Pulled up in his driveway and decided bad news or not, I had to say something. So I did. Thankfully he felt exactly the same. We both started talking again and sat in my car, in his driveway, for about 2 hours, nattering away 19 to the dozen.

We're still good friends, still see each other regularly, and we're still talking away.:pac:

(Weird - I initially hit reply, hit post, and this entire post then showed up in the long term illness forum - oops!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭Emme

This was about 7 years ago.

I met a guy online who said he was a banker. At the time bankers didn't have the reputation they have now.

We arranged to meet in the Banker pub in town and I was waiting there for about 15 minutes when I got a text "Where are you?" It turned out he was in the Bank pub. Like an eejit I went there and he was sitting in the corner with a face on. I tried to make light of the situation and then the questions started.

"What EXACTLY do you do for a living?"
    "Where EXACTLY do you live?"
    "Where EXACTLY did you go to college and what EXACTLY did you study?"

He should have known the answer to all four questions already because I had told him online. I told him again as nicely as I could. He got more and more obnoxious and condescending to me in between talking about his his golfing trips abroad and his high net worth clients.

I left after about half an hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,390 ✭✭✭mojesius

The farting fireman.

Met a hot fireman in a pub one night, had a kiss, he got my number. I was so chuffed with myself. This guy was HOT and I always had a thing for firemen (Yeah, who doesn't).

Anyway, he picks me up and we drive over to his area to go for drinks in a pub. On the way, he stops off at his apartment to get a jacket and asks me if I want to come in for a sec, so we go inside. I'm standing in the sitting room and he runs into his bedroom en suite. He doesn't close the door properly (unfortunately) and proceeds to let off this string of whopper farts. I don't just mean they were loud, they were violent rumbles in the jungle. Poor guy sounded like he had stomach issues.

I just couldn't look past it (Yes, I'm shallow) and for the whole date, just kept hearing those crackerjacks going off in my head.

I hate farting. It might not have been the worst date, but was certainly the most disappointing :(

mojesius wrote: »
    I just couldn't look past it (Yes, I'm shallow) and for the whole date, just kept hearing those crackerjacks going off in my head.

You can't unhear farts. I know, I've tried :(.

I would give him a little slack on the basis of tummy issues and the fact he left the room, so marks for effort there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭HotHHead

Arranged to meet this guy through friends,hes gorgeous they said, and sound, you'll have a ball. He collected me from my parents house, he didnt knock just called when he was outside.

When he got out of the car he was about 5 foot nothing, and had his hair spiked as high as he could I presume to make himself look taller, and he had the man boot heels on.
    I could hardly just say good luck,so off I went, we sat down and were making doing the whole obligitory small chat, I feel his hand on my back sorta down the back of my jeans, I removed his hand and said WTF are you doing and he proceeds to tell me girls love it when you play around with the knickers!! and it usualy leads to sex for him, ehh no we don't you F weirdo! , I just got up and left and flew over to my friends house to strangle her!

The best part is yet to come! It was Easter time, you'll get why I'm saying this now. This guy obviously presumed I went home, arrived at my parents house the same time as my uncle arrived, my uncle is gay! the two go in to the house together, my mam thinks hes my uncles new friend and my uncle presumed he was mine or my bros friend!, my lovely date has a huge Easter egg in his hand for me. I arrived home see his car outside and ring my mam, this is at least an hour later!! Only then did they realise who he was, pair of gob****es, sitting in the house with my mam and uncle having a cup of tea!! I hid around the corner till he left, no-one asked him who the huge egg was for!!!

That was one of many a bad first date!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

Several years ago I went with a guy on a date to a water park, and he spent the whole time saying really nasty things about the other visitors in the park and how they looked in their bathing suits. It wasn't just a comment or two - it went on for the entire time and was constant. And he wasn't good about keeping his voice down either. I was mortified.

Just the other week I went on a date with a guy who
    1. Asked me point blank if we were going to fcuk that night. Just like that.
    2. Asked me how girls talk about "beautiful cocks" and seemed very disappointed and in denial when I said that, in my experience, my girlfriends and I had never had such conversations.
    3. When I dropped him off at his apartment he would kiss me and then say, "What?" and then kiss me again and kept doing this until I finally had to say, "You need to get out of my car."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,158 ✭✭✭✭HugsiePie

Thats a tough one. Id have to say October 5th because it's far too cold and far too damp.
    You need a bin bag to keep the rain out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭Naydy

Worst date was with a guy I’d known in passing for well over a year before hand (we lived in the same street). He seemed intelligent, funny and he was good looking too, so when he asked me out, I said yes.

