Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Enda Kenny to invite British Royals to 1916 Easter Rising celebrations??

• 11-04-2014 11:25am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭

I am all for reconciliation, queens Ireland visit etc but inviting British royals to the 1916 celebrations is a ridiculous idea, the 1916 celebrations should be about celebrating the bravery of all the rebels who fought in 1916, not another excuse for enda to lick the royal families ass and have union jacks flying all over Dublin. this celebration is about an event that had a big influence on us getting our freedom from the British so can we not just make it an exclusively Irish event?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Weather forecast: Partly cloudy with a chance of shitstorms

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

I am all for reconciliation, queens Ireland visit etc but inviting British royals to the 1916 celebrations is a ridiculous idea, the 1916 celebrations should be about celebrating the bravery of all the rebels who fought in 1916, not another excuse for enda to lick the royal families ass and have union jacks flying all over Dublin. this celebration is about an event that had a big influence on us getting our freedom from the British so can we not just make it an exclusively Irish event ?

Not sure if serious. :cool:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

That's a bit narrow minded isn't it?

It would not be to "lick the royal families ass."

Did you have issues with her visiting the Garden of Remembrance too?

It's a trap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

If she wears an EIRE 32 Celtic jersey then I'd be in favour of her being here for the celebrations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,516 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Why gives a **** who comes seriously can we not just get over it and agree it was a ****ty part of our history?

Arent the whole back and forth visits about reconciling the past and just getting on with **** instead of constantly shouting 800 years every time someone official from england comes over?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

I am all for reconciliation, queens Ireland visit etc but inviting British royals to the 1916 celebrations is a ridiculous idea, the 1916 celebrations should be about celebrating the bravery of all the rebels who fought in 1916, not another excuse for enda to lick the royal families ass and have union jacks flying all over Dublin. this celebration is about an event that had a big influence on us getting our freedom from the British so can we not just make it an exclusively Irish event?

Yeah let's ban all tourists that year and send all the foreigners home so we can make it exclusive :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭pojfexcsc

That day should be solely focused on the men and women who fought for Ireland, having the royals there would just create a media ****storm where everyone and the world media would be focused on the wrong thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭szatan84

That would be like inviting the Germans to remember all the Holocaust victims. A tad bit tacky.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

pojfexcsc wrote: »
    That day should be solely focused on the men and women who fought for Ireland, having the royals there would just create a media ****storm where everyone and the world media would be focused on the wrong thing.

alright alright, I'll bite...

Political Correctness, gone MAAADDDD!!!!!

Ted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

I'm sure the heads of state of many countries will be invited. That said, I find the 1916 celebration to be all a bit embarrassing. It celebrates an event that didn't even reach the status of a glorious failure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

pojfexcsc wrote: »
    szatan84 wrote: »
    That would be like inviting the Germans to remember all the Holocaust victims. A tad bit tacky.

Are you 3 serious?
    If anything, it shows that our 2 countries have finally started to do what would have been fantasy land years ago.
    I welcome them, to see first handed what ti was like from both sides of the story.
    Sure, the UK are what caused it but feckin hell it was nearly 100 years ago. We've moved on, unlike some I can see.
    In the end, it is a day that involved both the Irish and the British.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

I'm sure the heads of state of many countries will be invited. That said, I find the 1916 celebration to be all a bit embarrassing. It celebrates an event that didn't even reach the status of a glorious failure.

The thing is, the Easter Rising paved the way for Independence. It gave rise to Sein Fein which set up Dail Eireann and adopted Independence.
    YEs it was a monumental failure but it's aftermath was positive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

Depending on who attends, would the city not have to go into lock down with everyone confined outside. Not much of a celebration or commemoration or whatever it will be

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Alf. A. Male

Lots of Germans do remember the Holocaust victims. They feel it to be something of a national stain to the extent that they have a term for it, Kriegsschuld. That relates to a more general feeling about the war, but includes their feelings about the Holocaust.
    I don't say it's right for Germans now to carry the can for Germany then, but recognition of wrongs is part of healing them. Standing with people you've hurt is important for both sides. South Africa has started a healing process for Aparthied and I'm sure there are other examples. Maybe we should keep the growth of the last few years going and put the past where it belongs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

bear1 wrote: »
    Are you 3 serious?
    If anything, it shows that our 2 countries have finally started to do what would have been fantasy land years ago.
    I welcome them, to see first handed what ti was like from both sides of the story.
    Sure, the UK are what caused it but feckin hell it was nearly 100 years ago. We've moved on, unlike some I can see.
    In the end, it is a day that involved both the Irish and the British.

