Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I fell off a ladder today.

• 25-04-2014 10:59pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Cleaning the gutter on the shed earlier while the weather was fine.

Bastardin wasp turns up.

Panic.

Stung in neck.

Wasp wins and smugly fooks off.

I fall off the friggin ladder.

5 stitches in head. 3 broken ribs. Broken wrist. Eight hours in A&E drinking vending machine coffee.

:(

Go on, laugh ye fúckers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

I hope tomorrow is a better day for you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Ok :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

I'm..... actually not going to.. Tough break there, Lapin:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭Manitoban

So the kids are right being scared of wasps... Tough break mate (literally)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,446 ✭✭✭glued

Did your ability to format a paragraph break too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

You should be lapin it up ya big softie.

Seriously though, I hope you have a speedy recovery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 744 ✭✭✭dpofloinn

I feel your pain OP I too had to drink vending machine coffee today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

Claim?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Woke up this morning feeling fine
    Went up a ladder, cleaning time
    But then a wasp came along
    And thought mmmm fresh food
    Something tells me that waspy
    is a real vicious dude, a real vicious dude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Sweet jesus.:eek:

Have you a three storey high shed OP?

Get well soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

Well, I suppose it could have been worse! :P

At least you now have an excuse never to clean the gutters again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭aaabbbb

Lapin wrote: »

Bastardin wasp turns up.

Panic.

Stung in neck.

5 stitches in head. 3 broken ribs. Broken wrist. Eight hours in A&E drinking vending machine coffee.

Go on, laugh ye fúckers.

Sure being a rabbit what were you doing on a ladder in the first place ? Can't imagine the gutters having much nice food !

Anyway you mustn't be a particularly good rabbit, Lapin. You're clearly crap at jumping ! Which is arguably what a rabbit is most famous for.

For anyone who doesn't know Lapin is french for rabbit ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭dmc17

I feel your pain OP. This should make you feel better :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

It's very up and down, that ladder lark.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Mariasofia

Ok...lol...no wait rofl......!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Sorry to hear that, chief. Get well soon.

Are you free to be in Donnybrook at around 11pm next Friday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,879 ✭✭✭ArtyM

Did you at least get the Gutter cleaned in between your messin and fluterin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Bastardin wasp turns up.

Panic.

Stung in neck.

Go on, laugh ye fúckers.

Ah seriously though, that's a fcuking dose dude.

Stitches no bother, even the wrist but the broken ribs, that's hardship right there. You have my best wishes, truly you do.

Now, did I ever tell you about the time I was stung by a bee?

€15 for for a poxy jar of honey :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭ElChe32

Hope someone video taped it. Jeremy Beadle will be spinnin' in his grave if ye didn't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Mariasofia wrote: »
    Ok...lol...no wait rofl......!!!!!!

Pfffft amature:p
    Its... *ahem* OMGPMSLMFAOROTFL!!!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Bastardin wasp turns up.

Panic.

Stung in neck.

Go on, laugh ye fúckers.

I fell off a ladder about 20 meters off the ground yesterday (Thursday, not Friday, just to by awkward), but it was on a circuit at zipit in Tibradden Woods and I was attached to a fall-stop besides a second of brown pants before it broke my fall I experienced no harm.

Sorry op.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

If its any consolation OP i work with a lad that nearly died after falling off a ladder. His foot caught on the way down and got almost ripped off. Joint pulled apart and his foot was held on by a sliver of skin. Ok now but limping for the rest of his life!
    Moral of the story is it could always be worse. Get well soon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

I thought of this when you told your story, OP:

A man suspected his wife was seeing another man, so he hired the famous
    Chinese detective, Chen Lee, to watch and report any activities while he
    was gone. A few days later he received this report:

MOST HONORABLE SIR:
    YOU LEAVE HOUSE, I WATCH HOUSE. HE COME TO HOUSE. I WATCH. HE AND SHE
    LEAVE HOUSE. I FOLLOW. HE AND SHE GO IN HOTEL. I CLIMB TREE. I LOOK IN WINDOW.
    HE KISS SHE. SHE KISS HE. HE STRIP SHE. SHE STRIP HE. HE PLAY WITH SHE.
    SHE PLAY WITH HE. I PLAY WITH ME.... I FALL OFF TREE. I NO SEE.

NO FEE,
    CHEN LEE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭maryishere

dangerous things ladders. When I was working in Australia a few years ago, a colleagues husband fell off a ladder and was killed. Very sad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭le la rat

Well that is Duffy's first segment sorted out on Monday. Is the wasp ok?