It was awful. He was really intense the whole evening. Kept agreeing strongly with every opinion I voiced. One of the first things he said was “If I’d asked you out when I first met you, would you have said yes?”. I told him I had a boyfriend then so I wouldn’t have. He told me that he’d have assumed I was lying if I said that. I asked him why, he said that’s just what women do...!!

Highlights of the topics of conversation he thought were suitable for a first date included porn, everything that was wrong with the way Irish women approach relationships (although apparently I was the one shining exception to the rule) and how much money he made (a lot, as if that was all I’d be interested in!).

When I wouldn't go home with him, he announced (not asked) that he was taking me out somewhere expensive next weekend. I told him as nicely as possible that I didn’t think we should see each other again. He really freaked me out at this point because he got pretty aggressive and he launched into how much chemistry we had (eh…), how he felt like god had meant for us to meet (EH……) and how I'd never find anyone who'd treat me like he would!

No idea where he is now, I legged it at that point and I avoided him like the plague til my lease was up two months later. It put me off going on any more dates for quite a while :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

I would much rather suffer through farts than listen to people talking about money on a date. Especially first date. It always makes me feel a bit cheap and wonder why would someone think their paycheck is the way to impress me. Anyway people who are really well off don't need to say it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭bscm

Had several years of bad luck and met some guy in a coffee shop. Attractive enough and he approached me. We got chatting and seemed to click so we arranged to meet up for coffee again, explicitly as a date. He somehow found my number from a friend of a friend and we were texting away before the date. I thought, holy crap, this is actually going well.

The d-day arrived. The date went really, really well. We had a lot of chemistry, conversation flowed really well. He was very flirty and touchy feely. Immediately, I was hoping for a second date.

Then, after an hour, he went pale as a ghost. He looked over my shoulder to the door and stood up immediately. This pretty blonde supermodel of a girl runs up to him, hugging him enthusiastically, saying "I thought you were visiting your family today!".

My date disengages himself from the girl, turns to me and stutters, "uh... yeah, em... well, I am! This is my cousin".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,777 ✭✭✭raze_them_all_

HugsiePie wrote: »
    Thats a tough one. Id have to say October 5th because it's far too cold and far too damp.
    You need a bin bag to keep the rain out

#that's actually my birthday :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭thebomb

Last date I went on was bout 4 years ago, he picked me up we were going go cinema and for a drink after ....we went the back rds his car Broke down could get it started it was freezen out snowing a bit no reception on the phones had to walk for 3 miles in the dark ... he didn't even offer his jacket... by time we got to a garage there was frost in my eyebrows and was numb with the cold... he expected me to walk back with him to the car with the petrol I stayed at the garage got a lift home.. he texted a few times I never texted back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

A few weeks ago.

I was people watching and guessing if people were married or on their first date etc but he didn't get that at ALL just kept saying saying things like "but who are we to judge" wtf?! Nobody was judging anyone I was just playing an innocent little observational game!

Jesus that sound awful, but I'm still sitting here on the luas laughing my ass off with everyone staring at me.

Thanks, made my morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭mapaca

bscm wrote: »
    Had several years of bad luck and met some guy in a coffee shop. Attractive enough and he approached me. We got chatting and seemed to click so we arranged to meet up for coffee again, explicitly as a date. He somehow found my number from a friend of a friend and we were texting away before the date. I thought, holy crap, this is actually going well.

The d-day arrived. The date went really, really well. We had a lot of chemistry, conversation flowed really well. He was very flirty and touchy feely. Immediately, I was hoping for a second date.

Then, after an hour, he went pale as a ghost. He looked over my shoulder to the door and stood up immediately. This pretty blonde supermodel of a girl runs up to him, hugging him enthusiastically, saying "I thought you were visiting your family today!".

My date disengages himself from the girl, turns to me and stutters, "uh... yeah, em... well, I am! This is my cousin".

Please tell us you didn't let him get away with it! :-0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭bscm

mapaca wrote: »
    Please tell us you didn't let him get away with it! :-0

I replied with something along the lines of "so you take all your cousins on dates then?"

