Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Limerick vets under threat from animal abuse gangs

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,087 ✭✭✭✭Dan_Solo

thomur wrote: »
    Used to think the same myself. Had a visit from the community guard last week. He was telling me 12 guards on duty. 3 were sent on prisoner escort, 2 on bank duty, leaving only half in the station for one of the biggest districts on duty
    Why do we have 500 Garda station anyway? Are they distributed purely geographically or is there any relation between population density and Gardai deployed? :confused:

sup_dude wrote: »
    Now I am nit-picking but some don't have access to land, even at that.
    The relevance is that having a law that disallows horse ownership unless they have land or a farm will affect more genuine horse owners than bad ones unless you have a load of loopholes, in which the bad owners can exploit. It's not gonna make a slight bit of difference to the traveling community whether or not these laws exist.
    A bit of a moot point since there already seems to be plenty of laws there only the Gardai refuse to enforce them...
    But if you have X acres of land or have secured legal access to X acres of land for your horse through stabling fees, then wouldn't that solve it? No idea what X is myself, but a common green in a housing estate or a back garden doesn't cut it.

Lou.m wrote: »
    The guards have not met the rise in brutality with equal sternness. They are outnumbered and out armed and not served well by the law. The guards are not empowered or respected.
    Come off it! How on earth are they out-armed? They have body armour, truncheons, armoured cars and Uzis if it comes to it. And I have plenty of first hand evidence that they are well able to dish out brutality only they seem to reserve it for situations where they are 100% certain they'll be getting none of it back.
    I've never been in trouble in my life with the law and I have no respect for them TBH. Why would I expect criminals who laugh at their ineffectiveness on a daily basis to have any?

• Registered Users Posts: 29,031 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Dan_Solo wrote: »
    Or condemning it.
    Funny that.
    no, its not funny at all, its not their job to come out and condemn something, it should stand to reason unless speciffically condoned that they condemn it, and as they have never condoned such behaviour i'm happy that they do condemn it and i don't need them coming out and condemning something as re-assurence to the fact

ticking a box on a form does not make you of a religion.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Come off it! How on earth are they out-armed? They have body armour, truncheons, armoured cars and Uzis if it comes to it.

All useless when using it will get them in more trouble than it's worth.

This country has made the gaurds fairly toothless by setting up the law to hinder them doing their job in nearly every way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,532 ✭✭✭Lou.m

Come off it! How on earth are they out-armed? They have body armour, truncheons, armoured cars and Uzis if it comes to it. And I have plenty of first hand evidence that they are well able to dish out brutality only they seem to reserve it for situations where they are 100% certain they'll be getting none of it back.
    I've never been in trouble in my life with the law and I have no respect for them TBH. Why would I expect criminals who laugh at their ineffectiveness on a daily basis to have any?

The average guard has none of these and you know this.

I agree with the rest of your post though. They apply effectiveness selectively.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

There is a huge problem with scumbaggery up and down the country, from theft to minor and serious anti social behaviour, assaults, public drunkenness, driving without a license, tax, insurance, test, driving dangerously, animal cruelty, illegal dumping, dealing drugs, selling prescription drugs (paid for by taxpayers) etc. etc. the list goes on and on and on. All of the above I have seen with my own two eyes. The gardai are quite frankly feckless, they are given information, they do nothing with it, they don't seem to want to put any effort into dealing with what's happening, I have seen a case where a person who is a serial scumbag assaulted another, despite there being independant witnesses they had no interest in investagating or perusing charges. Yes I understand that they have been hit with serious cutbacks I understand that but the country is turning into the Wild West.

Here we have a situation where a vet only trying to their job had their life threatened by brainless thugs, the gardai didn't bother turn up for three and half hours, I thought that threatening to kill was a serious crime that carries a decent jail sentence, because of this an animal was left suffering needlessly.

I would much prefer to send such yokes to spike island and leave them off to kill eachother but that's never going to happen. So here's what I propose, you end up in front of a judge for ANY crime of any sort, then the judge has the power to cut your social welfare to the bare minimum instead of a suspended sentence, suspended sentences are pointless, fines do nothing, I know someone who owed thousands in fines, they did less than 2 hours inside for non payment due to over crowding. You are convicted of any anti-social behaviour and you are excluded from social housing lists which makes you inelligeble for Rent Allowance for a certain period of time. You can't afford to feed, clothe and house your kids because of this then they are removed from your care and placed with someone who can. Time to take off the kid gloves and take back our country from the bottom feeders.

