Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Muck on roads.

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭micraX

Thought it was the landowners responsibility to cut his own roadside hedges.
    Around here its always the farmer who cuts the hedges;council might clip a bit at blind junctions etc but thats about it.Know that the council send out letters reminding people to cut hedges esp. if they are overgrown.

Its a pain in the a*s driving on roads where the hedge or esp. trees ,are coming out across the road.Know that mirrors for tractors ain't too cheap and after you break a few you tend to notice what idiots neglect to trim the roadside yearly.

Another pain is farmers who expect silage hay etc to be mown and harvested right close to the ditch but forget about the overhanging tree branches.Its a pain when you spend more time looking at whether the harvester chute is gonna be bent or the trailer will collect a few large branches rather than concentrate on where you are going.

Here at home get ALL the roadside ditches trimmed in the winter and the grass margin cut each summer.To be fair so do each and every one of my neighbours.Farmers around here wouldn't be too slow to comment about someone who lets his hedges grow out and it would be pointed out in a nice way that hedgecutters are ten a penny.

Think a lot of the attitude here(not saying any one poster in particular)on these sort of threads reflects the general attitude amongst farmers that we have more important things to do than worry about other peoples problems or complaints.
    Its a "get out of my way,can't you see that my silage/hay/corn /cattle/sheep are more important than obeying the rules or inconvienencing people" attitude.

+spuds cabbage turnips leeks carrots parsnips etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭knockmulliner

Is it only in Waterford that it's obligatory to cut your own road ditches?

No it's obligatory in Wexford also, annual notice to landowners posted in the local paper by the council.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 charlie haughey

Unreal around here young fellas drawing muck driving flat out bai with there five finger wave :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭case885

Unreal around here young fellas drawing muck driving flat out bai with there five finger wave :rolleyes:

Flat out with a load of slurry is only about 35k/hr id be more worried about morons who come at you at about 70k and keep as close to you as possible, thats how accidents happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

case885 wrote: »
    Flat out with a load of slurry is only about 35k/hr id be more worried about morons who come at you at about 70k and keep as close to you as possible, thats how accidents happen.

All you do is keep in to your own side and stop. Give them half the road if you can. They're expecting you to go in over the ditch to get out of their way, the only medicine is to bring them to a halt. AFAIK the laden vehicle has right of way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 TopCon

As both a farmer and point of view as keen motorcyclist I find the state of roads unacceptable at times. I recognise that mud on the roads is inevitable. The vast majority do tidy up after themselves.

But for the life of me I cannot understand why farmers won't put up temporary signs to warn motorists especially bikes, of dirt on the road. People have no idea how dangerous it is to drive a bike over mud on a road unexpectedly. Im not certain but surely the farmer is liable if an accident is caused due to dirt on the road.

Cleaning up after the job is no use if you find someone dead in the side of the ditch while sweeping the road.

Just put up some signage when bringing sh@t on the roads,especially before bends etc. Then clean up afterwards. The same applies to farmers crossing cows.

Anyone that still complains after that should go back and live in the town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

TopCon wrote: »
    As both a farmer and point of view as keen motorcyclist I find the state of roads unacceptable at times. I recognise that mud on the roads is inevitable. The vast majority do tidy up after themselves.

But for the life of me I cannot understand why farmers won't put up temporary signs to warn motorists especially bikes, of dirt on the road. People have no idea how dangerous it is to drive a bike over mud on a road unexpectedly. Im not certain but surely the farmer is liable if an accident is caused due to dirt on the road.

Cleaning up after the job is no use if you find someone dead in the side of the ditch while sweeping the road.

Just put up some signage when bringing sh@t on the roads,especially before bends etc. Then clean up afterwards. The same applies to farmers crossing cows.

Anyone that still complains after that should go back and live in the town.

As a biker I agree partly

I cross the road with cows and have signs at 100m and again at 50m, stone me but I reckon only a bonfire could slow the traffic.

It amazes me at times how people come screaching to a halt when they see a cow yet they have passed 2 warning signs. Signs are totally ignored

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

As a biker I agree partly

I cross the road with cows and have signs at 100m and again at 50m, stone me but I reckon only a bonfire could slow the traffic.

It amazes me at times how people come screaching to a halt when they see a cow yet they have passed 2 warning signs. Signs are totally ignored

Used to have neighbours that would come flat out down the road and drive straight through the cows. And these lads had cows them selves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,887 ✭✭✭mf240

We have to cross the road to one field it's really unbelievable what some people are capable of. Having said that most of the locals are dead sound. We have signs up and we try to get them across as fast as possible.

Farmers can be very ignorant at times too, I always pull in and let off cars as often as I can.