Seaneh wrote: »
    I fell off a ladder about 20 meters off the ground yesterday (Thursday, not Friday, just to by awkward), but it was on a circuit at zipit in Tibradden Woods and I was attached to a fall-stop besides a second of brown pants before it broke my fall I experienced no harm.

Sorry op.

you did in your hoop. Unless it was a step ladder on an 18 meter building. 20 meter ladders don't exist. 10m is cack your pants territory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Mariasofia

Pfffft amature:p
    Its... *ahem* OMGPMSLMFAOROTFL!!!!!

Soz.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Will you promise to ring Joe on Monday? Tell him you've no insurance and he might dip into the fund ;)

Seriously, I wish you a speedy recovery Lapin :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

LMAO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,585 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Wasps want to ruin everything for everyone and let everyone think it was the bees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,665 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

Bastardin wasp turns up.

Panic.

Stung in neck.

Go on, laugh ye fúckers.

I had a Honda 90 in college
    http://globalcarbrands.com/i/honda/honda-c-90-cub/honda-c-90-cub-06.jpg
    And I had a cheap old helmet with a scratched visor.

I was driving home from college one day. Downhill in my own little world. Visor up - because it was scratched to sh!te. A wasp flew into my helmet and stung me on the face.
    It looked at little like this:-
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fl7o1EB0sYI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

Moral of the story : Let the rainwater clean the fcukin' gutters

Seriously, Lapin, hope you make a quick recovery.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

Bastardin wasp turns up.

Panic.

Stung in neck.

Go on, laugh ye fúckers.

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRFuzJYxGWvQQwp5wDIi4uYwCqnHtk-PEQ99QEsrKSgYp3PogVU9A

Hope you feel better soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Should have done a barrell roll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭gg2

You poor aul fecker. I hate ladders, my daddy (yes me daddy) is 65 and is always doing some wee job about the house, anytime I see him on a ladder I feel uneasy.... I hate wasps too but thats a whole other story. Hope you feel better soon!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Tough break

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

I am reminded of the Murphy and The Bricks song ...

Ladders and Wasps are not a good combination.

The only good ladder is one in a pair of tights, and even then, they're not a cause for celebration. Unless you're tearing them off with your teeth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

Bastardin wasp turns up.

Panic.

Stung in neck.

Go on, laugh ye fúckers.

If you had a safe pass, you would have a fleg man either side of your ladder, and a guy next to you on a ladder with all sorts of spray and a camera.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Sorry to hear OP
    And people think I'm paranoid about wasps????
    You see?
    I was right about them little bastids

I was right I tells ya!!

I was going to laugh til I saw wasps involved
    You poor thing

They're evil fcukers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

coolhull wrote: »
    Moral of the story : Let the rainwater clean the fcukin' gutters

Seriously, Lapin, hope you make a quick recovery.....

The cream crackers do a good job if they know you have a drinklink card.

There is a bright side Lapin, you've just claimed 'the best roof story' title! Last year's winner was Harry Angstrom.

I was working up on a roof once and a couple of young lads thought it would be a good idea to steal the ladder. I think I can laugh about it now. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭ardle1

Wasps are actually psychic, he was coming to tell you that your about to fall off the ladder, and then he tried to save you by grabbing your neck.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Sorry to hear that Lapin. I broke four ribs in a motorbike crash and two more another time when I was lying on my back on the floor and my, then, two yr old daughter jumped on me from the back of the couch. They get worse before they get better. Hope you're not out of action for too long.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

MrsD007 wrote: »
    There is a bright side Lapin, you've just claimed 'the best roof story' title! Last year's winner was Harry Angstrom.

If there was a competitive sport where the winner is decided by falling from ladders, Cork and Galway would be in the All ireland Final every year !

I'd let Harry win every time though. ;)

Sorry Lapin, I just couldn't resist posting this :) Goodnight my friend, I hope you've been given some decent pain relief :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭Burky126

I was woken up by a wasp today.

Something needs to be done to address the wasp problem.

Anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

The cream crackers do a good job if they know you have a drinklink card.

A mate of mine in Nenagh used to make a tidy few quid cleaning gutters for old folk and people who weren't any good at that sort of thing. When he was done he's sprinkle a bit of topsoil and grass seed in a few strategic places. 6 months later he'd have a bit of repeat business. He used to blame it on birds sh1tt1ng in the gutters.