From the constant Sinn Fein bashing, It would seem most of the country only move on when it suits their agenda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

Perhaps we can move the celebrations to the 4th July and just call it 'In Your face Queenie! Day' ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Does the inclusion of the UK's head of state in our 1916 celebrations not show that we've moved on? That any bitterness or soreness about the affair has been put to bed and the UK are applauding Ireland's existence as a state rather than begrudging it?

Would nationalists not prefer this? The admission and acceptance by the UK of Ireland's existence is effectively the cherry on top, the ultimate confirmation of the republican victory over the empire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

there will surely be none invited to Hugh O'Neills anniversary celebration up here in 2016

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭Birroc

this celebration is about an event that had a big influence on us getting our freedom from the British

should read..."this celebration is about an event that had a big influence on us getting taken over by the Roman church and gombeen politicians"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

seamus wrote: »
    Does the inclusion of the UK's head of state in our 1916 celebrations not show that we've moved on? That any bitterness or soreness about the affair has been put to bed and the UK are applauding Ireland's existence as a state rather than begrudging it?

Would nationalists not prefer this? The admission and acceptance by the UK of Ireland's existence is effectively the cherry on top, the ultimate confirmation of the republican victory over the empire.

I agree 100% but that's all well and good until some retard who thinks he's a 'true republican' decides to take umbrage and acts out on it. That's the only thing I'd fear about the whole thing. All it takes is one or two idiots to be 'offended' enough by the invitation for the rest of us to be flung back into the dark days of violence and division.

I don't think that those who are most likely to react would bother giving the significance of a royals attendance any logical thought.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

I don't know, i reckon Queen Lizzy is getting into the spirit of things...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Alf. A. Male

I agree 100% but that's all well and good until some retard who thinks he's a 'true republican' decides to take umbrage and acts out on it. That's the only thing I'd fear about the whole thing. All it takes is one or two idiots to be 'offended' enough by the invitation for the rest of us to be flung back into the dark days of violence and division.

I don't think that those who are most likely to react would bother giving the significance of a royals attendance any logical thought.

The same fears were raised before the visit of the queen. What materialised was a few idiots in English football shirts shouting for the hour they could be bothered to leave the pub.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭LizzieJones

MonstaMash wrote: »
    I don't know, i reckon Queen Lizzy is getting into the spirit of things...

She could have smiled. :)

Ireland and England are BFFs now. So cute. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

Will we be allowed on the streets if the Queen comes again? Or will they close everything again to be on the safe side. Don't really fancy celebrating in my apartment with a bag of tins.

Rarely is maturity characterised by the desperate crawling neediness for acceptance/endorsement from the English that so many Irish people seem to display. It's the same desperate 'what will the British think of us' insecurity that caused us to dispense with any celebration of our independence in the first place.
    The near blanket rolling coverage of Micky D's visit has been prime example of this too. The word 'historic' was thrown out so often that 'hystronic' would have been more apropriate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,286 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Odd question, will there be two celebrations in 2016 one on Easter Sunday/Monday March 27/28 and another on the actual centenary dates of April 23/24?

If two which will Lizzo come to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Reoil

Em, would it not be like inviting the Germans to remember all the allied soldiers who died?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

I can't see Liz coming, in fact I can't see her doing any more overseas visits. I would expect Charles, Harry or Wills to come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,840 ✭✭✭intellectual dosser

Should it not be Commemorations as opposed to Celebrations?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭problemchimp

conorhal wrote: »
    Rarely is maturity characterised by the desperate crawling neediness for acceptance/endorsement from the English that so many people seem to desplay. It's the same desperate 'what will the British think of us' insecurity that caused us to dispense with any celebration of our independence in the first place.
    The near blanket coverage of Micky D's visit has been prime example of this too. The word 'historic' was thrown out so often that 'hystronic' would have been more apropriate.
    Totally agree, it's a bit like the R.T.E. brigade asking every foriegner that's interviewed "sure what d'ya think of us, aren't we great auld' craic" It's a bit of a cringe fest.
    The Queen came here, Michael went there, and Enda will probably be in opposition in 1916.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

I can't see Liz coming, in fact I can't see her doing any more overseas visits. I would expect Charles, Harry or Wills to come.

Era she could pop over for an hour or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭thomil

Reoil wrote: »
    Em, would it not be like inviting the Germans to remember all the allied soldiers who died?

Which wouldn't be too far-fetched either, as the image of Chancellor Kohl and Francois Mitterand at the Duoaumont cementary shows. Or the presence of German Chancellors at the D-Day commemorations in 2004 and later.

Good luck trying to figure me out. I haven't managed that myself yet!

Totally agree, it's a bit like the R.T.E. brigade asking every foriegner that's interviewed "sure what d'ya think of us, aren't we great auld' craic" It's a bit of a cringe fest.
    The Queen came here, Michael went there, and Enda will probably be in opposition in 1916.