• Registered Users Posts: 464 ✭✭The Th!ng

They kicked a shetland pony to death, christ almighty. :mad:

There is no hope for those that would do such a thing and they should be eradicated by any means possible.

no, its not funny at all, its not their job to come out and condemn something, it should stand to reason unless speciffically condoned that they condemn it, and as they have never condoned such behaviour i'm happy that they do condemn it and i don't need them coming out and condemning something as re-assurence to the fact
    Oh, so you ASSUME the condemn it because they have said zero about it. How does that work? Said nothing is said nothing.
    I'm quite happy for them to claim to have their own culture etc for whatever free grants it gets them, but I'm well withing my rights to associate what I see with that culture if they themselves are so adamant they are separate from "us".

The average guard has none of these and you know this.
    Riot police have been called in to deal with these people before, so it can be done at the drop of a hat. It's not rocket science. Riot squad and horseboxes turn up at halting site -> no more horses for them to torture.

meoklmrk91 wrote: »
    the country is turning into the Wild West.
    grow up and stop talking crap, yes we have a small issue with crime but stop dramatizing it, many citties in countries many times the size of ours have problems we could never imagine, maybe you should look for the sky news on chicago which was aired over christmas, now thats problems.
    you end up in front of a judge for ANY crime of any sort, then the judge has the power to cut your social welfare to the bare minimum
    to much of a risk of more crime being commited, best to jail them and be done with it
    You are convicted of any anti-social behaviour and you are excluded from social housing lists which makes you inelligeble for Rent Allowance for a certain period of time. You can't afford to feed, clothe and house your kids because of this then they are removed from your care and placed with someone who can.
    the care system can't cope with the current lot of children, and i'm sure finding homes for many kids at the best of times is hard enough, and you want to have more children end up being removed? the state has been proven not to be the most compitent over the years in relation to caring for children, so your idea is a non starter
    Time to take off the kid gloves and take back our country from the bottom feeders.
    lol

grow up and stop talking crap, yes we have a small issue with crime but stop dramatizing it, many citties in countries many times the size of ours have problems we could never imagine, maybe you should look for the sky news on chicago which was aired over christmas, now thats problems.
    Whataboutery at its finest.
    Hey, I hear there a full blown war on in Afghanistan! Who cares if ponies are getting kicked to death then!

Oh, so you ASSUME the condemn it because they have said zero about it.
    well unless evidence is presented to me of all members of pavee point saying they condone such behaviour then i'm happy that they don't, end of story
    I'm quite happy for them to claim to have their own culture etc for whatever free grants it gets them, but I'm well withing my rights to associate what I see with that culture if they themselves are so adamant they are separate from "us".
    no, your not, if i said that having loads of children was associated with the settled community i'd be berated by my fellow settled community members and rightly so, if your going to judge certain communities on the actions of some members of those communities then we should judge our own on something that is unique to our "community" which as nothing done in the traveling community isn't being done by some members of the settled community we can't exactly make the settled community out to be holy joes

Whataboutery at its finest.
    Hey, I hear there a full blown war on in Afghanistan! Who cares if ponies are getting kicked to death then!
    the poster said the country is turning into the wild west because of people driving without a licence insurence and so on, its not, yes we have a small problem with crime but if we want to talk about wild west then other countries would fit such definition, maybe if you can be bothered read the conversation again?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

Riot police have been called in to deal with these people before, so it can be done at the drop of a hat. It's not rocket science. Riot squad and horseboxes turn up at halting site -> no more horses for them to torture.

And the next day the guilty liberal media will be full of tales of discrimination and a disproportionate response to the situation by the police.

We've created our own sacred cows out of despicable human beings and excuse their terrible behavior to the point where saying or doing anything about it paints the people trying to fix it in a bad light.

You're deemed a racist, class-ist, bigot for pointing out that maybe there's something wrong with the fact that it's the same people, in the same areas doing the same horrible stuff over and over and our current policy of rapping them in cotton wool and making excuses for them isn't working.

no, your not, if i said that having loads of children was associated with the settled community i'd be berated by my fellow settled community members and rightly so,

I honestly have no idea what you're getting at here. Why do you assume anybody has a problem with the number of kids someone has? It's whether they have a notion of looking after them or how to teach them the absolute fundamentals of civilization is what people care about.

you know well what i mean

So when you say people have a problem with other people having lots of kids, and I say they don't, how am I supposed to "know what you mean"?
    Like I said, if you can look after 100 kids, fire away. Nobody cares. If you raise them to be kicking miniature ponies to death then I'd prefer if you had zero kids TBH.
    What's your point?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

This is a loada bollox. Ireland is allowing this to happen. Allowing it is encouraging it. Such a ****ing disgrace.