Fecker even tried to text me again a few days later but I ignored him.

As far as I've heard it wasn't the first time he's dated other people whilst being in a relationship, and that blonde girl keeps taking him back. Fair play to her for being so forgiving, but I really don't think he's worth it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,185 ✭✭✭Snoopy1

God where do i start
    One guy was a blind date, looked nice and tall. Turned out he was very short and very old.
    Another was just awful, didnt get on with him at all, spent an hour in the rain waiting for a bus, becasue id insisted one was due just to get away from him.
    Another dropped me home after a date, i wasnt feeling it, so told him later. 2 days later he turned up at my house in the middle of the night, constantly ringing doorbell and ringing my phone. He told me id broken his heart, and that i was horrible (amongst a lot more abuse)
    Another had absolutely nothing to say on the date, it was so awkward. Driving home he text me to say he couldnt wait to have hot s*x with me :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭TrustedApple

My worst date was last summer Before you read it i will point out i have a bad form of dyslexia with a spelling age of a 6 year old. But i nearly have my 1st degree now

There was this girl i used to see around all the time for 2 years extremely good looking and all and friends with a former friend he was a friend at that time.

But anyway went onto a online dating site one day and i see her so i read her profile and took a good 2 hours to do a perfect massage and basically waited on to a got one back from her and we txted and face booked over over a week.

She giving me hints that she wonted to go to a gig that was on at the weekend so i said might as well go and asked her on a date and she said she was wait for me to ask it and all. But i should have been thinking before hand. Telling me i was a keeper, in for the long run, that i was perfect and countless other stuff and we both has problems with mental heath before and we talked about that for a good while.

I paid for the tickets and booked myself a hotel to stay for the night as i lived 60KM away from her and did not wont to stay with any friends that night.

Came date day i was waiting in the hotel shaking as this was it i had a date with her in 2 hours and my mind was going how did this happen.

Then the worst date in my life started before i met her. I met her dad dropping her up to see me. She was 21 as well i will point out. Had to shake his hand and talk to him before herself.

Then we went for a coffee before hand and I ordered 2 cakes to brake the ice and then 10 mins after sitting down in comes her brother in law . Who i had to met and talk to as he came over to us. This was all planed as i could tell. Like i am great for meeting people and talking away to them but today wasn't my day as my nerves got to me and i started to panic eat for the day.

Then on the way over to the gig bumped into her cusion and boyfriend and i had to talk to them as well.

Then got to the gig of course with being so nerves i was saying some shocking dark lads jokes forgetting i was with a girl.

But then her best friend and boyfriend shows up. And another friend of hers who had a child with them. As i am mixed race on my fathers side there boyfriends of her friends started to insult my background EG Italy and stuff coming from there and the likes as i am very proud of it. I went to the loo and i called my friend and i was just crying at this stage saying this girl i wonted to speak to for years i am on a date with her and it just keeps getting worse and worse. He told me just leave you be better off (Sorry i never did). There was on the main band left to play so i told him i am going to stay for that as i had paid 40 euros for the ticket.

For the hole date she was talking to her friends and not making one effort with me while i was trying with all her friends. One of them hand who had a child with him had a 3DS and i set down and played it with him for while as trying to make a effort.

Then at the end of the date she went to hug me i pulled back and said bye to her got a txt while i went to get myself some food saying it didn't work out and we didn't click. i told her in a txt back look i was extremely nerves i met all your friends and family on top of that of course it didnt work as you spent more time with your friends.

Then i seen her a few months later again while i was doing work for my college placement and she gave me some dirty look after i said Hi to her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭CrackisWhack

A few weeks ago.

LOL!!!!! That's hilarious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭Jenneke87

It wasn't exactly a date, but a friend/acquintance of mine rang me on kingsday(a national holiday here) and asked if I wanted to meet. I had nothing better to do so I said yes, sure. He had a little more in mind than I did though. We went to the beach to this restaurant/cafe where we were the only two people because everyone was out partying in the city. I don't know the guy very well and he wasn't very talkative so the conversation was pretty much one way. After that, we went to another beach on the other side of town and ended up in a live music bar, which was so loud we couldn't even hear each other. He wanted to dance with me, but I have terrible stage fright and would never dare dance in front of a crowd, especially not when we are the only two people doing it. So we sat awkwardly in front of each other with me thinking of ways to keep the conversation going, and really wanting to go home.