As for the motorbikes, well lads there a death trap and to me anyone driving something around rural roads, that will kill them if it hits a cowsh1te, wants their head examined IMHO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Have to drive the cows over the road about 200 yards but I have found that if you dont hold the cows at the gate they dont sh#t on the road.I lat them off at the patlour and they have 200 yards yo the road and by then they have streched out and now the locals are kind used to driving through them.averaging 1 sh#t every 2 to 3 days out of nearly 80 at the moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭Katie 2018

Live on private lane.neighbor has it ruined with muck from cows on it morning and night.now I'm a farmer myself just it in wild bad state.not worried bout bit of muck but would like him make wee bit of effort to clean.dont want fall out with them but don't want be made mug off either.asked him earlier in year to make bit of effort not much was done.am I being unreasonable...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭minerleague

Not being unreasonable at all ( cow dung wouldn't be great for underneath of cars) but unfortunately experience shows if they haven't made any effort after you mentioned it they are likely to be the type that wont do much no matter what you do. Is there others on the lane ( strength in numbers ). Report to council is your only option then ( dont know if you want to go that far? )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭NSAman

Grass clippings are illegal here if you put the on the road when mowing. Farmers are obliged to clean up if roads are muddied also. Roads are never muddy. Mind you roads are in a shite state rurally (potholes), most farmers take pride in their farms also. The one thing I do notice when home is how messy many farms are at home.

the thing you do see here that you don’t in Ireland is power washers being used before machinery leaves the fields.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭Easten

Depends on the history of use really, if he's always done this over the years then he's probably within his rights to do so. Was the lane always used for Agriculture or has it been mixed use? If it has always been mixed use then it would have been kept reasonably clean in the past so it would be seen as reasonable that it is kept clean now.

You'll have to speak to hi again about it, then if no progress talk to a solicitor to see where you stand. Sometimes you have to stand up for yourself even if it means a fallout. At the end of the day he mustn't think much of you to be doing that unless he's pure stupid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,516 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

It Pisses me off sommetimes, our lane is owned by two or three farmers who stupidly gave permission to people to build houses at the end,

I'd scrape the road with the loader bucket sometimes if my tenant is spreading, it's not perfect but its only for a few days.

Yet they sent the guards one day to stop him. 250yds of it is on my deeds, so it's my property, maybe I should fence it off if the locals don't like driving on it 🤣🤣😅

I don't think the guards had any authority there, it'd be like being summonsed on your avenue , wouldn't it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Eaten bread is soon forgotten, think farmers dont realise when letting people build nearby of the future repercussions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭Katie 2018

I'm third generation on my farm were I'm living so I'm not a townie folk😊as I said I'm a farmer myself so well used to shite.just think a wee bit of effort could be made to keep clean..cars are destroyed with shite.an it a tarmac lane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭dh1985

Theres many a gobshite of a farmer that makes a balls of the roads too and couldnt give a damn about anyone else. Never mind people's cars but there are people walking these roads and kids with bikes or pushchairs. Think most people wouldn't have a problem with a bit of muck but there are arseholes pulling mounds of shite out onto roads and no bothering to clean it up after. General run of the mill clots. Theres one in every parish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,737 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

We were spreading lime yesterday, I texted my neighbour the night before to tell her. Lorries started tipping at 6am, spreader arrived at 7am. She looks after her elderly parents next door and was glad of the text as she didn't hang out washing etc. She will ring me if she sees anything wrong with cattle etc in fields beside her. Lucky to have nice neighbours

I'm fortunate to be living beside reasonably considerate farmers. They've cattle in the fields or use them for silage. Roads are clean.

My wife even helped a local move some cattle across the road when she went for a walk last week. He had his wife but needed a third person. He appreciated the help and owes her a pint... She doesn't drink 🤣.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

Jaysus this is an old thread I even came across a reply from myself in a former boards life.😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,319 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

Could you explain what a private lane is, is it owned by one person or persons, does this farmer own or have a right of way. Or do the local authorities owned or maintain the lane by repairs or cutting hedges and signage. Just wondering. The lane we live on has 7 right of ways and one owner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭Easten

Private lane means someone other than the public/council own the road. It's usually but not always the owners of the fields at each side of the road own to the halfway point, but again not always and there can be many variations of ownership. The private lane can also have registered right of ways which are shown on the land registry maps and also on the deeds of property using the private lane.

Anyone on the private lane that isn't an owner or have a right of way is a trespasser.

You might have right of way along a lane but if you stop or park you can in most circumstances be trespassing also.

Even if a lane is private that doesn't mean it can be treated with disrespect, if you have always had an unimpeded right of way, then no additional impediments like a new gate or cattle-shite can be put in your way. If anything it's easier for a judge to make an enforcement against someone causing an impediment on a private road than a public road as it is easy to prove as it effects the persons personal liberty which is a constitutional right.