So much worse going on around the world, but that is ten thousand per cent irrelevant.

Surely violent crime has to be stopped. Why can't Ireland step up its game? What's stopping it?

whirlpool wrote: »
    This is a loada bollox. Ireland is allowing this to happen. Allowing it is encouraging it. Such a ****ing disgrace.

So much worse going on around the world, but that is ten thousand per cent irrelevant.

Surely violent crime has to be stopped. Why can't Ireland step up its game? What's stopping it?
    That's the idiotic thing with whataboutery.
    It's precisely because this isn't drive by shooting with AK47s that this should be easy to wipe out. No horses outside of own land/proper stables, full stop.

EDIT: Oh, and set cops a maximum call out time. If the pizza guy can do it, why can't they?

I'm so sick of this ****. It's a disgrace that people are getting away with literally murder in this country. Someone needs to be held responsible for letting people all over the country every day get away with violent crimes. It's one thing to commit a violent crime, but to idly stand by and watch people get away with it is arguably worse, and if it not worse then at least it should be a punishable crime in itself.

And if a person kicks a person or an animal to death, they should be sentenced themselves to death by kicking. Yes, I said it - death penalty for these cu ts. Or "penalty of severe pain and torture," if you will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

If animals are treated like this what will they do with people who don't meet their needs?

They shouldn't be punished because they are a threat to humans, they should be severely punished because they have tortured animals.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 383 ✭✭Mike747

People who abuse animals are sociopaths. Psychos who are mentally ill.

Some humans as sad as it is enjoy seeing pain in other people or animals.

They get a huge deep kick out of it.

I volunteer at the DSPCA one sometimes twice a week.

I have seen horses that people used barbed wire for a bit on. Their mouths totally cut up.

I have seen a cat that someone used a stud gun ( used for putting studs in leather furniture) to punch a metal stud in it's lower jaw.

The worst story I have ever come across was a farmer who shot a few of his dogs in the face. And then never finished them off he left them in his shed and to wander the village after shooting them in the face. The dogs were wandering around with half their face off.

The reason they threaten someone trying to help is because it is spoiling their depraved fun. They are bitter about another creature showing kindness. They cannot stand it.

There is no reasoning with them. They are nut jobs. And they enjoy their work.

I would never be even an acquaintance of someone who showed apathy towards animal abuse.

The threat to a human is more serious ...but it is not surprising if you allow people to brutalize animals they start to exhibit these traits towards people. They think they can intimidate any one, you name it guards , vets etc. They have no respect for authority. The respect for law in this country amongst a certain class of scum is non existent.

The guards have not met the rise in brutality with equal sternness. They are outnumbered and out armed and not served well by the law. The guards are not empowered or respected.

Criminals know (especially with animals abuse) nothing will happen. It is why we are the puppy farm factory of Europe. We have a huge problem with dog fighting it's awful. They use little dogs as bait.

People think animals rights is hippy vegans on a trip. They don't realize how prevalent and bad it is in this country compared to others. We are much worse in comparison to the UK for instance.

Sorry to go on.

But I love animals. And I despise these people. If I see someone abusing a dog or a horse I WILL give them a piece of my mind and I wear their contempt as a badge of honor.

Pieces of shit. Like people who prey on kids and the elderly, there should be a special place in hell for those who abuse animals.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,453 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

yeah, because Martin Collins really condones this sort of thing, grow up.
    so what if he comes on radio, if people used acts of verminry like this as a stick to beat the scum that did this with, rather then use it as a stick to beat all the traveling community with along with every other thing that isn't unique to the traveling community, then Martin Collins wouldn't have to come on the radio

How about you grow up, there's never as much as a peep out of him or anyone from Pavee Point when Traveller criminality is in the news.

there's never as much as a peep out of him or anyone from Pavee Point when Traveller criminality is in the news.
    why should their be, do you need reassurence from pavee point that they condemn it or something everytime criminality in the traveling community is mentioned or something? because i certainly don't, because criminality is criminality who ever commits it

• Registered Users Posts: 16,453 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

why should their be, do you need reassurence from pavee point that they condemn it or something everytime criminality in the traveling community is mentioned or something? because i certainly don't, because criminality is criminality who ever commits it

Yeah I do want to hear it, and I also want to hear that they condemn sulky racing on public roads that are a danger to motorists and cruel to the horses.