At one point he said he wanted to go to my house because he wanted me to play the harp for him. Having an inkling of what he really wanted, I told him it was too late for that, having a neighbour living above me with a young kid. He then said we could have a "silent dance party"(whatever the fcuk that is) at my place and again told him no. We stood at the busstop when he said out of the blue:"We could sleep together" quite loudly and everyone was looking at us, forcing me to turn him down right there and then. The ride to the station was quite awkward, sitting next to each other with the whole conversation gone dead after I turned him down. He still wanted to come to my place though, so I deliberatly got off at the station where I told him I wasn't feeling well and that there was nothing to do at my place and wanted to call it a night. He finally took the hint and went home.

Jenneke87 wrote: »
    It wasn't exactly a date, but a friend/acquintance of mine rang me on kingsday(a national holiday here) and asked if I wanted to meet. I had nothing better to do so I said yes, sure. He had a little more in mind than I did though. We went to the beach to this restaurant/cafe where we were the only two people because everyone was out partying in the city. I don't know the guy very well and he wasn't very talkative so the conversation was pretty much one way. After that, we went to another beach on the other side of town and ended up in a live music bar, which was so loud we couldn't even hear each other. He wanted to dance with me, but I have terrible stage fright and would never dare dance in front of a crowd, especially not when we are the only two people doing it. So we sat awkwardly in front of each other with me thinking of ways to keep the conversation going, and really wanting to go home.

At one point he said he wanted to go to my house because he wanted me to play the harp for him. Having an inkling of what he really wanted, I told him it was too late for that, having a neighbour living above me with a young kid. He then said we could have a "silent dance party"(whatever the fcuk that is) at my place and again told him no. We stood at the busstop when he said out of the blue:"We could sleep together" quite loudly and everyone was looking at us, forcing me to turn him down right there and then. The ride to the station was quite awkward, sitting next to each other with the whole conversation gone dead after I turned him down. He still wanted to come to my place though, so I deliberatly got off at the station where I told him I wasn't feeling well and that there was nothing to do at my place and wanted to call it a night. He finally took the hint and went home.

The pertinent bit for me is the casual 'I play harp' ref in the middle. Well, colour me envious and also impressed!

I can guess what a silent dance party is, though he does sound like a dance partner to avoid, silent or not.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

The pertinent bit for me is the casual 'I play harp' ref in the middle. Well, colour me envious and also impressed!

I can guess what a silent dance party is, though he does sound like a dance partner to avoid, silent or not.:)

It's the no-pants, horizontal dance. :D (Occasionally vertical, if you have the upper body strength. :pac:)

Hehe, no need to be envious, I can play, but in my opinion, not very well. End of derailing thread :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,006 ✭✭✭✭ted1

I'm enjoying reading these and knowing that none of the stories to date have not involved me ;)
    May u ask have these all being Irish guys or people of different cultures because known my friends etc I find it hard to believe people of the same culture are that clueless with regards dating etc

Moi Dutch, disastrous date too.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭marie12

Went on a date with a guy i met online. We started talking about the site and i said how my friends and sis were on that site too, how's its so popular now etc. He had seen my sis on my facebook and couldn't believe she had to go on a site. 'why is she on it, but she's gorgeous!'
    yes she is gorgeous! But i couldn't believe his lack of tact Grrr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,090 ✭✭✭✭anewme

The farting fireman story reminded me of mine.....

Its donkeys years ago now and was a second date. The plan was he was coming to my house for Sunday lunch and I was going to cook and after that we were going to the park to take photos as he had just gotten a brand new expensive camera.

Anyway, dinner was panfried salmon fillets with baby potatoes and home made apricot salsa and not being into deserts I bought a Vienetta. At the time we did not realise he had a bad reaction to ice cream (upset his stomach) he said he had an idea ice cream did not agree with him but did not want to say because I had bought it and he did not want to seem awkward so just ate it.

Had dinner, set off to the park, in the car, his stomach start growling like mad and he not knowing each other well, we just pretended it was not happening and turned up the radio.