Indeed. We behave like one of those needy, nightmare ex's that broke up with you, but keeps texting and calling every time she gets a bit drunk and lonely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Rarely is maturity characterised by the desperate crawling neediness for acceptance/endorsement from the English that so many people seem to desplay. It's the same desperate 'what will the British think of us' insecurity that caused us to dispense with any celebration of our independence in the first place.
    The near blanket coverage of Micky D's visit has been prime example of this too. The word 'historic' was thrown out so often that 'hystronic' would have been more apropriate.
    So, what? You'd prefer that we just ignored it?

It's nothing to do with looking for "approval" from the British and everything to do with celebrating the fact that both countries have moved on from our petty squabbles over land into a place of mutual respect as sovereign nations.

Do you not feel that the first official state visit by the Irish president (and indeed by the British queen) are things we should look on and admire as an indicator of maturity in our own state?

Era she could pop over for an hour or so.

She'll be 90 then. the whole getting to stansted, checking in, rushing to get a decent seat etc will probably be too much for her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭elefant

Do you not feel that the first official state visit by the Irish president (and indeed by the British queen) are things we should look on and admire as an indicator of maturity in our own state?

And surely a situation where a British monarch can come to Ireland by our invitation as our guest is exactly the kind of thing the Irish patriots of 1916 were fighting for. If anything, this could be looked on, 100 years later, as the ultimate vindication for their sacrifice.

It seems some feel that the Irish people should still be wringing their hands and constantly remembering the past when they should be shaking hands and looking towards the future.

It's nothing to do with looking for "approval" from the British and everything to do with celebrating the fact that both countries have moved on from our petty squabbles over land into a place of mutual respect as sovereign nations.

Isn't that what THIS week was about? Invite her over for rememberance day by all means, but the 1916 celebrations should be about us.

I think everybody knows we've moved on at this stage. We dropped our constitutional claim over the 6 counties, there is a cease fire in place (with the exception of a few knobs) and the state visiting has been done. No need for any more.

Isn't that what THIS week was about? Invite her over for rememberance day by all means, but the 1916 celebrations should be about us.

Why, what did you do in 1916?

No offence, But you sound like a spoiled petulant child who has just found out her cousin has been invited to her birthday party and she doesn't want her there.

bumper234 wrote: »
    No offence, But you sound like a spoiled petulant child who has just found out her cousin has been invited to her birthday party and she doesn't want her there.

Well the bitch did ruin the last one :pac:

Will it be a sign of maturity to show that we've gotten over the whole 'bloody sunday thing' if we invite the Para's to march in the parade?

I like to celebrate important occasions with the people that mean something to me. You sound like the kind or person that invites Hello and every z-list cleleb to their birthday party and gets huffy when Drico and Amy don't RSVP, thus ruining your special day.

bumper234 wrote: »
    No offence, but that is a really stupid post in my opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭twowheelsgood

I think it is quite obvious that Enda is well, acting the b*llox here, or hedging his bets anyway.

There will be a general election a couple of months before Easter 2016. If he wins another term, well he'll be happy out. If he loses he will have a good laugh at FF + SF (probably) having, as one of their first duties, to welcome her majesty. :)

Go Enda!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭doolox

The events of 1916 are in our distant past just like the "glorious failure" of the Alomo for the Texans in forging their separate identity from the Mexicans in 1836.

Just as the defeat of the Texans at the Alomo galvanised public opinion and led to eventual freedom and victory at the battle of San Jacinto the GPO seige and surrender led to galvanising Irish public opinion and the war of independence in 1922. Just as the Texans say "remember the Alomo" we Irish could say "remember the GPO" as a critical turning point and galvanising moment in Irish history.

My guess is that some minor member of the Royal Family and some British Government reps will attend in a low key way. At this point in time the security forces and civilians who died may be remembered as well as the soldiers of the Irish Volunteers and the Irish Citizens Army who died.

Well the bitch did ruin the last one :pac:

Will it be a sign of maturity to show that we've gotten over the whole 'bloody sunday thing' if we invite the Para's to march in the parade?

I like to celebrate important occasions with the people that mean something to me. You sound like the kind or person that invites Hello and every z-list cleleb to their birthday party and gets huffy when Drico and Amy don't RSVP, thus ruining your special day.

Geryy Adams and Martin McGuinness after the Brighton bombing?

We could sling atrocities at each other all day long but this is about the moving on in the future not dragging up the past and wringing hands about it at every mention of the Royals.

No offence, but that is a really stupid post in my opinion

None taken.

Why, what did you do in 1916?

Your Grandma!