And regarding the poor animal that was kicked to death, I know there are also plenty of skangers that would do the same but in this case it was Travellers, who have a history of poor treatment of animals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭Hedgemeister

There is a huge problem with scumbaggery up and down the country, from theft to minor and serious anti social behaviour, assaults, public drunkenness, driving without a license, tax, insurance, test, driving dangerously, animal cruelty, illegal dumping, dealing drugs, selling prescription drugs (paid for by taxpayers) etc. etc. the list goes on and on and on. All of the above I have seen with my own two eyes. The gardai are quite frankly feckless, they are given information, they do nothing with it, they don't seem to want to put any effort into dealing with what's happening, I have seen a case where a person who is a serial scumbag assaulted another, despite there being independant witnesses they had no interest in investagating or perusing charges. Yes I understand that they have been hit with serious cutbacks I understand that but the country is turning into the Wild West.

Here we have a situation where a vet only trying to their job had their life threatened by brainless thugs, the gardai didn't bother turn up for three and half hours, I thought that threatening to kill was a serious crime that carries a decent jail sentence, because of this an animal was left suffering needlessly.

I would much prefer to send such yokes to spike island and leave them off to kill eachother but that's never going to happen. So here's what I propose, you end up in front of a judge for ANY crime of any sort, then the judge has the power to cut your social welfare to the bare minimum instead of a jail sentence, suspended sentences are pointless, fines do nothing, I know someone who owed thousands in fines, they did less than 2 hours inside for non payment due to over crowding. You are convicted of any anti-social behaviour and you are excluded from social housing lists which makes you inelligeble for Rent Allowance for a certain period of time. You can't afford to feed, clothe and house your kids because of this then they are removed from your care and placed with someone who can. Time to take off the kid gloves and take back our country from the bottom feeders.

You're right of course, but we keep seeing references to Spike Island Prison as if it was some 'cure all' for the ills in Irish society.
    In the 80s Spike was handed over by the Military to the Justice Dept for use as a prison for junior offenders. I'm not sure if it was actually used for such, but I remember the relatives of the potential prisoners whinging on Radio and TV, 'why should we suffer so much travelling to visit Anto, Damo, all the ways from Dublin, Donegal, Mayo, Limerick, etc...we can't afford it...we committed no crime...dragging kids to see their Daa...etc etc.' They wanted subsidised travel, etc, and this would be hugely expensive.
    Eventually, Spike was ruled to be 'unfit' for prisoners, even after millions was spent doing up the place, while up to that time the kip was deemed quite sufficient to house Military prisoners, not to mention the Military Police Staff.
    Just imagine in these 'softer times' if Anto, Damo and (God forbid) Aoife and Sorca were incarcareted in Spike Island Prison, the outcry from the bleedin' hearts and PC brigade would be horrendous.
    How many songs would be penned (by the usual suspects) lamenting their cruel detention...
    On the plus side, we might get a Eurovision winner or a good Rugby song out of it !

And what would happen if one of these pony kicking, animal torturing, old folk robbing, hand-bag grabbing, shop-lifting, anti-social lowlife dirtbags drowned while trying to escape ?
    Martyrdom probably.

But seriously, it would give the ex-cons real 'hard-man' status with their peer group. (There would be a queue for the place)
    Think of the tee-shirt slogans...'I survived 6 months on Spike Island' etc.

No, putting these thugs on an Island, any Island, wouldn't work, not in this country anyway.

Yeah I do want to hear it, and I also want to hear that they condemn sulky racing on public roads that are a danger to motorists and cruel to the horses.
    well its not going to happen and rightly so as its not their job to publically condemn anything, do we need groups coming out and publically condemning something that happens in the settled community? no, you might like to hear this and that everytime something to do with the traveling community is mentioned but the rest of us don't need lobby groups to reassure us all the time

the bleedin' hearts and PC brigade
    oh this nonsense again from people who blame mythical organizations for the ills of the world because they can't get their way in life, these people don't exist, so stop talking bull and except its the law makers who decide things and not some mythical people