Got to the park and he was sweating and looking uncomfortable. Took a few photos and I could tell he was not well, so I said, we could leave it if he wanted to. All of a sudden, he just hands me the camera and said mind this! and legged it like a sprinter over behind some bushes. I did not know where to look so I just stayed there. A load of japanese tourists came by (clicky clicky with their cameras) and then walked off hiking up behind the bushes and one of them let out a scream but they did not come back! He later told me they had seen him squatting behind the bushes and he did not know whether to put his face towards them or his backside. Imagine being caught with the trots behind a bush by a gang of japenese tourists with me holding his expensive camera and slowly getting more and more embarrassed. There was no loo roll or tissue so he probably had to wipe with a bit of a bush or some leaves!!!

About a half an hour later he came back, still roaring red in the face with beads of sweat on his forehead. He said he had to go back to his for a shower as his stomach was ill and drove with the windows open (probaby to keep the smell away)

All of a sudden I just could not hold it in any longer and just burst out laughing. I turned to him and just said, does a bear Shi* in the Woods?

We both then laughed till we cried. We pulled the car over and laughed uncontrollably.

It wasnt a total disaster as we ended up staying together for about 4 years but it still is the cringiest thing that ever happened. Bar NONE!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,532 ✭✭✭Lou.m

A few weeks ago.

That is insane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭cazzer22

Got chatting to a guy on Tinder, he seemed lovely, similar age, similar interests etc. We decided to meet up in town and then head for a drink afterwards.

We met outside Stephen's Green and he waltzed in what can only be described as a jacket that resembled your man off 'I know what you did last Summer'- fisherman, army green kinda jacket and he was also sweating a crazy amount. I knew he must've been nervous, as was I. So we headed for a pub in Dublin city (he chose it) and they were playing real Irish Celtic music the entire time (not really my scene). We got a few drinks and were chatting (got on really well, ZERO chemistry) and out of nowhere, he whips out this harmonica and starts playing trad tunes on it, completely out of the blue. I was a little mortified. Lovely guy but could tell straight away it was going nowhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭vitani

There was the time my friends set me up on a date with this guy, but something got lost in translation and I didn't realise it was a date I was going on as it was part of a larger party. I ended up getting off with someone else that night, not realising that my 'date' was really upset and angry over this, and calling me names to all and sundry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Two weeks ago I met a guy off OKC after spending the bulk of about 3 months exchanging flirty chatter through IMS and Facebook. So far, so good. I was looking forward to meeting him but a bit apprehensive as he has some of the same physical traits as my ex- example: long hair, goatee and a penchant for heavy metal band t-shirts.
    Still, I gave him the benefit of a doubt and went along to the date. I spotted him outside a certain coffee shop (won't name in case he's on here) and my heart sunk. I know this sounds incredibly shallow and hypocritical of me considering I'm not exactly Kate Moss myself but I was put off by the fact that this guy had a bigger pair of boobs than myself. His profile pictures only showed him from the neck up and gave no indication of his large physique. There was also an absence of full length FB pictures so I only knew his face to look at.
    Even so, I told myself not to get hung up on physical appearences- I was attracted to his personality after all- so I sat down and grabbed a coffee with him.
    It was so awkward- we ran out of things to say after an hour and we were just sitting there, sipping on our coffees and twiddling our thumbs.
    He seemed nice enough but there was absolutely no spark whatsoever- the witty banter we shared over IM did not translate into real life at all and I was desperate to get out of the situation as the awkwardness was unbareable.
    I eventually made my excuses and said goodbye before getting the bus down to my aunt's house.
    They dismissed my post-date analysis and told me to "keep him as a friend". Admittedly, I don't have many friends but I feel completely shanghaied into meeting up with this man.
    This past Friday we had a second date in a sushi restaurant and again, there were too many uncomfortable silences and awkward pauses.
    I do not want to see him again but my family are putting a lot of pressure on me to give him a chance and keep up with a friendship at the very least.
    I'm torn. I feel horrible for judging him on his physicalities but if there's no spark, what's the point?
    He really likes me and I worry I might lead him up the garden path if I continue to see him against my better judgement. I've been in a situation where I was in love with a man who had no feelings for me and it was utterly hellish so I wouldn't wish it on anyone.
    I only wish my family wasn't so pushy about me meeting up with him as I feel everything is so forced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Why are your family so insistent that you keep meeting up with him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

McChubbin wrote: »
    Two weeks ago I met a guy off OKC after spending the bulk of about 3 months exchanging flirty chatter through IMS and Facebook. So far, so good. I was looking forward to meeting him but a bit apprehensive as he has some of the same physical traits as my ex- example: long hair, goatee and a penchant for heavy metal band t-shirts.
    Still, I gave him the benefit of a doubt and went along to the date. I spotted him outside a certain coffee shop (won't name in case he's on here) and my heart sunk. I know this sounds incredibly shallow and hypocritical of me considering I'm not exactly Kate Moss myself but I was put off by the fact that this guy had a bigger pair of boobs than myself. His profile pictures only showed him from the neck up and gave no indication of his large physique. There was also an absence of full length FB pictures so I only knew his face to look at.
    Even so, I told myself not to get hung up on physical appearences- I was attracted to his personality after all- so I sat down and grabbed a coffee with him.
    It was so awkward- we ran out of things to say after an hour and we were just sitting there, sipping on our coffees and twiddling our thumbs.
    He seemed nice enough but there was absolutely no spark whatsoever- the witty banter we shared over IM did not translate into real life at all and I was desperate to get out of the situation as the awkwardness was unbareable.
    I eventually made my excuses and said goodbye before getting the bus down to my aunt's house.
    They dismissed my post-date analysis and told me to "keep him as a friend". Admittedly, I don't have many friends but I feel completely shanghaied into meeting up with this man.
    This past Friday we had a second date in a sushi restaurant and again, there were too many uncomfortable silences and awkward pauses.
    I do not want to see him again but my family are putting a lot of pressure on me to give him a chance and keep up with a friendship at the very least.
    I'm torn. I feel horrible for judging him on his physicalities but if there's no spark, what's the point?
    He really likes me and I worry I might lead him up the garden path if I continue to see him against my better judgement. I've been in a situation where I was in love with a man who had no feelings for me and it was utterly hellish so I wouldn't wish it on anyone.
    I only wish my family wasn't so pushy about me meeting up with him as I feel everything is so forced.

Tell them to feck off, what's it got to do with them?! Why are they so bothered anyway, it's not like they know him. You're not attracted to him, end of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Lux23 wrote: »
    Why are your family so insistent that you keep meeting up with him?
    I have very little in the way of IRL friends so they keep insisting that I "friendzone" him (they haven't actually said that but it was heavily implied) so I'll have someone to go to the cinema with. FFS... I know I get lonely sometime but I'm not so desperate for companionship! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,340 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

And this is why it's a really bad idea to spend too long chatting to someone before you meet them - you get way too invested in the idea of them and the reality almost never lives up to the idea of them that you've built up in your head.

You can get on with someone like a house on fire online, but meeting in real life is, ultimately, the only way you'll ever know if you're attracted to them in the flesh, which is the bottom line, really.

For me, personally, two weeks is the max I'd wait before meeting someone that I liked. Too much potential for time wasted if you invest any longer than that and then discover you're not even remotely attracted to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I have very little in the way of IRL friends so they keep insisting that I "friendzone" him (they haven't actually said that but it was heavily implied) so I'll have someone to go to the cinema with. FFS... I know I get lonely sometime but I'm not so desperate for companionship! :mad:

My mum is the same, regardless of male or female - "Sure just keep them to go to the cinema with. It's ok to use people a bit". Thanks mam, but I think I'd rather sit at home alone than hang out with people I don't really like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭cactuspaw

in retrospect this was not a good thread to read before your first date with a man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Back when I was young, about 19/20, I was getting the bus to Galway and a lad about the same age as me sat in the seat beside me. We got chatting and got on really well. We chatted the whole way and when we got to Galway, we decided to spend some time together. It was one of those situations where we hadn't planned on having a date but we got on so well that it ended up being like a date. We didn't have a lot of money, so we'd have a coke outside a bar and later on we got a nagon. We chatted about what we were doing in Galway, our jobs and plans for the future. Things were going well and we had a little bit of a snog. I couldn't believe my luck!

Then he got a phone call and it was obvious from hearing his end of the conversation that he was talking to his girlfriend. When he got off the phone I asked him if it was his girlfriend and he said it was. I asked him why was he messing around with me if he had a girlfriend and his reply was that "we are only having a bit of fun and she doesn't need to know". Needless to say I dropped him like a hot potato and went on my merry single way!